Language selection


Canada - European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Free Trade Agreement Between Canada and the States of the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland)

Annex A - Referred to in Paragraph 2 of Article 2

Territorial Application

1. This Agreement shall not apply to the territory of Svalbard, with the exception of Articles 3 through 11 of this Agreement.

2. In the event of a conflict between the Treaty Regulating the Status of Spitzbergen and Conferring the Sovereignty on Norway, done at Paris, 9 February 1920 (the “Spitzbergen (Svalbard) Treaty”) and this Agreement, the Spitzbergen (Svalbard) Treaty shall prevail to the extent of the conflict, without prejudice to the positions of the Parties in respect of the Spitzbergen (Svalbard) Treaty. In the event of such conflict or a dispute as to whether there is such conflict or as to its extent, the dispute settlement provisions of this Agreement shall not apply.

Date Modified: