Language selection


Archived information

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA Free Trade Commission

The FTC is the central institution of the NAFTA and consists of ministerial-level representatives from the three member countries: Canada’s Minister of International Trade, Chrystia Freeland, United States Trade Representative, Michael Froman, and Mexico’s Secretary of the Economy (Secretaría de Economia), Secretary Ildefonso Guajardo Villarreal.  It supervises the implementation and further elaboration of the Agreement, and helps to resolve disputes arising from its interpretation. It also oversees the work of the NAFTA Committees, Working Groups and other subsidiary bodies.

Commission Meetings

Recent Commission Meeting Statements

Archived Commission Meeting Statements

Date Modified: