Language selection


Background on previous Asia-Pacific trade negotiations

The Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) originally concluded on October 5, 2015 by twelve Asia-Pacific countries (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States, and Vietnam) and was signed on February 4, 2016 by all members. On January 30, 2017, the United States notified signatories that it did not intend to become a party to the Agreement. Following this decision, the remaining signatories have expressed interest in identifying the best way in which an optimized Agreement can move forward.


Archived – Economic Impact of Canada’s Potential Participation in the agreement

An assessment of the potential economic impact of the original TPP agreement on Canada includes economic data for the U.S.

Consolidated TPP agreement text

The original TPP agreement text and related instruments.

Report of the Standing Committee on International Trade on TPP

See the Standing Committee’s report on original TPP and the Government’s response.

Date Modified: