Canada and the Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is the leading multilateral forum through which Canada advances its Arctic interests internationally. It was established in Ottawa in 1996 by the Ottawa Declaration. Canada was the first chair of the Arctic Council, serving from 1996 to 1998, and served again from 2013 to 2015.

The Arctic Council is the pre-eminent intergovernmental forum for circumpolar cooperation.

The Arctic Council comprises eight Arctic states and six international Indigenous peoples organizations as Permanent Participants.

Canada continually strives to ensure it can effectively advance its national and international Arctic interests.

Overview of the Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is the pre-eminent intergovernmental forum for circumpolar cooperation. It is committed to the inhabitants of the Arctic, including Indigenous peoples and their communities, who make unique contributions and bring unique knowledge to the council because of their special relationship with the Arctic. The council works to promote sustainable development, including economic and social development, and cultural well-being. The council is equally committed to the protection of the Arctic environment, including the health of Arctic ecosystems, maintenance of biodiversity in the Arctic region and conservation and sustainable use of natural resources.

The council has developed a common agenda for action and serves as a foundation for a strong, responsible and cooperative rules-based international order in the Arctic region.

The work of the Arctic Council is supervised and directed by the ministers of foreign affairs of the eight Arctic member states and is supported by the senior Arctic officials.

Arctic Council members

The Arctic Council comprises the eight Arctic states: Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark (which includes the autonomous constituent countries of Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States.

The involvement of six international Indigenous peoples’ organizations as Permanent Participants is a unique feature of the Arctic Council. They sit at the table in their own right. Three of the six organizations have Canadian constituents.

Canada’s work in the Arctic Council

Canada continually strives to ensure it can effectively advance its national and international Arctic interests. These interests include maintaining meaningful circumpolar cooperation with neighbours; ensuring Northern voices, including those of Arctic Indigenous communities, are included in the international conversation; contributing to and taking advantage of the high-quality science and policy expertise the council generates; and leveraging public investment by working collaboratively with partners, which in turn supports domestic Arctic policy development.

Since the council’s creation, Canada has led its agenda in many areas, including by championing the human dimension of the Arctic and providing high-quality physical and social science data, while ensuring that issues important to Northern peoples and communities are well represented.

Canada, through a number of federal departments and agencies, actively participates in the technical and scientific work of the Arctic Council, where as many as a hundred unique projects are ongoing. This work is carried out in the following six expert working groups:

  • The Arctic Contaminants Action Program works to prevent adverse effects from, reduce and ultimately eliminate pollution of the Arctic environment
  • The Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme provides reliable and sufficient information on the status of and threats to the Arctic environment and provides scientific advice to support Arctic governments in taking remedial and preventive actions relating to contaminants
  • Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna works to address the conservation of Arctic biodiversity and to communicate its findings to the governments and residents of the Arctic, helping to promote practices that ensure the sustainability of the Arctic’s living resources
  • Emergency Prevention, Preparedness, and Response is mandated to contribute to the prevention of, preparedness for and response to environmental and other emergencies, accidents, as well as to conduct search and rescue efforts
  • Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment addresses policy and non-emergency pollution prevention and control measures related to the protection of the Arctic marine environment from both land- and sea-based activities
  • The Sustainable Development Working Group proposes and adopts steps to be taken by the Arctic states to advance sustainable development in the Arctic, including opportunities to protect and enhance the environment and the economies, culture and health of Indigenous peoples and Arctic communities, as well as to improve the environmental, economic and social conditions of Arctic communities as a whole
Date Modified:

Le Canada et le Conseil de l’Arctique

Le Conseil de l’Arctique est le principal forum multilatéral par lequel le Canada fait avancer ses intérêts à l’échelle internationale. Le Conseil de l’Arctique a été créé à Ottawa en 1996 par la Déclaration d’Ottawa. Le Canada a été le premier président du Conseil, il a présidé de 1996 à 1998, et à nouveau de 2013 à 2015.

Le Conseil est le forum intergouvernemental par excellence en matière de coopération circumpolaire.

Le Conseil de l’Arctique se compose de huit États arctiques et six organisations internationales de peuples autochtones à titre de participants permanents.

Le Canada s’efforce sans cesse de promouvoir le plus efficacement possible ses intérêts nationaux et internationaux dans l’Arctique.

Aperçu du Conseil de l’Arctique

Le Conseil de l’Arctique est le forum intergouvernemental par excellence en matière de coopération circumpolaire. Il est résolu à protéger les habitants de l’Arctique, notamment les peuples autochtones et leurs communautés, qui apportent des contributions et des connaissances uniques au Conseil en raison de leur relation privilégiée avec l’Arctique. Le Conseil s’emploie à promouvoir le développement durable, notamment le développement économique et social, ainsi que le bien-être culturel. Le Conseil s’est aussi engagé à protéger l’environnement arctique, notamment la santé de ses écosystèmes, le maintien de sa biodiversité ainsi que la conservation et l’utilisation durable de ses ressources naturelles.

Le Conseil a élaboré un programme d’action commun. Il a jeté les bases d’un ordre international solide, responsable, coopératif et fondé sur des règles dans la région arctique.

Les ministres des Affaires étrangères des huit États membres supervisent et orientent les travaux du Conseil, et sont soutenus par les hauts fonctionnaires responsables de l’Arctique.

Membres du Conseil de l’Arctique

Le Conseil de l’Arctique se compose de huit États arctiques : le Canada, le Royaume du Danemark (qui comprend les pays constitutifs autonomes du Groenland et des îles Féroé), la Finlande, l’Islande, la Norvège, la Russie, la Suède et les États-Unis.

Un aspect unique du Conseil de l’Arctique vient de la participation de six organisations internationales de peuples autochtones à titre de participants permanents qui siègent à la table de plein droit. Le Canada est membre de trois des six organisations suivantes :

La contribution du Canada au Conseil de l’Arctique

Le Canada s’efforce sans cesse de promouvoir le plus efficacement possible ses intérêts nationaux et internationaux dans l’Arctique. Il s’agit en outre de maintenir une coopération circumpolaire significative avec les États voisins; d’obtenir l’assurance que les voix du Nord, dont celles des communautés autochtones de l’Arctique, soient incluses dans le dialogue international; de contribuer à l’expertise scientifique et politique de grande qualité et en tirer parti; ainsi que de mettre à profit les investissements publics en collaborant avec les partenaires, qui à leur tour favorisent l’élaboration de politiques nationales sur l’Arctique.

Depuis la création du Conseil, le Canada a poursuivi son plan d’action dans de nombreux domaines, notamment en défendant la dimension humaine de l’Arctique, en offrant des données de sciences physiques et sociales de grande qualité, tout en veillant à ce que les questions importantes pour les peuples et les communautés du Nord soient bien prises en compte.

Le Canada, par l’intermédiaire de plusieurs ministères et organismes fédéraux, participe activement aux travaux techniques et scientifiques du Conseil de l’Arctique, une centaine de projets uniques sont en cours. Ces travaux sont effectués par les six groupes de travail d’experts suivants :

  • Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants de l’Arctique (en anglais seulement) travaille à la prévention des effets néfastes de la pollution sur l’environnement arctique, à sa réduction et à son élimination à terme.
  • Le Programme de surveillance et d’évaluation de l’Arctique (en anglais seulement) donne des renseignements fiables et suffisants sur l’état de l’environnement arctique et des menaces qui pèsent sur lui. Offre également des conseils scientifiques pour aider les gouvernements de l’Arctique à prendre des mesures correctives et préventives concernant à l’égard des contaminants.
  • La Conservation de la flore et de la faune arctiques (en anglais seulement) s’efforce de préserver la biodiversité arctique et de communiquer ses conclusions aux gouvernements et aux habitants de l’Arctique, et aide à promouvoir des pratiques en veillant à la durabilité des ressources biologiques de l’Arctique.
  • La Prévention, préparation et intervention en cas d’urgence (en anglais seulement) a pour mandat de contribuer à la prévention des urgences et des accidents environnementaux ou autres, aux interventions en cas d’urgences et d’accidents et à leur préparation, ainsi qu’aux efforts de recherche et de sauvetage.
  • La Protection de l’environnement marin de l’Arctique (en anglais seulement) s’occupe des mesures de politiques et des mesures de prévention et de contrôle de la pollution non urgente liées à la protection du milieu marin arctique contre les activités menées sur terre et en mer.
  • Le Groupe de travail sur le développement durable (en anglais seulement) propose et adopte les mesures à prendre par les États de l’Arctique pour promouvoir le développement durable, notamment les possibilités qui s’offrent; protéger et améliorer l’environnement et les économies, la culture et la santé des peuples autochtones et des communautés arctiques, et améliorer les conditions environnementales, économiques et sociales de l’ensemble des communautés arctiques.
Date de modification: