Language selection


Canada and the Americas Partnership for Economic Prosperity

The Americas Partnership for Economic Prosperity (APEP) is a new framework for cooperation in the Americas that aims to promote sustainable and inclusive economic growth and integration in the region.


Learn about the goals of APEP.

Declarations and statements

Read the commitments made by the 12 APEP member countries.


Official Government of Canada news releases, statements and media advisories related to APEP.


The objectives of APEP reinforce economic cooperation in our hemisphere. APEP will also promote democracy, human rights, gender equality and the rule of law, as well as helping combat climate change—objectives that are at the core of Canada’s foreign policy. Participation in the framework will demonstrate Canada’s commitment to a progressive trade agenda, help it carry out its Feminist International Assistance Policy, support more resilient and secure supply chains, reduce inequalities and promote an open, inclusive and rules-based system across the region.

Canada is committed to collaborating with our partners to accelerate the region’s economic growth with the goals of supporting pandemic recovery, health, food and energy security, and the use of clean energy. We will work with other APEP member countries to ensure that the benefits of this growth are broadly distributed to include historically under-represented groups, such as 2SLGBTQI+ individuals, Indigenous peoples, people with disabilities, seniors, visible minorities, women, and youth.

About the Americas Partnership for Economic Prosperity

On November 3, 2023, Prime Minister Trudeau joined U.S. President Biden and the other 10 APEP member countries for a leader-level summit, establishing APEP as a forum for continued high-level engagement centered around three outcome-oriented tracks: Trade, Foreign Affairs and Finance. The twelve (12) APEP member countries are:

  • Barbados
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • United States
  • Uruguay

In total, APEP countries represent about 90% of the Western Hemisphere’s GDP and nearly two thirds of its people.

APEP comprises countries with common values and a shared vision for a prosperous and inclusive hemisphere. APEP is not a free trade agreement and is not expected to include tariff reductions or market access commitments. Nevertheless, a fully realized APEP could deliver important outcomes that would increase economic resilience, improve supply chains, harness the digital economy and raise environmental and labour standards.

Declarations and statements

List of declarations, statements and announcements from our representatives of the Americas Partnership for Economic Prosperity.


List of official Government of Canada news releases, statements and media advisories related to the Americas Partnership for Economic Prosperity.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified: