Language selection

Search

Canada and the Caribbean Development Bank

2024 Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors of the Caribbean Development Bank

Canada will host the 54th Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors of the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) in Ottawa, Ontario, from June 17 to 20, 2024. The meeting will be held at the historic Château Laurier.

Canada will welcome more than 300 invitees from all over the world. The theme of the 4-day event is “Partnerships for Resilient Prosperity”.

This annual meeting is an opportunity for Canada to continue to strengthen its ties with the Caribbean region, foster linkages between CDB member countries and celebrate our partnership.

Canada has hosted the annual meeting twice before, in Halifax (2008) and Toronto (1997).

Canada has a long-standing relationship with the Caribbean Development Bank. We look forward to welcoming the CDB’s members, management, staff, delegates and all other participants.

The Caribbean Development Bank

Established in 1969 and based in Barbados, the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) is a multilateral development bank that lends primarily to the developing countries of the Caribbean.

The CDB provides loans, guarantees, technical assistance, and policy advice to borrowing member countries, towards the goal of systematic reduction of poverty through social and economic development. The Bank further assists Caribbean nations and enterprises in promoting economic cooperation and integration in the Caribbean region. It is the second largest provider of development finance in the Caribbean region after the Inter-American Development Bank.

The Bank has a membership of 28 countries and territories comprising 19 Borrowing Member Countries, four regional non-borrowing members, and five non-regional non-borrowing members.

Canada and Caribbean Development Bank

Canada is a founding member of the CDB and is the Bank's largest non-regional shareholder alongside the United Kingdom (each hold 9.31% of total shares). Canada is also the largest contributor to the CDB's Special Development Fund (SDF), which provides low-interest loans and grants to support the poorest and most vulnerable Caribbean countries. The SDF is the Bank's principal pool of concessional resources, and includes the Basic Needs Trust Fund, a CDB flagship program for poverty reduction.

The CDB's focus on building environmental, social and economic resilience makes it a key multilateral partner for Canada in its efforts to help the region build broad based economic growth and reduce poverty.

Canada's Minister of International Development sits on the CDB Board of Governors, the highest decision-making body of the Bank. Canada also sits on the CDB Board of Directors, which meets four times a year and reports to the Board of Governors.

Achievements

The CDB's development indicators and targets are identified in a multi-year corporate results framework. The results framework is used to measure and monitor progress key objectives in the Bank's strategic plan. Results are reported annually through its Development Effectiveness Review.

Canada monitors the results of the CDB to ensure it is delivering on its mandate to reduce poverty in the region, and reports annually on the performance of international financial institutions, including the CDB, in its report to Parliament on Canada's international assistance.

News

Related Links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Le Canada et la Banque de développement des Caraïbes

Réunion annuelle 2024 du Conseil des gouverneurs de la Banque de développement des Caraïbes

Du 17 au 20 juin 2024, le Canada sera l’hôte de la 54e réunion annuelle du Conseil des gouverneurs de la Banque de développement des Caraïbes (BDC). Cette assemblée se tiendra au Château Laurier, un établissement hôtelier historique situé à Ottawa, en Ontario.

Le Canada accueillera plus de 300 participants du monde entier dans le cadre de cette rencontre de quatre jours sur le thème « Des partenariats pour une prospérité résiliente ».

Ce sera l’occasion pour lui de continuer à renforcer ses liens avec la région des Caraïbes, de favoriser les échanges entre les pays membres de la BDC et de célébrer ce partenariat.

Le Canada a déjà accueilli la réunion annuelle à deux reprises, à Halifax (2008) et à Toronto (1997).
Notre pays entretient une relation de longue date avec la BDC. C’est avec plaisir que nous accueillerons ici ses membres, ses dirigeants, son personnel ainsi les délégués et tous les autres participants.

La Banque de développement des Caraïbes

Créée en 1969 et basée à la Barbade, la Banque de développement des Caraïbes (BDC) est une banque multilatérale de développement qui prête principalement aux pays en développement des Caraïbes.

La BDC fournit des prêts, des garanties, une assistance technique et des conseils stratégiques aux pays membres emprunteurs, dans le but de réduire systématiquement la pauvreté par le développement social et économique. La Banque aide également les pays et les entreprises des Caraïbes à promouvoir la coopération et l'intégration économiques dans la région des Caraïbes. Elle est le deuxième fournisseur de financement du développement dans la région des Caraïbes après la Banque interaméricaine de développement.

La Banque compte 28 pays et territoires, dont 19 pays membres emprunteurs, quatre membres non emprunteurs régionaux et cinq membres non emprunteurs non régionaux.

Le Canada et la Banque de développement des Caraïbes

Le Canada est un membre fondateur de la BDC et est le plus important actionnaire non régional de la Banque aux côtés du Royaume-Uni (chacun détient 9,31 % du total des actions). Le Canada est également le principal contributeur au Fonds spécial de développement (FDS) de la BDC, qui offre des prêts et des subventions à faible taux d'intérêt pour soutenir les pays des Caraïbes les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables. Le FSD est la principale réserve de ressources concessionnelles de la Banque et comprend le Fonds fiduciaire pour les besoins fondamentaux, un programme phare de la BDC pour la réduction de la pauvreté.

L'accent mis par la BDC sur le renforcement de la résilience environnementale, sociale et économique en fait un partenaire multilatéral clé pour le Canada dans ses efforts visant à aider la région à bâtir une croissance économique à grande échelle et à réduire la pauvreté.

Le ministre du Développement international du Canada siège au Conseil des gouverneurs de la BDC, l'organe décisionnel le plus élevé de la Banque. Le Canada siège également au conseil d'administration de la BDC, qui se réunit quatre fois par année et fait rapport au conseil des gouverneurs.

Réalisations

Les indicateurs et les cibles de développement de la BDC sont définis dans un cadre pluriannuel de résultats. Le cadre de résultats est utilisé pour mesurer et surveiller les principaux objectifs de progrès du plan stratégique de la Banque. Les résultats sont présentés annuellement dans la Vue d'ensemble de l'efficacité du développement.

Le Canada surveille les résultats de la BDC pour s'assurer qu'elle s'acquitte de son mandat de réduire la pauvreté dans la région et rend compte annuellement du rendement des institutions financières internationales, y compris la BDC, dans son rapport au Parlement sur l'aide internationale du Canada.

Nouvelles

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: