Canada and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to build peace through international cooperation in education, the sciences and culture. UNESCO's programs contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals defined in Agenda 2030, adopted by the UN General Assembly in 2015.

Canada is a founding member of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.

The Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO is headed by Ambassador Natasha Power Cayer.

Natasha Power Cayer is the Ambassador and Permanent Delegate of Canada to UNESCO.

Contact Canada’s delegation to UNESCO in Paris.

Overview of UNESCO

Since wars begin in the minds of men and women, it is in the minds of men and women that the defences of peace must be constructed… this vision guides all of UNESCO`s activities since its creation in 1946. As a founding member, Canada was one of the first 20 countries to join UNESCO, an organization that now has 193 member states. According to its constitution, the purpose of UNESCO is “to contribute to peace and security by promoting collaboration among the nations through education, science and culture in order to further universal respect for justice, for the rule of law and for the human rights and fundamental freedoms which are affirmed for the peoples of the world, without distinction of race, sex, language or religion, by the Charter of the United Nations.”

UNESCO, as a specialized agency of the United Nations, addresses global issues through the negotiation of conventions, recommendations, declarations, the production of publications and information campaigns, and through technical cooperation and capacity building in its fields of competence. It is in Canada's interest that this organization, whose mandate is more relevant than ever, promotes Canadian values in a world plagued by armed conflict, various forms of extremism and by climate change.

UNESCO is governed by a general conference of member states, which meets every two years, and by an executive board of 58 elected member states that provides overall oversight of the organization. Member states ensure the financial viability of the organization through mandatory assessed contributions as well as voluntary contributions.

UNESCO is the only UN agency that includes in its constitution a network of national commissions to support it in its mandate. The Canadian Commission for UNESCO (CCUNESCO) serves as a bridge between Canadians and UNESCO. The CCUNESCO actively promotes UNESCO's values and provides a strong civil-society perspective. The CCUNESCO also supports various projects aimed at creating more inclusive communities, encouraging innovation, and protecting Canada's heritage and biosphere.

Canada is also host country of the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS), an authoritative and reliable source of internationally comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. Based in Montréal, the UIS enjoys functional autonomy. Statistics Canada is a member of its governing board.

The delegation

Under the leadership of Global Affairs Canada, the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO is headed by Ambassador Natasha Power Cayer. The delegation works closely with several other departments, as well as with provinces and territories and the CCUNESCO.

In accordance with the 2006 Canada-Quebec Agreement on UNESCO, the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO includes a representative of the Government of Quebec on its team. Thus, Quebec can, in its fields of competence, complete the Canadian position. In concrete terms, the governments of Canada and Quebec work in concert on all votes, resolutions, negotiations and proposed normative instruments at UNESCO. The Quebec representative participates actively in daily decisions and meetings, and works alongside the rest of the delegation, as well as with officials from other provinces and the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada.

The delegation:

  • exercises influence in areas where foreign policy priorities affect UNESCO's activities
  • seeks to improve the effectiveness of UNESCO
  • advises and accompanies Canadian partners with an interest in the work of UNESCO

Canada is an elected member of several intergovernmental committees, including:

  • the Intergovernmental Committee for the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (term 2017-2021)
  • the Intergovernmental Committee for Promoting the Return of Cultural Property to its Countries of Origin or its Restitution in case of Illicit Appropriation (term 2019-2023)
  • the Executive Council of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (term 2019-2021)
  • the Headquarters Committee (term 2019-2023)
  • the Legal Committee for the 41st session of the General Conference (term 2019-2021)

Canada's permanent delegate to UNESCO

Message from the Ambassador

Many thanks for visiting the website of the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO.

I am truly honoured to represent Canada as Ambassador and Permanent Delegate, at an institution with an impressive history of encouraging successful multilateral cooperation involving experts, civil society, and governments in the pursuit of objectives in the areas of science, culture and education. The Organization can and does have an impact on a broad range of pressing global issues of concern to Canadians, whether it be countering violent extremism, encouraging sustainable development and environmental protection, including combatting climate change, or advancing gender equality and upholding human rights. UNESCO is a fundamental part of the multilateral system, and a forum where countries can, by working together, continue to build a more peaceful, just and equitable world.

At UNESCO, Canada is a champion of diversity and inclusion, and in particular of the rights of marginalized populations, including the LGBTQ2+ and indigenous communities. Our Delegation will continue to work for gender equality, by encouraging the active participation, leadership and empowerment of women and girls. Moreover, we will promote and protect human rights and media freedom wherever they are threatened.   

With its notable expertise in all sectors of the UNESCO mandate, Canada makes an active and important contribution to the Organization’s efforts. I am committed to working with Canadians, and in close collaboration with the excellent team at the Canadian Commission for UNESCO, to enhance this contribution over the next four years. I am keen to explore ways to enhance Canada’s rich and positive relationship with UNESCO, with a view to producing concrete, positive results.

The entire team at Canada’s Permanent Delegation to UNESCO are very proud to make our contribution to these goals and to be a part of this important institution and its work.

We would love to hear from you. You can write to us at PESCOG@international.gc.ca or connect with us on twitter @Canada2UNESCO in English, @CanadaUNESCO in French.

Yours sincerely,

Natasha Power Cayer
Ambassador and Permanent Delegate of Canada to UNESCO

 

Biography

Ambassador Cayer is a diplomat with 25 years of professional experience in political affairs, security policy and international cooperation.  Most recently, she served as Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the Organization for Security Co‑operation in Europe, in Vienna, Austria.

She has held successive positions with Canada’s foreign ministry at home and abroad focussed on multilateral issues, including overseas assignments in Brussels at the Joint Delegation of Canada to NATO (2000 to 2003) and on the NATO International Staff (2003 to 2007); in Paris, as Deputy Permanent Delegate and chargé d’affaires a.i. at the Permanent Mission of Canada to UNESCO (2007 to 2011); as Counsellor, Nuclear Affairs at the Permanent Mission to the International Organizations in Vienna (2015-16); and on temporary assignments in New York and Wellington. In Ottawa, Ms. Cayer has served as Senior Advisor to the Assistant Deputy Minister for International Security and Global Issues (1999 to 2000), as Deputy Director for Chemical and Biological Weapons in the Non-proliferation and Disarmament Division (2011-2013), and as Special Advisor to Canada’s Special Operations Forces Command (2013-2015).

Prior to joining the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade in 1995, she worked for the Special Joint Committee of the House of Commons and Senate charged with reviewing Canada’s foreign policy in 1994, as well as the Department of Finance, Secretary of State for Multiculturalism and Citizenship, and the Canadian International Development Agency.

Ms. Cayer holds a Bachelor of Social Sciences degree from the University of Ottawa, and a Master of Arts in International Affairs from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University. She is fluently bilingual in English and French, enjoys music and visual arts, and with her husband, Alexandre Vulic, is the proud parent of two daughters.

Contact Canada's office to UNESCO

Miollis Office Building of UNESCO at:

Address

1, rue Miollis
75015 Paris, France

Telephone: (011 33 1) 44 43 25 71

Fax: (011 33 1) 44 43 25 79

Email: pesco@international.gc.ca

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO)

L’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) vise à bâtir la paix grâce à la coopération internationale dans les domaines de l’éducation, des sciences et de la culture. Le programme de l’UNESCO contribue à l’atteinte des Objectifs de développement durable définis dans le Programme 2030 adopté par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en 2015.

Le Canada est un membre fondateur de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture.

La délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO est dirigée par l'ambassadeure Natasha Power Cayer.

Natasha Power Cayer est l’ambassadeure et la déléguée permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO.

Communiquez avec la délégation canadienne à l'UNESCO à Paris.

Aperçu de l’UNESCO

« Les guerres prenant naissance dans l’esprit des hommes et des femmes, c’est dans l’esprit des hommes et des femmes que doivent s’élever les défenses de la paix… » Cette vision guide toute l’action de l’UNESCO depuis sa création en 1946. Membre fondateur, le Canada était l’un des 20 premiers pays à fonder organisation qui compte aujourd’hui 193 États membres. Selon sa constitution, l’UNESCO contribue « au maintien de la paix et de la sécurité en resserrant, par l’éducation, la science et la culture, la collaboration entre nations, afin d’assurer le respect universel de la justice, de la loi, des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales pour tous, sans distinction de race, de sexe, de langue ou de religion, que la Charte des Nations Unies reconnaît à tous les peuples. »

L’UNESCO, en sa qualité d’agence spécialisée des Nations Unies, aborde les enjeux mondiaux par le biais de la négociation de conventions, de recommandations et de déclarations, par la production de publications et de campagnes d’information, par la coopération technique, et par le renforcement des capacités dans ses champs de compétence. Le Canada a intérêt à ce que cette organisation dont le mandat est plus pertinent que jamais promeuve les valeurs canadiennes dans un monde en proie aux conflits armés, aux différentes formes d’extrémismes de même qu’aux changements climatiques.

L’UNESCO est gouverné par une conférence générale des États membres qui se réunissent tous les deux ans, ainsi que par un conseil exécutif de 58 États membres élus qui en assure sa gestion générale. Les États membres contribuent financièrement à garantir la viabilité de l’organisation grâce à des contributions obligatoires et volontaires.

L’UNESCO est la seule agence de l’ONU qui inclut, dans sa constitution, un réseau de commissions nationales pour l’appuyer dans son mandat. La Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO (CCUNESCO) est un pont entre les Canadiens et l’organisation. Elle promeut activement les valeurs de l’UNESCO et apporte une solide perspective de la part de la société civile. La CCUNESCO soutient également divers projets visant à créer des communautés plus inclusives, à encourager l’innovation et à protéger le patrimoine et la biosphère du Canada.

Le Canada est pays hôte de l’Institut de statistique de l’UNESCO, source officielle et fiable de données comparables au plan international sur l’éducation, la science, la culture et la communication. Situé à Montréal, l’Institut dispose d’une autonomie de fonctionnement. Statistique Canada est membre de son conseil d’administration.

La délégation

Sous l’égide d’Affaires mondiales Canada, la délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO est dirigée par l’ambassadeure Natasha Power Cayer. La délégation collabore étroitement avec plusieurs autres ministères, de même qu’avec les provinces, les territoires et la CCUNESCO.

Conformément à l’Accord Canada-Québec sur l’UNESCO de 2006, la délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO accueille également un représentant du gouvernement du Québec dans son équipe. Le Québec peut ainsi, dans son champ de compétences, compléter la position canadienne. Concrètement, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec travaillent de concert sur tous les votes, résolutions, négociations et instruments normatifs proposés à l’UNESCO. Le représentant du gouvernement du Québec participe activement aux réunions et aux prises de décision quotidiennes, et il collabore avec les membres de la délégation, ainsi qu’avec les représentants des autres provinces et le Conseil des ministres de l’éducation du Canada.

La délégation :

  • exerce une influence dans les domaines où les priorités de politique étrangère touchent les activités de l’UNESCO
  • cherche à améliorer l’efficacité de l’UNESCO
  • conseille et accompagne les partenaires canadiens ayant un intérêt pour les travaux de l’UNESCO

Le Canada est membre élu de plusieurs comités intergouvernementaux, notamment :

  • le Comité intergouvernemental pour la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles (mandat 2017-2021)
  • le Comité intergouvernemental pour la promotion du retour des biens culturels à leur pays d'origine ou de restitution en cas d'appropriation illégale (mandat 2019-2023)
  • le Conseil exécutif de la Commission océanographique intergouvernementale (mandat 2019-2021)
  • le Comité du siège (mandat 2019-2023)
  • le Comité juridique pour la 41ème session de la Conférence générale (mandat 2019-2021)

Délégué permanent du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO

Message de l’ambassadrice

Bienvenue sur le site web de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO.

Je suis très honorée de représenter le Canada en ma qualité d'Ambassadeure et Déléguée permanente auprès d’une institution qui présente une feuille de route impressionnante en matière de coopération multilatérale réussie entre experts, société civile et gouvernements dans la poursuite d'objectifs dans les domaines de la science, de la culture et de l'éducation. L'Organisation peut avoir et a un impact sur un large éventail d’enjeux mondiaux pressants qui préoccupent les Canadiens, qu'il s'agisse de lutter contre l'extrémisme violent, d'encourager le développement durable et la protection de l'environnement, y compris la lutte contre les changements climatiques, ou la promotion de l'égalité des genres et le respect des droits de la personne. L'UNESCO est une composante fondamentale du système multilatéral et un forum où les pays peuvent, en travaillant ensemble, continuer à construire un monde plus pacifique, plus juste et plus équitable.

À l'UNESCO, le Canada est un champion de la diversité et de l'inclusion, et en particulier, de la défense des droits des populations marginalisées, y compris la communauté LGBTQ2+ et les peuples autochtones. Notre Délégation continuera d'œuvrer en faveur de l'égalité des genres en encourageant la participation active, le leadership et l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles. De plus, nous allons promouvoir et protéger les droits de la personne et la liberté des médias partout où ils sont menacés.

Grâce à son expertise remarquable dans tous les domaines de compétence relevant du mandat de l’UNESCO, le Canada apporte une contribution active et importante aux efforts de l’Organisation. Je m'engage à travailler avec les Canadiens, incluant l'excellente équipe de la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO, pour renforcer cette contribution au cours des quatre prochaines années. Je tiens à explorer les moyens d’améliorer les relations riches et positives du Canada avec l’UNESCO, en vue de produire des résultats concrets et positifs.

Toute l’équipe de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO est très fière d’apporter sa contribution à ces objectifs et de prendre part aux travaux de cette importante institution.

Nous serions ravis de vous entendre. Vous pouvez nous écrire à PESCOG@international.gc.ca ou communiquez avec nous sur twitter @Canada2UNESCO en anglais, @CanadaUNESCO en français.

Salutations distinguées,

Natasha Power Cayer
Ambassadeure et déléguée permanente du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO

Biographie

L'Ambassadeure Cayer est une diplomate forte de 25 ans d'expérience professionnelle dans les affaires politiques, de sécurité et la coopération internationale. Elle a récemment occupé le poste d'Ambassadeure et de Représentante permanente auprès de l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe à Vienne, en Autriche.

Elle a occupé successivement différents postes au sein du ministère des Affaires étrangères du Canada, à Ottawa et à l’étranger, axés sur les questions multilatérales. Elle a notamment été affectée à Bruxelles à la délégation conjointe du Canada auprès de l'OTAN (2000 à 2003) et au Secrétariat international de l'OTAN (2003 à 2007); à Paris, en tant que déléguée permanente adjointe et chargé d’affaires a.i. à la délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO (2007 à 2011) ; en tant que conseillère aux affaires nucléaires à la mission permanente auprès des organisations internationales à Vienne (2015-16); et à des affectations temporaires à New York et à Wellington. À Ottawa, Mme Cayer a été conseillère principale auprès du Sous-ministre adjoint pour la Sécurité internationale et les Enjeux mondiaux (1999 à 2000), Directrice Adjointe pour les Armes chimiques et biologiques à la Direction de la Non-prolifération et du désarmement (2011-2013), et Conseillère spéciale auprès du Commandement des forces d'opérations spéciales du Canada (2013-2015).

Avant de rejoindre le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 1995, elle a travaillé pour le Comité spécial mixte de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat chargé d'examiner la politique étrangère du Canada en 1994, ainsi que pour le ministère des Finances, le secrétaire d'État pour le Multiculturalisme et la Citoyenneté, et à l'Agence canadienne de développement international.

Mme Cayer est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en sciences sociales de l'Université d'Ottawa et d'une maîtrise en affaires internationales de la Norman Paterson School of International Affairs de l'Université Carleton. Elle est parfaitement bilingue en anglais et en français, aime la musique et les arts visuels, et avec son mari, Alexandre Vulic, a deux filles dont elle est très fière.

Communiquez avec les bureaux du Canada à l’UNESCO

Bâtiment Miollis de l’UNESCO :

Adresse

1, rue Miollis
75015 Paris, France

Téléphone : (011 33 1) 44 43 25 71

Télécopieur : (011 33 1) 44 43 25 79

Courriel : pesco@international.gc.ca

Date de modification: