WTO JSI on Domestic Regulation

In the context of services negotiations at the WTO, the term Domestic Regulation is used to refer to measures related to an authorization to supply a service, such as a licensing requirement or procedure, other than those disciplined by the Market Access and National Treatment articles of the WTO General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS). The GATS, which entered into force in 1995, does not include finalized rules on Domestic Regulations, but instead contains a mandate for future negotiations on the matter. 

While maintaining the ability of a Member to regulate in the public interest, enhanced rules on Domestic Regulation have the potential to facilitate increased trade in services. These potential rules could ensure, for example, that licensing authorities are transparent with respect to the criteria they consider when evaluating an application, that the requirements related to that application are clear, and that all applications are processed in a timely manner. When rules are not applied in a transparent and predictable manner, a services supplier can be effectively blocked from accessing a particular market by opaque and arbitrary actions on the part of a foreign licensing authority, even where the sector in question is fully committed under the GATS.

WTO negotiations aimed at achieving disciplines on Domestic Regulation took place over several years after the operationalization of the GATS, but a successful outcome was not reached. In 2017, a group of Members, including Canada, co-sponsored a first Joint Ministerial Statement affirming the importance of good regulatory practice to trade in services and called on Members to intensify work towards concluding a set of disciplines. The JSI on Services Domestic Regulation negotiations has been conducted as an open process, wherein any interested Members may participate. In May 2019, Canada and 59 other Members participating in the open negotiations adopted a second Joint Ministerial Statement, recognising the progress made and targeting an outcome for the 12th WTO Ministerial Conference in June 2020.  

Domestic policy considerations

Canada has been an active and constructive participant in the JSI negotiations on Services Domestic Regulation. This reflects Canada’s clear interest in establishing enhanced WTO rules that can benefit Canadian services exporters when they engage with licensing and certification authorities abroad. It is not expected that the WTO rules will require any changes to Canadian domestic practices, given Canada’s practices already exceed the minimum standard the WTO rules would set out. Finally, it is notable that Canada has taken the opportunity through the negotiations to further efforts at making trade more inclusive by tabling a provision on gender equality. If included, this provision would require that any criteria related to an authorization to supply a service must not discriminate between men and women.

Date Modified:

IDC à l'OMC sur la réglementation intérieure

Dans le contexte des négociations sur les services à l'OMC, le terme Réglementation intérieure est utilisé pour désigner les mesures liées à une autorisation de fournir un service, telles qu'une exigence ou une procédure de licence, autres que celles prévues par les articles sur l'accès aux marchés et le traitement national de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l'OMC. L'AGCS, qui est entré en vigueur en 1995, ne comprend pas de règles finalisées sur la réglementation intérieure, mais contient plutôt un mandat pour de futures négociations sur la question. 

Tout en maintenant la capacité d'un membre à réglementer dans l'intérêt public, des règles renforcées sur la réglementation intérieure peuvent faciliter l'augmentation du commerce des services. Ces règles potentielles pourraient garantir, par exemple, que les autorités chargées de l'octroi des licences soient transparentes en ce qui concerne les critères qu'elles prennent en compte lors de l'évaluation d'une demande, que les exigences liées à cette demande soient claires et que toutes les demandes soient traitées en temps utile. Lorsque les règles ne sont pas appliquées de manière transparente et prévisible, un fournisseur de services peut être de fait empêché d'accéder à un marché particulier par des actions opaques et arbitraires de la part d'une autorité étrangère d'octroi de licences, même si le secteur en question est pleinement engagé au titre de l'AGCS.

Les négociations de l'OMC visant à instaurer des disciplines en matière de Réglementation Intérieure se sont déroulées plusieurs années après la mise en œuvre de l'AGCS, mais n'ont pas abouti. En 2017, un groupe de membres, dont le Canada, a coparrainé une première déclaration ministérielle conjointe affirmant l'importance des bonnes pratiques réglementaires pour le commerce des services et a appelé les membres à intensifier les travaux en vue de la conclusion d'un ensemble de disciplines. Les négociations sur la réglementation intérieure des services ont été menées dans le cadre d'un processus ouvert, auquel tout membre intéressé peut participer. En mai 2019, le Canada et 59 autres membres participant aux négociations ouvertes ont adopté une deuxième déclaration ministérielle commune, reconnaissant les progrès réalisés et visant un résultat pour la 12e Conférence ministérielle de l'OMC en juin 2020.  

Considérations de politique intérieure

Le Canada a participé de manière active et constructive aux négociations de l’IDC sur la réglementation intérieure des services. Cela reflète l'intérêt évident du Canada pour l'établissement de règles renforcées de l'OMC qui peuvent profiter aux exportateurs canadiens de services lorsqu'ils s'engagent avec les autorités de délivrer les licences et certifications à l'étranger. On ne s'attend pas à ce que les règles de l'OMC exigent des changements dans les pratiques intérieures canadiennes, étant donné que les pratiques du Canada dépassent déjà la norme minimale que les règles de l'OMC établiraient. Enfin, il est à noter que le Canada a saisi l'occasion, dans le contexte de ces négociations, pour poursuivre ses efforts visant à rendre le commerce plus inclusif en déposant une disposition sur l'égalité des sexes. Si cette disposition était incluse, elle exigerait que tout critère lié à l'autorisation de fournir un service ne soit pas discriminatoire entre les hommes et les femmes. 

Date de modification: