Canada and the World Trade Organization (WTO)

Follow:

The World Trade Organization helps create rules for trade between its 164 members. Canada is a strong proponent of the multilateral trading system, with the WTO at its core.

Established in 1995, the World Trade Organization helps create rules for trade between its 164 members.

Canada has been an active participant in many WTO disputes, including as a complainant, respondent or third party. Participation in a WTO dispute settlement is a key way to help ensure the rights of Canadian traders are protected and help maintain the integrity of the dispute-settlement system as a whole.

Trade negotiations are an important function of the WTO.

The WTO Doha Round of negotiations was launched at the fourth WTO Ministerial Conference in Doha, Qatar, in 2001.

The WTO Information Technology Agreement (ITA) is a tariff-liberalization agreement.

In 2014, Canada joined a number of other WTO members, including China, the European Union, Japan and the United States, in launching negotiations toward a new WTO plurilateral agreement on environmental goods.

The Ministerial Conference is the highest decision-making body of the WTO.

The WTO has a number of specialized committees and councils, working groups and working parties.

Surveillance of national trade policies is a fundamentally important activity running throughout the work of the WTO.

Canada is committed to its leadership role in finding solutions to the 21st-century challenges to the multilateral trading system.

Learn about Canada’s participation in the WTO Joint Statement Initiative on E-commerce.

If you have questions or comments, we would like to hear from you.

Overview of the WTO

Established in 1995, the World Trade Organization helps create rules for trade between its 164 members.

Canada is a strong proponent of the multilateral trading system, with the WTO at its core. Creating opportunities for Canadian workers and businesses through WTO participation is a central part of our trade strategy. The WTO provides a framework for pursuing those objectives on a global scale.

Canada has been a member of the WTO since the organization’s establishment on January 1, 1995.

The WTO:

  • administers WTO trade agreements;
  • provides a forum for trade negotiations;
  • handles trade disputes;
  • monitors members’ trade policies to help ensure compliance with WTO trade agreements; and
  • administers technical assistance and training for developing countries.

Canada endorses the goal of universal membership in the WTO and participates in all negotiations concerning countries seeking to join the organization.

Dispute settlement

Canada has been an active participant in many WTO disputes, including as a complainant, respondent or third party. Participation in a WTO dispute settlement is a key way to help ensure the rights of Canadian traders are protected and help maintain the integrity of the dispute-settlement system as a whole.

Canada has participated in WTO disputes as a:

  • complainant
  • respondent
  • third party

The WTO maintains a full list of all disputes involving its members and a repository of documents related to each case.

A full list, including instances in which Canada is a third party, can be obtained at the WTO website, where disputes are listed by member.

For information about how disputes are settled, see the WTO page on dispute settlement.

On July 25, 2019, Canada and the EU committed to an interim appeal-arbitration arrangement at the WTO.

Negotiations at the WTO

Trade negotiations are an important function of the WTO.

An important role of the WTO is to house negotiations on trade liberalization. WTO members have a standing mandate for multilateral negotiations under the Doha Development Agenda and are also pursuing plurilateral negotiations whereby subsets of the membership are interested in specific areas of liberalization, such as information technology and environmental goods.

Doha Development Agenda

The WTO Doha Round of negotiations was launched at the fourth WTO Ministerial Conference in Doha, Qatar, in 2001. One of the fundamental objectives of the Doha Round is to improve the trading prospects of less-developed countries, thus it is often referred to as the Doha Development Agenda. The mandate for the negotiations provided by the Doha ministerial declaration includes negotiations on agriculture, services, non-agricultural market access, trade-related aspects of intellectual property rights, WTO rules (e.g., anti-dumping, subsidies), dispute settlement, trade facilitation, and trade and environment, among others. The broader Doha Development Agenda negotiations have been at an impasse since 2011. However, at the ninth Ministerial Conference in Bali in December 2013, members concluded negotiations on a key element of the Doha Development Agenda: an agreement on trade facilitation.

Canada views the WTO as the best forum for achieving broadly based trade liberalization and supports the goal of better integrating developing countries into the international trading system. For more information, please see the Doha Development Agenda.

Information technology

The WTO Information Technology Agreement (ITA) is a tariff-liberalization agreement agreed upon through a Ministerial Declaration on Trade in Information Technology Products. Signed initially in 1996 by 29 WTO members, participation in this plurilateral agreement has increased consistently since then. It requires each participant to bind and eliminate customs duties for all products specified in the agreement. The tariff elimination is implemented on a most-favoured nation basis. The ITA covers a large number of high-technology products, including computers, telecommunication equipment, semiconductors, semiconductor manufacturing and testing equipment, software, and scientific instruments and their parts and accessories.

In light of new technological developments, some WTO members agreed to expand the product coverage of the ITA. In June 2012 negotiations were launched to expand the product coverage of the ITA. The ITA expansion was concluded in December 2015, and implemented by Canada on July 1, 2016. The ITA expansion provides for the elimination of tariffs on 201 products, including media storage devices, navigational devices, video game consoles, and medical devices, for over 50 WTO Members.

Environmental goods

In 2014, Canada joined a number of other WTO members, including China, the European Union, Japan and the United States, in launching negotiations toward a new WTO plurilateral agreement on environmental goods. Such an agreement would eliminate tariffs on a range of environmental goods. More open trade would create new markets for Canadian manufacturers, provide incentives for Canadian businesses to develop new products to protect the environment and increase the availability and lower the cost of environmental goods for Canadians. For more information, including periodic updates and statements by Canada’s trade minister, please see the plurilateral WTO Environmental Goods Agreement.

Ministerial conferences

The Ministerial Conference is the highest decision-making body of the WTO. It meets at least once every two years and is attended by the trade ministers of WTO members. The Ministerial Conference can make decisions on any matters under any multilateral trade agreement.

WTO Ministerial Conferences

Trade policy reviews

Surveillance of national trade policies is a fundamentally important activity running throughout the work of the WTO. The WTO reviews the trade policies of its members at regular intervals. Canada participates in each review. The objectives of a trade policy review (TPR) include facilitating the smooth functioning of the multilateral trading system by enhancing the transparency of members’ trade policies. The frequency of each country’s review varies according to its share of world trade. Canada’s 11th review took place on June 12 and 14, 2019 in Geneva. Canada’s next TPR should occur in 2024 as, going forward, Canada will be reviewed by the WTO on a five-year cycle.

WTO Reform and the Ottawa Group

The WTO is at a crossroads and faces many challenges that are stressing the multilateral trading system. In response, Canada brought together a small group of WTO members committed to supporting and strengthening the multilateral trading system. This group consists of representatives from:

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • the European Union
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Korea
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Singapore
  • Switzerland

The representatives of these countries are convened by Canada on a regular basis to engage in meaningful exchanges to enhance and improve the WTO over the short, medium, and long term.

The group works in the open and engages additional WTO members when appropriate. It will ultimately lead to advancing ideas and suggestions to the broader WTO membership for consideration and discussion.

Electronic commerce (e-commerce)

E-commerce, as defined by the WTO, is the production, distribution, marketing and/or sale of goods and services by electronic means. It can cover everything from the purchase and sale of merchandise goods and digital content via online platforms to any other trade in goods or services facilitated by electronic means.

With information technologies having eliminated distances between suppliers and customers, e-commerce is now a widely used platform and alternative for doing business across all sectors of the economy and for conducting international trade, and is an important part of the daily experiences and functionality of businesses and consumers across the global economy. The growing digitalization of trade and commerce has created significant new opportunities to help businesses and consumers. This makes access to new and established markets easier and allows us to take advantage of the benefits of trade.

Canada’s participation in the WTO joint statement initiative on e-commerce

The WTO has an important role to play in establishing a set of global trade rules to underpin the digital economy. In recognition of the growing importance of electronic commerce and digital trade—and the need for global trade rules in this area—Canada and other WTO members issued a joint statement at the 11th WTO Ministerial Conference in December 2017 to begin discussions towards future WTO negotiations on the trade-related aspects of e-commerce.

Since March 2018, these discussions have been ongoing and are open to any WTO member who wishes to attend or participate. In January 2019, at the World Economic Forum meetings in Davos, Switzerland, officials representing 76 WTO members announced their intention to launch WTO negotiations on e-commerce in a further joint statement. In May and June 2019, Canada tabled a text proposal covering a range of areas and a concept paper titled “ Building Confidence and Trust in Digital Trade ”. An additional concept paper entitled “Preventing the use of personal information from being used for the discrimination or persecution of natural persons” was tabled in September 2019. Other WTO members have also tabled text proposals with a view to transitioning exploratory discussions to text-based negotiations.

Canada is a knowledge and service economy and has an interest in establishing a strong, rules-based framework in the area of e-commerce and digital trade. A future WTO agreement on e-commerce is expected to establish a more open, transparent and predictable global digital trading framework in which Canadian businesses and consumers can operate.

Domestic policy considerations

Through negotiations, Canada will seek to ensure an outcome that maintains appropriate policy flexibility to pursue legitimate domestic public policy objectives. This includes flexibility to adopt and maintain policies that support the creation, development and distribution of Canadian cultural content in the digital environment. Canada will also aim to maintain appropriate flexibility to adopt policies and other measures to protect the privacy and security of consumers and their personal information online.

Related links

Contact

If you have questions or comments about this initiative, we would like to hear from you. Please contact Global Affairs Canada at:

Trade Policy and Negotiations Division (TCW)
Global Affairs Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario,  K1A 0G2

Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC)

Follow:

L’Organisation mondiale du commerce aide à créer des règles pour le commerce entre ses 164 membres. Le Canada est un ardent défenseur du système commercial multilatéral, l’OMC étant au centre de ses préoccupations.

Créée en 1995, l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) contribue à l’élaboration de règles pour les échanges commerciaux entre ses 164 membres.

Le Canada a participé activement à de nombreux différends portés devant l’OMC, en qualité de plaignant, de défendeur ou de tierce partie. La participation à un règlement des différends de l’OMC constitue un moyen efficace pour assurer la protection des droits des négociants canadiens et contribuer à préserver l’intégrité du système de règlement des différends dans son ensemble.

Les négociations commerciales constituent une importante fonction de l’OMC. Renseignez-vous sur la participation du Canada aux négociations visant à ouvrir les marchés à l’échelle mondiale.

Le cycle de négociations de Doha de l’OMC a été lancé lors de la quatrième conférence ministérielle de l’OMC à Doha, au Qatar, en 2001.

L’Accord sur les technologies de l’information (ATI) de l’OMC est un accord de libéralisation tarifaire.

En 2014, le Canada s’est joint à plusieurs autres membres de l’OMC, dont la Chine, les États-Unis, le Japon et l’Union européenne, pour lancer des négociations visant à en arriver à un nouvel accord plurilatéral sur les biens environnementaux.

La Conférence ministérielle est l’organe de décision suprême de l’OMC.

L’OMC compte plusieurs comités et conseils spécialisés, et groupes de travail traitant d’accords couvrant un vaste éventail de questions liées au commerce.

La surveillance des politiques commerciales nationales est une activité d’une importance fondamentale réalisée dans le cadre de l’OMC.

Le Canada est déterminé à assumer son rôle de chef de file dans la recherche de solutions aux défis du XXIe siècle qui se posent au système commercial multilatéral.

Renseignez-vous sur la participation du Canada à l'Initiative de la déclaration commune sur le commerce électronique de l'OMC

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires sur la présente initiative, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Vue d'ensemble de l'OMC

Créée en 1995, l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) contribue à l’élaboration de règles pour les échanges commerciaux entre ses 164 membres.

Le Canada est un fervent partisan du système commercial multilatéral, dont l’OMC est le centre. Créer des possibilités pour les entreprises et travailleurs canadiens grâce à notre participation à l’OMC est un élément central de notre stratégie commerciale. L’OMC offre un cadre propice à la poursuite de ces objectifs à l’échelle mondiale.

Le Canada est membre de l’OMC depuis la création de l’organisation le 1er janvier 1995.

L’OMC :

  • administre les accords commercial de l’OMC;
  • constitue une enceinte pour les négociations commerciales;
  • règle les différends commerciaux;
  • suit attentivement les politiques commerciales de ses membres pour contribuer à assurer leur conformité avec les accords commerciaux de l’OMC;
  • administre l’assistance technique et la formation destinées aux pays en développement.

Le Canada soutient l’objectif d’une participation universelle à l’OMC, et participe à toutes les négociations concernant les pays souhaitant rejoindre l’organisation.

Règlement des différends

Le Canada a participé activement à de nombreux différends portés devant l’OMC, en qualité de plaignant, de défendeur ou de tierce partie. La participation à un règlement des différends de l’OMC constitue un moyen efficace pour assurer la protection  des droits des négociants canadiens et contribuer à préserver l’intégrité du système de règlement des différends dans son ensemble.

Le Canada a participé au règlement des différends de l’OMC à titre de :

  • plaignant
  • défendeur
  • tierce partie

L’OMC conserve une liste complète de tous les différends impliquant ses membres et un référentiel de documents relatifs à chaque cas.

Une liste complète des différends, comprenant également les cas où le Canada a été une tierce partie, est disponible sur le site Web de l’OMC, où les différends sont répertoriés par membre.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus de règlement des différends, consultez la page Web de l’OMC sur le règlement des différends.

Le 25 juillet 2019, le Canada et l’UE se sont entendus sur une procédure arbitrale d’appel provisoire à l’OMC.

Négociations à l’OMC

Les négociations commerciales constituent une importante fonction de l’OMC. Renseignez-vous sur la participation du Canada aux négociations visant à ouvrir les marchés à l’échelle mondiale.

L’OMC a pour rôle important d’organiser des négociations sur la libéralisation du commerce. Les membres de l’OMC ont le mandat permanent de mener des négociations multilatérales dans le cadre du Programme de Doha pour le développement. Ils poursuivent également des négociations plurilatérales au cours desquelles des sous-groupes de membres s’intéressent à des domaines précis de la libéralisation, tels que les technologies de l’information et les biens environnementaux.

Programme de Doha pour le développement

Le cycle de négociations de Doha de l’OMC a été lancé lors de la quatrième conférence ministérielle de l’OMC à Doha, au Qatar, en 2001. L’un des objectifs fondamentaux du cycle de Doha est d’améliorer les perspectives commerciales des pays moins développés; c’est pour cette raison qu’il est appelé Programme de Doha pour le développement. Le mandat des négociations prévu par la déclaration ministérielle de Doha comprend, entre autres, les négociations sur l’agriculture, les services, l’accès aux marchés pour les produits non agricoles, les aspects des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui touchent au commerce, les règles de l’OMC (par exemple, les mesures antidumping, les subventions), le règlement des différends, la facilitation du commerce, ainsi que le commerce et l’environnement. Les négociations s’inscrivant dans le cadre plus vaste du Programme de Doha sont dans l’impasse depuis 2011. Toutefois, lors de la neuvième Conférence ministérielle, qui s’est tenue à Bali en décembre 2013, les membres ont conclu les négociations sur un élément clé du Programme de Doha pour le développement, soit un accord sur la facilitation du commerce.

Le Canada considère que l’OMC est le meilleur forum pour en arriver à une libéralisation commerciale à grande échelle. Il appuie l’objectif consistant à mieux intégrer les pays en développement dans le système commercial international. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le Programme de Doha pour le développement.

Technologie de l’information

L’Accord sur les technologies de l’information (ATI) de l’OMC est un accord de libéralisation tarifaire conclu dans le cadre de la Déclaration ministérielle sur le commerce des produits des technologies de l’information, initialement signée en 1996 par 29 membres de l’OMC. L’adhésion à cet accord plurilatéral n’a cessé d’augmenter depuis. Aux termes de l’Accord, chaque participant doit consolider et éliminer les droits de douane de tous les produits qui y sont précisés, et l’élimination des droits de douane est mise en œuvre sur la base de la nation la plus favorisée. L’ATI couvre un grand nombre de produits de haute technologie, dont les ordinateurs, le matériel de télécommunication, les semi-conducteurs, le matériel de fabrication et de test de semi-conducteurs, les logiciels et les instruments scientifiques, ainsi que leurs pièces et accessoires.

À la lumière des nouveaux développements technologiques, certains membres de l’OMC ont convenu d’élargir la gamme de produits couverts par l’Accord. En juin 2012, les négociations ont été lancées sur l’élargissement de la couverture des produits de l’Accord. L'expansion de l'ATI a été conclu en décembre 2015 et mis en œuvre par le Canada le 1er juillet 2016. L'expansion de l'ATI prévoit l'élimination des droits de douane sur 201 produits y compris les dispositifs de stockage multimédia, les appareils de navigation, les consoles de jeux vidéo et les appareils médicaux, pour plus de 50 Membres de l'OMC.

Biens environnementaux

En 2014, le Canada s’est joint à plusieurs autres membres de l’OMC, dont la Chine, les États-Unis, le Japon et l’Union européenne, pour lancer des négociations visant à en arriver à un nouvel accord plurilatéral sur les biens environnementaux. Un tel accord éliminerait les droits de douane sur une gamme de biens environnementaux. Un commerce plus ouvert créerait de nouveaux marchés pour les fabricants canadiens, inciterait les entreprises canadiennes à développer de nouveaux produits de protection de l’environnement, tout en augmentant la disponibilité et en réduisant le coût des biens environnementaux pour les Canadiens. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, notamment les mises à jour périodiques et les déclarations du ministre du Commerce du Canada, consultez l’Accord plurilatéral sur les biens environnementaux.

Conférences ministérielles

La Conférence ministérielle est l’organe de décision suprême de l’OMC. La Conférence réunit les ministres du Commerce des pays membres de l’OMC au moins une fois tous les deux ans. La Conférence ministérielle peut prendre des décisions sur toute question relevant de tout accord commercial multilatéral.

Les Conférences ministérielles de l’OMC

Comités et conseils de l’OMC

L’OMC compte plusieurs comités et conseils spécialisés, et groupes de travail traitant d’accords couvrant un vaste éventail de questions liées au commerce :

Examens des politiques commerciales

La surveillance des politiques commerciales nationales est une activité d’une importance fondamentale réalisée dans le cadre de l’OMC. L’OMC examine les politiques commerciales de ses membres à intervalles réguliers. Le Canada participe à chaque examen. Les objectifs de l’examen des politiques commerciales (EPC) consistent notamment à favoriser le bon fonctionnement du système de commerce multilatéral en améliorant la transparence des politiques commerciales des membres. La fréquence des examens pour chaque pays varie en fonction de leur part dans le commerce mondial. Le 11e examen du Canada a eu lieu les 12 et 14 juin 2019 à Genève. Le prochain EPC du Canada devrait avoir lieu en 2024 puisque, à l’avenir, la révision du Canada par l’OMC sera effectuée à chaque cinq ans.

Examens des politiques commerciales

L'OMC est à la croisée des chemins et fait face à de nombreux défis qui mettent le système commercial multilatéral à rude épreuve. En réponse à cela, le Canada a réuni un petit groupe de membres de l'OMC qui se sont engagés à appuyer le système commercial multilatéral et à le renforcer. Ce groupe est composé de représentants :

  • de l’Australie
  • du Brésil
  • du Chili
  • de l’Union européenne
  • de Japon
  • du Kenya
  • de la Corée
  • du Mexique
  • de la Nouvelle-Zélande
  • de la Norvège
  • de Singapour
  • de la Suisse

Ces représentants sont convoqués régulièrement par l'honorable Jim Carr, ministre de la Diversification du commerce international du Canada, afin de participer à des échanges significatifs visant à améliorer l'OMC à court, moyen et long terme.

Le groupe travaille ouvertement et sollicite la participation d'autres membres de l'OMC, le cas échéant. En fin de compte, ces réunions mènent à la présentation d'idées et de suggestions à l'ensemble des membres de l'OMC, qui les examinent et en discutent.

Commerce électronique

Le commerce électronique, tel que défini par l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), est la production, la distribution, la commercialisation ou la vente de biens et de services par des moyens électroniques. Le commerce électronique peut comprendre l’achat et la vente de marchandises et de contenu numérique par l’intermédiaire de plateformes en ligne, ou tout autre commerce de biens ou de services facilité par des moyens électroniques.

Comme les technologies de l’information ont éliminé les distances entre les fournisseurs et les clients, le commerce électronique est maintenant largement utilisé comme plateforme et solution de rechange pour faire des affaires dans tous les secteurs de l’économie et pour le commerce international. Il est en outre un élément important de l’expérience et de la fonctionnalité quotidiennes des entreprises et des consommateurs partout dans l’économie mondiale. La numérisation croissante des échanges et du commerce a créé de nouvelles possibilités importantes qui aident les entreprises et les consommateurs. Elle facilite l’accès aux marchés nouveaux et établis, et nous permet de profiter des avantages du commerce.

Participation du Canada à l’initiative de la déclaration commune de l’OMC sur le commerce électronique

L’OMC a un rôle important à jouer dans l’établissement d’un ensemble de règles commerciales mondiales pour soutenir l’économie numérique. Conscients de l’importance croissante du commerce électronique et du commerce numérique – et de la nécessité d’adopter des règles commerciales mondiales dans ce domaine –, le Canada et d’autres membres de l’OMC ont publié une déclaration commune lors de la 11e Conférence ministérielle de l’OMC en décembre 2017. L’objectif était d’amorcer les discussions en vue de futures négociations de l’OMC sur les aspects du commerce électronique qui touchent au commerce international.

Depuis mars 2018, ces discussions sont en cours et sont ouvertes à tout membre de l’OMC qui souhaite y assister ou y participer. En janvier 2019, lors des réunions du Forum économique mondial à Davos, en Suisse, des fonctionnaires représentant 76 membres de l’OMC ont annoncé leur intention de lancer les négociations de l’OMC sur le commerce électronique dans une autre déclaration commune. En mai et juin 2019, le Canada a déposé une proposition de texte couvrant divers domaines et un document de réflexion sur l’établissement de la confiance dans le commerce numérique. Un autre document de réflexion "Empêcher l'utilisation de renseignements personnels à des fins de discrimination ou de persécution de personnes physiques" a été déposé en septembre 2019. D'autres membres de l'OMC ont également présenté des propositions de texte en vue d’assurer la transition des discussions  exploratoires à des négociations fondées sur des textes.

Le Canada est une économie de la connaissance et des services, et il a intérêt à établir un cadre solide et fondé sur des règles dans le domaine du commerce électronique et du commerce numérique. Un futur accord de l’OMC sur le commerce électronique devrait établir un cadre commercial numérique mondial plus ouvert, plus transparent et plus prévisible afin que les entreprises et les consommateurs canadiens puissent y mener des activités.

Considérations de politique intérieure

Dans le cadre des négociations, le Canada s’efforcera d’obtenir un résultat qui maintient une souplesse stratégique appropriée pour poursuivre des objectifs légitimes de politique publique nationale. Cela comprend la souplesse nécessaire pour adopter et maintenir des politiques qui appuient la création, le développement et la distribution de contenu culturel canadien dans l’environnement numérique. Le Canada s’efforcera également de conserver la souplesse nécessaire pour adopter des politiques et d’autres mesures visant à protéger la vie privée et la sécurité des consommateurs, ainsi que leurs renseignements personnels en ligne.

Lien connexe

Coordonnées

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires sur la présente initiative, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Affaires mondiales Canada, à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales (TPE)
Affaires mondiales Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2

Téléc. : 613-944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca

Liens connexes

Date de modification: