Canada and the United Nations

As a founding member of the United Nations, Canada is committed to the guidance provided in the UN Charter to maintain international peace and security, develop friendly relations among nations, and to achieve international co-operation in solving international problems of an economic, social, cultural or humanitarian character, and in promoting and encouraging respect for human rights.

The commitment to multilateralism is the cornerstone of Canada’s foreign policy and the United Nations is our most important forum for that commitment.

Learn more about Canada’s Permanent Missions to the United Nations in New York City and Geneva.

Learn more about Canada’s candidacy for a seat on the United Nations Security Council.

Marc-André Blanchard, Leslie E. Norton, and Stephen de Boer represent Canada at our Permanent Missions to the United Nations.

Get in touch with Canada’s representatives at the United Nations.

Declarations and statements from previous meetings of the United Nations.

Canada in the United Nations

Commitment to multilateralism is the cornerstone of Canada’s foreign policy. The United Nations is Canada’s preeminent international forum for advancing issues that matter to Canadians and engaging with partners from around the world to meet global challenges. Global security and prosperity can only be achieved by working together towards a common goal: a more just, inclusive and sustainable world.

As Canadians, we are proud of our contributions to the foundation of the United Nations and to the achievement of its many milestones. We are committed to promoting human rights, advancing peace and security, upholding the rule of law, addressing climate change and ensuring sustainable development. Canada’s diplomacy and leadership at the UN give a strong voice to Canadian principles and values on the world stage. By promoting gender equality, environmental stewardship, and respect for diversity and inclusion, we are working toward a more peaceful and prosperous world.

There is no better example of the UN’s consensus-building power than the adoption by all member states of the 2030 Agenda and the Sustainable Development Goals. The 2030 Agenda aims to fight inequality, tackle climate change and build peaceful societies. Canada is committed to working with our partners to support the implementation of the Global Goals for Sustainable Development and ensure that no one is left behind.

Learn more about what Canada is doing at the United Nations to rise to the challenges of this century:

About Canada's offices to the UN

Canada has seven diplomatic missions accredited to the UN:

Canada has five other diplomatic missions accredited to the UN:

Canada's Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York City

The Permanent Mission of Canada delivers on Canada’s multilateral foreign policy priorities at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City. Through diplomacy, negotiation and analysis of UN activities, the Mission works to advance Canada’s interests and strengthen the pillars of the UN: international development, peace and security and human rights.

One of Canada’s key priorities is protecting and enhancing the international rules-based order by championing values of inclusive and accountable governance, including by promoting human rights, women’s empowerment and gender equality and peaceful pluralism.

The Permanent Mission of Canada consists of the following policy sections:

  • The Political Section works to advance Canadian peace and security objectives, including through engagement on crisis management, conflict prevention, peacebuilding and enhancing support for UN Peace Operations. The Political Section covers the Security Council, 1st (Disarmament & International Security), 4th (Special Political & Decolonization) and 5th (Administrative & Budgetary) Committees, and leads on reform initiatives to modernize the UN.
  • The Development Section is engaged in following up on the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, UN Development system reform and oversight for UN Funds and Programs (UNICEF, UNDP, UNFPA, UN Women). The section, which covers ECOSOC and 2nd Committee (Economic & Financial), also works on climate change action, ocean protection and SDG financing.
  • The Legal, Social and Human Rights Section works to promote respect for human rights, facilitate Canada’s response to humanitarian crisis and further the development of international law and respect for rule of law. The section is also responsible for global refugee and migration issues, gender equality and women’s empowerment, Indigenous affairs, and transnational crime and drugs. The section covers the 3rd (Social, Humanitarian & Cultural) and 6th Committees (Legal).
  • The Military and Police Section provides subject matter expertise to the Ambassador and Political staff on the full range of security considerations and issues related to UN peace operations. The section works to advance Canadian objectives through engagement with the UN and Member States on conflict prevention, peacekeeping, peace enforcement and capacity building. Officers cover the Security Council, 4th Committee (Special Political & Decolonization), C34, and work with military and police experts from Member States to modernize and improve the effectiveness of UN Operations. The section works with the UN on training, deployment of personnel and contingents, and development of peacekeeping policy.

Canada's Permanent Mission to the World Trade Organization, the United Nations and the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva

The Permanent Mission of Canada to the World Trade Organization, the United Nations and the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva is Canada's largest multilateral mission. We promote Canadian interests and work with other Member States to develop and uphold international norms and rules whether in terms of trade, health, labour environment, arms control, humanitarian law or human rights.

The Mission of Canada is the primary channel for diplomatic representation and communications between the Canadian government, the United Nations and its associated bodies in Geneva, the World Trade Organization and many other entities based in Geneva.

Ambassador Stephen de Boer is Canada’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the World Trade Organization.

Ambassador Leslie E. Norton is Canada’s Ambassador & Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations and the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva.

With more than 180 accredited missions (including states/observers), over 20 UN programs, funds, and specialized agencies and over 3,000 accredited civil society organizations, Geneva is a dynamic environment influencing critical global socio-economic and political developments.

Reflecting our whole-of-government and whole-of-Canada orientation, the Mission is comprised of staff from several Canadian departments and agencies, as well as locally engaged personnel. Our Canada-based staff come from Global Affairs Canada, the Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, and the Department of Finance Canada. Beyond these, our partner departments also include Health Canada, the Labour Program of Employment and Social Development Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada, Public Safety Canada, the Department of National Defense, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada , Natural Resources Canada, Transport Canada, the Canada Revenue Agency, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the Canadian Intellectual Property Office. Given our unique role in connecting with key international organizations including the UN and WTO, the Mission looks after the interests of Provinces and Territories.

The Mission also provides consular and passport support to the nearly 3,000 Canadians residing and working in Geneva.

Canada’s candidacy for the UN Security Council

It has been more than 20 years since Canada last served on the United Nations Security Council. A strong United Nations is in everyone’s interests, as is an effective UN Security Council capable of adapting and responding to 21st century challenges. Canada wants to help fashion forward-looking approaches to the world’s toughest problems.

Our ambition is to serve on a UN Security Council that serves the interests of Member States. Here are our priorities:

  • Sustaining peace
  • Addressing climate change
  • Promoting economic security
  • Advancing gender equality
  • Strengthening multilateralism

Canada has much to offer. We will stand up for the things that matter. We will be clear and consistent while focusing on building bridges. We will be relentless in our diplomacy, sincere in our partnerships, and innovative in our approaches. This is our commitment.

For more information please refer to the March 16, 2016 news release from Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Learn more about Canada’s candidacy for a non-permanent seat on the UN Security Council.

Canada's Ambassadors to the UN

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations in New York

Welcome to Canada’s Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York, the primary channel for communications between the Canadian government and the United Nations. I am deeply honoured to have been named by Canada’s Prime Minister, the Rt. Honourable Justin Trudeau, as Canada’s Permanent Representative.

Our mission is to carry forward the proud tradition of multilateral diplomacy and international engagement and to ensure that Canada plays an active role on peace and security, sustainable development, and human rights, while keeping our government and Canadians informed about multilateral issues.

Canada can and does play a leadership role in addressing the many global challenges facing us. With a team of dedicated diplomats, each and every day we work to exemplify Canada’s strong pluralistic traditions, respect for and celebration of diversity, and a fundamental commitment to the principles of the United Nations.

Since coming to office, Prime Minister Trudeau and the Government of Canada have been clear about the importance of the United Nations and multilateral engagement. Canada recognizes that a collective effort is needed of all Member States and all stakeholders if we are to find solutions to the many challenges before us – climate change, peace and security, poverty alleviation, and the global displacement crisis to name just a few.

In this respect, we here at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the United nations look forward to hearing from you. Please follow us on Twitter @CanadaUN or contact us by email at canada.un@international.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Marc-André Blanchard
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations in New York

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations in Geneva

Leslie E. Norton (Diploma [Civilization and Literature], Aix-Marseille III University, 1985; BA Hons [English and French Literature], University of Western Ontario, 1988; MA [International Relations], Laval University, 1992) began her career in the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) and then worked for many years at the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in a range of positions in the Africa, Asia and Multilateral branches, including serving in Bangladesh and at the Permanent Mission of Canada in Geneva. At Headquarters, she served as Director of the International Humanitarian Assistance and Food Aid Unit at CIDA from 2006 to 2008 and as Director of the Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Response Group at DFAIT from 2008 to 2009. She served as Director General of the International Humanitarian Assistance Bureau from 2009 to 2015 and as Director General of the Southern and Eastern Africa Bureau from 2015 to 2016. She served as Assistant Deputy Minister of the Sub-Saharan Africa Branch from 2016 to 2019 and was subsequently appointed Canada’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations and Conference on Disarmament in Geneva in August 2019.

Leslie E. Norton
Ambassador & Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations and the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the World Trade Organization

Stephen de Boer joined Global Affairs Canada in 2005 and has held various positions in the department, including in the Investment Trade Policy and North America Trade Policy Divisions. In 2006, he was named the Director of the Softwood Lumber Division. From 2008 to 2010, he served as the Director of the Oceans and Environmental Law Division and as Lead Counsel for Canada’s international climate change negotiations. In 2010, he joined Environment Canada as the Deputy Chief Negotiator for climate change and the Director General responsible for Canada’s international climate change negotiations and partnerships. Mr. de Boer returned to the department in 2013 as the Director General of the Trade Controls Bureau. In 2015, he was appointed Ambassador to Poland and in 2016, Ambassador to Belarus. Prior to joining the public service, he worked for the Government of Ontario.

Mr. de Boer has published and lectured on international trade and environmental issues including at the Faculty of Law at Western University, Ryerson University, and at the School of Law at Case Western Reserve University. He is also a member of the Advisory Board of the Canada-U.S. Law Institute. Mr. de Boer has a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws from Western University and a Master of Laws in International and Comparative Law from Georgetown University.

On August 21, 2017, Mr. de Boer was appointed as Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the World Trade Organization in Geneva.

Stephen de Boer
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the World Trade Organization

Contact Canada's offices to the UN

Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York

Address

466 Lexington Avenue, 20th Floor
New York, NY 10017, USA

Telephone: (1) 212-848-1100

Fax: (1) 212-848-1195

Email: canada.un@international.gc.ca

Hours of operation

Monday to Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. EST

Related information

Permanent Mission to the WTO, the UN and the CD in Geneva

Address

5 Avenue de l’Ariana
1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Telephone: 41/22 9199200

Fax: 41/22 9199233

Email:
Political/Economic: (UN/CD): genev-gr@international.gc.ca
Consular: genev-cs@international.gc.ca
Trade/Economic (WTO, WIPO, UNCTAD, ITC): genev-gvwto@international.gc.ca
Administration: genev-ag@international.gc.ca

Book an appointment

For passport applications and renewals, citizenship applications and for notary services, we serve clients who booked an appointment online only. Note that the appointment system is for Canadians requiring consular services and cannot be used for visa or immigration related inquiries.

Book an appointment

Hours of operation

Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Consular hours: Monday to Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

Date Modified:

Le Canada et les Nations Unies

En tant que membre fondateur des Nations Unies, le Canada s'engage à suivre les orientations de la Charte des Nations Unies pour le maintien de la paix et de la sécurité internationales, le développement de relations amicales entre les nations et la réalisation de la coopération internationale dans le but de résoudre les problèmes internationaux à caractère économique, social, culturel et humanitaire, ainsi que pour promouvoir et encourager le respect des droits de la personne.

L'engagement à l’égard du multilatéralisme est la pierre angulaire de la politique étrangère du Canada, et l'Organisation des Nations Unies est notre plus importante tribune pour le faire valoir.

Apprenez-en plus sur les missions permanentes du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York et à Genève.

Pour en savoir plus sur la candidature du Canada au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Marc-André Blanchard, Leslie E. Norton et Stephen de Boer représentent le Canada dans nos missions permanentes auprès des Nations Unies.

Communiquez avec les représentants du Canada aux Nations Unies.

Énoncés et déclarations des rencontres précédentes des Nations unies.

Le Canada aux Nations Unies

L’engagement envers le multilatéralisme est la pierre angulaire de la politique étrangère du Canada. L’Organisation des Nations Unies est la principale tribune internationale du Canada pour faire avancer les questions qui importent à la population canadienne et collaborer avec des partenaires de partout dans le monde pour relever les défis mondiaux. La sécurité et la prospérité mondiales ne peuvent être obtenues qu’en travaillant ensemble vers un objectif commun : un monde plus juste, plus inclusif et plus durable.

En tant que Canadiens, nous sommes fiers de notre contribution à la fondation de l’ONU et à la réalisation de nombreuses étapes importantes de son parcours. Nous sommes déterminés à promouvoir les droits de la personne, à faire progresser la paix et la sécurité, à faire respecter la primauté du droit, à lutter contre les changements climatiques et à assurer un développement durable. La diplomatie et le leadership du Canada à l’ONU donnent une voix forte aux valeurs et principes canadiens sur la scène internationale. En faisant la promotion de l’égalité entre les sexes, de la gérance de l’environnement, et du respect de la diversité et de l’inclusion, nous travaillons à créer un monde plus pacifique et plus prospère.

Il n’y a pas de meilleur exemple du pouvoir qui peut s’exercer au sein de l’ONU en matière de création de consensus que l’adoption, par tous les États membres de l’ONU, du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 et des objectifs de développement durable. Le Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 vise à éliminer les inégalités, à lutter contre les changements climatiques et à bâtir des sociétés pacifiques. Le Canada s’est engagé à travailler avec ses partenaires pour appuyer la mise en œuvre de ces objectifs mondiaux et veiller à ce que personne ne soit laissé pour compte.

Apprenez-en davantage sur ce que fait le Canada aux Nations Unies pour relever les défis de ce siècle :

À propos des bureaux du Canada à l'ONU

Le Canada compte sept missions diplomatiques accréditées auprès de l’ONU :

Le Canada a cinq autres missions diplomatiques accréditées auprès de l’ONU :

La Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des Nations Unies à New York

La Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) veille à la réalisation des priorités de politique étrangère du Canada au niveau multilatéral, au siège de l’ONU, à New York. Par la diplomatie, la négociation et l’analyse des activités des Nations Unies, la Mission s’emploie à promouvoir les intérêts du Canada et à renforcer les piliers de l’ONU, à savoir le développement international, la paix et la sécurité ainsi que les droits de la personne.

L’une des grandes priorités du Canada consiste à protéger et à améliorer l’ordre international fondé sur des règles en plaidant en faveur d’une gouvernance inclusive et responsable, et des valeurs qui la sous-tendent, y compris en faisant la promotion des droits de la personne, de l’autonomisation des femmes, de l’égalité entre les sexes et du pluralisme pacifique.

La mission permanente du Canada compte les secteurs de politique suivants :

  • La Section des affaires politiques s’emploie à faire progresser les objectifs du Canada en matière de paix et de sécurité, y compris en prenant part à la gestion de crise, à la prévention des conflits, à la consolidation de la paix et au renforcement de l’appui aux opérations de paix de l’ONU. Elle couvre le Conseil de sécurité, ainsi que la Première Commission (questions de désarmement et de sécurité internationale), la Quatrième Commission (questions politiques spéciales et de décolonisation) et la Cinquième Commission (questions administratives et budgétaires) de l’ONU, et elle dirige les initiatives de réforme visant à moderniser l’ONU.
  • La Section du développement participe au suivi de la mise en œuvre du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030, à la réforme du Système des Nations Unies pour le développement, et à la surveillance des fonds et programmes des Nations Unies (y compris UNICEF, le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD), le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (FNUAP) et ONU Femmes). La section, qui couvre le Conseil économique et social (ECOSOC) et la Deuxième Commission (questions économiques et financières) de l’ONU, travaille également à la lutte contre les changements climatiques, à la protection de l’océan et au financement des objectifs de développement durable (ODD).
  • La Section des affaires juridiques, sociales et des droits de la personne s’emploie à promouvoir le respect des droits de la personne, à faciliter l’intervention du Canada en cas de crise humanitaire et à favoriser le développement du droit international et le respect de la primauté du droit. La section est également responsable des questions mondiales relatives aux réfugiés et aux migrations, de l’égalité entre les sexes et de l’autonomisation des femmes, des affaires autochtones, de la criminalité transnationale et de la drogue. La section couvre la Troisième Commission (questions sociales, humanitaires et culturelles) et la Sixième Commission (questions juridiques) de l’ONU.
  • La Section de l’armée et de la police apporte une expertise en la matière à l’ambassadeur et au personnel politique sur toute la gamme des considérations et des questions de sécurité liées aux opérations de paix de l’ONU. La section s’emploie à faire progresser les objectifs du Canada en collaborant avec l’ONU et les États membres dans les domaines de la prévention des conflits, du maintien de la paix, de l’imposition de la paix et du renforcement des capacités. Le personnel couvre le Conseil de sécurité, la Quatrième Commission (questions politiques spéciales et de décolonisation) et le Comité spécial des opérations de maintien de la paix (C34), et travaille en outre avec les experts de l’armée et de la police des États membres afin de moderniser et d’améliorer l’efficacité des opérations de l’ONU. La section collabore avec l’ONU sur les questions de la formation, du déploiement du personnel et des contingents, et de l’élaboration d’une politique de maintien de la paix.

La mission permanente du Canada auprès de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, des Nations Unies et de la Conférence du désarmement à Genève

La Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, des Nations Unies et de Conférence sur le désarmement, à Genève, est la plus grande mission multilatérale canadienne. La Mission fait la promotion des intérêts canadiens et travaille avec les autres États membres à l’élaboration et au respect des normes et des règles internationales, qu’il s’agisse du commerce, de la santé, du travail, de l’environnement, du contrôle des armements, du droit humanitaire ou des droits de la personne.

La Mission permanente du Canada à Genève est la principale voie de représentation et de communication diplomatiques entre le gouvernement du Canada, l’ONU (et ses organes à Genève), l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) et de nombreux autres organismes menant leurs activités à partir de Genève.

Stephen de Boer est l’ambassadeur et le représentant permanent du Canada auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du Commerce.

Leslie E. Norton est l’Ambassadrice et Représentante permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies et de la Conférence sur le désarmement à Genève.

Abritant plus de 180 missions accréditées (y compris les États/observateurs), plus de 20 programmes, fonds et institutions spécialisées des Nations Unies, ainsi que plus de 3 000 organisations accréditées de la société civile, Genève est un environnement dynamique ayant une influence sur d’importants changements socioéconomiques et politiques.

Compte tenu de son orientation pangouvernementale et pancanadienne, la Mission est composée d’employés de plusieurs ministères et organismes canadiens, ainsi que d’employés recrutés sur place. Les employés canadiens proviennent d’Affaires mondiales Canada, d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada, d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et du ministère des Finances Canada. En outre, la Mission compte notamment les autres partenaires suivants au sein de l’administration fédérale : Santé Canada, le Programme du travail d’Emploi et Développement social Canada, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, Sécurité publique Canada, le ministère de la Défense nationale, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, Transports Canada, l’Agence du revenu du Canada, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments et l’Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada. En raison de son rôle unique dans l’établissement de liens avec des organisations internationales clés, y compris les Nations Unies et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, la Mission protège les intérêts des provinces et des territoires.

En outre, la Mission offre aux près de 3 000 Canadiens et Canadiennes qui vivent et travaillent à Genève, ainsi qu’aux Canadiens qui se trouvent temporairement dans cette ville, des services relatifs aux affaires consulaires et aux passeports.

Candidature du Canada au Conseil de sécurité de l'ONU

Cela fait plus de 20 ans que le Canada n'a pas siégé au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Une ONU forte est dans l'intérêt de tous, tout comme un Conseil de sécurité efficace, capable de s'adapter et de relever les défis du XXIe siècle. Le Canada veut contribuer à l'élaboration d'approches tournées vers l'avenir pour résoudre les problèmes les plus graves de la planète.

Le Canada souhaite siéger au Conseil de sécurité de l'ONU pour le bénéfice des États membres. Voici ses priorités :

  • Maintenir la paix
  • Lutter contre le changement climatique
  • Promouvoir la sécurité économique
  • Promouvoir l'égalité des genres
  • Renforcer le multilatéralisme

Le Canada a beaucoup à offrir. Il défendra les choses qui comptent. Il sera clair et cohérent, tout en consacrant du temps à bâtir des ponts. Il fera preuve de persévérance dans sa diplomatie, de sincérité dans ses partenariats et d’innovation dans ses approches. Voilà son engagement.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter le communiqué de presse du Premier ministre Justin Trudeau du 16 mars 2016.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la candidature du Canada à un siège non permanent au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Ambassadeurs du Canada à l'ONU

Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York

Bienvenue à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies, le principal canal de communication entre le gouvernement canadien et les Nations Unies. Je suis extrêmement honoré d’avoir été nommé Représentant permanent du Canada par le Très Honorable Justin Trudeau, Premier Ministre du Canada.

Notre mission est de poursuivre la fière tradition de diplomatie multilatérale et d’engagement international et de s’assurer que le Canada joue un rôle actif en matière de paix et de sécurité, de développement durable, et de droits de l’homme, tout en tenant notre gouvernement et les canadiens au courant des questions multilatérales.

Le Canada a le pouvoir de jouer et joue un rôle de premier plan pour relever les nombreux défis mondiaux auxquels nous faisons face. Avec une équipe de diplomates dévoués, nous nous efforçons chaque jour d’incarner les solides traditions pluralistes du Canada, son respect et sa célébration de la diversité, et de démontrer un engagement fondamental envers les principes des Nations Unies.

Depuis son arrivée au pouvoir, le Premier Ministre Trudeau et le gouvernement du Canada ont été clairs sur l’importance des Nations Unies et de l’engagement multilatéral. Le Canada reconnaît qu’un effort collectif est nécessaire de la part de tous les États membres et de tous les intervenants si nous voulons trouver des solutions aux nombreux défis auxquels nous faisons face – le changement climatique, la paix et la sécurité, la réduction de la pauvreté, et la crise mondiale de déplacement pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

À cet égard, nous tous à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies, restons à votre écoute. N’hésitez pas à suivre notre actualité sur Twitter @CanadaONU ou à nous contacter par courriel à canada.un@international.gc.ca.

Avec nos sentiments les meilleurs,

Marc-André Blanchard
Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies

Ambassadrice et la représentante permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à Genève

Leslie E. Norton (Diplôme [civilisation et littérature], Université d’Aix‑Marseille III, 1985; B.A. avec spécialisation [littérature anglaise et française], Université Western Ontario, 1988; M.A. [relations internationales], Université Laval, 1992) a entamé sa carrière au Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), puis a occupé pendant de nombreuses années divers postes à l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) au sein des secteurs de l’Afrique, de l’Asie et des Programmes multilatéraux, ce qui comprend des affectations au Bangladesh et à la Mission permanente du Canada à Genève. À l’administration centrale, elle a été Directrice de l’Unité de l’Assistance humanitaire internationale et de l’Aide alimentaire à l’ACDI, de 2006 à 2008, et Directrice du Groupe des Affaires humanitaires et des interventions d’urgence au MAECI, de 2008 à 2009. Elle a assumé les fonctions de Directrice générale de la Direction générale de l’Assistance humanitaire internationale de 2009 à 2015, ainsi que celles de Directrice générale de la Direction générale de l’Afrique Australe et de l’Est, de 2015 à 2016. Elle a été Sous-ministre adjointe du secteur de l’Afrique subsaharienne de 2016 à 2019. Par la suite, elle fut désignée Ambassadrice et Représentante permanente auprès de l’Office des Nations Unies et de la Conférence du désarmement à Genève en août 2019.

Leslie E. Norton
Ambassadrice et Représentante permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies et de la Conférence sur le désarmement à Genève

Ambassadeur et représentant permanent auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce

Stephen de Boer est entré à Affaires mondiales Canada en 2005 et a occupé des postes variés au sein du Ministère, notamment à la Direction de la politique commerciale sur l’investissement et à la Direction générale de la politique commerciale en Amérique du Nord. En 2006, il a été nommé directeur de la Direction du bois d’œuvre résineux. De 2008 à 2010, M. de Boer a occupé le poste de directeur de la Direction du droit des océans et de l’environnement et celui d’avocat principal dans le cadre des négociations internationales du Canada sur les changements climatiques. En 2010, il a intégré Environnement Canada à titre de négociateur en chef adjoint pour les changements climatiques et de directeur général responsable des négociations et des partenariats internationaux du Canada sur les changements climatiques. M. de Boer est revenu au Ministère en 2013 en tant que directeur général de la Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale. En 2015, il a été nommé ambassadeur en Pologne et, en 2016, ambassadeur au Bélarus. Avant de se joindre à la fonction publique, il a travaillé au gouvernement de l’Ontario.

S’inscrivent aussi à son registre de nombreuses publications sur le commerce international et l’environnement, ainsi que plusieurs conférences prononcées sur ce sujet au Canada, notamment à la Faculté de droit de l’Université Western, à l’Université Ryerson, ainsi qu’à la Faculté de droit de l’Université Case Western Reserve. M. de Boer est aussi l’un des membres du conseil d’administration du Canada-U.S. Law Institute. Stephen de Boer détient un baccalauréat ès arts et un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université Western, auxquels s’ajoute une maîtrise en droit international comparé de l’Université Georgetown.

M. de Boer a été nommé Ambassadeur et Représentant permanent auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce à Genève le 21 août 2017.

Stephen de Boer
Ambassadeur et représentant permanent auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce

Contactez les bureaux du Canada à l'ONU

Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York

Adresse

466 Avenue de Lexington, 20ème étage
New York, NY 10017, États-Unis

Téléphone : (1) 212-848-1100

Télécopieur : (1) 212-848-1195

Courriel : canada.un@international.gc.ca

Heures d'ouverture

Lundi à Vendredi : 9h 00 - 5h 30 HNE

Informations connexes

Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, des Nations Unies et de la Conférence sur le désarmement à Genève

Adresse

5 Avenue de l’Ariana
1202 Genève, Suisse

Téléphone : 41/22 9199200

Télécopieur : 41/22 9199233

Courriel :
politiques/économiques (ONU/CD) : genev-gr@international.gc.ca
consulaires : genev-cs@international.gc.ca
commerciales/économiques (OMC, OMPI, CNUCED, CCI) : genev-gvwto@international.gc.ca
administratives : genev-ag@international.gc.ca

Prendre rendez-vous

Pour toute demande de passeport, de citoyenneté ou de services notariaux, nous ne servons que les clients ayant pris un rendez-vous en ligne. Le service de rendez-vous en ligne est offert aux citoyens canadiens nécessitant des services consulaires et ne peut pas être utilisé pour des demandes de visas ou pour toute question reliée à l’immigration.

Prendre rendez-vous

Heures d'ouverture

Lundi à Vendredi : 8h 30 à 4h 30

Service Consulaire : Lundi à Vendredi : 9h 00 à 11h 30

Date de modification: