Language selection

Search

Women, Peace and Security Awards Program

United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Resolution 1325 calls on us to recognize women as powerful agents of change. Far too often, the invaluable role that women play in ending and preventing conflict goes unnoticed. The world must respect, listen to and stand with women in all their diversity.

In honour of the 20th anniversary of the resolution, Global Affairs Canada launched its Women, Peace and Security (WPS) Awards Program. These awards recognize those who have gone above and beyond to advance the WPS agenda by highlighting excellence in research and civil society leadership.

The purpose of this awards program is to help address some of the gaps that hinder the full implementation of the WPS agenda—notably, the lack of recognition of and support for the important role civil society plays in implementing the agenda and the gaps in the evidence base supporting the agenda’s implementation. The program includes a research award led by the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) and a civil society leadership award led by Global Affairs Canada (GAC).

Since 2021, Canada has recognized outstanding women peacebuilders and feminist organizations for their contributions to the implementation of the WPS agenda . Learn more about past recipients of the WPS awards and past annual themes below.

The 2023 Women, Peace and Security Civil Society Leadership Award: Conflict-Related Sexual Violence & Gender-Based Violence

The Civil Society Leadership Award is once again awarded to one international and one Canadian recipient.

The 2023 Award will recognize individuals, organizations, and/or networks whose contributions address conflict-related sexual violence (CRSV) and gender-based violence (GBV), which are not only serious human rights violations, but also a threat to international peace and security.

Nominations under the International Category must meet the criteria of work addressing CRSV. Work addressing GBV more broadly will only be considered for Canadian nominations of the National Category.

To submit a nomination, please read the instructions and criteria in the Women, Peace and Security Civil Society Leadership Award 2023 Call for Nominations package and submit the Nomination Form 2023 by 11:59 pm EST on 11 December 2023.

The 2022 Women, Peace and Security Civil Society Leadership Award: Gender, Climate Change and Conflict

The Civil Society Leadership Award is once again awarded to international and Canadian recipients to recognize their efforts in advancing the WPS agenda.

The 2022 Award recognizes individuals, organizations, and/or networks whose contributions address the disproportionate impact of climate change-related conflict and insecurity on women and girls. Recognized by the United Nations Security Council as a significant ‘threat multiplier’, climate change contributes to heightened fragility, and can further destabilize fragile and conflict-affected settings and undermine peace and security in climate-impacted communities.

Recipients of the 2022 WPS Civil Society Leadership Award

Canadian recipient: Sheri Lysons, Michelle Vandevord, and Darlene Yellow Old Woman-Munro

The Canadian award is shared by three mentors from Preparing Our Home, who support each other in their work at the intersections of gender, climate change and conflict, to empower Indigenous women to be safe and secure in their communities.
Preparing Our Home is a community-based resilience program that strengthens disaster response capabilities in Indigenous communities by training and empowering Indigenous youth as emergency preparedness leaders.

Sheri Lysons

Sheri Lysons is a Fire Chief from the Adams Lake Indian Band, in British Columbia. She leads a diverse Fire Department, made up of youth, women and men, Indigenous and non-Indigenous Peoples working together. The team was formed during the 2021 Sparks Lake wildfire, which coincided with the ongoing pandemic, and the trauma with the discovery of 215 children near the Kamloops Indian Residential School. Sheri fosters reconciliation in action, with her work advancing trauma-informed fire service and building community safety capacity across ages, genders, and race.

Michelle Vandevord

Michelle Vandevord is the longest serving female firefighter and the first female Captain of the Muskoday First Nation Volunteer Fire Department, in Saskatchewan. In addition to being the Associate Director for Saskatchewan First Nation Emergency Management, and President of the Prince Albert Grand Council's Search, Rescue & Recovery, Michelle was voted in 2020 as the first female President for the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada to develop national and regional Indigenous bodies to serve Indigenous communities.

Darlene Yellow Old Woman-Munro

Darlene Yellow Old Woman-Munro, is an Elder, Chief, and the Treaty 7 Zone Director, Medical Services Branch from the Siksika Nation in Alberta. In 2013, Siksika experienced the worst flooding disaster in their history. Darlene, an evacuee herself, created the Dancing Deer Disaster Recovery Program to assist evacuees in their long journey of returning home, delivering age appropriate culturally safe services in the Blackfoot language. The centre works with single mothers, people with disabilities, and Elders through periods of displacement.

International recipients:

The West Africa Network for Peacebuilding – Nigeria

WANEP-Nigeria was selected as a recipient of the 2022 WPS Civil Society Leadership Award for outstanding achievements in gender-transformative interventions, specifically aimed at addressing conflict related to climate change. The organization has used innovative programming to reduce farmer-herder conflict by operationalizing an early-warning mechanism. It has trained women leaders in peacebuilding and climate change adaptation in the Niger Delta, and works with State and non-State actors to build and strengthen peace architectures.

WANEP-Nigeria is a member of the West Africa Network for Peacebuilding, a regional network of peacebuilding civil society organizations in West African States founded in 1998 as a response to the outbreak of civil wars across the region.

Organización Femenina Popular (Colombia)

OFP was selected as a 2022 recipient of the WPS Civil Society Leadership Award for its Guardianas de la Vida (Guardians of Life and Nature) Program. Operating in the Magdalena Medio region, an area rich in natural resources and focal point for internal conflict, the program aims to build the capacity of women through training and resources, to protect the environment and address the impacts of climate change. Interventions focus on climate change adaption and mitigation strategies such as sustainable agriculture, seed preservation, and local reforestation projects. OFP is also recognized as a women-led organization, with a tireless commitment to peace and security in Colombia over the past 50 years.

2022 Women, Peace and Security Research Award

The Women, Peace and Security Research Award was launched in collaboration with the IDRC to promote a greater understanding of the vital role women play in addressing the gendered impacts of climate change-related insecurity and conflict. The award targets early-career researchers or research institutions in fragile and conflict-affected states in the Global South, or a North-South collaboration.

For more information on the WPS Research Award, visit IDRC - International Development Research Centre.

Recipients of the 2022 WPS Research Award

Dr. Julia Palmiano Federer and Lorelei Higgins,
A person smiling for the camera  Description automatically generated with medium confidence 
A person smiling for the camera  Description automatically generated with low confidence

The work of these two researchers, titled, The Power to Protect: Climate Change, Intersectional Environmentalism and the Leadership of Indigenous Women, seeks to investigate the nexus between gender, climate change and contentious sites of conflict and insecurity, beyond traditional armed conflicts. Additionally, they seek to understand and highlight the impacts of climate change on Indigenous women and girls, and role of women in mitigation and resilience-building.

Dr. Julia Palmiano Federer (left) is a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Ottawa and is the Head of Research at the Ottawa Dialogue.

Lorelei Higgins (right) is a Métis Canadian Cultural Mediator, a Rotary Peace Fellow and Positive Peace Activator as well as a Governor General’s Canadian Leadership Program alumna. As the current Mrs. Canada Globe and a Women in Need Foundation Ambassador, Lorelei is leading efforts to increase female leadership in peacebuilding efforts locally and globally.

Kiden Sawala Lukudu and Dr. Umar Mohammed
A person in a suit and tie  Description automatically generated with medium confidence

The work of these two researchers, titled, Climate Change, Conflict and Gender Nexus: Evidence from South Sudan, aims to higlight the impact of climate change on women’s safety and security in Jonglei and Unity States in South Sudan. Their work will also address the barriers to women’s meaningful participation and leadership at the local-level while outlining inititatives taken by women in these regions to adapt and mitigate the effects of climate change-related conflict.

Kiden Lukudu (left) is an economist. She lectures at the University of Juba, South Sudan and does consulting for non-governmental and community-based organizations as well as government. Her areas of expertise include women peace and security, safeguarding, agricultural economics and economic development.

 

Dr. Umar Mohammed (right) is a lecturer at Hitit University in Turkey, and holds PhD in economics from Ankara Yildirim Beyazit University. His research focuses include the economics of migration, refugees, forced migration and development.

Julliet Nafula Ogubi and Salome Aluoch Owuonda
A person smiling for the camera  Description automatically generated with medium confidence
A picture containing person, clothing  Description automatically generated

The work of these two researchers, titled, Participation of women in peacebuilding during drought and climate change-related conflict: The Case of the Endorois and Ilchamus Communities in Baringo County, Kenya, examines the participation of different gender groups in peacebuilding in cases of drought, and proposes strategies to improve equal and meaningful engagement of marginalized groups towards effective conflict resolution and long-term peace.

Julliet Ogubi (left) is the monitoring and evaluation officer at the Centre for Minority Rights Development (CEMIRIDE) in Kenya. She is an environment and climate-change specialist, and is recognized for her 15 years of experience and contributions to environmental research.

Salome Aluoch Owuonda (right) is the climate change program manager at CEMIRIDE. She is recognized for her more than 11 years of experience in gender mainstreaming and analysis, climate governance, and food systems in Kenya.

2021 Recipients of the WPS Awards

The Civil Society Leadership Award is awarded to one international and one Canadian recipient to recognize the role of individuals, civil society organizations and networks in advancing the WPS agenda.

This year’s awards recognize women peacebuilders who make outstanding contributions to conflict prevention, conflict resolution and post-conflict peacebuilding and, through these actions, are an inspiration for and example to future women peacebuilders.

Women peacebuilders eligible for this award include:

  • mediators
  • negotiators
  • peace and human rights activists
  • Indigenous, community, social and youth leaders
  • other women contributing to the prevention and resolution of conflict and to building peaceFootnote 1

Recipients of the 2021 WPS Civil Society Leadership Award

Canadian recipient: Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada is a not-for-profit organization that has advocated for the empowerment of Inuit women for over 35 years. It was selected as the Canadian recipient of this award for its significant contributions in promoting and protecting the human rights and safety of Inuit women and girls in Canada through its political leadership and diplomacy, for its contributions to programming and capacity to deliver results.

International recipient: Tejido Mujer - Çxhab Wala Kiwe

Tejido Mujer - Çxhab Wala Kiwe

Tejido Mujer is a women’s rights and peacebuilding organization in Cauca, Colombia.

It was selected as the 2021 international recipient in light of its significant contributions to the advancement of Indigenous and Caucan women’s rights and to the peace process in Colombia through providing space for meeting and political training and peaceful resistance to the conflict.

2021 Women, Peace and Security Research Award

The Women, Peace and Security Research Award was launched in collaboration with the IDRC to promote a greater understanding of the vital role women play in conflict prevention, conflict resolution and post-conflict peacebuilding. The award targets early-career researchers or research institutions in fragile and conflict-affected states in the Global South, or a North-South collaboration.

For more information on the WPS Research Award, visit IDRC - International Development Research Centre.

Recipients of the 2021 WPS Research Award

Marsin Alshamary

Marsin Alshamary

Marsin Alshamary is a researcher with extensive fieldwork experience in Iraq. She holds a PhD in Political Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. IDRC selected researcher Marsin Alshamary for her important research on Iraqi women leaders in formal politics and in civil society, which shows the connections between the 2 groups.

Hafsa Afailal and Muzna Dureid

Hafsa Afailal
Muzna Dureid

Hafsa Afailal (left) is a humanitarian worker and researcher and holds a Ph.D. in Social Sciences from the Rovira I Virgili University in Spain.

Muzna Dureid (right) is a policy analyst and humanitarian practitioner, and co-founder of the Syrian women's political movement to engage Syrian women in politics and peace talks.

IDRC selected researchers Hafsa Afailal and Muzna Dureid for their joint research on the digital security of women human rights defenders, activists and peacebuilders in Yemen and Syria.

Awards ceremony

The 2022 WPS Awards program ceremony was held in June 2023.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme de prix pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité

La résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies nous appelle à reconnaître les femmes comme de puissantes agentes du changement. Bien trop souvent, le rôle inestimable que jouent les femmes pour mettre fin aux conflits et les prévenir passe inaperçu. Le monde doit respecter, écouter et soutenir les femmes dans toute leur diversité.

En l’honneur du 20e anniversaire de la résolution, Affaires mondiales Canada a lancé son programme de prix pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité (FPS). Ces prix récompensent les personnes qui se sont surpassées pour promouvoir le programme FPS en soulignant l’excellence en recherche et le leadership de la société civile.

L’objectif de ce programme de prix est d’aider à combler certaines des lacunes qui entravent la mise en œuvre complète du programme FPS, notamment le manque de reconnaissance et de soutien du rôle important que joue la société civile dans la mise en œuvre du programme et les lacunes dans les données probantes soutenant la mise en œuvre du programme. Celui‑ci comprend une bourse de recherche dirigée par le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) et une bourse de leadership de la société civile dirigée par Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC).

Depuis 2021, le Canada reconnait des femmes et organisations féministes remarquables qui ont contribué au progrès du programme FPS. Apprenez-en plus sur les lauréates du programme FPS et 2021 et thèmes annuelles du passé ci-dessous.

Prix 2023 du leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité : Violence sexuelle liée aux conflits et violence fondée sur le genre

Le Prix du leadership de la société civile est à nouveau décerné à un lauréat international et à un lauréat canadien.

Le prix 2023 reconnaitra des personnes, organisations et/ou réseaux dont les contributions portent sur les violences sexuelles liées aux conflits (VSC) et les violences fondées sur le genre (VFG), qui constituent non seulement de graves violations des droits de la personne, mais aussi une menace pour la paix et la sécurité internationales.

Les nominations dans la catégorie internationale doivent répondre aux critères de la lutte contre la violence sexuelle liée aux conflits. Les travaux portant sur la violence liée au sexe de manière plus générale ne seront pris en considération que pour les nominations canadiennes de la catégorie nationale.

Pour soumettre une nomination, veuillez lire les instructions et les critères dans le dossier de l'appel à candidatures du Prix du leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité 2023 et soumettre le formulaire de candidature 2023 avant 23h59 HNE le 11 décembre 2023.

Le prix du leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2022 : Genre, changements climatiques et conflit

Le Prix du leadership de la société civile est à nouveau décerné à des lauréates internationales et à des lauréates canadiennes afin de reconnaître leurs efforts pour faire avancer le programme FPS.

Le prix de 2022 récompense les personnes, les organisations ou les réseaux qui ont contribué à atténuer les effets disproportionnés qu’ont l’insécurité et les conflits liés aux changements climatiques sur les femmes et sur les filles. Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a reconnu que les changements climatiques constituaient un important « multiplicateur de menaces » et qu’ils contribuaient à une plus grande fragilité et pouvaient déstabiliser davantage les milieux fragiles et touchés par les conflits et compromettre la paix et la sécurité dans les communautés touchées par les changements climatiques.

Lauréates du Prix de leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2022

Lauréates canadiennes : Sheri Lysons, Michelle Vandevord et Darlene Yellow Old Woman-Munro

Le prix canadien est partagé par 3 mentores de Preparing Our Home, qui se soutiennent mutuellement dans leur travail, qui est à l’intersection des questions du genre, des changements climatiques et des conflits, afin de permettre aux femmes autochtones d’être en sécurité dans leurs communautés.

Preparing Our Home est un programme de résilience communautaire qui renforce les capacités de répondre aux catastrophes dans les communautés autochtones en formant et en autonomisant les jeunes autochtones pour en faire des leaders en matière de préparation aux situations d’urgence.

Sheri Lysons

Sheri Lysons est chef des pompiers et des pompières de la bande autochtone d’Adams Lake, en Colombie-Britannique. Elle dirige un service d’incendie diversifié, composé de jeunes, de femmes et d’hommes, d’autochtones et de non-autochtones travaillant ensemble. L’équipe a été formée lors de l’incendie de forêt du lac Sparks en 2021, qui a coïncidé avec la pandémie et le traumatisme causé par la découverte de 215 enfants près du pensionnatautochtone de Kamloops. Sheri encourage la réconciliation par l’action, avec son travail de promotion d’un service d’incendie tenant compte des traumatismes et de renforcement de la sécurité communautaire pour tous les âges, tous les genres et toutes les origines.

Michelle Vandevord

Michelle Vandevord est la plus ancienne pompière et la première femme capitaine du Muskoday First Nation Volunteer Fire Department, en Saskatchewan. En plus d’être directrice associée de la gestion des urgences des Premières Nations de la Saskatchewan et présidente du service de recherche, de sauvetage et de récupération du Grand conseil de Prince Albert, Michelle a été élue en 2020 première femme présidente de l’Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada, qui a pour mission de mettre sur pied des organismes autochtones nationaux et régionaux au service des communautés autochtones.

Darlene Yellow Old Woman-Munro

Darlene Yellow Old Woman-Munro est une aînée, une chef et la directrice de la zone duTraité no 7 de la direction des services médicaux des Siksikas, en Alberta. En 2013, les Siksikas ont connu les pires inondations de leur histoire. Darlene, elle-même évacuée, a créé le Dancing Deer Disaster Recovery Program pour aider les personnes évacuées dans leur long périple de retour à la maison, en fournissant des services sûrs sur le plan culturel et adaptés à l’âge, en langue des Pied-Noirs. Le centre travaille avec des mères célibataires, des personnes handicapées et des personnes âgées pendant les périodes de déplacement.

Lauréates internationales:

The West Africa Network for Peacebuilding (Nigeria)

L’organisation West Africa Network for Peacebuilding (WANEP)-Nigeria a été sélectionnée comme lauréate du Prix de leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2022 pour ses réalisations exceptionnelles en matière d’interventions de transformation du genre, notamment en ce qui concerne les conflits liés aux changements climatiques. L’organisation a utilisé une programmation innovante pour réduire les conflits entre agriculteurs et éleveurs en mettant en place un mécanisme d’alerte précoce. Elle a formé des femmes leaders à la consolidation de la paix et à l’adaptation aux changements climatiques dans le delta du Niger, et travaille avec des représentants de l’État et d’autres intervenants pour bâtir et renforcer les structures de maintien de la paix.

WANEP-Nigeria est membre du Réseau ouest-africain pour la consolidation de la paix, un réseau régional d’organisations de la société civile pour la consolidation de la paix dans les États d’Afrique de l’Ouest, fondé en 1998 en réponse à l’éclatement de guerres civiles dans la région.

Organización Femenina Popular (Colombie)

L’organisation Organización Femenina Popular (OFP) a été sélectionnée comme lauréate du Prix de leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2022 pour son programme Guardianas de la Vida (Gardiennes de la vie et de la nature). Le programme, qui opère dans la région de Magdalena Medio, une zone riche en ressources naturelles et point focal des conflits internes, vise à renforcer la capacité des femmes, au moyen de formations et de ressources, à protéger l’environnement et à faire face aux impacts des changements climatiques. Les interventions se concentrent sur les stratégies d’adaptation et d’atténuation des changements climatiques, telles que l’agriculture durable, la préservation des semences et les projets de reforestation locaux. L’OFP est par ailleurs une organisation dirigée par des femmes, dont l’engagementen faveur de la paix et de la sécurité en Colombie ne s’est jamais démenti au cours des 50 dernières années.

Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2022

Le Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité a été lancé en collaboration avec le CRDI afin de promouvoir une meilleure compréhension du rôle essentiel que jouent les femmes dans la lutte contre les effets genrés de l’insécurité et des conflits liés aux changements climatiques. Le prix vise les chercheuses en début de carrière ou les institutions de recherche dans les États fragiles et touchés par les conflits dans les pays du Sud, ou une collaboration entre les pays du Nord et les pays du Sud.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité, consultez la page CRDI – Centre de recherches pour le développement international.

Lauréates du Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2022

Dr. Julia Palmiano Federer et Lorelei Higgins
A person smiling for the camera  Description automatically generated with medium confidence 
A person smiling for the camera  Description automatically generated with low confidence

Le travail de ces deux chercheuses, intitulé The Power to Protect : Climate Change, Intersectional Environmentalism and the Leadership of Indigenous Women (Le pouvoir de protéger: les changements climatiques, l’environnementalisme intersectionnel et le leadership des femmes autochtones), vise à étudier le lien entre le genre, les changements climatiques et les sites litigieux de conflit et d’insécurité, au-delà des conflits armés traditionnels. En outre, elles cherchent à comprendre et à mettre en évidence les impacts des changements climatiques sur les femmes et les filles autochtones, ainsi que le rôle des femmes dans l’atténuation des conflits et le renforcement de la résilience.

Julia Palmiano Federer (à gauche) est chercheuse postdoctorale à la Faculté des sciences sociales de l’Université d’Ottawa et responsable de la recherche au Dialogue d’Ottawa.

Lorelei Higgins (à droite) est une médiatrice culturelle métisse du Canada, une associée des Centres du Rotary pour la paix et une militante de la paix positive, ainsi qu’une ancienne élève du Programme canadien de leadership du gouverneur général. En tant qu’actuelle Madame Canada Globe et ambassadrice de la Fondation Women in Need, Lorelei mène des actions visant à accroître le leadership féminin dans les efforts de consolidation de la paix à l’échelle locale et mondiale.

Kiden Sawala Lukudu et Umar Mohammed
A person in a suit and tie  Description automatically generated with medium confidence

Le travail de ces deux chercheurs, intitulé Climate Change, Conflict and Gender Nexus : Evidence from South Sudan (Changements climatiques, conflits et relations entre les genres : l’exemple du Soudan du Sud), vise à mettre en lumière l’impact des changements climatiques sur la sécurité des femmes dans les États de Jonglei et d’Unity au Soudan du Sud. Leur travail portera également sur les obstacles à la participation significative et au leadership des femmes au niveau local, tout en soulignant les initiatives prises par les femmes dans ces régions pour s’adapter et atténuer les effets des conflits liés aux changements climatiques.

Kiden Lukudu (à gauche) est économiste. Elle enseigne à l’université de Juba, au Soudan du Sud, et travaille comme consultante pour des organisations non gouvernementales et communautaires, ainsi que pour le gouvernement. Ses domaines d’expertise comprennent la paix et la sécurité des femmes, la protection, l’économie agricole et le développement économique. 

Umar Mohammed (à droite) est chargé de cours à l’université Hitit en Turquie et titulaire d’un doctorat en économie de l’université Yildirim Beyazit d’Ankara. Ses recherches portent sur l’économie des migrations, les réfugiés, les migrations forcées et le développement.

Julliet Nafula Ogubi et Salome Aluoch Owuonda
A person smiling for the camera  Description automatically generated with medium confidence
A picture containing person, clothing  Description automatically generated

Le travail de ces deux chercheuses, intitulé Participation of women in peacebuilding during drought and climate change-related conflict : The Case of the Endorois and Ilchamus Communities in Baringo County, Kenya (Participation des femmes à la consolidation de la paix pendant les conflits liés à la sécheresse et aux changements climatiques : le cas des communautés Endorois et Ilchamus dans le comté de Baringo, Kenya), examine la participation de différents groupes de genre à la consolidation de la paix en cas de sécheresse et propose des stratégies pour améliorer l’engagement des groupes marginalisés de manière équitable et concrète en vue d’une résolution efficace des conflits et d’une paix à long terme.

Julliet Ogubi (à gauche) est responsable du suivi et de l’évaluation au Centre pour le développement des droits des minorités (CEMIRIDE) au Kenya. Spécialiste de l’environnement et des changements climatiques, elle compte 15 années d’expérience et de contribution à la recherche environnementale.

Salome Aluoch Owuonda (à droite) est responsable du programme sur les changements climatiques au CEMIRIDE. Elle cumule plus de 11 années d’expérience dans les domaines de l’intégration et de l’analyse du genre, de la gouvernance climatique et des systèmes alimentaires au Kenya.

À propos du Prix de leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2021 : Femmes qui œuvrent à la consolidation de la paix

Le Prix de leadership de la société civile est décerné à une lauréate internationale et à une lauréate canadienne pour reconnaître le rôle des personnes, des organisations de la société civile et des réseaux dans l’avancement du programme FPS.

Les prix de cette année récompensent les femmes qui contribuent de manière exceptionnelle à la prévention et à la résolution des conflits ainsi qu’à la consolidation de la paix après un conflit et qui, par ces actions, sont une source d’inspiration et un exemple pour les femmes qui œuvreront à la consolidation de la paix.

Les femmes qui œuvrent à la consolidation de la paix et qui sont admissibles à ce prix sont les suivantes :

Lauréates du Prix de leadership de la société civile pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2021

Lauréate canadienne : Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada est une organisation à but non lucratif qui défend le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes inuites depuis plus de 35 ans. Elle a été choisie comme lauréate canadienne de ce prix pour ses contributions importantes à la promotion et à la protection des droits de la personne et de la sécurité des femmes et des filles inuites au Canada, grâce à son leadership politique et à sa diplomatie, pour sa contribution au programme et pour sa capacité à produire des résultats.

Lauréate internationale : Tejido Mujer – Çxhab Wala Kiwe

Tejido Mujer - Çxhab Wala Kiwe

Tejido Mujer est une organisation de défense des droits des femmes et de consolidation de la paix dans le Cauca, en Colombie.

Elle a été choisie comme lauréate internationale de 2021 en raison de ses contributions importantes à l’avancement des droits des femmes indigènes et caucasiennes et au processus de paix en Colombie, en offrant un espace de rencontre et de formation politique et une résistance pacifique au conflit.

Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2021

Le Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité a été lancé en collaboration avec le CRDI afin de promouvoir une meilleure compréhension du rôle essentiel que jouent les femmes dans la prévention et la résolution des conflits et la consolidation de la paix après un conflit. Le prix vise les chercheuses en début de carrière ou les institutions de recherche dans les États fragiles et touchés par les conflits dans les pays du Sud, ou une collaboration entre les pays du Nord et les pays du Sud.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité, visitez CRDI – Centre de recherches pour le développement international.

Lauréates du Prix de recherche sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité de 2021

Marsin Alshamary

Marsin Alshamary

Marsin Alshamary est une chercheuse ayant une grande expérience du travail de terrain en Iraq. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences politiques du Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Le CRDI a choisi la chercheuse Marsin Alshamary pour ses importantes recherches sur les femmes iraquiennes leaders dans la politique officielle et dans la société civile, qui montrent les liens entre les 2 groupes.

Hafsa Afailal et Muzna Dureid

Hafsa Afailal
Muzna Dureid

Hafsa Afailal (gauche) est travailleuse humanitaire et chercheuse. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences sociales de l’Université Rovira i Virgili en Espagne.

Muzna Dureid (droite) est analyste des politiques et praticienne de l’aide humanitaire. Elle est cofondatrice du mouvement politique des femmes syriennes visant à faire participer ces dernières à la politique et aux pourparlers de paix.

Le CRDI a choisi les chercheuses Hafsa Afailal et Muzna Dureid pour leur recherche conjointe sur la sécurité numérique des femmes défenseures des droits de la personne, militantes et artisanes de la paix au Yémen et en Syrie.

Cérémonie de remise des prix

La cérémonie de remise des prix du programme FPS de 2022 a eu lieu en juin 2023.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: