Chemical weapons

Canada is committed to the complete elimination of chemical weapons and to holding to account those that use chemical weapons. Canada has been a signatory to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) since its entry into force in 1997. Canada works closely with the CWC’s implementing body, the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), which is based in The Hague, the Netherlands.

Canada actively works with other States Parties to the CWC as well as the OPCW to prevent chemical weapons proliferation and use by either states or non-state actors, such as terrorist organizations.

What are chemical weapons?

Chemical weapons use the toxic properties of chemicals to cause physical harm, ranging from discomfort to death. A toxic chemical agent is any chemical, which through its action on life processes can cause death, temporary incapacitation, or permanent harm to humans or animals.

Since their introduction during the First World War, chemical weapons have been used more often than any other category of Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD). The 1925 Geneva Protocol first banned the use of toxic chemical agents in war.

The Chemical Weapons Convention defines chemical weapons as, together or separately:

Chemical Weapons Convention

The CWC is the treaty which prohibits the development, production, acquisition, retention, transfer, and use of chemical weapons. 193 States have committed to the Chemical Weapons Convention.

In recent years, there has been both progress and cause for concern with the Chemical Weapons ban:

To help prevent future use of chemical weapons and to hold to account those that carry out such attacks, Canada provides funds and technical expertise to the OPCW Fact-Finding Mission and its attribution mechanism, the Investigation and Identification Team. These contributions make Canada one of the largest contributors to the global effort to end the use of chemical weapons.

Eliminating chemical weapons

The disarmament provisions of the Chemical Weapons Convention involves the destruction of all chemical weapons in a State Party's possession, all production facilities used since 1946 to produce chemical weapons and any chemical weapons previously abandoned on the territory of another State Party.

Canada, through the Weapons Threat Reduction Program, has provided significant contributions to assist with the destruction of declared chemical weapons stockpiles. In partnership with the OPCW, the United Nations and other members of the Global Partnership Against the Spread of Weapons and Materials of Mass Destruction, Canada has to date contributed over $235 million in support of tangible CW threat reduction activities in Russia, Libya, Iraq, Syria and elsewhere. Canada is steadfast in its commitment to support further concrete actions that mitigate threats and hold to account those that have committed CW-related atrocities, so as to protect Canadians and individuals everywhere from the horrors of chemical weapons.

Meeting our obligations

The verification system of the CWC requires each State Party, including Canada, to:

Canada meets its obligations through the Chemical Weapons Convention Implementation Act (CWCIA) and its regulations. These laws create the Canadian National Authority, located at Global Affairs Canada, and set out the rights and obligations of Canadians, including those who must submit declarations and those who are subject to inspection by the OPCW.

If you believe the obligations of the Chemical Weapons Convention affect you, please see The Canadian National Authority (Chemical Weapons Convention) related link.

Strengthening chemical weapons security

Canada’s Weapons Threat Reduction Program is a global leader in the delivery of chemical threat reduction programming. The activities are guided by the collective vision of the Global Partnership, which aims to:

Key Initiatives

Related links

Date Modified:

Armes chimiques

Le Canada est résolu à éliminer complètement les armes chimiques et à tenir pour responsables ceux qui les utilisent. Le Canada est signataire de la Convention sur l’interdiction des armes chimiques (CAC) depuis son entrée en vigueur en 1997. Le Canada collabore étroitement avec l’organe d’application de la CAC, l’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC), qui est basée à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas.

Le Canada travaille activement avec d’autres États parties à la CAC ainsi qu’avec l’OIAC pour prévenir la prolifération et l’utilisation des armes chimiques par des acteurs étatiques ou non étatiques, comme les organisations terroristes.

Que sont les armes chimiques?

Les armes chimiques exploitent les propriétés toxiques des produits chimiques pour infliger des dommages physiques, allant de l’inconfort à la mort. Un agent chimique toxique est tout produit chimique qui, par son action sur les processus vitaux, peut causer la mort, une incapacité temporaire ou des dommages permanents aux humains ou aux animaux.

Depuis leur apparition pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les armes chimiques ont été utilisées plus souvent que toute autre catégorie d’armes de destruction massive (ADM). Le Protocole de Genève de 1925 a été le premier traité à interdire l’utilisation d’agents chimiques toxiques en temps de guerre.

Selon la Convention sur les armes chimiques, on entend par « armes chimiques » les éléments ci-après, pris ensemble ou séparément :

La Convention sur les armes chimiques

La CAC est le traité qui interdit la mise au point, la production, l’acquisition, la conservation, le transfert et l’utilisation d’armes chimiques. La Convention sur les armes chimiques compte 193 États parties.

Au cours des dernières années, la question de l’interdiction des armes chimiques a été à la fois une source de progrès et d’inquiétude :

Afin de contribuer à prévenir l’utilisation future d’armes chimiques et de tenir pour responsables ceux qui s’en servent pour commettre des attaques, le Canada fournit des fonds et des capacités techniques à la Mission d’enquête de l’OIAC et à son mécanisme de reconnaissance des responsabilités, l’Équipe d’enquête et d’identification. Grâce à ces contributions, le Canada figure parmi les principaux contributeurs à l’effort mondial visant à mettre fin à l’utilisation des armes chimiques.

L’élimination des armes chimiques

Les dispositions relatives au désarmement contenues dans la CAC prévoient la destruction de toutes les armes chimiques dans un État partie qui en est doté. Ces dispositions supposent également la destruction de toutes les installations utilisées depuis 1946 pour produire des armes chimiques et de toutes les armes chimiques abandonnées antérieurement sur le territoire d’un autre État partie.

Le Canada a apporté des contributions importantes pour aider à la destruction des stocks d’armes chimiques déclarées grâce à son Programme de réduction de la menace liée aux armes. En partenariat avec l’OIAC, les Nations Unies et d’autres membres du Partenariat mondial contre la prolifération des armes de destruction massive et des matières connexes (en anglais), le Canada a versé à ce jour plus de 235 millions de dollars pour soutenir des activités concrètes de réduction de la menace liées aux armes chimiques en Russie, en Libye, en Irak, en Syrie et ailleurs. Le Canada demeure fermement résolu à soutenir d’autres mesures concrètes visant à atténuer les menaces et à tenir pour responsables ceux qui ont commis des atrocités dues aux armes chimiques dans un souci de protéger les Canadiens et les personnes du monde entier contre les horreurs des armes chimiques.

Le respect de nos obligations

Le système de vérification de la CAC impose à chaque État partie, y compris le Canada, les obligations suivantes :

Le Canada respecte ses obligations par le biais de la Loi de mise en œuvre de la Convention sur les armes chimiques (LMOCAC) et de ses règlements. Ces instruments créent l’Autorité nationale canadienne, sous l’égide d’Affaires mondiales Canada, et énoncent les droits et obligations des Canadiens, notamment ceux qui doivent soumettre des déclarations et ceux qui sont assujettis à l’inspection de l’OIAC.

Si vous pensez que les obligations de la Convention sur les armes chimiques vous concernent, veuillez consulter la page de l’Autorité nationale du Canada (Convention sur les armes chimiques).

Renforcement de la sécurité des armes chimiques

Grâce à son Programme de réduction de la menace liée aux armes, le Canada est un chef de file mondial dans la mise en œuvre de programmes de réduction de la menace chimique. Les activités sont orientées par la vision collective du Partenariat mondial qui est assortie des objectifs suivants :

Initiatives clés

Liens connexes

Date de modification: