Language selection

Search

Canada and the Russian invasion of Ukraine

On this page

Political situation

In 2014, Russia violated Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity by illegally occupying Crimea and Sevastopol. Since then, Russia has continued its aggressive actions and attempts to destabilize Ukraine through disinformation campaigns, malicious hybrid and cyber operations, and through military build-ups in and around Ukraine. On February 24, 2022, Russia launched a large-scale military attack against Ukraine and its people.

Russia’s unprovoked and unjustifiable attack of Ukraine violates international law, jeopardize stability in the entire region and puts countless innocent lives at risk. It also threatens the values and principles that underpin the rules-based international order, including a state’s right to sovereignty and self determination.

Canada is steadfast in our commitment to Ukraine’s sovereignty, territorial integrity, and independence. Alongside our international partners and allies we unequivocally condemn Russia’s illegal and egregious actions.

Canada-Ukraine bilateral relations

On December 2, 1991, Canada became the first western country to recognize Ukraine’s independence. Since then, Canada and Ukraine have enjoyed a close bilateral relationship that spans cooperation on security and defence, trade, and advancing Ukraine’s democratic and economic reform efforts. Our bilateral relationship is strengthened by warm people-to-people ties, and an active Ukrainian-Canadian community of more than 1.4 million citizens.

Since 2014, Canada has provided Ukraine with more than $890 million in multifaceted assistance, including humanitarian assistance, development assistance and peace and stabilization. Supporting Ukraine’s security sector and defence reform remains a flagship area of our engagement.

In-person services at the Embassy of Canada to Ukraine in Kyiv are temporarily suspended due to the Russian military invasion. Consular services for Canadians in Ukraine continue to be available from Warsaw, Poland and other countries in the region. Learn more about assistance for Canadians in Ukraine.

Targeted sanctions

Since Russia’s illegal occupation of Crimea in 2014, Canada has been a leader in international support for the government of Ukraine and its people. In coordination with partners and allies, we have imposed sanctions against more than 900 Russian and Ukrainian individuals and entities, involved in violations of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity. Canada’s sanctions impose asset freezes and dealings prohibitions.

In response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Canada is imposing new sanctions. The new sanctions include restrictions on individuals who are key members of President Putin’s inner circle, close contacts and family members of some individuals already sanctioned by Canada, and key financial institutions.

Export controls

On February 24, 2022, Canada announced restrictions on exports to Russia. Canada stopped the issuance of new export permit applications and cancelled valid existing export permits for controlled goods and technology to Russia. Permits are required for the export and brokering of goods and technology controlled under Canada’s Export and Import Permits Act.

Canada’s Export Control List identifies specific goods and technology that are controlled for export from Canada to other countries, regardless of their means of delivery. Canada will continue to monitor the evolving situation and may reassess its export controls policy toward Russia in light of changes on the ground.

Related links

Did you find what you were looking for?

What was wrong?

You will not receive a reply. Telephone numbers and email addresses will be removed.
Maximum 300 characters

Thank you for your feedback

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Le Canada et l’invasion russe de l’Ukraine

Sur cette page

Situation politique

En 2014, la Russie a violé la souveraineté et l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine en occupant illégalement la Crimée et Sébastopol. Depuis lors, la Russie a poursuivi ses actions agressives et ses tentatives de déstabilisation de l’Ukraine au moyen de campagnes de désinformation, d’opérations hybrides et cybernétiques malveillantes, et de renforcement militaire en Ukraine et dans les environs. Le 24 février 2022, la Russie a lancé une attaque militaire à grande échelle contre l’Ukraine et sa population.

L’attaque non provoquée et injustifiable de la Russie contre l’Ukraine viole le droit international, et elle met en péril la stabilité de toute la région ainsi que la vie d’innombrables personnes innocentes. Elle menace également les valeurs et les principes qui sous-tendent l’ordre international fondé sur des règles, notamment le droit d’un État à la souveraineté et à l’autodétermination.

Le Canada maintient fermement son engagement envers la souveraineté, l’intégrité territoriale et l’indépendance de l’Ukraine. Aux côtés de nos partenaires et alliés internationaux, nous condamnons sans équivoque les actions illégales et odieuses de la Russie.

Relations bilatérales Canada-Ukraine

Le 2 décembre 1991, le Canada est devenu le premier pays occidental à reconnaître l’indépendance de l’Ukraine. Depuis lors, le Canada et l’Ukraine entretiennent des relations bilatérales étroites qui englobent la coopération en matière de sécurité et de défense, le commerce et la promotion des efforts de réforme démocratique et économique de l’Ukraine. Nos relations bilatérales sont renforcées par des liens interpersonnels chaleureux et par une communauté ukraino-canadienne active de plus de 1,3 million de citoyens.

Depuis 2014, le Canada a fourni à l’Ukraine plus de 890 millions de dollars en aide multiforme, dont de l’aide humanitaire, de l’aide au développement et de l’assistance pour la paix et la stabilisation. Le soutien au secteur de la sécurité et à la réforme de la défense de l’Ukraine demeure un domaine phare de notre collaboration.

Les services en personne à l'ambassade du Canada en Ukraine à Kyiv sont temporairement suspendues en raison de l'invasion militaire russe. Les services consulaires pour les Canadiens en Ukraine continuent d'être offerts à partir de Varsovie, en Pologne, et d'autres pays de la région. Apprenez-en d’avantage sur l’aide pour les Canadiens en Ukraine.

Sanctions ciblées

Depuis l’occupation illégale de la Crimée par la Russie en 2014, le Canada a été un chef de file dans le soutien international au gouvernement de l'Ukraine et à son peuple. En coordination avec nos partenaires et alliés, nous avons imposé des sanctions contre plus de 900 personnes et entités russes et ukrainiennes impliquées dans des violations de la souveraineté et de l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine. Les sanctions du Canada imposent des gels d'avoirs et des interdictions de transactions.

En réponse à l’invasion de l’Ukraine, le Canada impose de nouvelles sanctions. Les nouvelles sanctions comprennent des restrictions à personnes qui sont des membres clés du cercle intime du président Poutine, des contacts étroits et des membres de la famille de certaines personnes déjà sanctionnées par le Canada, et à institutions financières importantes.

Contrôles à l’exportation

Le 24 février 2022, le Canada a annoncé des restrictions sur les exportations vers la Russie. Le Canada a cessé de délivrer des licences d’exportation pour les nouvelles demandes et a annulé les licences d’exportation existantes valides pour les marchandises et technologies contrôlées à destination de la Russie. Des licences sont requises pour l’exportation et le courtage de marchandises et de technologies contrôlées, en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation du Canada.

La Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée du Canada identifie des marchandises et des technologies précises dont l’exportation du Canada vers d’autres pays est contrôlée, quel que soit leur mode de livraison. Le Canada continuera de surveiller l’évolution de la situation et pourrait réévaluer sa politique de contrôle des exportations vers la Russie à la lumière des changements sur le terrain.

Liens connexes

Avez-vous trouvé ce que vous cherchiez?

Qu’est-ce qui n’allait pas?

Vous ne recevrez aucune réponse. Les numéros de téléphone et les adresses électroniques seront supprimés.
Maximum de 300 caractères

Merci de vos commentaires

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: