Language selection

Search

Canada’s engagement in Ukraine

Canada and the Russian invasion of Ukraine

Learn about Canada’s response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Canada’s diplomatic engagement

On December 2, 1991, Canada became the first western country to recognize Ukraine’s independence. Canada and Ukraine have enjoyed a close relationship since. Our bilateral relationship is strengthened by warm people-to-people ties, rooted in the Ukrainian-Canadian community of 1.3 million people.

The 1994 Joint Declaration on Special Partnership recognizes Canada’s support for the development of Ukraine and the importance of bilateral cooperation.

Canada is represented in Ukraine by the Embassy of Canada to Ukraine in Kyiv and the Consulate of Canada in Lviv. Ukraine is represented in Canada by an embassy in Ottawa, consulates general in Toronto and Edmonton and an honorary consulate in Vancouver.

Canada's response to the illegal invasion and annexation of Crimea

Photo credit: CANADEM

Following the Revolution of Dignity in early 2014, Ukraine’s government committed to implementing democratic and economic reforms in line with its European aspirations. Russian aggression, which started in 2014 with the illegal invasion and occupation of Crimea, has drawn Ukraine into a bloody conflict in the east of the country. This conflict has placed significant pressure on the Ukrainian government’s ability to carry out its reforms.

Since the beginning of the crisis, we have led international support for the people of Ukraine. We supported Ukraine in its initial fight for democracy and reform. We continue to support Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial integrity in the face of Russia’s illegal occupation of Crimea and its support for insurgents in eastern Ukraine. In coordination with partners and allies, we have imposed sanctions against hundreds of Russian and Ukrainian individuals and entities.

Canada’s assistance to Ukraine

Canada is committed to using its international assistance to support Ukraine’s goals for greater Euro-Atlantic integration. We also support securing Ukraine’s future as a democratic, rules-based state that delivers security, prosperity and freedom for all of its citizens.

Since January 2014, we have committed more than $890 million in multi-faceted support to Ukraine, using a range of instruments. These instruments include:

  • development, humanitarian and financial assistance
  • Peace and Stabilization Operations Program
  • the Canadian Police Arrangement

Development assistance

Photo credit: International Organization for Migration Mission in Ukraine

In response to the crisis in 2013, Canada expanded its development assistance package to help Ukraine avoid a major economic collapse and support unprecedented reform efforts. The areas of our current support focus on the following reform priorities:

  • constitutional
  • electoral
  • judicial
  • anti-corruption
  • decentralization
  • social policy
  • health

Since January 2014, Canada has been one of Ukraine’s leading bilateral development assistance partners, having committed more than $250 million in development assistance.

Our international assistance in Ukraine is guided by the Feminist International Assistance Policy. In July 2018, we committed up to $50 million ($35 million for development assistance) annually in support of:

  • socio-economic programs across the country
  • building a strong and accountable democracy
  • contributing to peace and security in Ukraine and the region as a whole

Our bilateral development assistance aims to contribute to a more democratic, stable and prosperous Ukraine. Our contributions target the following four action areas of the Feminist International Assistance Policy:

  1. Inclusive governance: Canadian assistance promotes inclusive governance through support for enhancing the participation of citizens, especially women, in public life and decision-making processes, including through a free, fair and inclusive electoral system. Canadian assistance also promotes inclusive governance by strengthening the effectiveness, transparency and accountability of the Government of Ukraine and the Ukrainian justice system. Canada’s contributions include a $24-million package of comprehensive elections support, announced in December 2018, for fair, transparent and democratic elections in Ukraine in 2019. This funding package supports electoral reforms, election observers, gender equality and inclusive governance in Ukraine.
  2. Growth that works for everyone: Canada fosters inclusive growth, led by the private sector; promotes investment and job creation, particularly in agriculture; and enhances shared economic prosperity for all Ukrainians. In support of this action area, in December 2020, Canada announced four projects totalling over $25 million to support the economic empowerment of rural women, internally displaced persons, persons with disabilities, and other vulnerable groups in Ukraine.
  3. Peace and security: Canada strives to increase the psychological and economic resilience of the conflict-affected populations, including internally displaced persons. Canada also helps the Government of Ukraine respond to the needs and protect the human rights of Ukrainian citizens affected by the ongoing conflict in eastern Ukraine.
  4. Empowerment of women and girls: Canada supports women’s organizations and promotes women’s political participation. This enhances women’s collective power in addressing persistent barriers to the full realization of women’s rights in Ukraine. Canada also helps strengthen the accountability and effectiveness of the Government of Ukraine to advance equality between women and men in accessing services and opportunities from the state. In support of Ukraine’s women’s movement, in July 2018, Canada announced up to $4.75 million in funding to support a Women’s Voice and Leadership initiative in Ukraine, implemented by the Ukrainian Women’s Fund. In December 2018, Canada also announced $5 million in funding for the initiative Women of Ukraine: Heard, Capable, Resilient. In December 2020, Canada announced $7 million to increase the security and protection from sexual assault and gender-based violence for women and girls across Ukraine.

More details on our development projects in Ukraine are available through the Project Browser.

Humanitarian assistance

Photo credit: Shutterstock

Canada has committed more than $369 million in humanitarian funding since the crisis began in 2014. In 2022, $320 million has been committed to United Nations agencies, the Red Cross Movement and non-governmental organizations to support the delivery of urgent assistance to conflict-affected populations in Ukraine. This includes the provision of:

  • emergency basic health services
  • safe drinking water
  • food assistance
  • protection support
  • shelter
  • essential relief items

Defence and security cooperation

Photo credit: DND Combat Camera

Military Cooperation

In September 2015, we launched Operation UNIFIER, the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) military training and capacity-building mission in Ukraine.

In addition to contributions through Operation UNIFIER, the CAF cooperates with the Security Forces of Ukraine through the Military Training and Cooperation Program (MTCP). Ukraine is the single largest recipient of training and funding under the MTCP. More than 2,500 military personnel have received training through the MTCP since 1993.

Since January 2019, Canada and the United Kingdom share the role of NATO Contact Point Embassy (CPE) in Kyiv. CPEs support NATO’s partnership and public diplomacy activities in partner countries. Canada also supports the NATO-Ukraine Joint Working Group on Defence Reform through the delivery of language training, staff officer training and peacekeeping training for Ukrainian military and civilian personnel.

Peace and Stabilization Operations Program

Since 2014, Canada has committed more than $100 million in programming in support of peace and stabilization in Ukraine through the Peace and Stabilization Operations Program (PSOPs).

Current PSOPs programming is mainly focused on security sector and defence reform initiatives; police reform efforts; peacebuilding and the peaceful resolution of the conflict; and supporting the women, peace and security agenda. Through PSOPs, Canada also provides support to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe’s (OSCE’s) Special Monitoring Mission to Ukraine to strengthen ongoing reporting of the security situation, including ceasefire violations, and to facilitate dialogue between parties to the conflict. Canada also supported Ukraine’s COVID-19 response effort by providing personal protective equipment to the National Police, as well as ventilators to Ukraine’s Ministry of Defence for its hospitals.

Since 2016, PSOPs has supported police reform in Ukraine, with the establishment of the Department of the Patrol Police within the National Police of Ukraine as a fully professional and democratic policing institution. PSOP’s programming has also provided direct support to the establishment of Ukraine’s first national-level police training academy, as well as to the establishment in 2018 of the Ukrainian Association of Women in Law Enforcement.

International Police Peacekeeping and Peace Operations Program

Since March 2015, Canada has deployed Canadian civilian police officers to Ukraine through the International Police Peacekeeping and Peace Operations Program, which is jointly managed by GAC (through PSOPs), the RCMP and Public Safety Canada. The program supports Ukrainian police reform through police deployments to 2 missions:

  • A bilateral Canada-Ukraine mission (the Canadian Police Mission in Ukraine)
  • The European Union Advisory Mission for Civilian Security Sector Reform

Throughout 2021, Canada had an average of 16 police officers deployed to Ukraine. This increased to 24 deployed officers in early 2022. Police officers are deployed to enhance police training, investigation and gender-based violence response, implement community policing models and improve internal accountability and oversight mechanisms. Canadian officers have delivered training to the Territorial Community Policing Officer Program and coordinated the development of a new course on community policing for Vasyl’ Stus Donetsk University, among other initiatives.

Women, Peace and Security

The women, peace and security (WPS) agenda and Canada’s National Action Plan on WPS are central to Canada’s Feminist Foreign Policy. The Action Plan aims to increase women’s participation in peace and security efforts and advance gender equality through Canada’s programming, policy and advocacy efforts. In Ukraine, Canada supports the implementation of the WPS agenda through, for example, support to Ukraine’s National Action Plan on WPS and initiatives to increase the role of women in the security and defence sectors.

Trade and investment

Photo credit: Prime Minister of Canada's Office

In 2021, Canada’s merchandise exports to Ukraine totalled $220.3 million, and merchandise imports from Ukraine totalled $226 million. The top three exports to Ukraine were fish and seafood, optics, and motor vehicles. Canada’s top imports from Ukraine were iron and steel, electrical machinery and equipment, and animal and vegetable fats and oils.  In 2020, the stock of Canadian direct investment in Ukraine stood at $81M.

The Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA), which entered into force on August 1, 2017, represents an important milestone in the Canada-Ukraine relationship.

On January 27, 2022, Canada and Ukraine jointly announced the launch of negotiations to modernize the Canada-Ukraine free trade agreement, further reinforcing the rules-based international trading system and strengthening Canada’s connectivity to the region.

Ukraine election observation missions

Photo credit: CANADEM

In the lead-up to the 2019 presidential elections in Ukraine, Canada sent election observers to support the democratic process in Ukraine. Fifty long-term observers were sent through Canada’s bilateral election observation mission. Eight observers worked with the multilateral election observation mission led by the OSCE's Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR). They observed all aspects of the electoral process leading up to, during and following the elections. This included monitoring the participation of women, internally displaced persons and minorities in the electoral process. Close to 200 short-term observers deployed to monitor election day proceedings. In July 2019, a similar number of short-term and long-term observers were deployed to monitor the parliamentary elections. This is not the first time Canada has supported democratic elections in Ukraine. Since 2004, we have sent short-term and long-term observers to monitor presidential and parliamentary elections.

Ukraine Reform Conference

Photo credit: Global Affairs Canada

From July 2 to 4, 2019, Canada co-hosted the third Ukraine Reform Conference with Ukraine in Toronto, Ontario. There was a ministerial meeting on July 2, followed by two days of discussions at Ukraine House. Ukraine’s friends and partners from 37 countries gathered to support Ukraine’s reform process and its path to Euro-Atlantic integration. These partners included foreign ministers, heads of international institutions, parliamentarians, the private sector, civil society and think tanks.

From July 7 to 8, 2021, Canada participated in the fourth Ukraine Reform Conference in Vilnius, Lithuania. At a ministerial meeting on July 7, then-foreign affairs minister Marc Garneau emphasized the importance of anchoring Ukraine’s sovereignty and independence in strong institutions and a strong democratic process, which, he said, could only be achieved through the continued implementation of reforms. He commended Ukraine for the progress made to that point, notably toward decentralization, and the greater effectiveness, accountability and transparency of Ukraine’s parliament. Minister Garneau and Deputy Prime Minister Olha Stefanishyna also discussed their shared desire to increase trade between the 2 countries and their common commitment to advancing gender equality through feminist policies.

Did you find what you were looking for?

What was wrong?

You will not receive a reply. Telephone numbers and email addresses will be removed.
Maximum 300 characters

Thank you for your feedback

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

L’engagement du Canada en Ukraine

Le Canada et l’invasion russe de l’Ukraine

Renseignez-vous sur la réponse du Canada à l’invasion russe de l’Ukraine.

Engagement diplomatique du Canada

Depuis que le Canada est devenu le premier pays occidental à reconnaître l’indépendance de l’Ukraine, le 2 décembre 1991, les deux pays entretiennent des relations étroites. Cette relation bilatérale est renforcée par les liens interpersonnels chaleureux, qui prennent racine dans une communauté de 1,3 million de Canadiens d’origine ukrainienne.

La déclaration commune de 1994 sur le « partenariat spécial » reconnaît le soutien du Canada au développement de l’Ukraine ainsi que l’importance de la coopération bilatérale des deux pays.

Le Canada est présent en Ukraine par l’intermédiaire de l’ambassade du Canada en Ukraine, à Kyiv, et du consulat du Canada à Lviv. L’Ukraine est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa, des consulats généraux à Toronto et à Edmonton et un consulat honoraire à Vancouver.

La réponse du Canada à l'invasion et à l'annexion illégales de la Crimée

Crédit photo : CANADEM

Après la « Révolution de la dignité » survenue au début de 2014, le gouvernement ukrainien s’est engagé à mettre en œuvre des réformes démocratiques et économiques conformes à ses aspirations européennes. L’agression russe, qui a commencé en 2014 par l’invasion illégale et l’occupation de la Crimée, a entraîné l’Ukraine dans un conflit sanglant dans l’est du pays. Ce conflit exerce d’énormes pressions sur la capacité du gouvernement ukrainien de mener à bien ses réformes.

Depuis le début de l’invasion, le Canada a dirigé le soutien international au peuple ukrainien. Nous avons appuyé l’Ukraine dans sa lutte initiale pour la démocratie et la réforme. Nous continuons d’appuyer la souveraineté et l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine face à l’occupation illégale de la Crimée par la Russie et à son soutien aux insurgés dans l’est de l’Ukraine. En collaboration avec des partenaires et des alliés, nous avons imposé des sanctions contre des centaines de personnes et d’entités en Russie et en Ukraine.

L’aide du Canada à l’Ukraine

Le Canada est déterminé à tirer parti de son aide internationale pour soutenir les objectifs de l’Ukraine d’accroître son intégration euroatlantique. Nous veillons également à assurer l’avenir de l’Ukraine en tant qu’État démocratique et fondé sur des règles qui contribue à la sécurité, à la prospérité et à la liberté de tous ses citoyens.

Depuis janvier 2014, nous avons affecté plus de 890 millions de dollars en soutien divers à l’Ukraine au moyen d’une gamme d’instruments. Parmi ces instruments figurent :

  • le développement, et l’aide humanitaire et financière;
  • le Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix;
  • l’Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada.

Aide au développement

Crédit photo : Mission en Ukraine de l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations

En réponse à la crise de 2013, le Canada a élargi son programme d’aide au développement afin d’aider l’Ukraine à éviter un effondrement économique majeur et à soutenir les efforts de réforme sans précédent. Le programme actuel est axé sur les priorités de réforme suivantes :

  • constitution,
  • élections,
  • justice,
  • lutte à la corruption,
  • décentralisation,
  • politique sociale,
  • santé.

Depuis janvier 2014, le Canada est l’un des principaux partenaires bilatéraux de l’Ukraine en matière d’aide au développement, ayant engagé plus de 250 millions de dollars dans ce domaine.

L’aide internationale du Canada en Ukraine est guidée par la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada. En juillet 2018, nous nous sommes engagés à verser jusqu’à 50 millions de dollars (35 millions de dollars pour l’aide au développement) par année pour :

  • appuyer les programmes socioéconomiques partout au pays;
  • bâtir une démocratie forte et responsable;
  • contribuer à la paix et à la sécurité en Ukraine et dans l’ensemble de la région.

Notre aide bilatérale au développement a pour but de rendre l’Ukraine plus démocratique, plus stable et plus prospère. Notre contribution est axée sur quatre domaines d’action tirés de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada :

  1. Gouvernance inclusive : L’aide canadienne favorise la gouvernance inclusive en contribuant à accroître la participation des citoyens, en particulier des femmes, à la vie publique et aux processus décisionnels, notamment au moyen d’un système électoral libre, équitable et inclusif. L’aide du Canada vise également à promouvoir la gouvernance inclusive par le renforcement de l’efficacité, de la transparence et de la responsabilisation du gouvernement de l’Ukraine et du système de justice ukrainien. La contribution du Canada comprend une somme de 24 millions de dollars en matière de soutien global aux élections, annoncée en décembre 2018, pour des élections justes, transparentes et démocratiques en Ukraine en 2019. Cette somme appuie les réformes électorales, les observateurs électoraux, l’égalité des genres et la gouvernance inclusive en Ukraine. En août 2021, le Canada a également annoncé un appel de propositions de 30 millions de dollars sur 5 ans visant à soutenir la gouvernance inclusive en Ukraine. Cet appel de propositions a été lancé pour solliciter des projets qui amélioreront la gouvernance démocratique, inclusive et égalitaire.
  2. Croissance au service de tous : Le Canada favorise la croissance inclusive, dirigée par le secteur privé; encourage l’investissement et la création d’emplois, plus particulièrement en agriculture; et appuie une prospérité économique partagée pour tous les Ukrainiens. À l’appui de ce secteur d’action, le Canada a annoncé, en décembre 2020, quatre projets d’une valeur de plus de 25 millions de dollars visant à renforcer le pouvoir économique des femmes vivant en région rurale, des personnes déplacées à l’intérieur du pays, des personnes handicapées et d’autres groupes vulnérables en Ukraine.
  3. Paix et sécurité : Le Canada s’efforce d’accroître la résilience psychologique et économique des populations touchées par le conflit, y compris les personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de leur pays. Le Canada aide également le gouvernement de l’Ukraine à répondre aux besoins et à protéger les droits des citoyens ukrainiens touchés par le conflit en cours dans l’est de l’Ukraine.
  4. Renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles : Le Canada appuie les organisations de femmes et fait la promotion de la participation des femmes à la vie politique, renforçant ainsi leur pouvoir collectif en s’attaquant aux obstacles persistants à la pleine réalisation de leurs droits en Ukraine. Le Canada contribue également à renforcer la responsabilisation et l’efficacité du gouvernement de l’Ukraine pour faire progresser l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes dans l’accès aux services et aux possibilités découlant des politiques et des ressources de l’État. En juillet 2018, le Canada a annoncé, à l’appui du mouvement des femmes de l’Ukraine, un financement pouvant aller jusqu’à 4,75 millions de dollars pour appuyer l’initiative Voix et leadership des femmes dans ce pays, mise en œuvre par l’organisme Ukrainian Women’s Fund. En décembre 2018, le Canada a également annoncé l’octroi de cinq millions de dollars pour l’initiative cinq millions de dollars pour l’initiative Femmes de l’Ukraine : Entendues, capables et résilientes. En décembre 2020, le Canada a annoncé 7 millions de dollars pour accroître la sécurité et la protection des femmes et des filles dans toute l’Ukraine contre la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre.

Vous trouverez plus de détails sur les projets de développement financés par le Canada dans la Banque de projets.

Aide humanitaire

Crédit photo : Shutterstock

Depuis le début de la crise en 2014, le Canada a versé plus de 64 millions de dollars en financement humanitaire à des organismes des Nations Unies, au Mouvement de la Croix-Rouge et à d’autres organisations non gouvernementales pour appuyer la prestation d’une aide d’urgence aux populations touchées par le conflit en Ukraine. Cette aide comprend :

  • des services de santé de base d’urgence,
  • de l’eau potable,
  • de l’aide alimentaire,
  • du soutien à la protection,
  • des abris,
  • des articles de secours essentiels.

Coopération en matière de défense et de sécurité

Crédit photo : Caméra de combat du MDN

Coopération militaire

En septembre 2015, nous avons lancé l'opération UNIFIER, la mission de formation et de renforcement des capacités militaires des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) en Ukraine.

En plus des contributions dans le cadre de l’opération UNIFIER, les FAC collaborent avec les Forces de sécurité de l’Ukraine au moyen du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM). L’Ukraine est le plus important bénéficiaire de formation et de financement dans le cadre du PICM. Plus de 2 500 militaires ont reçu une instruction dans le cadre du PICM depuis 1993.

Depuis janvier 2019, le Canada et le Royaume-Uni jouent le rôle d’ambassade point de contact de l’OTAN à Kyiv, en Ukraine. Les ambassades points de contact appuient le partenariat et les activités de diplomatie publique de l’OTAN dans les pays partenaires. Le Canada appuie le Groupe de travail conjoint OTAN-Ukraine sur la réforme de la défense en offrant de la formation linguistique, de l’instruction d’officiers et de la formation sur le maintien de la paix au personnel militaire et civil de l’Ukraine.

Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix

Depuis 2014, le Canada a engagé plus de 100 millions de dollars en programmation à l’appui de la paix et de la stabilisation en Ukraine, par l’entremise du Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix (PSOP).

La programmation actuelle du PSOP est principalement axée sur les domaines suivants : les initiatives de réforme du secteur de la sécurité et de la défense; les efforts de réforme de la police; la consolidation de la paix et la résolution pacifique du conflit; et le soutien au programme Femmes, paix et sécurité. Par l’entremise du PSOP, le Canada fournit également un soutien à la Mission spéciale d’observation en Ukraine de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) afin de renforcer les rapports en cours sur la situation en matière de sécurité, y compris les violations du cessez-le-feu, et de faciliter le dialogue entre les parties au conflit. Le Canada a aussi soutenu l’effort d’intervention de l’Ukraine dans le cadre de la pandémie de COVID-19 en fournissant de l’équipement de protection individuelle à la police nationale ainsi que des ventilateurs au ministère de la Défense de l’Ukraine pour ses hôpitaux.

Depuis 2016, PSOP a soutenu la réforme de la police en Ukraine, avec l’établissement du département de la police de patrouille au sein de la police nationale de l’Ukraine, en tant qu’institution policière entièrement professionnelle et démocratique. PSOP a également apporté un soutien direct à la création de la première académie de formation de la police de niveau national en Ukraine, ainsi qu’à la création de l’Association ukrainienne des femmes dans le maintien de l’ordre en 2018.

Programme d’opérations policières internationales de paix et de maintien de la paix

Depuis mars 2015, le Canada a déployé des policiers civils canadiens en Ukraine dans le cadre du programme d’opérations policières internationales de paix et de maintien de la paix, qui est géré conjointement par Affaires mondiales Canada (au moyen du PSOP), la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et Sécurité publique Canada. Le programme soutient la réforme de la police ukrainienne par l’entremise de déploiements de policiers dans deux missions :

  • une mission bilatérale Canada-Ukraine (la Mission de police canadienne en Ukraine);
  • la mission consultative de l’Union européenne pour la réforme du secteur de la sécurité civile.

Jusqu’en 2021, le Canada comptait en moyenne 16 policiers déployés en Ukraine; ce nombre est passé à 24 policiers déployés au début de 2022. Les policiers sont déployés pour améliorer la formation des policiers, les enquêtes, la réponse à la violence fondée sur le genre, la mise en œuvre de modèles de police communautaire et l’amélioration des mécanismes internes de responsabilisation et de surveillance. Les agents canadiens ont dispensé une formation dans le cadre du programme territorial d’agents de police communautaire et ont coordonné l’élaboration d’un nouveau cours sur la police communautaire pour l’Université de Donetsk, entre autres initiatives.

Femmes, paix et sécurité

Le programme Femmes, paix et sécurité (FPS) et le Plan d’action national du Canada sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité sont au cœur de la politique étrangère féministe du Canada. Le Plan d’action vise à accroître la participation des femmes aux efforts de paix et de sécurité et à faire progresser l’égalité des genres grâce aux programmes, aux politiques et aux efforts de sensibilisation du Canada. En Ukraine, le Canada soutient la mise en œuvre de l’agenda du programme FPS, notamment en appuyant le Plan d’action national de l’Ukraine sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité et les initiatives visant à accroître le rôle des femmes dans les secteurs de la sécurité et de la défense.

Commerce et investissement

Crédit photo : Bureau du Premier ministre du Canada

En 2021, la valeur des exportations de marchandises du Canada vers l'Ukraine s’élevait à 220,3 millions de dollars, et la valeur des importations de marchandises en provenance de l'Ukraine s’élevait à 226 millions de dollars. Les 3 principales exportations vers l'Ukraine étaient le poisson et les fruits de mer, les instruments d'optique et les véhicules à moteur. Les principales importations canadiennes en provenance de l'Ukraine étaient le fer et l'acier, les machines et équipements électriques, et les huiles et graisses animales et végétales. En 2020, le stock d'investissements directs canadiens en Ukraine s'élevait à 81 millions de dollars.

L'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALECU), qui est entré en vigueur le 1er août 2017, représente une avancée importante  dans la relation entre le Canada et l'Ukraine.

Le 27 janvier 2022, le Canada et l'Ukraine ont annoncé conjointement le lancement de négociations visant à moderniser l’ALECU, ce qui renforcera davantage le système commercial international fondé sur des règles et le rapport que le Canada entretient avec la région.

Missions d’observation des élections en Ukraine

Crédit photo : CANADEM

En prévision des élections présidentielles de 2019 en Ukraine, nous avons envoyé des observateurs électoraux pour appuyer le processus démocratique. Cinquante observateurs à long terme ont été envoyés dans le cadre de la mission bilatérale d’observation électorale du Canada et 8 par l’intermédiaire de la mission d’observation électorale multilatérale du Bureau des institutions démocratiques et des droits de l’homme de l’OSCE. Ils ont observé tous les aspects du processus électoral avant, pendant et après les élections. Les activités d’observation comprenaient le suivi de la participation des femmes, des personnes déplacées à l’intérieur du pays et des minorités au processus électoral. Près de 200 observateurs à court terme ont été déployés pour surveiller les procédures le jour de l’élection. En juillet 2019, un nombre semblable d’observateurs à court et à long terme ont été déployés pour surveiller les élections parlementaires. Ce n’est pas la première fois que le Canada appuie des élections démocratiques en Ukraine. Nous envoyons, depuis 2014, des observateurs à court et à long terme pour surveiller les élections présidentielles et parlementaires..

Conférence sur les réformes en Ukraine

Crédit photo : Affaires mondiales Canada

Du 2 au 4 juillet 2019, le Canada a été l’hôte conjoint avec l’Ukraine de la troisième Conférence sur les réformes en Ukraine à Toronto, en Ontario. Il y a eu une conférence ministérielle le 2 juillet, suivie de deux jours de discussions à la Maison de l’Ukraine. Des amis et partenaires de l’Ukraine provenant de 37 pays se sont réunis pour soutenir le processus de réforme de l’Ukraine et son cheminement vers l’intégration euroatlantique. Parmi ces partenaires figuraient des ministres des Affaires étrangères, des dirigeants d’institutions internationales, des parlementaires, des représentants du secteur privé et de la société civile, ainsi que des groupes de réflexion.

Du 7 au 8 juillet 2021, le Canada a participé à la quatrième conférence sur la réforme de l’Ukraine à Vilnius, en Lituanie. Le 7 juillet, lors d’une réunion ministérielle, le ministre des Affaires étrangères de l’époque, Marc Garneau, a souligné l’importance d’ancrer la souveraineté et l’indépendance de l’Ukraine dans un processus démocratique et des institutions solides, ce qui, selon lui, ne pouvait être réalisé que par la mise en œuvre continue des réformes. Il a félicité l’Ukraine pour les progrès réalisés jusqu’à ce point, notamment en matière de décentralisation, ainsi que pour l’efficacité, la responsabilisation et la transparence accrues du parlement ukrainien. Le ministre Garneau et la vice-première ministre Olha Stefanishyna ont également discuté de leur désir mutuel d’accroître les échanges commerciaux entre les deux pays et de leur engagement commun à faire progresser l’égalité des genres par des politiques féministes.

Avez-vous trouvé ce que vous cherchiez?

Qu’est-ce qui n’allait pas?

Vous ne recevrez aucune réponse. Les numéros de téléphone et les adresses électroniques seront supprimés.
Maximum de 300 caractères

Merci de vos commentaires

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: