Language selection

Search

Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement modernization

On January 27, 2022, Canada and Ukraine announced the launch of negotiations for the modernization of the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA). CUFTA entered into force on August 1, 2017, eliminating tariffs on most bilateral merchandise trade. It has a range of commitments related to non-tariff measures aimed at ensuring gains in market access are not constrained by unjustified trade barriers. It also includes commitments related to trade facilitation that are designed to reduce red tape at the border. In 2020, the value of Canada’s merchandise exports to Ukraine totalled $161 million and the value of merchandise imports from Ukraine amounted to $144 million.

CUFTA has a review clause (Article 19.2) committing the 2 countries to review the Agreement within 2 years of its entry into force, with a view to expanding it to include new areas not part of the original agreement, such as investment and trade in services. The Parties will also be exploring areas not identified in the review clause, such as inclusive trade. In July 2019, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Ukraine’s President Volodymyr Zelenskyy agreed to modernize CUFTA to create new opportunities and good, middle-class jobs for Canadians and Ukrainians alike.

Canada conducted public consultations in early 2020 to seek the views of Canadians on the potential modernization of CUFTA. A report on the consultations was published on the Global Affairs Canada website in May 2020. During the consultations, Canadians expressed broad support for modernizing the agreement as a means to further strengthen Canada and Ukraine’s bilateral commercial relationship and to build on Canada’s current engagement with Ukraine.

Modernizing CUFTA will create new opportunities to maximize the agreement’s benefits for Canadian workers, entrepreneurs and small and medium-sized enterprises. It will also help reinforce the rules-based international system by advancing fair, inclusive and transparent trade with Ukraine and will support prospects for long-term security, stability and broad-based economic development in Ukraine.

Officials will begin negotiations as soon as it is feasible.

Consulting Canadians

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Modernisation de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine

Le 27 janvier 2022, le Canada et l’Ukraine ont annoncé le lancement de négociations en vue de la modernisation de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALECU). L’ALECU est entré en vigueur le 1er août 2017, éliminant les droits de douane sur la majorité des échanges bilatéraux de marchandises. Il contient une série d’engagements relatifs à des mesures non tarifaires afin de s’assurer qu’aucun obstacle injustifié au commerce n’entrave l’accès accru au marché. Il contient également des engagements relatifs à la facilitation du commerce visant à réduire les formalités administratives à la frontière. En 2020, la valeur des exportations bilatérales de marchandises du Canada vers l’Ukraine a totalisé 161 millions de dollars et la valeur des importations de marchandises en provenance de l’Ukraine s’est élevée à 144 millions de dollars.

L’ALECU contient une clause de révision (article 19.2) engageant les 2 pays à le revoir dans les 2 ans suivant son entrée en vigueur, en vue de l’élargir à de nouveaux domaines qui ne font pas partie de l’accord initial, et qui pourraient comprendre l’investissement et le commerce des services. Les parties exploreront également des domaines non identifiés dans la clause de révision, tels que le commerce inclusif. En juillet 2019, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau et le président de l’Ukraine, Volodymyr Zelenskyy, ont convenu de moderniser l’ALECU afin de créer de nouvelles possibilités et de bons emplois de classe moyenne pour les Canadiens et les Ukrainiens.

Le Canada a mené des consultations publiques au début de 2020 afin de connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur une éventuelle modernisation de l’ALECU. Un rapport sur les consultations a été publié sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada en mai 2020. Au cours des consultations, les Canadiens ont exprimé un large soutien envers la modernisation de l’accord comme moyen de renforcer davantage les relations commerciales bilatérales entre le Canada et l’Ukraine et de tirer parti de l’engagement actuel du Canada envers l’Ukraine. 

La modernisation de l’ALECU créera de nouvelles occasions de maximiser les avantages de l’accord pour les travailleurs, les entrepreneurs et les petites et moyennes entreprises du Canada. Elle contribuera également à renforcer le système international fondé sur des règles en favorisant un commerce équitable, inclusif et transparent avec l’Ukraine, et soutiendra les perspectives de sécurité, de stabilité et de développement économique à long terme en Ukraine.

Les représentants canadiens entameront les négociations dès que cela sera possible.

Consulter les Canadiens

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: