Global Affairs Canada expectations for reporting sexual exploitation and abuse in international assistance

Partner organizations are expected to inform Global Affairs Canada of any allegations of sexual exploitation and abuse that arise in the delivery of Canadian international assistance.

Global Affairs Canada will track allegations to analyze trends and issues in sexual exploitation and abuse in international assistance. This information will be used to foster and support more effective prevention and response strategies with respect to sexual exploitation and abuse.

Who should report to Global Affairs Canada

Partner organizations should report allegations of sexual exploitation and abuse to Global Affairs Canada. Multilateral partners will follow their specific protocols to report sexual exploitation and abuse.

Individuals wishing to report an allegation of sexual exploitation and abuse should report directly to the organization concerned. Partner organizations should have mechanisms in place to receive and respond to confidential reports. Partner organizations should follow international best practices, including by taking a victim-centered approach, in their response.

What and when to report

This reporting requirement is strictly for credible allegations of sexual exploitation and abuse occurring in the delivery of Canadian-funded international development and humanitarian projects. An allegation is credible when the source, nature, and information of the report suggest that the allegation is plausible and warrants further investigation. Cases occurring in the delivery of Canadian-funded projects include cases that:

We expect partner organizations to report allegations within 48 hours of determining that an allegation is credible.

For broader safeguarding or sexual harassment concerns, partner organizations should continue to follow current practice and inform their Global Affairs Canada project officer if the issue will affect project implementation.

Where and how to report

Please fill out the Reporting Form – Sexual exploitation and abuse allegations in international assistance and email it to the Global Affairs Canada PSEA Focal Point at PSEA-PEAS@international.gc.ca.

To protect the privacy of victims, survivors, whistleblowers and alleged perpetrators, organizations should not provide any information that could identify the individuals involved. All information will be treated as private and confidential in accordance with the Privacy Act.

What happens when an allegation is reported

We will acknowledge receipt of all allegations. We may request further information. However, we will not ask for information that could identify any of the individuals involved.

Organizations are directly responsible for investigations of cases reported to them.

Date Modified:

Attentes d’Affaires mondiales Canada quant au signalement de l’exploitation et des abus sexuels dans le domaine de l’aide internationale

Affaires mondiales Canada  s’attend à ce que les organisations partenaires l’informent de toute allégation d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels (EAS) survenant dans le contexte de la prestation de l’aide internationale canadienne.

Affaires mondiales Canada assurera le suivi de ces allégations pour analyser les tendances et les problèmes en matière d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels dans le domaine de l’aide internationale. Ces renseignements seront utilisés pour encourager et appuyer des stratégies de prévention et d’intervention plus efficaces à l’égard de l’exploitation et des abus sexuels.

Les partenaires devant signaler les allégations d’EAS à Affaires mondiales Canada

Les organisations partenaires doivent signaler les allégations d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels à Affaires mondiales Canada. Les partenaires multilatéraux suivront des protocoles précis pour signaler les allégations d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels.

Les personnes souhaitant signaler une allégation d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels doivent le faire directement à l’organisation concernée. Les organisations partenaires doivent être dotées de mécanismes permettant de recevoir des signalements confidentiels et d’y répondre. Les organisations partenaires doivent suivre les pratiques exemplaires internationales, dont celle qui consiste à adopter une approche axée sur la victime, dans le cadre de leur intervention.

Ce qu’il faut signaler et le moment pour le faire

Cette exigence de signalement n’est valable que pour les allégations crédibles d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels ayant eu lieu dans le contexte de l’exécution de projets de développement international et d’aide humanitaire financés par le Canada. Une allégation est crédible lorsque la source, la nature et les renseignements fournis dans le signalement donnent à penser que l’allégation est plausible et justifient une enquête approfondie. Il s’agit des cas répondant au moins à l’un des critères suivants :

Nous nous attendons à ce que les organisations partenaires signalent les allégations dans les 48 heures après en avoir déterminé la crédibilité.

Pour une protection plus large ou des préoccupations relatives au harcèlement sexuel, les organisations partenaires doivent continuer de suivre les pratiques actuelles et informer leur agent de projet d’Affaires mondiales Canada si l’enjeu a une incidence sur la mise en œuvre du projet.

Lieu où acheminer un signalement et la manière de s’y prendre

Veuillez remplir le Formulaire de déclaration – Allégations d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels dans le domaine de l’aide internationale et le renvoyer par courriel à l’unité de PEAS d’Affaires mondiales Canada PSEA-PEAS@international.gc.ca.

Afin de protéger les renseignements personnels des victimes, des survivants, des dénonciateurs et des agresseurs présumés, les organisations ne doivent fournir aucune information permettant d’identifier les personnes concernées. Tous les renseignements seront traités comme étant privés et confidentiels, conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Ce qui advient du signalement d’une allégation

Nous accuserons réception de toutes les allégations. Il est possible que nous demandions d’autres renseignements. Cependant, nous ne demanderons pas de renseignements permettant d’identifier les personnes concernées.

Les organisations sont directement responsables des enquêtes relatives aux cas leur étant signalés.

Date de modification: