Language selection

Search

Embracing diversity through artistic exchange: From Toronto to Valparaíso, Chile

A mural on the side of an apartment complex in Chile

Through street art, Chileans and Canadians are celebrating creativity and diversity.


Art has the power to tell stories, instill pride and even foster inclusion.

That’s exactly what a recent cultural exchange between Chile and Canada accomplished.

Like Canada, Chile is a country home to different cultures, religions and ethnicities. And like Canada, there is still more work to do in Chile to ensure that all segments of society are included and have equal opportunities. Alongside local partners, the Embassy of Canada in Chile is showing that communities are stronger when we work together, respect our differences and give everyone the chance to participate.

Making connections from Canada to Chile

The Embassy supported the “Creative Cities” exchange project to bring Canadian artists, Jarus and Kreecha, to paint two public murals in the port city of Valparaíso.

The project was a collaborative effort with Canadian organization, Creativo Arts, directed by Canadian-Chilean cultural promoter living in Toronto, Rodrigo Ardiles, local art organization, Valparaíso en Colores and Chile’s Ministry of Cultures, Arts and Heritage regional office in Valparaíso, under their ‘Emerge Valparaíso’ program.

This was the second phase in the “Creative Cities” exchange between Toronto and Valparaíso, as fostered by Creativo Arts and with support from the City of Toronto and other Canadian organizations. In phase one, two Chilean artists traveled to Toronto and painted murals in the Dundas West District. These public art works reflected the diversity and rich cultures of Canada’s largest city and are now part of the Dundas West Open Air Museum, which was launched in June 2019.

“Murals make neighbourhoods feel more welcoming and walkable. They encourage citizens to be creative and foster a sense of identity, belonging and openness. They can also boost economic development and tourism in the neighborhood”, said Rodrigo Ardiles.

Local daycare inspires Jarus’ mural

Jarus’ mural of a girl from the local daycare centre
Jarus’ mural of a girl from the local daycare centre. Photo: Creativo Arts

In Chile, both Canadian artists engaged with the local community before starting their murals.

Inspired by his visit to a local daycare centre, Jarus chose a young girl to be the subject of his painting (YouTube), evoking a sense of the joy and innocence of children. The daycare is an important community hub for families and friends living in Cerro Panteón, near the space designated for his mural.


“My art is inspired by human life and the things that I see.”

Jarus, Canadian artist

Kreecha’s mural puts Indigenous world views in the spotlight

Kreecha’s mural integrates Indigenous symbols from his own Cree heritage as well as from Mapuche culture
Kreecha’s mural integrates Indigenous symbols from his own Cree heritage as well as from Mapuche culture. Photo: Creativo Arts

As part of his exchange in Chile, Kreecha, a member of the Cree Nation, met with members of the Chilean-Indigenous Mapuche community Ruka Lawen in Villa Alemana. They spoke about the history of their nations, their Indigenous cosmovisions (world views), as well as specific issues facing Indigenous peoples in both countries, such as environmental protection and the impact of climate change.

Kreecha felt a connection to the experiences of the Mapuche people. He designed a mural integrating Indigenous symbols (YouTube) from his own Cree heritage as well as from Mapuche culture. The mural is located in Cerro Larraín and features a big brown bear standing on the back of a turtle and, as a background, Chilean mountains and the Pehuén trees, which are significant in Mapuche culture.


“The bear on the back of the turtle means strength, power and warrior spirit protection for the earth, which is represented by the turtle.”

Kreecha, Canadian-Indigenous artist

Building a more accepting and inclusive world

Art has a special ability to bring people together. Art can transcend words, and in the case of Valparaíso’s new murals, spread messages of acceptance and inclusion. The murals are public reminders to embrace and be proud of the different cultures and perspectives in our communities.

In fact, the murals are now featured on walking tours in both Toronto and Valparaíso.


“Street art, urban art, muralism have been able to recognize the greatest wealth of Valparaíso, which is its diversity, its heterogeneity.”

Constance Harvey, Seremi of Cultures, Arts and Heritage

For Canada, diversity is a source of strength. Embracing diversity makes our communities and our countries more peaceful, innovative, resilient and prosperous.


“Through this cultural exchange, we are deepening the ties between Canada and Chile and promoting Toronto and Valparaíso as creative cities. These murals are a testimony to the pride we feel in sharing our diverse cultural identities.”

Patricia Peña, Ambassador of Canada in Chile

The Canadian Embassy was proud to work with cultural partners to encourage inclusion and respect for diversity in both Canada and Chile.

Related links

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Promouvoir la diversité par l’échange artistique : de Toronto à Valparaíso, au Chili

Une murale sur la façade d’un complexe d’appartements au Chili

Grâce à l’art de la rue, les Chiliens et les Canadiens célèbrent la créativité et la diversité.


L’art a le pouvoir de raconter des histoires, de susciter la fierté et même de favoriser l’inclusion.

C’est donc exactement ce qu’un échange culturel récent entre le Chili et le Canada a permis d’accomplir.

À l’instar du Canada, le Chili est un pays abritant différentes cultures, religions et ethnies. Comme au Canada, il y a encore beaucoup à faire au Chili pour garantir l’inclusion et l’égalité des chances de tous les pans de la société. Aux côtés de ses partenaires locaux, l’ambassade du Canada au Chili démontre que les communautés se renforcent lorsqu’elles collaborent, respectent leurs différences et offrent à chacun la possibilité de participer.

Établir des liens entre le Canada et le Chili

L’ambassade a soutenu le projet d’échange « Villes créatives » pour permettre aux artistes canadiens Jarus et Kreecha de peindre deux murales publiques dans la ville portuaire de Valparaíso.

Ce projet a été mené en collaboration avec l’organisme canadien, Creativo Arts, dirigé par Rodrigo Ardiles, promoteur culturel canado-chilien originaire de Toronto, l’association artistique locale Valparaíso en Colores, et le bureau régional du ministère chilien des Cultures, des Arts et du Patrimoine situé à Valparaíso, dans le cadre de leur programme « Emerge Valparaíso ».

Il s’agissait de la seconde phase de l’échange « Villes créatives » entre Toronto et Valparaíso, promue par Creativo Arts et soutenue par la Ville de Toronto et d’autres organismes canadiens. Au cours de la première phase, deux artistes chiliens se sont rendus à Toronto pour peindre des murales dans le quartier de Dundas West. Ces œuvres d’art publiques reflétaient la diversité et la richesse culturelle de la plus grande ville canadienne et sont désormais visibles au musée à ciel ouvert de Dundas West, inauguré en juin 2019.

« Les murales rendent les quartiers plus accueillants pour les piétons. Elles encouragent les citoyens à être créatifs, et renforcent leur sentiment d’identité, d’appartenance et d’ouverture. Elles peuvent également stimuler le développement économique et l’attractivité touristique du quartier », a indiqué Rodrigo Ardiles.

Une garderie locale inspire la murale de Jarus

La murale de Jarus d'une fille de la garderie locale
La murale de Jarus d'une fille de la garderie locale. Photo : Creativo Arts

Au Chili, les deux artistes canadiens retenus ont rencontré la population locale avant de commencer leurs murales.

Inspiré par sa visite dans une garderie locale, Jarus a choisi de représenter une petite fille dans son œuvre (YouTube), évoquant ainsi l’esprit joyeux et innocent des enfants. La garderie, située à proximité de l’espace réservé à sa murale, est un centre communautaire important pour les familles et les amis vivant à Cerro Panteón.


« Mon art s’inspire des êtres humains et des choses que je vois. »

Jarus, artiste canadien

La murale de Kreecha met en lumière les visions du monde des Autochtones

La murale de Kreecha intègre des symboles autochtones de son propre héritage cri ainsi que de la culture mapuche
La murale de Kreecha intègre des symboles autochtones de son propre héritage cri ainsi que de la culture mapuche. Photo : Creativo Arts

Dans le cadre de son séjour d’échange au Chili, Kreecha, membre de la nation crie, a rencontré des membres de la communauté autochtone chilienne mapuche Ruka Lawen à Villa Alemana. Ils ont discuté de l’histoire de leurs nations, des cosmovisions (visions du monde) autochtones ainsi que des problématiques particulières auxquelles leurs peuples sont confrontés dans leurs pays respectifs, telles que la protection de l’environnement et les conséquences des changements climatiques.

Kreecha a ressenti un lien avec les expériences de la population mapuche. Il a réalisé une murale intégrant les symboles autochtones de son propre patrimoine cri (YouTube), ainsi que de la culture mapuche. La murale est située à Cerro Larraín et représente un gros ours brun sur le dos d’une tortue avec, en arrière-plan, les montagnes chiliennes et des pehuéns (araucarias du Chili), arbres à la symbolique importante dans la culture mapuche.


« L’ours sur le dos de la tortue symbolise la force, la puissance et l’esprit guerrier nécessaire à la protection de la Terre, qui est représentée par la tortue. »

Kreecha, artiste autochtone-canadien

Créer un monde plus tolérant et inclusif

L’art a pour particularité de rassembler les populations. Il peut transcender les langues et, dans le cas des nouvelles murales de Valparaíso, transmettre des messages de tolérance et d’inclusion. Ces murales publiques nous encouragent à promouvoir les différentes cultures et perspectives de nos communautés et à en être fiers.

Ces murales sont désormais des attractions intégrées à des visites pédestres de Toronto et de Valparaíso.


« L’art de la rue, l’art urbain, le muralisme ont permis d’illustrer la diversité et l’hétérogénéité de Valparaíso, qui sont ses plus grandes richesses. »

Constance Harvey, secrétaire-ministre régionale des Cultures, des Arts, et du Patrimoine

Le Canada, quant à lui, puise sa force dans la diversité. La promotion de la diversité rend nos communautés et nos pays plus paisibles, innovants, résilients et prospères.


« Grâce à cet échange culturel, nous renforçons les relations canado-chiliennes et promouvons Toronto et Valparaíso comme des villes créatives. Ces murales témoignent de la fierté que nous tirons de l’échange sur nos identités culturelles diverses. »

Patricia Peña, ambassadrice du Canada au Chili

L’ambassade canadienne est fière d’avoir travaillé avec des partenaires culturels pour encourager l’inclusion et le respect de la diversité au Canada et au Chili.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: