Make Canada your gateway to the world

CETA’s chapter on investment promotes cross-Atlantic investment by providing EU and Canadian investors greater certainty, stability, transparency and protection for their investments in each other’s territory.

CETA’s Investment Provisions

CETA encourages investment by limiting market access restrictions on investors. Canada and the EU may not restrict the ability of investors from the other Party to establish or expand in each other’s territory, including through restrictions on size, foreign participation/control, legal entity (e.g. requirement for a joint venture), or by linking establishment or expansion to performance requirements including those related to export, import or domestic content.

Non-Discriminatory Treatment

CETA ensures Canada and EU investors receive fair and non-discriminatory treatment. Canada and the EU must provide each other’s investors with treatment no less favourable than they provide to their own investors and any third country investor in like situations.

Investor Protections

Benefits and opportunities of CETA for EU investors

Increased Market Access – CETA will offer companies operating in Canada guaranteed preferential market access to both the EU and North American markets.

Why Invest in Canada?

Connect with one of our trade commissioners responsible for investment.

Date Modified:

Faire du Canada votre porte d’entrée sur le monde

Le chapitre sur l’investissement de l’AECG favorise l’investissement outre-Atlantique en procurant aux investisseurs de l’Union européenne (UE) et du Canada une certitude, une stabilité, une transparence et une protection accrues des investissements faits sur le territoire de chacune des Parties.

Dispositions de l’AECG sur les investissements

L’AECG favorise l’investissement en limitant les restrictions d’accès au marché imposées aux investisseurs. Ni le Canada ni l’Union européenne ne peuvent limiter la possibilité d’un investisseur de l’autre Partie de s’établir ou d’étendre ses activités sur leur territoire, notamment en prenant des mesures restrictives quant à la taille permise, à la participation ou au contrôle étranger, à l’entité juridique (p. ex., la nécessité de créer une coentreprise), ou encore en subordonnant l’établissement ou le développement d’une entreprise à des prescriptions de rendement, notamment en matière d’exportations, d’importations ou de contenu national.

Traitement non discriminatoire

L’AECG assure aux investisseurs du Canada et de l’UE un traitement impartial et non discriminatoire. Tant le Canada que l’UE ont le devoir d’accorder aux investisseurs de l’autre Partie un traitement non moins favorable que celui accordé aux investisseurs nationaux et à tout investisseur de pays tiers dans des situations similaires.

Protection des investisseurs

Les bienfaits et avantages de l’AECG pour les investisseurs de l’UE

Un meilleur accès aux marchés — Grâce à l’AECG, les entreprises exerçant leurs activités au Canada profiteront d’un accès préférentiel garanti tant aux marchés de l’UE qu’à ceux de l’Amérique du Nord.

Pourquoi investir au Canada?

Communiquer avec un de nos délégués commerciaux responsable pour l’investissement.

Date de modification: