Language selection

Search

Canada-Bhutan relations

Bilateral relations

Canada established formal diplomatic relations with Bhutan in 2003. Canada’s relationship with Bhutan began with significant contributions by Canadian teachers in the 1960s. Father William Mackey, a Canadian Jesuit priest, was invited by King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck to contribute to the modernization of Bhutan’s education system. In December 2018, to mark fifteen years of diplomatic relations, Canada and Bhutan signed a Memorandum of Understanding to establish biennial bilateral consultations.

The Government of the Kingdom of Bhutan has diplomatic relations with only 52 countries (in addition to the European Union); Canada and Japan are the only G7 members on this list. Bhutan became a member of the United Nations in 1971. Official bilateral interaction is coordinated through the Canadian High Commission in New Delhi and the Bhutanese Mission to the United Nations in New York.

Trade relations

While modest, Bhutan's economy has grown in recent years and is based on agriculture, forestry, tourism, and the sale of hydroelectric power to India. There is growing interest for bilateral trade relating to specific opportunities, including in urban infrastructure, renewable energy (including hydropower), and financing and engineering services. Discussions are also ongoing on how Canada could contribute to development of Bhutan’s mining and organic food products industries. On education, a number of new initiatives, including renewed institutional partnerships and expanded student recruitment events, are being introduced to promote stronger education ties.

Related links

Development

Canada continues to provide both bilateral and multilateral assistance to Bhutan through a variety of channels.

  • Canada has supported research through the International Development Research Center in Bhutan since 1984 through 24 activities worth $4.8 million. The Samdrup Jongkhar Initiative, implemented between 2010 and 2015, sought to raise living standards in the province through food security and self-sufficiency.
  • For over four decades, Canada has funded modest development assistance projects in Bhutan through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).
  • Through the Canadian Climate Fund, Canada has contributed US$1.3 million to the Climate-Resilient Hazelnut Value Chain project to support a range of climate resilience and adaptation features into Mountain Hazelnuts Group’s operations.
  • Canada provides technical assistance to Bhutan through Global Affairs Canada’s Technical Assistance Partnership and the Canadian Trade and Investment Facility for Development (C-TIF), deploying Canadian experts to review Bhutan’s National Health Policy and develop women’s entrepreneurship at the Ser Bhum Brewery.
  • Canada is a major contributor to international organizations active in Bhutan. Canada is the second largest non-regional contributor to the Asian Development Bank, and among the largest donors to the Asian Development Fund for its poorest member countries, including Bhutan.

Operations

Bhutanese refugees of ethnic Nepalese descent have been living in seven camps in eastern Nepal since the early 1990s. Canada is part of a group of countries taking steps to address this long-standing situation by resettling some of these refugees. In total, Canada has resettled about 6,800 Bhutanese refugees who have been living for nearly two decades in camps run by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Bhutan work closely in multilateral fora, such as: 

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Bhoutan

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques officielles avec le Bhoutan en 2003. Toutefois, les deux pays entretiennent des relations depuis les années 1960, en raison de l’importante contribution apportée par des enseignants canadiens. Le roi Jigme Dorji Wangchuck avait alors demandé à un prêtre jésuite canadien, le père William Mackey, d’aider son pays à moderniser son système d’éducation. En décembre 2018, pour marquer 15 années de relations diplomatiques, le Canada et le Bhoutan ont signé un protocole d’entente pour établir des consultations bilatérales bisannuelles.

Le gouvernement du Royaume du Bhoutan n’entretient des relations diplomatiques qu’avec 52 pays (en plus de l’Union européenne). Le Canada et le Japon sont les seuls membres du G7 à en faire partie. Le Bhoutan est devenu membre des Nations Unies en 1971. Le haut-commissariat du Canada à New Delhi et la mission du Bhoutan auprès des Nations Unies, à New York, coordonnent les échanges officiels entre nos deux pays.

Relations commerciales

Bien que modeste, l’économie bhoutanaise s’est développée au cours des dernières années. L’activité économique se concentre sur l’agriculture, la foresterie, le tourisme et la vente d’énergie hydroélectrique à l’Inde. Le Bhoutan s’intéresse aussi de plus en plus au commerce bilatéral dans certains secteurs, y compris les infrastructures urbaines, les énergies renouvelables (y compris l’hydroélectricité) ainsi que les services financiers et d’ingénierie. En outre, les discussions se poursuivent sur la façon dont le Canada pourrait contribuer au développement de l’industrie minière de ce pays et de son secteur des produits alimentaires biologiques. À cela s’ajoute la mise en œuvre d’un certain nombre de nouvelles initiatives, y compris le renouvellement de partenariats entre des établissements d’enseignement et l’élargissement des activités de recrutement d’étudiants, afin de renforcer les liens dans le secteur de l’éducation.

Liens connexes

Développement

Le Canada continue de fournir une aide bilatérale et multilatérale au Bhoutan au moyen de différents mécanismes.

  • Depuis 1984, il apporte un soutien à la recherche par l’entremise du Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) au Bhoutan. Ce soutien a permis de réaliser 24 activités évaluées à 4,8 millions de dollars. L’Initiative Samdrup Jongkhar, mise en œuvre entre 2010 et 2015, visait à améliorer le niveau de vie dans la province par la sécurité et l’autosuffisance alimentaires.
  • Depuis plus de 40 ans, le Canada finance de petits projets d’aide au développement au Bhoutan au moyen du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).
  • Au titre du Fonds climatique canadien, il a consacré 1,3 million de dollars américains au projet de chaîne de valeur résiliente au climat pour la culture des noisettes, qui visait à renforcer, par différents moyens, la résilience et l’adaptation climatiques des activités du Mountain Hazelnuts Group.
  • Le Canada offre une assistance technique au Bhoutan par l’entremise du Partenariat d’assistance technique d’Affaires mondiales Canada et du Mécanisme canadien de commerce et d’investissement pour le développement en envoyant des experts canadiens pour examiner la politique nationale de santé du Bhoutan et développer l’entrepreneuriat chez les femmes à la Brewery Ser Bhum.
  • À ce cela s’ajoute une contribution importante à des organisations internationales présentes au Bhoutan. Par exemple, le Canada est le deuxième contributeur non régional à la Banque asiatique de développement et un des principaux contributeurs à son Fonds asiatique de développement, qui aide les pays membres les plus pauvres, dont le Bhoutan.

Opérations

Depuis le début des années 1990, des réfugiés bhoutanais d’origine népalaise vivent dans sept camps dans l’est du Népal. Avec d’autres pays, le Canada tente de remédier à cette situation qui perdure, notamment par la réinstallation de certains de ces réfugiés. À ce jour, il a contribué à la réinstallation d’environ 6 800 réfugiés bhoutanais qui vivaient depuis près de 20 ans dans des camps dirigés par le Haut-commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR).

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Bhoutan collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: