Language selection

Search

Canada-Hong Kong relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada is represented in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and the Macao Special Administrative Region by its consulate general in Hong Kong. For mainland China, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada to China in Beijing and its consulates general.

Hong Kong is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in Canada, in Ottawa. Hong Kong also has an economic and trade office in Toronto, in addition to a liaison office in Vancouver.

Canada’s bilateral relations with Hong Kong reflect longstanding and comprehensive commercial, political and people-to-people ties. In addition to deep-rooted historical ties, the people of Canada and the people of Hong Kong share common values, among them respect for the rule of law, human rights and individual freedoms.

On July 1, 1997, following 150 years of British colonial rule, Hong Kong became a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China. Since then, Hong Kong has been governed under the “one country, two systems” framework set out in the Basic Law, and guaranteed under the Sino-British Joint Declaration. Outlined in this internationally registered treaty, Hong Kong is guaranteed its own legislature, legal and judicial systems and economic autonomy under a capitalist system and way of life. Overall, the Basic Law promised to provide Hong Kong with a high degree of autonomy, while the Central Government of the People’s Republic of China holds responsibility over matters of national defence and foreign relations.

Hong Kong boasts one of the largest Canadian communities abroad (an estimated 300,000 people, based on survey data). This community, along with the significant number of Canadians of Hong Kong descent in Canada, plays an important role in building vibrant bilateral relations.

Canada’s presence in Hong Kong is also reflected in the existence of many Hong Kong-Canadian associations, such as the Chinese Canadian Association, the Canadian Club of Hong Kong, the Canadian University Association, and 28 other active Canadian university and college alumni associations. The Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong is one of the largest Canadian business organizations outside Canada, with over 1,200 members. Hong Kong has a mature, trade- and services-driven economy with a per capita GDP (at purchasing power parity) comparable to Canada’s. Hong Kong has a solid, well-capitalized banking system, free market environment, established legal institutions and world-class infrastructure. Hong Kong has consistently been designated the world’s freest economy by various international indexes and rankings.

Trade relations

The total Canada-Hong Kong bilateral merchandise trade in 2020 amounted to $2.5 billion, a 44% decrease over $4.4 billion in 2019 essentially due to the COVID-19 pandemic induced travel restrictions and supply chain disruptions. Canada exported $1.9 billion in goods to HK in 2019, and imported $570.8 million, making it Canada’s 16th largest export market. Major Canadian exports to HK are precious stones and metals (mainly unwrought gold), electrical machinery, fish and seafood, and aerospace products. Canada’s exports to HK from January to November 2021 rebounded to $3.4 billion, re-instating HK back on Canada’s top 10 destinations for exports globally).

Services

Canadian service providers excel in a diverse range of sectors such as finance, engineering, information technology and professional services. Reflecting the growing importance of services to HK’s economy, in 2019 HK ranked 8th as a global destination for Canadian exports of services (and the 2nd in Asia behind China), totalling $1.8 billion while services imports from HK totalled $4.3 billion. Total two-way services trade with HK in 2020 was $6.3 billion and Canada’s services deficit with HK was $2.5 billion.

In addition, Hong Kong is a major investment partner for Canada. The total stock of Canadian direct investment in Hong Kong in 2020 stood at $18 billion, and the total stock of Hong Kong direct investment in Canada stood at $22.2 billion over the same period.

The Canada-Hong Kong Avoidance of Double Taxation Treaty (2013) and the bilateral Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (2016) offer opportunities to further strengthen the robust Canada-Hong Kong bilateral trade and investment relationship.

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Hong Kong work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Hong Kong

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Dans la Région administrative spéciale de Hong Kong et la Région administrative spéciale de Macao, le Canada est représenté par son consulat général à Hong Kong. En Chine continentale, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada à Beijing et ses consulats généraux.

Hong Kong est représentée au Canada par l’ambassade de la République populaire de Chine à Ottawa. Hong Kong a également un bureau économique et commercial à Toronto, en plus d’un bureau de liaison à Vancouver.

Les relations bilatérales que le Canada entretient depuis longtemps avec Hong Kong témoignent de grands liens commerciaux, politiques et interpersonnels. Outre ces liens historiques qui sont profondément ancrés, les Canadiens et les Hongkongais partagent des valeurs communes, dont le respect de l’état de droit, des droits de la personne et des libertés individuelles.

Après 150 ans de régime colonial britannique, Hong Kong est devenue, le 1er juillet 1997, une région administrative spéciale de la République populaire de Chine. Depuis lors, Hong Kong est gouvernée d’après la politique « Un pays, deux systèmes » prescrite par la Loi fondamentale, et garantie aux termes de la Déclaration conjointe sino-britannique. Tel qu’il est énoncé dans ce traité international enregistré auprès de l’ONU, Hong Kong est assurée de pouvoir conserver sa propre assemblée parlementaire, ses systèmes juridique et judiciaire et son autonomie économique, conformément aux système et mode de vie capitalistes. Dans l’ensemble, la Loi fondamentale promettait de conférer à Hong Kong un grand degré d’autonomie, tout en laissant au gouvernement central de la République populaire de Chine la responsabilité en matière de défense nationale et d’affaires étrangères.

Hong Kong abrite une des plus importantes communautés canadiennes à l’étranger (évaluée à 300 000 personnes selon des données d’enquêtes). Cette communauté, ainsi que le nombre considérable de Canadiens d’origine hongkongaise au Canada, joue un rôle important dans l’établissement de relations bilatérales fructueuses.

La présence du Canada à Hong Kong se reflète également par l’existence de nombreuses associations canado-hongkongaises. Entre autres, on retrouve la Chinese Canadian Association, le Canadian Club of Hong Kong, la Canadian University Association et 28 autres associations actives d’anciens étudiants canadiens des niveaux universitaire et collégial. La Chambre de commerce canadienne à Hong Kong, l’une des plus importantes organisations commerciales canadiennes à l’extérieur du Canada, compte plus de 1 200 membres. Hong Kong dispose d’une économie mature axée sur le commerce et les services, et son PIB par habitant (selon la parité des pouvoirs d’achat) se compare à celui du Canada. Hong Kong dispose d’un système bancaire solide bien pourvu en capitaux, d’un cadre de libre-échange, d’institutions juridiques établies et d’une infrastructure de renommée internationale. Elle ne cesse d’être désignée comme étant l’économie la plus libre du monde selon divers indices et classement internationaux.

Relations commerciales

Le commerce bilatéral total de marchandises entre le Canada et Hong Kong s'élevait à 2,5 milliards de dollars en 2020, soit une baisse de 44 % par rapport à 4,4 milliards de dollars en 2019, essentiellement en raison des restrictions de voyage induites par la pandémie de COVID-19 et des perturbations des chaînes d'approvisionnement. Le Canada a exporté pour 1,9 milliard de dollars de biens vers Hong Kong en 2019 et a importé pour 570,8 millions de dollars, ce qui en fait le 16e marché d'exportation du Canada. Les principales exportations canadiennes vers Hong Kong sont les pierres et métaux précieux (principalement l'or brut), les machines électriques, le poisson et les fruits de mer et les produits aérospatiaux. Les exportations du Canada vers HK de janvier à novembre 2021 ont rebondi à 3,4 milliards de dollars, replaçant HK parmi les 10 principales destinations d'exportation du Canada dans le monde).

Services

Les prestataires de services canadiens excellent dans un large éventail de secteurs tels que la finance, l'ingénierie, les technologies de l'information et les services professionnels. Reflétant l'importance croissante des services pour son économie, HK s'est classée au 8e rang mondial pour les exportations canadiennes de services en 2019 (et au 2e en Asie derrière la Chine), totalisant 1,8 milliard de dollars, tandis que les importations de services en provenance de HK ont totalisé 4,3 milliards de dollars. Ainsi, le commerce bilatéral total de services avec Hong Kong en 2020 était de 6,3 milliards de dollars et le déficit des services du Canada avec Hong Kong était de 2,5 milliards de dollars.

De plus, Hong Kong est un important partenaire d'investissement pour le Canada. Le stock total d'investissements directs canadiens à Hong Kong en 2020 s'élevait à 18 milliards de dollars, et le stock total d'investissements directs de Hong Kong au Canada s'élevait à 22,2 milliards de dollars au cours de la même période.

La Convention Canada-Hong Kong visant à éviter les doubles impositions (2013) et l'Accord bilatéral sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (2016) offrent des possibilités de renforcer davantage les solides relations bilatérales en matière de commerce et d'investissement entre le Canada et Hong Kong.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et Hong Kong collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: