Language selection

Search

Marcy Grossman, Ambassador of Canada to United Arab Emirates

Marcy Grossman, Ambassador of Canada to United Arab Emirates

Biography

Marcy Grossman was appointed Ambassador of Canada to the United Arab Emirates in October 2019 with a three-year mandate to 2022. Prior to her arrival in Abu Dhabi, she was Canada’s Consul General for Dubai and the Northern Emirates (2018-2019), and was notably responsible for the creation of Canada’s foreign direct investment agency, Invest in Canada.

With a public service career spanning 27 years, Marcy joined the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade in 2001 as a Senior Account Executive for Investment Partnerships Canada. Within this capacity, she developed a full spectrum of investment marketing campaigns including the publication of the bestselling book "Innovation Nation" (John Wiley & Sons, 2002) highlighting Canada’s prowess as a business pacesetter.

Marcy is a business development expert. Prior to assuming her roles in the United Arab Emirates, she served in the United States as Consul General in both Miami (2005-2009) and Denver (2012-2016) and as the Senior Trade Commissioner in both Dallas (2002-2005) and Los Angeles (2009-2012). During her tenure in the U.S. she was responsible for representing a wide range of Canada’s business, political, academic, consular, immigration and public safety interests. She also closed several large-scale foreign investment deals in cities across Canada.

Before joining Canada’s Foreign Service, Marcy held management positions in numerous Federal government departments, including Industry Canada (2001); Canada’s School of Public Service (1999-2001); and the Treasury Board (1998 to 1999). She launched her career in the criminal justice system, and between 1990 and 1998, served in various capacities within Correctional Services Canada.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Marcy Grossman, Ambassadeur du Canada aux Émirats arabes unis

Marcy Grossman, Ambassadeur du Canada aux Émirats arabes unis

Biographie

Marcy Grossman a été nommée Ambassadeur du Canada aux Émirats arabes unis en octobre 2019, avec un mandat de trois ans, jusqu’en 2022. Avant son arrivée, elle était consule générale du Canada à Dubaï et aux Émirats du Nord (2018-2019), et notamment elle était responsable de la création de l’agence canadienne d’investissement étranger direct Invest in Canada.

Avec une carrière dans la fonction publique qui s’étend sur 27 années, Marcy s'est jointe au Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 2001 à titre de chargée de comptes principale pour Partenariats d'investissement Canada. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, elle a développé toute une gamme de campagnes de marketing d’investissement, notamment la publication du livre à succès "Innovation Nation" (John Wiley & Sons, 2002) mettant en avant les prouesses du Canada en tant que pionnier commercial.

Marcy est une experte en développement des affaires. Avant de prendre ses fonctions aux Émirats arabes unis, elle a été consule générale aux États-Unis à Miami (2005-2009) et à Denver (2012-2016), ainsi que déléguée commerciale principale à Dallas (2002-2005) et à Los Angeles (2009-2012). Durant son mandat aux États-Unis, elle était chargée de représenter un large éventail d’intérêts du Canada dans les domaines des affaires, de la politique, des études, des affaires consulaires, de l’immigration et de la sécurité publique. Elle a également conclu plusieurs accords d’investissements étrangers à grande échelle à travers les villes canadiennes.

Avant de se joindre au Service extérieur du Canada, Marcy a occupé des postes de direction dans de nombreux ministères fédéraux, notamment à Industrie Canada (2001); L’École de la fonction publique du Canada (1999-2001); et le Conseil du Trésor (1998 à 1999). Elle a entamé sa carrière dans le système de justice pénale et, entre 1990 et 1998, a occupé divers postes au sein du Service correctionnel du Canada.

Date de modification: