Arms Trade Treaty Regulatory Implementation Package

The Government of Canada has finalized the legislative and regulatory process to enable Canada to join the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT). Canada deposited its instrument of accession to the ATT on June 19, 2019, and will formally become a State Party on September 17, 2019.

The required legislative amendments to the Export and Import Permits Act, to establish controls over the brokering of military items and to incorporate the assessment criteria set out in the ATT, were adopted when Bill C-47 was granted Royal Assent on December 13, 2018.

Global Affairs Canada subsequently consulted Canadians on an accompanying regulatory framework and drafted a package of six regulations to fully implement Canada’s obligations under the ATT and Bill C-47. These regulations were pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, for 30 days from March 16 to April 15, 2019. Global Affairs Canada carefully reviewed all submissions received during this public consultation period and amended the regulations accordingly.

On June 26, 2019, the package of final regulations was published in the Canada Gazette, Part II. These regulations, along with their corresponding Regulatory Impact Analysis Statements, can be viewed through the links provided below: 

Please note that the legislative and regulatory changes related to Canada’s accession to the ATT will come into effect on September 1, 2019.

For more information on the forthcoming changes to Canada’s export controls program please consult the following resources:

An updated Export and Brokering Controls Handbook will be made available online during the summer which will provide additional guidance on adhering to the new regulations. 

If you have any questions, please contact us via e-mail at expctrlpol@international.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Export Controls Policy Division (TIR)
Global Affairs Canada

Date Modified:

Mise en œuvre de la réglementation relative au Traité sur le commerce des armes

Le gouvernement du Canada a mené à terme le processus législatif et règlementaire pour permettre au Canada d’adhérer au Traité sur le commerce des armes (TCA). Le Canada a déposé son instrument d'adhésion au TCA le 19 juin 2019 et deviendra officiellement État partie le 17 septembre 2019.

Les modifications législatives requises à la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, visant à établir des contrôles sur le courtage des produits militaires et à intégrer les critères d'évaluation énumérés dans le TCA, ont été adoptées lorsque le projet de loi C-47 a reçu la sanction royale le 13 décembre 2018.

Affaires mondiales Canada a ensuite consulté les Canadiens sur un cadre réglementaire connexe et a rédigé un ensemble de six règlements visant à mettre en œuvre les obligations du Canada en vertu du TCA et du projet de loi C-47. Ce règlement a été publié au préalable dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada pendant 30 jours, du 16 mars au 15 avril 2019. Affaires mondiales Canada a soigneusement examiné toutes les soumissions reçues au cours de cette période de consultation publique et a modifié le règlement en conséquence.

Le 26 juin 2019, l'ensemble des règlements finaux a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Ces règlements, ainsi que leurs résumés sur l'étude d'impact de la réglementation, peuvent être consultés à l'aide des liens suivants :

Veuillez noter que les modifications législatives et réglementaires liées à l’adhésion du Canada au TCA entreront en vigueur le 1er  septembre 2019.

Pour plus d’informations sur les changements à venir au programme canadien de contrôle des exportations, veuillez consulter les ressources suivantes :

Une mise à jour du Manuel des contrôles à l’exportation et au courtage sera disponible en ligne au cours de l'été. Elle fournira des indications supplémentaires sur le respect de la nouvelle réglementation.

Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel, à l’adresse suivante : expctrlpol@international.gc.ca.

Cordialement,

Direction de la politique en matière des contrôles à l’exportation (TIR)
Affaires mondiales Canada

Date de modification: