Language selection

Search

Join the discussion: FTA negotiations with the United Kingdom and its possible accession to the CPTPP

Current status: Open

Closes on April 27, 2021.

The Government of Canada is committed to diversifying its trade and investment ties with key markets and strengthening the rules-based, international trading system while pursuing an inclusive trade agenda.

Canada and the United Kingdom have a long-standing, historic relationship—marked by shared values and history, strong people to people links, and significant trade and investment ties. Recent history has created an opportunity for the 2 nations to expand and strengthen existing trade ties. Before entering into these negotiations, the Government of Canada is seeking the input of Canadians from coast to coast.

The government’s inclusive approach to trade puts the interests of Canadians and opportunities for women, Indigenous people and racialized communities front and centre, while seeking to generate growth, create jobs and strengthen the middle class. The Government of Canada is soliciting the views of the Canadian public and interested stakeholders to help define our priorities in relation to future trade negotiations with the United Kingdom.

Following the U.K.’s departure from the European Union (EU), the U.K. and Canada committed to continuing and strengthening their long-standing trade relationship. On December 9, 2020, Canada and the U.K. signed the Canada-U.K. Trade Continuity Agreement (Canada-U.K. TCA) to provide stability and predictability for businesses and workers in both countries. This Agreement substantively replicates the provisions of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) to ensure continuity in the Canada-U.K. trade relationship following the U.K. departure from the EU (Brexit).  Beyond the TCA, Canada and the U.K. have also committed to enter into subsequent negotiations within one year of its entry into force, and to work towards concluding a new comprehensive trade agreement within three years that is tailored to the bilateral relationship.

Additionally, on February 1, 2021, the United Kingdom submitted a notification of intent to begin the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) accession process. The CPTPP is an ambitious regional free trade agreement (FTA) between Canada and 10 other Asia-Pacific nations: Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. The agreement has high standards for priorities such as labour, the environment and inclusivity. The 11 CPTPP members together represent 509 million consumers and account for 12.9% of global GDP. The CPTPP is currently in force in Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore and Vietnam. The agreement will enter into force for the remaining signatories 60 days after the completion of their respective domestic ratification procedures.

The CPTPP signals a shared commitment among members to maintain an open, inclusive and rules-based global trading system. Following the conclusion of the Canada-U.K. TCA and the United Kingdom’s formal notification of intent to join the CPTPP, Global Affairs Canada is seeking input from Canadians on our priorities with respect to bilateral negotiations and/or negotiations toward the United Kingdom’s potential membership in the CPTPP. The accession of new members that are able to meet the CPTPP’s high standards and commitments would allow Canada to secure preferential access to new markets or enhance access to markets already covered by bilateral FTAs, while furthering Canada’s inclusive trade agenda. Discussions towards a bilateral free trade agreement with the United Kingdom and its possible accession to the CPTPP would thus present an opportunity for Canada to further enhance its relationship with one of its largest trading partners as it continue discussions towards a bilateral free trade agreement with that same partner, the United Kingdom.

We want to hear from you

Through these consultations, we want to hear your views, your experiences, and your priorities for the bilateral free trade agreement negotiations with the United Kingdom and for the United Kingdom’s potentially joining the CPTPP.

These consultations will help define Canada’s interests and priorities throughout negotiations. As a trading nation, Canada is committed to strengthening the rules-based, international trading system and pursuing an inclusive trade agenda. A new, comprehensive bilateral agreement tailored to the Canada-United Kingdom relationship would seek to benefit all Canadians, from industry and businesses to workers. Similarly, should the United Kingdom join an agreement such as the CPTPP, Canada would seek for this to meaningfully contribute to our overall priorities for an inclusive, sustainable future that generates growth and creates jobs.

Join in: How to participate

The Government of Canada is seeking input from diverse Canadian voices from coast to coast. There are different ways you can participate in these consultations. You can provide a written submission in response to the Canada Gazette notice until April 27, 2021, using one of these options:

  1. send your submission or any questions by email to Consultations@international.gc.ca
  2. send your submissions or any questions by mail to:

Canada-U.K. Trade Consultations
Global Affairs Canada
Trade Policy and Negotiations Division (TCA)
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Please read the privacy notice statement carefully prior to sending a written submission. When providing your personal opinion(s), we ask that you refrain from including the personal information of other individuals.

Who is the focus of this consultation

We want to hear the views of all Canadians, including, but not limited to:

  • individuals
  • businesses of all sizes, including micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs)
  • industry associations
  • experts/academics
  • civil society organizations and non-governmental organizations
  • labour unions
  • provincial, territorial and municipal governments
  • Indigenous peoples
  • women’s associations, LGBTQ2 stakeholders and community groups representing diverse experiences
  • students and youth
  • other interested Canadian stakeholders

As we seek to ensure that more Canadians have access to the benefits and opportunities that flow from international trade and investment, we welcome input from traditionally underrepresented groups like women, Indigenous peoples and racialized communities. We welcome submissions on the potential impacts—gender-related, environmental and social—of launching negotiations with the United Kingdom.

Purpose of the consultations

Public consultations will help identify what is most important to Canadians in the negotiations and determine how Canada should best proceed. The Canada Gazette notice on these consultations provides background information on this initiative.

Canada-U.K. bilateral free trade agreement

Through free trade agreement negotiations, Canada and the United Kingdom have the opportunity to establish terms of trade that are best suited to their needs and current relationship, which can include a revision of existing provisions and/or the addition of new areas for discussion. These consultations focused on the Canada-U.K. trade relationship will help to identify the areas of focus for Canada in the prospective bilateral negotiations. In parallel, the government is seeking the views of Canadians on the potential impacts and opportunities that a Canada-United Kingdom bilateral trade agreement may have on the Canadian labour market, and with respect to the environment and gender. Learn more about the impact assessments of a future Canada-U.K. FTA.

U.K. accession to the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership

As the rules of the agreement are already established and in force between existing parties, discussions with the United Kingdom on its acceding to the CPTPP will focus on specific aspects of trade such as goods, services, financial services, investment, temporary entry for business persons, government procurement and state-owned enterprises.

The United Kingdom—and any other economy wishing to accede to the CTPPP—will be required to meet the CPTPP’s high standards and commitments. These consultations will also help to identify any issues and concerns that are relevant when considering the United Kingdom’s accession to the CPTPP.

What is the deadline for consultation submissions?

The submission period for the Canada Gazette notice will last 45 days, and end on April 27, 2021. The Government of Canada is committed to hearing from Canadians on this topic and will ensure that Canadians continue to have the opportunity to provide their views through our ongoing consultation efforts.

Related information:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Participez à la consultation sur les négociations d’un ALE avec le Royaume-Uni et sur son adhésion éventuelle au PTPGP

Statut actuel : Fermé

Cette consultation a eu lieu du 12 mars 2021 au 27 avril 2021.

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à diversifier ses liens avec les principaux marchés en matière de commerce et d’investissement et à renforcer le système commercial international fondé sur des règles, tout en poursuivant un programme commercial inclusif.

Le Canada et le Royaume-Uni entretiennent des relations de longue date, relations marquées par une histoire et des valeurs communes, des liens étroits entre les gens, et d’importants liens en matière de commerce et d’investissement. L’histoire récente a donné aux deux nations l’occasion d’étendre et de renforcer leurs liens commerciaux. Avant d’entamer ces négociations, le gouvernement du Canada souhaite obtenir l’avis des Canadiens d’un océan à l’autre.

L’approche inclusive du gouvernement à l’égard du commerce place au premier plan les champs d’intérêt des Canadiens et les possibilités offertes aux femmes, aux peuples autochtones et aux communautés racisées, tout en cherchant à générer de la croissance, à créer des emplois et à renforcer la classe moyenne. Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite l’avis du public canadien et des parties intéressées pour l’aider à définir ses priorités en ce qui concerne les futures négociations commerciales avec le Royaume-Uni.

À la suite du retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’Union européenne (UE), le Royaume-Uni et le Canada se sont engagés à poursuivre et à renforcer leurs relations commerciales de longue date. Le 9 décembre 2020, le Canada et le Royaume-Uni ont signé l’Accord de continuité commerciale entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni (ACC Canada–Royaume-Uni) afin d’offrir stabilité et prévisibilité aux entreprises et aux travailleurs des deux pays. Cet accord reproduit en substance les dispositions de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne afin d’assurer la continuité des relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni après le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE (Brexit). Au-delà de l’ACC, le Canada et le Royaume-Uni se sont également engagés à entamer des négociations ultérieures dans l’année suivant l’entrée en vigueur de cet accord et à œuvrer à la conclusion, dans les trois ans, d’un nouvel accord commercial global adapté aux relations bilatérales.

De plus, le 1er février 2021, le Royaume-Uni a soumis son avis d’intention d’adhérer à l’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP). Le PTPGP est un ambitieux accord régional de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et 10 autres pays d’Asie-Pacifique : l’Australie, Brunei, le Chili, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour et le Vietnam. Cet accord prévoit des normes de haut niveau dans des domaines prioritaires tels que le travail, l’environnement et l’inclusivité. Ensemble, les 11 membres du PTPGP représentent 509 millions de consommateurs et 12,9 % du PIB mondial. Le PTPGP est actuellement en vigueur au Canada, en Australie, au Japon, au Mexique, en Nouvelle-Zélande, à Singapour et au Vietnam. Il entrera en vigueur dans les autres pays signataires 60 jours après l’achèvement de leur processus national respectif de ratification.

Le PTPGP témoigne d’un engagement commun des membres à maintenir un système commercial mondial ouvert, inclusif et fondé sur des règles. À la suite de la conclusion de l’ACC Canada–Royaume-Uni et de l’avis officiel de l’intention du Royaume-Uni d’adhérer au PTPGP, Affaires mondiales Canada sollicite les commentaires des Canadiens sur nos priorités en ce qui concerne les négociations bilatérales et/ou les négociations en vue de l’adhésion éventuelle du Royaume-Uni au PTPGP. L’adhésion de nouveaux membres capables de respecter les normes et les engagements élevés de cet accord permettrait au Canada d’obtenir un accès préférentiel à de nouveaux marchés ou d’améliorer l’accès aux marchés déjà couverts par des ALE bilatéraux, tout en faisant progresser le programme commercial inclusif du Canada. Les discussions en vue d’un accord de libre-échange bilatéral avec le Royaume-Uni et de son adhésion au PTPGP offriraient donc la possibilité de renforcer encore les relations du Canada avec l’un de ses principaux partenaires commerciaux, car ces discussions seraient orientées vers un accord bilatéral de libre-échange avec ce partenaire, en l’occurrence le Royaume-Uni.

Nous voulons vous entendre!

Dans le cadre de cette consultation, nous souhaitons connaître vos points de vue, vos expériences et vos priorités en ce qui concerne les négociations en vue d’un accord bilatéral de libre-échange avec le Royaume-Uni et de l’adhésion éventuelle du Royaume-Uni au PTPGP.

Cette consultation permettra de définir les champs d’intérêt et les priorités du Canada tout au long des négociations. En tant que nation commerçante, le Canada s’est engagé à renforcer le système commercial international fondé sur des règles et à mettre en œuvre un programme commercial inclusif. Un nouvel accord bilatéral global adapté aux relations entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni viserait à profiter à tous les Canadiens, tant aux industries et aux entreprises qu’aux travailleurs.  De même, si le Royaume-Uni devait adhérer à un accord tel que le PTPGP, le Canada souhaiterait que cela contribue de manière significative à nos priorités globales pour un avenir inclusif et durable qui génère de la croissance et crée des emplois.

Comment participer

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à obtenir la contribution de diverses voix canadiennes d’un océan à l’autre. Vous pouvez participer à ces consultations de différentes façons. Vous pouvez présenter une soumission écrite en réponse à l’avis de la Gazette du Canada jusqu’au 27 avril 2021, en utilisant l’une de ces options :

  1. Envoyez votre soumission ou vos questions par courrier électronique à : consultations@international.gc.ca
  2. Envoyez votre soumission ou vos questions par la poste à :

Consultations sur le commerce entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni
Affaires mondiales Canada
Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales (TCA)
Eacute;difice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2

Veuillez lire attentivement la déclaration de confidentialité avant d’envoyer une soumission écrite. Nous vous demandons de vous abstenir d’inclure des renseignements personnels sur d’autres personnes lorsque vous nous faites part de votre ou de vos opinions.

Qui cette consultation visait-elle?

Nous voulons entendre les points de vue de tous les Canadiens, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter :

  • les particuliers;
  • les entreprises de toute taille, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et les microentreprises;
  • les associations industrielles;
  • les experts et universitaires;
  • les organisations de la société civile et les organisations non gouvernementales;
  • les syndicats;
  • les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que les municipalités;
  • les peuples autochtones;
  • les associations de femmes, les intervenants LGBTQ2 et les groupes communautaires témoignant de diverses expériences;
  • les étudiants et les jeunes;
  • les autres intervenants canadiens intéressés.

Pour faire en sorte qu’un plus grand nombre de Canadiens aient accès aux avantages et aux possibilités qui découlent du commerce et des investissements internationaux, nous souhaitons recevoir les commentaires de groupes traditionnellement sous-représentés comme les femmes, les peuples autochtones et les communautés racisées. Nous aimerions aussi recevoir des soumissions sur les répercussions que pourrait avoir le déclenchement de négociations avec le Royaume-Uni en ce qui concerne les questions d’égalité des genres, d’environnement et de société.

But de la consultation

La consultation publique contribuera à cerner ce qui est le plus important pour les Canadiens dans ces négociations et à déterminer la meilleure façon de procéder pour le Canada. L’avis de la Gazette du Canada au sujet de cette consultation contient de l’information générale sur cette initiative.

Accord bilatéral de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni :

En négociant un accord de libre-échange, le Canada et le Royaume-Uni ont la possibilité d’établir les conditions commerciales qui conviennent le mieux à leurs besoins et à leurs relations actuelles, ce qui peut inclure une révision des dispositions existantes et/ou l’ajout de nouveaux domaines de discussion. Cette consultation, axée sur les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni, permettra de déterminer les domaines sur lesquels le Canada doit se concentrer dans le cadre des futures négociations bilatérales. En parallèle, le gouvernement cherche à connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur les répercussions potentielles et les avantages possibles d’un accord commercial bilatéral entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni en ce qui concerne le marché du travail canadien, l’environnement et l’égalité des genres. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les études d’impact d’un futur ALE entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni.

Adhésion du Royaume-Uni à l’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) :

Étant donné que les règles du PTPGP sont déjà établies et en vigueur entre les parties existantes, les discussions avec le Royaume-Uni en vue de son adhésion à cet accord se concentreront sur des aspects spécifiques du commerce tels que les biens, les services, les services financiers, l’investissement, l’admission temporaire des gens d’affaires, les marchés publics et les entreprises d’État.

Le Royaume-Uni – comme tout pays souhaitant adhérer au PTPGP – devra en respecter les normes et engagements de haut niveau. Cette consultation permettra également de soulever toutes les questions et préoccupations pertinentes dans le cadre de l’adhésion du Royaume-Uni au PTPGP.

Quelle est la date limite pour les soumissions?

La période de soumission en réponse à l’avis de la Gazette du Canada durera 45 jours et prendra fin le 27 avril 2021. Le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à entendre les Canadiens sur cette question et veillera à ce que les Canadiens continuent d’avoir la possibilité de faire connaître leur point de vue grâce aux efforts soutenus de consultation.

Renseignements connexes :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: