WTO Agreement on Trade Facilitation

The WTO Agreement on Trade Facilitation (TFA), which entered into force on February 22, 2017, contains binding commitments for the 164 WTO Members to modernize and simplify border procedures. It is the first multilateral agreement concluded since the creation of the WTO in 1994. A list of WTO Members that have ratified the TFA is available on the WTO website.

Some of the key provisions of the TFA aim to:

Most economic gains will flow to developing countries. The WTO estimates that the full implementation of the TFA could boost global merchandise exports by up to $1 trillion, with up to $730 billion accruing to developing countries, and reduce trade costs by an average of over 14 percent (nearly 17 percent for least-developed countries).

The TFA provides a new approach to implementation by developing and least-developed countries. The Agreement provides those Members with the flexibility to self-determine the timing of their own implementation of the TFA’s provisions, and to indicate whether they need assistance and support for capacity building in order to do so. Furthermore, developing and least-developed economies benefit from flexibilities under which commitments are not binding until they acquire the capacity to implement.

Some developing and least-developed countries will need assistance to implement the reforms necessary to bring their border procedures into compliance with the TFA’s provisions. Mechanisms are in place to assist developing countries implement the TFA. One example is the Global Alliance for Trade Facilitation, a public-private partnership which brings together donor countries, global businesses and international institutions to assist developing countries in the implementation of TFA reforms. Canada contributed $10 million to this alliance over seven years (2015-2022).

The implementation of the TFA will benefit Canadian traders by expediting, streamlining and enhancing the predictability of customs and border procedures for their exports to developing countries, which translates into lower trade costs. The benefits are expected to be most significant for small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), for which trade costs are disproportionately high. The implementation of the TFA by developing countries could help Canadian SMEs increase their export presence in emerging markets, from Latin America and the Caribbean, to Africa and Asia.

The Canada Border Services Agency’s Small and medium enterprises toolkit is designed to make commercial and trade information more easily accessible to business. It identifies relevant websites and outreach products, and provides details on programs, policies and regulations intended to make it easier and faster for commercial goods to cross the border while enhancing border and trade chain security.

Canada’s Implementation of the TFA

On December 12, 2016, An Act to Amend the Food and Drugs Act, the Hazardous Products Act, the Radiation Emitting Devices Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, the Pest Control Products Act and the Canada Consumer Products Safety Act and to make amendments to a related Act (the “Act”) was enacted. This legislation enabled Canada to ratify the TFA on December 16, 2016.

Further details on the legislative amendments contained in this Act

WTO Members committed to have a means to facilitate both domestic coordination and implementation of the provisions of the TFA. The Government of Canada uses well-functioning interdepartmental networks already in place to undertake the necessary strategic planning and to coordinate trade facilitation domestically, both between Global Affairs Canada, the Canada Border Services Agency and other departments and agencies responsible for the application of import, export and transit requirements at the border, as well as existing mechanisms for consultations with stakeholders. These mechanisms include the Border Commercial Consultative Committees, which provide officials and commercial stakeholders with a forum to discuss border-related policies and programs, as well as technical and operational issues that govern and affect Canada’s trade.

If you have questions, please contact tfaquestions@international.gc.ca

Date Modified:

Accord de l'OMC sur la facilitation des échanges

L’Accord de l'OMC sur la facilitation des échanges (AFE) qui est entré en vigueur le 22 février 2017, contient des engagements contraignants pour les 164 Membres de l'OMC de moderniser et de simplifier les procédures à la frontière. C’est le premier accord multilatéral conclu depuis la création de l'OMC en 1994. Une liste des Membres de l'OMC ayant ratifié l’AFE est disponible sur le site web de l’OMC.

Certaines des dispositions clés de l'AFE visent à:

La plupart des gains économiques iront aux pays en développement. L'OMC estime que l’AFE pourrait accroître les exportations mondiales de marchandises de jusqu'à 1 billion de dollars, dont jusqu’à 730 milliards de dollars en possibilité d’exportation pour les pays en développement, et réduire les coûts commerciaux de plus de 14 pour cent en moyenne (et de près de 17 pour cent pour les pays les moins avancés).

L’AFE offre une nouvelle approche à la mise en œuvre par les pays en développement et les pays les moins avancés. L'Accord donne à ces Membres la possibilité de déterminer eux-mêmes le moment de leur propre mise en œuvre des dispositions de l'AFE et d'indiquer s'ils ont besoin d'aide et de soutien pour le renforcement des capacités à cette fin. En outre, les économies en développement et les moins avancés bénéficient de flexibilités dans le cadre desquelles les engagements ne sont contraignants qu'une fois que la capacité de mettre en œuvre a été acquise.

Certains pays en développement et moins avancés auront besoin d'assistance pour mettre en œuvre les réformes nécessaires pour s’assurer que leurs procédures douanières sont conformes aux dispositions d’AFE. Des mécanismes sont en place pour aider les pays en développement à mettre en œuvre l’AFE. Un exemple est l'Alliance mondiale pour la facilitation des échanges (en anglais seulement), un partenariat public-privé qui rassemble les pays donateurs, les entreprises et les institutions internationales pour aider les pays en développement à mettre en œuvre les dispositions de l’AFE. Le Canada a contribué 10 millions de dollars à cette Alliance sur une période de sept ans (2015-2022).

La mise en œuvre de l’AFE bénéficiera les commerçants canadiens en accélérant, rationalisant et améliorant la prévisibilité des procédures douanières et frontalières pour leurs exportations vers les pays en développement, ce qui se traduira par une diminution des coûts commerciaux. Il est estimé que les avantages seront plus importants pour les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), pour lesquelles les coûts commerciaux sont disproportionnés. La mise en œuvre de l’AFE par les pays en développement pourrait aider les PME canadiennes à accroître leur présence à l'exportation dans les marchés émergents, de l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, jusqu’en Afrique et en Asie.
La boîte à outils pour les petites et moyennes entreprises de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada vise à rendre l'information commerciale plus facilement accessible aux entreprises. Il identifie les sites Web pertinents et les produits de sensibilisation et fournit des détails sur les programmes, les politiques et les règlements visant à faciliter et accélérer le passage des marchandises commerciales aux frontières tout en améliorant la sécurité des frontières et de la chaîne commerciale.

La mise en œuvre de l’AFE par le Canada

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, la Loi sur les produits dangereux, la Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires et la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et apportant des modifications connexes à une autre loi (« la Loi »), a été promulguée le 12 décembre 2016. Cette mesure législative a permit au Canada de ratifier l'AFE le 16 décembre 2016.

Des détails sur les modifications législatives contenues dans la présente loi sont disponibles ici.

Les Membres de l'OMC se sont engagés à avoir un moyen de faciliter la coordination nationale et la mise en œuvre des dispositions de l'AFE. Le gouvernement du Canada utilise des réseaux interministériels fonctionnels déjà en place pour entreprendre la planification stratégique nécessaire et coordonner la facilitation du commerce à l'échelle nationale, tant entre Affaires mondiales Canada, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et les autres ministères et organismes responsables de l'importation, et les exigences de transit à la frontière, ainsi que les mécanismes existants de consultation avec les parties prenantes. L'un de ces mécanismes est les Comités consultatifs sur les activités commerciales à la frontière qui offrent aux fonctionnaires et aux intervenants commerciaux un forum pour discuter des politiques et des programmes frontaliers, ainsi que des questions techniques et opérationnelles qui régissent et affectent le commerce canadien.

Si vous avez des questions, s'il vous plaît contacter tfaquestions@international.gc.ca

 

Date de modification: