Dismantling Barriers and Improving the Quality of Education for Women and Girls in Fragile, Conflict and Crisis Situations

For notification of calls, please subscribe to our RSS feed.

You can access calls, get a heads-up on upcoming calls, and view closed calls and results from past calls.

The deadline to submit an application was Wednesday, February 13, 2019, 12:00 p.m. (noon), Eastern Time.

The Dismantling Barriers and Improving the Quality of Education for Women and Girls in Fragile, Conflict and Crisis Situations call for proposals is part of Canada’s $400-million commitment to education for women and girls in crisis and conflict situations, announced in June 2018 at the G7 Summit in Charlevoix, Quebec. The call aligns with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy and aims to support a sustainable development approach to increasing access and reducing barriers to quality education for women and girls in fragile, conflict and crisis situations, including in refugee-hosting countries. This call also aligns with commitments made by Canada at the Global Disability Summit in 2018 to increasing access to quality education for women and girls with disabilities and ensuring that their interests and priorities are taken into account.

The total amount of funding available under this call for proposals is up to $80 million over five years. Global Affairs Canada may fund any number of proposals or none, up to the maximum funding available. However, the department expects to fund up to seven or eight initiatives with project durations of at least three years up to a maximum of five years.

You must submit your proposal through the Partners@International portal before 12 p.m. (noon) Eastern Time on Wednesday, February 13, 2019. We will not accept any late submissions. Please read the portal instructions carefully, and plan to submit your application at least three business days before the closing date to ensure that technical difficulties do not prevent you from submitting your proposal by the deadline.

Objectives

This call will support development assistance projects in fragile, conflict and crisis situations, including in refugee-hosting countries. The call is intended to promote greater coherence between humanitarian actors and host governments and to increase access and reduce barriers to quality education for women and girls. Projects must clearly demonstrate collaboration with one or more local organization(s) or include a plan outlining how this collaboration will be formed.

Please note that humanitarian assistance is not eligible under this call for proposals and will continue to be funded through normal humanitarian channels.

Your proposal must align with at least one of the following three programming pillars in fragile, conflict and crisis situations, including in refugee-hosting countries:

  1. Barriers: Address harmful social norms and other barriers that hinder the demand for, and access to, education for girls and women in order to increase the equitable access to safe, secure, quality and inclusive education and learning opportunities for girls, adolescent girls and women, including those with disabilities.
  2. Systems: Expand and improve the provision of inclusive, gender-responsive, safe, accessible, equitable and quality pre-primary, primary and secondary education.
  3. Skills: Increase girls’ and women’s equitable access to quality gender-responsive skills development and higher education.

Your proposal must:

Aligned with the Charlevoix Declaration, your proposal must also demonstrate a comprehensive understanding of the project’s context and issues. Please document the ways in which your project will (at least one of the following must be included):

Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy states that “no less than 95 percent of Canada’s bilateral international development assistance initiatives will target or integrate gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.” Priority will be given to proposal designs that meet the requirement of targeting or fully integrating gender equality and women’s and girls’ empowerment. To support this, your proposal’s logic model must have gender-equality outcomes. Moreover, its theory of change must indicate:

Organization eligibility

Carefully review the following eligibility screening requirements for submitted application packages for this particular call.

This call is open to Canadian organizations, which may submit an application alone or in collaboration with other organizations, either as signatories or non-signatories. Applicants are encouraged to collaborate with other Canadian or international organizations.

The signatory (or signatories) must:

Required project parameters

Carefully review the points below to determine whether your proposed project is in alignment with the parameters of the call. We will not respond to questions about the eligibility of your proposal. You must be able to answer “yes” to all the following statements in order for your application to be considered for funding under this call.

Please note that, as per Section 4 of the Organization attestation, funding must not knowingly be used, either directly or indirectly, in a manner that contravenes Canada’s economic sanctions and export and import controls regimes. Information on Canadian sanctions and export and import controls can be accessed at Types of sanctions and Export and import controls. Note: Approximately 75% of the funding will be allocated to initiatives in sub-Saharan Africa.

If your proposed project does not conform to the above requirements, it will be considered ineligible and will not be assessed under this call for proposals.

Required project experience

Your application must be able to demonstrate the required experience below to be considered for funding under this call. The signatory(ies) and/or non-signatory partners must provide two examples of projects in Section 5.1 of the application form. Collectively, the two examples must demonstrate the following:

Additional guidance

Please note that Global Affairs Canada will not consider projects that include new construction. However, the department will consider refurbishment of existing structures. Refurbishment means any improvement to an existing structure. All refurbishment activities must contribute to the objectives of this call for proposals. Organizations are required to demonstrate, in Section 5.2 of the proposal form, previous experience if undertaking construction or refurbishment. Organizations undertaking infrastructure-related projects will be required to submit a detailed construction plan, including a detailed construction budget, after signing a contribution agreement and prior to project implementation.

Preference may be given to proposals that:

How we assess your proposal

Please note that this call will use a one-step application process. The comparative assessment process is described below. In this call, applicants must submit a shortened full proposal.

Applications to this call will first undergo an eligibility check to verify that they meet all organization eligibility requirements and required project parameters listed on this page. Next, eligible applications will be assessed to ensure that the required project experience has been demonstrated. Applications that meet this requirement will proceed to merit assessment, as described in How we assess your proposal. Applications that do not meet the required project experience will not be further assessed. You will be notified if your application is found to be ineligible or does not meet the required project experience.

The assessment criteria that will be used for this call are found at Full proposal assessment criteria.

Available resources

A number of online resources can help you develop your application package. We strongly encourage you to read all the following tools and guidance before beginning your application process. Failure to meet the mandatory requirements, minimum standards and deadlines will result in it not being considered for funding.

How to submit your application package

Important: Please note that if you intend to apply to this call for proposals, you must send an email to correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca by Wednesday, February 6, 2019, requesting the budget template for this call. Please reference the Dismantling Barriers and Improving the Quality of Education for Women and Girls in Fragile, Conflict and Crisis Situations call for proposals in your email when requesting the budget template. This template must be completed and uploaded to the portal along with all other documents, as outlined below. You are strongly encouraged to request the budget template as soon as possible.

If your organization is not already registered in Global Affairs Canada’s Partners@International portal, be sure to register it as soon as possible, as it can take 10 or more business days to process your registration request.

In order to be considered in this call, you must upload the application form and supporting documents and submit them through Global Affairs Canada’s Partners@International portal by 12 p.m. (noon) Eastern Time on Wednesday, February 13, 2019.

Your application package must include all the following documents:

How to access and use PDF forms

Use only Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat to work on the standardized PDFs to be submitted with your application package. If you use other software, the data you enter may not appear once submitted to the department and the application will be considered ineligible.

If you are having difficulty downloading the proposal form, it is generally due to the type of software you have (or do not have) on your computer. Please read and follow the help instructions. If you have all the correct software installed, download the form to your desktop and open it directly in Adobe Reader; otherwise, other software installed on your computer may try (and fail) to open the form using your default settings.

Questions regarding the Partners@International portal

Please read and follow all the instructions for using the Partners@International portal (linked on the right-side menu). Do not open multiple windows within the portal, as this may cause technical problems.

Do not try to register or submit at the last minute.

It may take up to 10 business days to register your organization. If you encounter technical difficulties while registering or trying to submit a proposal, send an email to partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca. Please note: during the last two weeks before a call closes, the service standard for replying to your enquiry is three business days. Technical support for the portal is available only from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern Time, Monday to Friday.

Questions about this particular call

A webinar for this call took place on January 10, 2019. A transcript of this webinar can be found here.

If you still have questions about this call after reading the general Questions and answers about applying for funding, please send them to correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca by Monday, January 14, 2019. We will not respond to questions received after this deadline or to questions on specific organizational circumstances or specific project proposals. Applicants will not receive emails with responses. Answers will appear only on the Questions and Answers page for this call for proposals to ensure that all applicants have access to the same information at the same time.

Date Modified:

Éliminer les obstacles et améliorer la qualité de l’éducation des femmes et des filles dans les pays fragiles, en situation de crise et aux prises avec des conflits

Pour recevoir les avis sur les appels de propositions, veuillez vous abonner à notre fil RSS.

Ce fil RSS permet d’accéder aux appels de propositions, de recevoir une notification à propos des appels à venir, de consulter les appels de propositions passées qui sont clos et de voir les résultats aux appels de propositions qui ont été lancées.

La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le mercredi 13 février 2019, à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est.

L’appel de propositions « Éliminer les obstacles et améliorer la qualité de l’éducation des femmes et des filles dans les pays fragiles, en situation de crise et aux prises avec des conflits » s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’engagement de 400 millions de dollars du Canada envers l’éducation des femmes et des filles en situation de crise et de conflit, annoncé en juin 2018 au Sommet du G7 dans Charlevoix, au Québec. Cet appel s’harmonise à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada et vise à appuyer une approche de développement durable en réduisant les obstacles et en favorisant l’accès des femmes et des filles à une éducation de qualité dans les pays fragiles, en situation de crise et aux prises avec des conflits, ainsi que dans les pays accueillant des réfugiés. Cet appel s’harmonise également aux engagements pris par le Canada (en anglais) lors du Sommet mondial sur le handicap de 2018 pour accroître l’accès des femmes et des filles handicapées à une éducation de qualité et veiller à ce que leurs intérêts et priorités soient pris en compte.

Le montant total du financement disponible dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions s’élève à 80 millions de dollars sur cinq ans. Affaires mondiales Canada se réserve le droit de financer n’importe quel nombre de propositions, jusqu’à concurrence du financement maximal disponible, ou de n’en retenir aucune. Toutefois, le Ministère prévoit financer environ sept ou huit initiatives dont le projet s’étend sur un minimum de trois années et un maximum de cinq années.

Vous devez soumettre votre proposition pour cet appel par le biais du portail Partenaires@International d’ici le mercredi 13 février 2019, à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est. Nous n’accepterons aucune proposition reçue après cette date. Veuillez lire attentivement les directives du portail et prévoyez soumettre votre demande au moins trois jours ouvrables avant la date de clôture afin de vous assurer que les difficultés techniques ne vous empêchent pas de soumettre votre proposition avant la date limite.

Objectifs

Cet appel permettra de soutenir les projets d’aide au développement dans les pays fragiles, en situation de crise et aux prises avec des conflits, ainsi que dans les pays accueillant des réfugiés. L’appel vise à promouvoir une coordination accrue entre les intervenants humanitaires et les gouvernements hôtes, et à réduire les obstacles et à favoriser l’accès à une éducation de qualité pour les femmes et les filles. Les projets doivent clairement démontrer la collaboration avec une ou des organisation(s) locale(s) ou comprendre un plan définissant la façon dont cette collaboration sera mise en place.

Veuillez noter que l’aide humanitaire n’est pas admissible dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions et qu’elle continuera à être financée par les voies humanitaires normales. 

Votre proposition doit s’harmoniser à au moins un des trois piliers de programmation suivants qui s’appliquent dans les pays fragiles, en situation de crise et aux prises avec des conflits, ainsi que dans les pays accueillant des réfugiés :

  1. Obstacles : confronter les normes sociales nuisibles et les autres obstacles qui limitent la demande et l’accès à l’éducation des filles et des femmes afin d’accroître l’accès équitable à une éducation et aux possibilités d’apprentissage sûres, sécuritaires, de qualité et inclusives pour les filles, les adolescentes et les femmes, notamment celles qui ont des handicaps.
  2. Systèmes : élargir et améliorer la prestation d’enseignement inclusif, sûr, accessible, équitable, de qualité et qui tient compte de l’égalité des genres aux niveaux préscolaire, primaire ou secondaire.
  3. Compétences : accroître l’accès équitable des filles et des femmes au développement des compétences et à l’enseignement supérieur de qualité et qui tient compte de l’égalité des genres.  

Votre proposition doit :

En conformité avec la Déclaration de Charlevoix, votre proposition doit également démontrer une compréhension approfondie du contexte et des enjeux du projet. Veuillez documenter les façons dont votre projet (au moins un des éléments suivants doit être inclus) :

La Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada soutient que « pas moins de 95 % des initiatives bilatérales du Canada en matière d’aide au développement international visent ou intègrent l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles ». La priorité sera accordée aux propositions dont le concept répond à l’exigence de cibler ou d’intégrer pleinement l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles. À cette fin, le modèle logique de votre proposition doit comporter des résultats en matière d’égalité des genres. De plus, sa théorie du changement doit indiquer ce qui suit :

Admissibilité de l’organisation

Veuillez examiner attentivement les critères de vérification de l’admissibilité des dossiers de demande présentés dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions.

Cet appel s’adresse aux organisations canadiennes qui peuvent présenter une demande seule ou en collaboration avec d’autres organisations, à titre de signataires ou de non-signataires. Les demandeurs sont invités à collaborer avec d’autres organisations canadiennes ou internationales.

Le (ou les) signataire(s) doit (doivent) :

Paramètres requis du projet

Veuillez passer attentivement en revue les points ci-dessous pour déterminer si le projet que vous proposez satisfait aux critères énoncés dans l’appel. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions concernant l’admissibilité de votre proposition. Vous devez être en mesure de répondre « oui » à tous les énoncés suivants pour que votre demande soit étudiée en vue d’un éventuel financement en vertu de cet appel de propositions :

Veuillez noter que conformément à la section 4 de l’Attestation par l’Organisation, les fonds ne doivent pas être utilisés sciemment, directement ou indirectement, d’une manière qui contrevient aux sanctions économiques et aux régimes de contrôle des exportations et des importations. Les renseignements sur les sanctions canadiennes et les contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation peuvent être évalués par Types de sanctions et Contrôles à l’exportation et l’importation. Remarque : Environ 75 % du financement sera alloué à des initiatives en Afrique subsaharienne.

Si le projet que vous proposez n’est pas conforme aux exigences ci-dessus, il sera considéré comme non admissible et ne sera pas évalué dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions.

Expérience requise pour le projet

Votre demande doit démontrer que vous possédez l’expérience requise ci-dessus pour que votre demande soit étudiée en vue d’un éventuel financement dans le cadre du présent appel. Le ou les signataire(s) et les partenaires non signataires doivent fournir deux exemples de projets à la section 5.1 du formulaire de demande. Les deux exemples doivent démontrer conjointement ce qui suit :

Consignes supplémentaires

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne prendra pas en considération les projets qui comprennent de nouvelles constructions. Toutefois, le Ministère examinera les projets visant la remise à neuf de structures existantes. Par remise à neuf, on entend toute amélioration apportée à une structure existante. Toutes les activités de remise à neuf doivent contribuer à la réalisation des objectifs de cet appel de propositions. Si les organisations comptent réaliser des travaux de construction ou de remise à neuf, elles doivent démontrer, dans la section 5.2 du formulaire de proposition, qu’elles possèdent de l’expérience en la matière. Les organisations qui entreprennent des projets liés à l’infrastructure devront présenter un plan de construction détaillé, y compris un budget de construction détaillé, après avoir signé un accord de contribution et avant la mise en œuvre du projet.

La préférence peut être accordée aux propositions qui :

Comment les propositions sont évaluées

Veuillez noter que le processus de demande pour le présent appel se déroulera en une seule étape. Le processus d’évaluation comparative est décrit ci-dessous. Dans cet appel, les demandeurs doivent soumettre une proposition complète abrégée.

Les demandes présentées dans le cadre de cet appel feront d’abord l’objet d’une vérification de l’admissibilité afin de s’assurer que les demandes satisfont à tous les critères d’admissibilité de l’organisation et à tous les critères du projet à respecter tel qu’ils sont énoncés sur cette page. Ensuite, les demandes admissibles seront évaluées pour s’assurer que l’expérience requise pour le projet a été démontrée. Les demandes qui satisfont à cette exigence feront l’objet d’une évaluation du mérite, comme il est décrit dans Comment sont évaluées les propositions. Les demandes qui ne satisfont pas aux exigences de l’expérience requise pour le projet ne feront pas l’objet d’une évaluation plus approfondie. Vous serez avisé si votre demande est jugée inadmissible ou si elle ne correspond pas à l’expérience requise pour le projet.

Les critères d’évaluation qui seront utilisés pour cet appel sont les Critères d’évaluation des propositions complètes.

Ressources disponibles

Il y a un certain nombre de ressources en ligne qui peuvent vous aider à préparer votre dossier de demande. Nous vous encourageons fortement à lire tous les outils et les conseils suivants avant de commencer à préparer votre demande. Si vous ne respectez pas les exigences obligatoires, les normes minimales et les échéanciers détaillés dans la demande, vous ne serez pas admissible au financement.

Comment présenter votre dossier de demande

Important : Veuillez noter que si vous avez l’intention de présenter une demande dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions, vous devez envoyer un courriel à correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca d’ici le mercredi 6 février 2019 afin de recevoir le modèle de budget pour cet appel. Ce modèle doit être rempli et téléchargé au portail accompagné de tous les autres documents, comme il est indiqué ci-dessous. Nous vous encourageons fortement de demander le modèle de budget le plus tôt possible.

Si ce n’est pas déjà fait, vous devez inscrire votre organisation sur le portail Partenaires@International d’Affaires mondiales Canada. Il est recommandé de le faire  sans tarder, car le traitement de l’inscription peut prendre 10 jours ouvrables ou plus.

Afin que votre demande soit prise en considération pour le présent appel, vous devez télécharger le formulaire de demande et les documents justificatifs, et les soumettre par le biais du portail Partenaires@International d’Affaires mondiales Canada d’ici le mercredi 13 février 2019, à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est.  

Tous les documents suivants doivent figurer dans votre dossier de demande :

La soumission d’une proposition ne garantit pas un financement. Les décisions de financement seront prises en fonction de l’évaluation du mérite de votre demande.

Prévoyez soumettre votre demande au moins trois jours avant la date de clôture afin de vous assurer que des difficultés techniques ne vous empêchent pas de soumettre votre proposition d’ici le 13 février 2019, à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est. Nous ne pouvons pas garantir que nous serons en mesure de vous fournir un soutien technique concernant l’utilisation du portail si nous recevons un volume élevé de demandes d’assistance dans les dernières 24 heures avant l’échéance ci-dessus.

Comment avoir accès aux formulaires PDF et comment les utiliser

Utilisez seulement Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat pour travailler sur les PDF normalisés à soumettre avec votre dossier de demande. Si vous utilisez d’autres logiciels, les données que vous entrez pourraient ne pas apparaître une fois soumises au Ministère, et la demande sera considérée comme inadmissible.

Si vous avez de la difficulté à télécharger le formulaire de proposition, c’est généralement dû au type de logiciel que vous avez (ou n’avez pas) sur votre ordinateur. Veuillez lire et suivre les directives d’aide. Si vous avez installé tous les bons logiciels, téléchargez le formulaire sur votre bureau et ouvrez-le directement dans Adobe Reader; sinon, d’autres logiciels installés sur votre ordinateur pourraient essayer d’ouvrir le formulaire (et ne pas y parvenir) en utilisant vos paramètres par défaut.

Questions concernant le portail Partenaires@International

Veuillez lire et suivre toutes les directives d’utilisation du portail Partenaires@International (lien sur le menu de droite). N’ouvrez pas plusieurs fenêtres à l’intérieur du portail, car cela pourrait causer des problèmes techniques.

N’essayez pas de vous inscrire ou de soumettre une proposition à la dernière minute.

Le traitement de votre demande peut prendre jusqu’à dix jours ouvrables. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés techniques en vous inscrivant ou en essayant de soumettre une proposition, envoyez un courriel à : partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca. Veuillez noter qu’au cours des deux dernières semaines avant la fermeture d’un appel, la norme de service pour répondre à votre demande de renseignements est de trois  jours ouvrables. Le soutien technique pour le portail n’est disponible que de 9 h à 16 h heure de l’Est, du lundi au vendredi.

Questions sur cet appel

Un webinaire pour cet appel a eu lieu le 10 janvier 2019. Une transcription de ce webinaire se trouve ici.

Si vous avez encore des questions au sujet de cet appel après avoir lu les Questions et réponses générales concernant les demandes de financement, veuillez les envoyer à correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca d’ici le lundi 14 janvier 2019. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions reçues après cette date, ni aux questions portant sur des circonstances propres à une organisation ou des propositions propres au projet. Les candidats ne recevront pas de courriels contenant des réponses. Les réponses n’apparaîtront que sur la page de questions et réponses de l’appel pour s’assurer que tous les demandeurs ont accès aux mêmes renseignements au même moment.

Date de modification: