Canada and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional intergovernmental organization comprising 10 member states. Established by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand in 1967, it was later joined by Brunei, Cambodia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar and Vietnam.

Canada became an ASEAN dialogue partner in 1977 and is one of only 10 countries with this designation. Dialogue partners cooperate on political and security issues, regional integration, economic interests, inter-faith dialogue, transnational crime and counterterrorism, disaster risk reduction and other areas.

Canada’s trade and investment in Southeast Asia is expanding quickly—not only in volume, but across many sectors, including oil and gas, mining, high tech, telecommunications, agri-food, financial services, aviation and consumer goods.

Canada’s international development assistance to the region helps strengthen the regional policy agenda and reinforces ASEAN institutions, organizations and networks in addressing shared regional development priorities.

Diedrah Kelly is the Ambassador of Canada to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

The Permanent Mission of Canada to ASEAN is located within the Embassy of Canada in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Canada’s relations with ASEAN

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional intergovernmental organization comprising 10 member states. Established by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand in 1967, it was later joined by Brunei, Cambodia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar and Vietnam.

The objectives of ASEAN are to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development; promote regional peace and stability, respect for justice and the rule of law; and increase collaboration across a range of economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative spheres.

The ASEAN Secretariat, located in Jakarta, Indonesia, and led by a secretary-general, coordinates the work of ASEAN member states and their associated bodies. The ASEAN Secretariat is also responsible for coordinating ASEAN’s relationship with external partners, including Canada.

Canada became an ASEAN dialogue partner in 1977 and is one of only 10 countries with this designation. Dialogue partners cooperate on political and security issues, regional integration, economic interests, inter-faith dialogue, transnational crime and counterterrorism, disaster risk reduction and other areas.

ASEAN is important to Canada

ASEAN is at the heart of Asia’s regional security architecture, and it represents one of the world’s fastest-growing economic regions. In 2009, Canada appointed an ambassador to ASEAN and adopted the Joint Declaration on the ASEAN-Canada Enhanced Partnership. In 2016, Canada opened its dedicated mission to ASEAN and appointed its first dedicated ambassador to ASEAN. Canada has diplomatic representation in all 10 ASEAN member states.

The Canada-ASEAN Joint Declaration on Trade and Investment (2011) provides a platform for regular exchanges of information on opportunities and explores ways to expand and promote trade and investment between Canada and ASEAN.

Quick facts

  • Canada provides security assistance to ASEAN member states helping to achieve ambitious integration goals, which contributes to regional peace and security and promotes Canadian foreign policy objectives in Southeast Asia.
  • As a group, ASEAN member state economies represent Canada’s sixth-largest merchandise trading partner. In 2017, Canada-ASEAN merchandise trade reached $23.3 billion.
  • More than 23,000 students from the ASEAN region currently study in Canada.

Canada-ASEAN trade and investment

Canada’s trade and investment in Southeast Asia is expanding quickly—not only in volume, but across many sectors, including oil and gas, mining, high tech, telecommunications, agri-food, financial services, aviation and consumer goods.

Canada-ASEAN Joint Declaration on Trade and Investment

Canada and ASEAN are party to the Canada-ASEAN Joint Declaration on Trade and Investment (JDTI) (2011), which provides a platform for Canada and ASEAN member states to exchange information on trade and investment opportunities and to strengthen commercial engagement.

In August 2015, Canada and the ASEAN member states adopted a new work plan to guide the implementation of the JDTI from 2016 to 2020. Efforts focus on a number of areas, including:

  • small and medium-sized enterprises
  • education
  • innovation
  • corporate social responsibility

Joint Feasibility Study for a Canada-ASEAN free trade agreement

Canada and ASEAN conducted a Joint Feasibility Study for a Canada-ASEAN free trade agreement to assess the potential economic gains that would arise from a possible Canada-ASEAN free trade agreement. The study highlights the benefits that would be gained through deeper integration of Canada and the ten economies that make up ASEAN. Canada and ASEAN applied different methodologies to assess the benefits of a potential FTA, consistent with each party’s respective domestic practices. Both scenarios illustrated gains for both Canada and ASEAN. In September 2018, the Joint Feasibility Study was endorsed by Canada’s Minister of International Trade Diversification, Jim Carr, and ASEAN Economic Ministers.

Public Consultations on a possible Canada-ASEAN FTA

From September 1 to October 16, 2018, the Government of Canada conducted public consultations through the Canada Gazette to seek the views of Canadians on a possible free trade agreement (FTA) with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). Comments were collected in a number of ways, including in writing, by e-mail, and through in-person meetings and teleconferences. While the official consultation period has closed, the Government of Canada remains committed to hearing from Canadians on a possible FTA with ASEAN.

Support for Canadian businesses in the ASEAN region

The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service has offices in Canadian diplomatic missions in each of the 10 ASEAN member states. This network of trade and investment promotion experts works in direct support of Canadian companies active in the region, providing advice and problem solving. In Southeast Asia, trade commissioners are active in many sectors, including:

  • aerospace
  • defence and security
  • extractive industries
  • information and communications technologies
  • infrastructure
  • sustainable technologies
  • clean technology
  • education

The Canada-ASEAN Business Council, based in Singapore, is an industry association focused on advocacy and on increasing private sector linkages among Canadian and ASEAN businesses.

Quick facts

  • As a group of countries, the 10 member states of ASEAN represent Canada’s sixth-largest trading partner (2017).
  • If ASEAN were one economy, it would be the seventh largest in the world.
  • ASEAN is one of the world’s fastest-growing economic regions, with an estimated GDP growth rate of 5.1% for 2018 (Asian Development Bank).
  • In 2017, Canada-ASEAN merchandise trade reached Can$23.3 billion.

Related links

Canada’s development assistance for ASEAN

During the past five decades, ASEAN has achieved significant results in improving the lives of people in Southeast Asia. ASEAN has helped reduce the percentage of people living in extreme poverty and in urban slums, reduce maternal mortality, increase primary school enrolment and increase the percentage of women parliamentarians. Challenges remain, including those associated with natural disasters and rising income inequality across the region.

Canada has an important role to play, as an ASEAN dialogue partner, in advancing ASEAN’s community-building objectives under three themes:

  • economic
  • socio-cultural
  • political-security

Canada’s international development assistance to the region helps strengthen the regional policy agenda and reinforces ASEAN institutions, organizations and networks in addressing shared regional development priorities.

ASEAN regional development program

Funding under the ASEAN Regional Development Program is a key part of the international development assistance that Canada provides to ASEAN. Program funding focuses on the following Canadian development priorities:

  • supporting inclusive and green growth that works for everyone through initiatives that support small and medium-sized enterprises and reduce the potential impact of natural disasters; and
  • promoting and protecting human rights, inclusive governance and peaceful pluralism, particularly with respect to vulnerable groups, such as women and migrant workers.

Canada’s development programs are aligned with the ASEAN community-building objectives set out in the 2016 to 2020 ASEAN-Canada Plan of Action.

Canada-ASEAN Scholarships and Educational Exchanges for Development

In 2017, the Government of Canada launched a five-year $10-million scholarship program—the Canada-ASEAN Scholarships and Educational Exchanges for Development. The program aims to build the capacity of students and mid-career professionals to address development challenges in the ASEAN region.

The scholarships are for short-term studies (up to two academic sessions or eight months) or research in Canada in fields of study that are relevant to ASEAN’s efforts to narrow the development gap and reduce poverty in Southeast Asia.

For more information on scholarships and the application process please visit the International Scholarships website.

Quick facts

  • Canada has provided immediate assistance in response to humanitarian crises across ASEAN and has funded various regional disaster-risk-reduction initiatives in support of the ASEAN Agreement on Disaster Management and Emergency Response.
  • Since 2000, Canada has provided $2.7 billion in development assistance to ASEAN and its member states.

Related links

Message from the Ambassador

Welcome to the Mission of Canada to ASEAN, the primary channel for communications between the Government of Canada and ASEAN. I am deeply honoured to have been named by Canada’s Prime Minister, the Rt. Honourable Justin Trudeau, as Canada’s Ambassador to ASEAN.

The Mission of Canada to ASEAN carries forward the proud tradition of multilateral diplomacy and international engagement. We are here to ensure that Canada plays an active role on peace and security, fair trade and stronger economic cooperation, sustainable development, human rights and people-to-people connectivity, especially in a region so vibrant like Southeast Asia.

Canada is proud to have been ASEAN’s Dialogue Partner since 1977, one of only ten countries with the designation. ASEAN is at the heart of Asia’s regional security architecture, and it represents one of the world’s fastest-growing economic regions. Under the Canada-ASEAN five-year Plan of Action, which is now entering its second term, Canada remains deeply committed each and every day to forge closer cooperation with ASEAN and to exemplify Canada’s strong pluralistic traditions, respect for and celebration of diversity, which are at the core of the mutual interests of Canada and ASEAN.

In this respect, we here at the Mission of Canada to ASEAN look forward to hearing from you. We hope you will find this website a helpful tool in learning more about Canada’s engagement in ASEAN. I also invite you to follow us on Twitter and Instagram @CanadaASEAN to learn more about Canada’s priorities and activities in ASEAN, like us on Facebook @CanadaASEAN or contact us by e-mail at ASEAN-ANASE@international.gc.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Diedrah Kelly
Ambassador of the Mission of Canada to ASEAN

Contact information

The Permanent Mission of Canada to ASEAN is located within the Embassy of Canada in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Address

World Trade Centre I, 6th Floor
Jalan Jend. Sudirman Kav. 29-31
Jakarta 12920
Indonesia

Telephone: +62 (21) 2550 7800

Fax: +62 (21) 2550 7811

Email: ASEAN-ANASE@international.gc.ca

Postal address

P.O. Box 8324/JKS.MP
Jakarta 12084
Indonesia

Related information

Date Modified:

Le Canada et l’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE)

L'Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) (en anglais seulement) est une organisation intergouvernementale régionale constituée de 10 États membres. Établie par l’Indonésie, la Malaisie, les Philippines, Singapour et la Thaïlande en 1967, elle a ensuite accueilli dans ses rangs le Brunéi, le Cambodge, le Myanmar, la République démocratique populaire lao et le Vietnam.

Le Canada est devenu un partenaire de dialogue de l’ANASE en 1977; il est l’un des 10 pays à avoir obtenu une telle désignation. Les partenaires de dialogue collaborent dans les domaines suivants : les questions liées à la politique et à la sécurité, l’intégration régionale, les intérêts économiques, le dialogue interconfessionnel, la criminalité transnationale et la lutte contre le terrorisme, la réduction des risques de catastrophes et d’autres domaines.

Le commerce et l’investissement du Canada en Asie du Sud-Est prennent rapidement de l’ampleur — non seulement en volume, mais au sein de nombreux secteurs, notamment le pétrole et le gaz, l’exploitation minière, la haute technologie, les télécommunications, l’agroalimentaire, les services financiers, l’aéronautique et les biens de consommation.

L’aide au développement international que fournit le Canada dans la région aide à renforcer le programme de politique régionale, ainsi que les institutions, les organisations et les réseaux de l’ANASE afin que celle-ci puisse s’attaquer aux priorités communes de développement régional.

Diedrah Kelly est l’ambassadrice du Canada auprès de l’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est.

La mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’ANASE est située au sein de l'ambassade du Canada à Indonésie à Jakarta.

Les relations entre le Canada et l’ANASE

L’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) (en anglais seulement) est une organisation intergouvernementale régionale constituée de 10 États membres. Établie par l’Indonésie, la Malaisie, les Philippines, Singapour et la Thaïlande en 1967, elle a ensuite accueilli dans ses rangs le Brunéi, le Cambodge, le Myanmar, la République démocratique populaire lao et le Vietnam.

L’ANASE poursuit les buts suivants : accélérer la croissance économique, le progrès social et le développement culturel; promouvoir la paix et la stabilité dans la région, ainsi que le respect de la justice et de l’état de droit; renforcer la collaboration dans diverses sphères d’ordre économique, social, culturel, technique, scientifique et administratif.

Situé à Jakarta, en Indonésie, et dirigé par un secrétaire général, le Secrétariat de l’ANASE coordonne le travail des États membres de l’ANASE et de leurs organes associés. Le Secrétariat assure également la coordination des relations de l’ANASE avec ses partenaires externes, y compris le Canada.

Le Canada est devenu un partenaire de dialogue de l’ANASE en 1977; il est l’un des 10 pays à avoir obtenu une telle désignation. Les partenaires de dialogue collaborent dans les domaines suivants : les questions liées à la politique et à la sécurité, l’intégration régionale, les intérêts économiques, le dialogue interconfessionnel, la criminalité transnationale et la lutte contre le terrorisme, la réduction des risques de catastrophes et d’autres domaines.

L’importance de l’ANASE pour le Canada

L’ANASE est au cœur de l’architecture de la sécurité régionale en Asie et représente l’une des régions économiques à la croissance la plus rapide du monde. En 2009, le Canada a nommé un ambassadeur à l’ANASE et adopté la Déclaration conjointe sur le partenariat renforcé ANASE-Canada. En 2016, le Canada a ouvert une mission consacrée à l’ANASE et nommé son premier ambassadeur dédié à l’ANASE. Le Canada compte maintenant une représentation diplomatique dans les 10 États membres de l’ANASE.

La Déclaration conjointe de l’ANASE et du Canada sur le commerce et l’investissement (2001) fournit une plateforme utile pour échanger régulièrement des renseignements sur les débouchés et explorer des façons d’accroître et de faciliter le commerce et l’investissement entre le Canada et l’ANASE.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Canada fournit un soutien à la sécurité aux États membres de l’ANASE pour les aider à atteindre des objectifs d’intégration ambitieux, qui contribuent à la paix et à la sécurité dans la région et favorisent l’atteinte des objectifs du Canada en matière de politique étrangère en Asie du Sud-Est.
  • En tant que groupe, les États membres de l’ANASE représentent le sixième partenaire commercial en importance du Canada (2018). En 2018, le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et l’ANASE a atteint 25,1 milliards de dollars.
  • Plus de 23 000 étudiants de la région de l’ANASE étudient actuellement au Canada.

Le commerce et l’investissement entre le Canada et l’ANASE

Le commerce et l’investissement du Canada en Asie du Sud-Est prennent rapidement de l’ampleur — non seulement en volume, mais au sein de nombreux secteurs, notamment le pétrole et le gaz, l’exploitation minière, la haute technologie, les télécommunications, l’agroalimentaire, les services financiers, l’aéronautique et les biens de consommation.

Déclaration conjointe de l’ANASE et du Canada sur le commerce et l’investissement

Le Canada et l’ANASE sont des parties à la Déclaration conjointe de l’ANASE et du Canada sur le commerce et l’investissement (DCCI) (en anglais seulement) conclue en 2011, qui fournit une plateforme utile pour échanger des renseignements sur les possibilités d’échanges commerciaux et d’investissements et pour renforcer la mobilisation commerciale.

En août 2015, le Canada et les pays membres de l’ANASE ont adopté un nouveau plan de travail pour guider la mise en œuvre de la DCCI de 2016 à 2020. Les efforts ciblent plusieurs domaines, dont :

  • les petites et moyennes entreprises
  • l’éducation
  • l’innovation
  • la responsabilité sociale des entreprises

Discussions exploratoires en vue d’un possible accord de libre échange Canada ANASE

Le Canada et les États membres de l’ANASE ont entamé des discussions exploratoires en vue d’un possible accord de libre-échange (ALE) Canada-ANASE en 2017. Dans ce cadre, le Canada et l’ANASE ont réalisé l’étude de faisabilité conjointe sur un possible ALE Canada‑ANASE, dans le but d’évaluer les gains économiques potentiels pour les deux parties. Le gouvernement du Canada a également mené des consultations publiques par l’intermédiaire de la Gazette du Canada afin de connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur un éventuel ALE avec l’ANASE. Le 10 septembre 2019, le Canada et l’ANASE ont annoncé la conclusion des discussions exploratoires en vue d’un possible ALE, lors des consultations entre les ministres de l’économie de l’ANASE et le Canada à Bangkok, en Thaïlande.

En savoir plus sur les discussions exploratoires en vue d’un éventuel accord de libre‑échange Canada-ANASE.

Consultations publiques sur un éventuel ALE entre le Canada et l’ANASE

Du 1er septembre au 16 octobre 2018, le gouvernement du Canada a mené des consultations publiques par l’entremise de la Gazette du Canada afin de connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur un ALE avec l’ANASE. Les commentaires ont été recueillis de plusieurs façons, notamment par écrit, par courriel, et au moyen de rencontres en personne et de téléconférences. Bien que la période de consultation soit terminée, le gouvernement du Canada demeure à l’écoute des Canadiens au sujet d’un éventuel ALE avec l’ANASE.

Aide aux entreprises canadiennes dans la région de l’ANASE

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada compte des bureaux dans les missions diplomatiques canadiennes établies dans chacun des 10 États membres de l’ANASE. Ce réseau d’experts dans le domaine de la promotion du commerce et de l’investissement soutient directement les entreprises canadiennes actives dans la région, en fournissant des conseils et en aidant à résoudre les problèmes. En Asie du Sud-Est, les délégués commerciaux exercent des activités dans de nombreux secteurs, notamment :

  • l’aérospatiale
  • la défense et la sécurité
  • les industries extractives
  • les technologies de l’information et des communications
  • l’infrastructure
  • les technologies durables
  • la technologie propre
  • l’éducation

Le Conseil commercial Canada-ANASE (en anglais seulement), dont le siège est à Singapour, est une association industrielle visant à favoriser et à accroître les liens entre les entreprises privées du Canada et celles de la région de l’ANASE.

Les faits en bref

  • En tant que regroupement de pays, les 10 États membres de l’ANASE formeraient ensemble le sixième partenaire commercial en importance du Canada en 2018.
  • Si l’ANASE était une économie, elle occuperait le cinquième rang à l’échelle mondiale.
  • L’ANASE est l’une des régions économiques du monde dont la croissance est la plus forte; le taux de croissance de son produit intérieur brut (PIB) en 2019 est estimé à 4,9 % (Banque asiatique de développement).
  • En 2018, le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et l’ANASE a atteint 25,1 milliards de dollars.

Liens connexes

L’aide au développement du Canada pour l’ANASE

Au cours des 50 dernières années, l’ANASE a réussi à améliorer de façon importante la qualité de vie de la population de la région de l’Asie du Sud-Est. Ainsi, elle a contribué à réduire le taux de personnes vivant dans la pauvreté extrême et dans les bidonvilles, ainsi que la mortalité maternelle, en plus d’accroître le taux d’inscription à l’école primaire et la proportion de femmes parlementaires. Il reste plusieurs défis à relever, notamment ceux posés par les catastrophes naturelles et la disparité croissante des revenus dans l’ensemble de la région.

En tant que partenaire de dialogue de l’ANASE, le Canada a un important rôle à jouer pour favoriser l’atteinte des objectifs de développement communautaire de l’ANASE dans trois domaines :

  • l’économie
  • le volet socioculturel
  • la politique et la sécurité

L’aide au développement international que fournit le Canada dans la région aide à renforcer le programme de politique régionale, ainsi que les institutions, les organisations et les réseaux de l’ANASE afin que celle-ci puisse s’attaquer aux priorités communes de développement régional.

Programme de développement régional de l’ANASE

Le financement accordé en vertu du Programme de développement régional de l’ANASE est un élément essentiel de l’aide au développement international que le Canada offre à l’ANASE. Le financement du Programme est centré sur les priorités suivantes :

  • soutenir une croissance inclusive et écologique qui profite à tous, grâce à des initiatives qui appuient les petites et moyennes entreprises et qui réduisent l’éventuelle incidence des catastrophes naturelles;
  • promouvoir et protéger les droits de la personne, la gouvernance inclusive et le pluralisme pacifique, tout particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux groupes vulnérables comme les femmes et les travailleurs migrants.

Les programmes de développement du Canada s’harmonisent avec les objectifs de développement communautaire de l’ANASE énoncés dans le Plan d’action ANASE-Canada pour 2016 à 2020.

Bourses et programmes d’échanges éducationnels pour le développement Canada-ANASE

En 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé un programme de bourses d’une durée de cinq ans et d’une valeur de 10 millions de dollars, le programme Bourses et programmes d’échanges éducationnels pour le développement Canada-ANASE. Ce dernier vise à renforcer les capacités des étudiants et des professionnels en milieu de carrière en vue afin de relever les défis en matière de développement dans la région de l’ANASE.

Les bourses sont accordées pour des études à court terme (jusqu’à deux sessions ou huit mois) ou des recherches au Canada dans des domaines d’études qui sont pertinents aux efforts déployés par l’ANASE afin de réduire l’écart en matière de développement ainsi que la pauvreté en Asie du Sud-Est.

Pour plus d'information sur les bourses et le processus de candidature, veuillez visiter le site Web Bourses internationales

Les faits en bref

  • Le Canada a fourni une aide immédiate à la suite des crises humanitaires dans la région de l’ANASE et a financé diverses initiatives régionales visant à réduire les risques de catastrophe, en vertu de l’Accord de l’ANASE sur la gestion des catastrophes et les interventions d’urgence.
  • Depuis 2000, le Canada a versé 2,7 milliards de dollars sous forme d’aide au développement à l’ANASE et à ses États membres.

Liens connexes

Message de l’ambassadrice

Bienvenue à la Mission du Canada auprès de l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE). Je suis honorée d’avoir été nommée par le Premier Ministre du Canada comme représentante du Canada auprès de cette importante organisation multilatérale.

La mission du Canada auprès de l'ANASE perpétue la fière tradition de diplomatie multilatérale et d'engagement international. Nous sommes ici pour nous assurer que le Canada joue un rôle actif en matière de paix et de sécurité, de commerce équitable et d'une coopération économique renforcée, de développement durable, des droits de l’homme et de la connectivité entre les peuples, en particulier dans une région aussi dynamique que l’Asie du Sud-Est.

Le Canada est fier d’être partenaire de dialogue de l’ANASE depuis 1977, l’un des dix pays ayant obtenu cette désignation. L’ANASE est au cœur de l’architecture de sécurité régionale de l’Asie et représente l’une des régions économiques à la croissance la plus rapide du monde. Dans le cadre du Plan d'action quinquennal Canada-ANASE, qui entame maintenant son deuxième mandat, le Canada reste profondément engagé chaque jour à nouer une coopération plus étroite avec l'ANASE et à illustrer les solides traditions pluralistes du Canada, ainsi que le respect et la célébration de la diversité culturelle, qui sont au cœur des intérêts mutuels du Canada et de l'ANASE.

À cet égard, nous tous à la mission du Canada auprès de l’ANASE, sommes à votre écoute. Nous espérons que ce site vous permettra d’en apprendre davantage au sujet des activités du Canada auprès de l’ANASE. Je vous invite également à nous suivre sur Twitter et sur Instagram @CanadaASEAN pour en savoir plus sur les priorités et les activités du Canada avec l’ANASE, aimez-nous sur Facebook à @CanadaASEAN ou contactez-nous par courrier électronique à ASEAN-ANASE@international.gc.ca.

Avec nos sentiments les meilleurs,

Diedrah Kelly
Ambassadrice de la Mission du Canada auprès de l’ANASE

Informations de contact

La mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’ANASE est située au sein de l'ambassade du Canada à Indonésie à Jakarta.

Adresse

6e étage, World Trade Centre I
Jl. Jend. Sudirman Kav. 29-31
Jakarta 12920
Indonésie

Téléphone : +62 (21) 2550 7800

Télécopieur : +62 (21) 2550 7811

Courriel : ASEAN-ANASE@international.gc.ca

Adresse postale

P.O. Box 8324/JKS.MP
Jakarta 12084
Indonésie

Informations connexes

Date de modification: