Language selection


Lima Group statement

June 16, 2020

The governments of Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia and Venezuela, members of the Lima Group:

Reject the illegal designation of the members of the National Electoral Council (CNE) of Venezuela through a ruling by the Supreme Court of Justice, which openly violates the Venezuelan constitution and undermines the minimum guarantees necessary for any electoral process and the return to democracy in Venezuela.

Recall that the appointment of the members of the CNE is the responsibility of the National Assembly, the legitimate and democratically elected body in accordance with the Constitution of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

Reaffirm their understanding that only the holding of free, fair and credible parliamentary and presidential elections, with an independent National Electoral Council and an impartial Supreme Court, as well as full freedom of the press and political participation of all Venezuelans, will guarantee the conditions needed to overcome the crisis in Venezuela.

Reiterate, according to the XVIII Lima Group Ministerial Meeting, held in Canada, that they will continue to seek consensus with other international actors to mobilize a response from the international community that contributes to the urgent restoration of democracy and the rule of law in Venezuela.


Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified: