Canadian Sanctions Related to Libya

Types of sanctions

Arms embargo

Asset freeze

Export and import restrictions

Financial Prohibitions

Technical assistance prohibition

Recent developments

  • 2019-03-04 - Regulations were amended (SEMA) and (UNA)
  • 2018-05-16 - Regulations were amended (UNA)
  • 2013-09-30 - Regulations were amended (UNA)
Do you need a permit or certificate?

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Libya were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council resolutions. The measures imposed against Libya include:

  • Prohibitions on the export, sale, and other provision of arms and related materials to Libya;
  • Prohibitions on the shipment to and from Libya of arms and related material by owners or operators of Canadian vessels or aircraft;
  • Prohibitions on the provision of technical, financial, and other assistance related to military activities or the use of arms and related material;
  • Prohibitions on the import of arms and related material from Libya;
  • Prohibitions on providing services to designated vessels transporting illicit petroleum;
  • Prohibitions on dealing in Libyan petroleum transported on designated vessels; and
  • Prohibitions on dealings with designated persons.

Exceptions

There are exemptions to the prohibitions for the following:

  • Services supplied to designated vessels for the purpose of safeguarding human life;
  • Services supplied to designated vessels to enable a return to Libya, if the Committee of the Security Council is notified in each case;
  • Supplies of non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use, and related technical assistance and training;
  • Supplies of protective clothing and equipment, including flak jackets and military helmets, temporarily exported to Libya by United Nations personnel, representatives of the media and humanitarian and development works and associated personnel, for their personal use only;
  • Supplies of non-lethal military equipment intended solely for security or disarmament assistance to the Government of Libya, and related technical assistance, training and financial assistance; or
  • Other sales or supplies of arms and related material, or provision of assistance or personnel, as approved in advance by the Committee of the Security Council.

Permits and Certificates

Affected persons can also apply for a certificate to conduct prohibited activities, although these require notification to and/or a decision from the United Nations Security Council or its Committee.

Background

On 26 February 2011, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1970 (2011) imposing sanctions against Libya in response to the situation in the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya involving violence and the use of force against civilians.

The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Libya implement the decisions of the Security Council in Canadian domestic law. Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1970 (2011) is ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Since Resolution 1970 did not impose measures against the Libyan Government itself or its institutions and agencies, the Regulations went beyond the sanctions imposed by the United Nations Security Council  by adding "Libya" as a designated entity. In order to do this, the Regulations were enacted under two separate pieces of enabling legislation: the United Nations Act and the Special Economic Measures Act.

Under the United Nations Act, the government may implement whatever measures are necessary to implement decisions of the United Nations Security Council; under the Special Economic Measures Act, the government may take certain actions in order to address situations where there has been a call for economic sanctions by an international organization of states, or where there has been a grave breach of international peace and security that has resulted or is likely to result in an international crisis. With the situation in Libya, the Government of Canada wanted to act to implement both the measures decided upon by the United Nations Security Council, as well as to ban transactions with the Libyan government and its institutions and agencies. Regulations were thus created under the authority of both the United Nations Act and the Special Economic Measures Act.

After the fall of the Qadhafi regime,  Canada engaged with the National Transitional Council (NTC) and subsequently the Government of National Accord (GNA), which remains recognized by the international community as Libya’s sole legitimate government.  Canada announced on September 1, 2011, that it was lifting many of its unilateral sanctions in order to support the Libyan people and the new governing authorities. The measures imposed under the authority of the Special Economic Measures Act found in section 8 and 9(b) were repealed on August 31, 2011. In addition, the Special Economic Measures (Libya) Permit Authorization Order was also repealed.

On September 16, 2011, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 2009 (2011), which amended the sanctions in place against Libya. These changes were implemented in Canada in the form of amendments to the existing Regulations.

On March 14, 2013, the United Nations Security Council, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, adopted Resolution 2095 (2013), which decided that the prior approval or notification of the Committee would no longer be required for supplies of non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use and related technical assistance or training. The UNSC also decided that the prior approval or notification of the Committee would no longer be required for the provision of technical assistance, training or financial assistance intended solely for security or disarmament assistance to the Libyan government.

On March 19, 2014, the United Nations Security Council, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, adopted Resolution 2146 (2014), which prohibited port entry, bunkering, and financial services for designated vessels transporting illicit oil from Libya. This prohibition was expanded with the adoption of Resolution 2362 (2017) on June 29, 2017 to apply to any designated vessel loading, transporting, or discharging  petroleum, including crude oil – and for the first time – refined petroleum products, illicitly exported or attempted to be exported from Libya. These measures reflected the concern of the international community that the widespread illicit export of Libyan petroleum undermined the Libyan Government of National Accord (GNA), and posed a threat to the peace, security and stability of Libya.

These changes have been implemented in Canada in the form of amendments to the existing Regulations.

Selected documents

Regulations

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act and the United Nations Act:

Announcements

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Related links

Legal advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Date Modified:

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à la Libye

Types de sanctions

Embargo sur les armes

Gel des avoirs

Restrictions à l'exportation ou à l'importation

Interdictions financières

Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Développements récents

  • 2019-03-04 - Règlements ont été modifiés (LMES) et (LNU)
  • 2018-05-16 - Règlements ont été modifiés (LNU)
  • 2013-09-30 - Règlements ont été modifiés (LNU)
Avez-vous besoin d'un permis ou d'un certificate?

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées à la Libye ont été adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Uniesafin de donner effet aux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Les mesures imposées contre la Libye incluent des:

  • Interdictions quant à l'exportation, la vente, et la fourniture d'armes et de matériel connexe à la Libye;
  • Interdictions quant à la livraison vers ou en provenance de la Libye d'armes ou de matériel connexe par les propriétaires ou opérateurs de navires ou d'aéronefs immatriculés au Canada;
  • Interdictions quant à la fourniture d'aide technique et financière, et d’autre aide relative aux activités militaires ou à l'utilisation d'armes et de matériel connexe;
  • Interdictions quant à l'importation d'armes et de matériel connexe en provenance de la Libye;
  • Interdictions quant à la fourniture de services aux navires désignés qui transportent du pétrole illicite;
  • Interdictions quant aux opérations liées au pétrole transporté par des navires désignés;
  • Interdictions quant aux opérations impliquant des personnes désignées.

Exceptions

Les interdictions ne s’appliquent pas à l’égard de:

  • Services offerts à des navires désignés dans le but de sauver des vies;
  • Services offerts à des navires désignés pour permettre le retour en Libye, si le Comité du Conseil de sécurité est avisé dans chacun des cas;
  • Matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à un usage humanitaire ou à la protection, ni de l’aide et de la formation techniques correspondantes;
  • Vêtements et d’équipement de protection, dont les gilets pare-balles et les casques militaires, temporairement exportés en Libye par les fonctionnaires des Nations Unies, des représentants des médias ainsi que des agents humanitaires ou d’aide au développement et du personnel connexe, pour leur usage personnel;
  • Matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à aider le gouvernement de la Libye en matière de sécurité et de désarmement, et l’aide technique, de la formation et de l’aide financière correspondantes;
  • La vente ou autre fourniture d’armes et de matériel connexe, ou de la fourniture d’aide ou de personnel, si celles-ci sont autorisées au préalable par le Comité du Conseil de sécurité.

Permis et certificats

Les personnes concernées peuvent également demander un certificat pour mener des activités interdites, bien que ceux-ci exigent la notification et/ou une décision du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies ou de son Comité.

Contexte

Le 26 février 2011, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, a adopté la résolution 1970 (2011) imposant des sanctions contre la Libye, en réponse à la situation dans ce pays incluant l'utilisation de la violence et de la force contre les civils.

Le Règlement sur l'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Libye met en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité en droit canadien. La mise en œuvre de l'interdiction de voyager est assurée au Canada en vertu des dispositions en vigueur dans la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Puisque la résolution 1970 n'a pas imposé de mesures contre le gouvernement libyen lui-même ou ses institutions et agences, le Règlement est allé au-delà des sanctions imposées par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies par l'addition de la « Libye » en tant qu'entité désignée. Pour ce faire, le Règlement a été édicté en vertu de deux lois habilitantes distinctes : la Loi sur les Nations Unies et la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales.

En vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, le gouvernement peut mettre en œuvre les mesures nécessaires pour appliquer la décision du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. En vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, le gouvernement peut prendre certaines mesures afin de répondre à des situations où il y a eu un appel à l'imposition de sanctions économiques par une organisation internationale qui a entraîné ou est susceptible d'entraîner une crise internationale. Avec la situation en Libye, le Gouvernement du Canada voulait agir pour mettre en oeuvre les mesures décidées par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, ainsi que d'interdire les transactions avec le gouvernement libyen et ses institutions et agences. Le Règlement a donc été créé sous l'autorité des deux lois, soit la Loi sur les Nations Unies et la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales.

Après la chute du régime de Kadhafi, le Canada a établi un dialogue avec le Conseil national de transition (CNT) et ensuite avec le Gouvernement d’entente nationale, qui est toujours reconnu par la communauté internationale comme étant le seul gouvernement légitime de la Libye. Le Canada a annoncé, le 1er septembre 2011, qu'il abrogeait bon nombre de ses sanctions imposées unilatéralement en vue de soutenir le peuple libyen et les nouvelles autorités au pouvoir. Les mesures imposées en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales aux articles 8 et 9(b) du Règlement ont été abrogées le 31 août 2011. De plus, le Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (Libye) a aussi été abrogé.

Le 16 septembre 2011, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 2009 (2011), modifiant les sanctions contre la Libye. Ces changements ont été mis en oeuvre au Canada en modifiant le Règlement actuel.

Le 14 mars 2013, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, a adopté la résolution 2095 (2013), qui stipulait que l’approbation ou la notification préalable du Comité ne seraient plus exigées pour la fourniture de matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à des fins humanitaires ou de protection, et pour l’assistance technique ou la formation connexes. Le CSNU a également décidé que l’approbation ou la notification préalable du Comité ne seraient plus requises pour la prestation d’assistance technique, de formation et d’aide financière destinées exclusivement à des fins de sécurité ou d’aide au désarmement fournie au gouvernement de la Libye.

Le 19 mars 2014, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, agissant en vertu du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, a adopté la Résolution 2146 (2014), qui interdisait aux navires désignés qui transportaient du pétrole brut illicite provenant de la Libye d’entrer dans les ports, d’obtenir des services de soutage et d’obtenir des services financiers. Cette interdiction a été élargie avec l’adoption, le 29 juin 2017, de la Résolution 2362 (2017), afin de s’appliquer à tous les navires désignés qui chargent, transportent ou déchargent du pétrole, y compris du pétrole brut et (pour la première fois) des produits pétroliers raffinés, que l’on a exporté ou tenté d’exporter illicitement de Libye. Ces mesures tiennent compte du fait que la communauté internationale est préoccupée par le fait que l’exportation illicite et généralisée de pétrole depuis la Libye affaiblit le Gouvernement d’entente nationale et menace la paix, la sécurité et la stabilité du pays.

Ces changements ont été mis en œuvre au Canada sous forme de modifications au Règlement actuel.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlements

Les règlements et décrets en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Déclarations

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.

Date de modification: