Current sanctions imposed by Canada

Canada has sanctions and related measures in place against a number of countries, as well as sanctions against specific individuals and entities identified as being: (i) responsible for, or complicit in, extrajudicial killings, torture or other gross violations of internationally recognized human rights; (ii) responsible for, or complicit in ordering, controlling or otherwise directing significant acts of corruption; or (iii) associated with terrorist activities, including with Al-Qaida or the Taliban.

Canadian sanctions are imposed under the United Nations Act (UNA), the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA) or the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (JVCFOA). For specific information about the sanctions regime imposed against countries or individuals, consult the relevant regulations. These can be found on the Regulations pages linked below. More information on the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Regulations can be found on the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act page.

Canada has imposed sanctions in relation to the following countries:

Canada has implemented mechanisms to prevent the concealment and transfer of funds or assets used to finance terrorism. These allow specified measures to be applied to listed terrorist entities.

Former sanctions

As a UN member state, Canada fulfills its international legal obligations to implement sanctions imposed by the United Nations Security Council. Many of these sanctions are no longer in force. In addition, Canada also imposed sanctions under the SEMA that are now repealed.

The following sanctions regimes, brought into force since 1992, have since been repealed:

Related measures - Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act

The Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act allows Canada to freeze the assets or restrain the property of certain politically exposed foreign persons (such as government officials or politicians), at the request of a country undergoing internal turmoil or political uncertainty.

Canada has enacted measures pursuant to the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act in relation to the following countries:

The following measures adopted pursuant to the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act have been repealed:

Date Modified:

Régimes de sanctions imposés par le Canada

Mise à jour récente

Le Règlement modifiant certains règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies et le Règlement modifiant certains règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales apportent des modifications techniques et de forme à plusieurs règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies et de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Le but de ces modifications est de créer une plus grande cohérence linguistique dans tous les règlements, d'abroger les dispositions obsolètes et de corriger les erreurs ou les omissions non substantielles. Les versions non officielles de ces nouvelles réglementations sont :

Le Canada a des sanctions économiques et des mesures connexes en vigueur à l'encontre d'un certain nombre de pays, ainsi que des sanctions à l'encontre des individus et des entités identifiés comme étant associés aux activités terroristes, notamment à Al-Qaida ou au Taliban.

Les sanctions canadiennes sont imposées en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales ou de la Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (LJVDEC). Pour obtenir des informations particulières quant à un régime de sanctions imposées à l’encontre d’un pays ou de personnes, veuillez consulter le règlement pertinent. Ces renseignements figurent sur les pages des règlements dont l’hyperlien apparait plus bas. Plus d'informations sur le Règlement relatif à la Justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus peuvent être trouvées sur la page principale concernant la Loi sur la Justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus.

Le Canada a imposé des sanctions et/ou des mesures connexes à l'encontre des pays suivants :

Le Canada a mis en oeuvre de mécanismes visant à prévenir la dissimulation et le transfert de fonds ou d’avoirs servant à financer le terrorisme. Ces mécanismes autorisent de mesures précises contre des entités terroristes designés.

Anciennes sanctions

Comme état membre de l'ONU, le Canada s'acquitte de ses obligations internationales d'appliquer les sanctions imposées par le Conseil de sécurité. Dans de nombreux cas, ces sanctions ne sont plus en vigueur. De plus, le Canada a imposé des sanctions dans le cadre de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales qui sont abrogées.

Les régimes de sanctions ci-après, entrés en vigueur depuis 1992, ont été abrogés :

Date de modification: