Language selection

Search

Canadian Sanctions Related to Terrorist Entities

Types of sanctions

Arms embargo

Asset freeze

Financial Prohibitions

Recent developments

  • 2024-02-02 - Regulations were amended
  • 2023-06-19 - Regulations were amended
  • 2019-03-04 - Regulations were amended
Do you need a permit or certificate?

Prohibitions

Canada has implemented measures to suppress international terrorism under the United Nations Act (UNA) Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA), and the Criminal Code. Together these mechanisms include the following:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material or explosives to any designated person;
  • a prohibition on the provision to any designated person of any technical assistance related to the provision, manufacture, maintenance or use of arms and related material or explosives;
  • a prohibition on providing or collecting funds with the intention that the funds be used, or in the knowledge that the funds are to be used, by a designated person;
  • an assets freeze against any designated person.

Causing, assisting or promoting prohibited activities is likewise prohibited. Additionally, under SEMA, any individual or entity in Canada, and Canadians and Canadian entities outside Canada, are thereby prohibited from dealing in the property of, entering into transactions with, providing services to, transferring property to, or otherwise making goods available to listed persons. These measures also render listed individuals inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Permits and Certificates

Exemption permits or certificates may be issued in certain circumstances. The circumstances in which such applications can be made are set out in the respective regulations.

Background

Preventing terrorists from using the global financial system to further terrorist activity is essential for the suppression of international terrorism. A key element of the response of the international community has been to impose measures to prevent the concealment and transfer of funds or assets used to finance terrorism, and to designate individuals and other entities to whom these measures are to be applied by placing them on lists.

Canada has implemented its international obligations by establishing a process for the listing of terrorist entities in order to apply specified measures, such as the freezing of assets, to those who are listed. This process has taken the form of three distinct, yet complementary terrorist listing legislative frameworks: United Nations Act (UNA: the Regulations Implementing The United Nations Resolutions on the Taliban, ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida and the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Suppression of Terrorism), Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA), and the Criminal Code. Together, these three mechanisms advance domestic security interests and support Canadian conformity with a range of international obligations, including those under the relevant United Nations Security Council resolutions and the International Convention for the Suppression of the Financing of Terrorism.

United Nations Act (UNA)

Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Taliban, ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida

The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Taliban, ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida (SOR/99-444) were made in 1999 under the United Nations Act, and originally entitled the United Nations Al-Qaida and Taliban Regulations. At the time, the regulations froze the assets of the Taliban, Usama bin Laden and his associates, and the members of the Al-Qaida organization, and prevented the supply, sale, and transfer of arms and technical assistance to them. The adoption of UNSCR 1988 (2011) and 1989 (2011) split the Consolidated List of the Security Council into the Al-Qaida Sanctions List (also referred to as the 1267/1989 List) and the Taliban Sanctions List (also referred to as the 1988 List). The Security Council Committee established and maintains a list of individuals and entities associated with ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida, pursuant to United Nations Security Council Resolution 1267 (1999) (now the ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee). The Security Council Committee also established and maintains a list of individuals and entities associated with the Taliban pursuant to United Nations Security Council Resolution 1988 (2011) (the 1988 Sanctions Committee). These lists were incorporated into the United Nations Al-Qaida and Taliban Regulations by reference.

On May 9, 2013, the Government of Canada listed the Taliban as a terrorist entity under the Criminal Code, which contains prohibitions on various activities and transactions with respect to listed entities. To resolve the resulting duplication, the regulations were amended on September 26, 2014. Individuals and entities associated with the Taliban remain listed under the Criminal Code, reflecting the Taliban Sanctions list established by United Nations Security Council Resolution 1988 (2011). Likewise, ISIL (Da’esh), Al-Qaida and their regional affiliates are also listed under Canada’s Criminal Code: Al-Qaida on July 23, 2002; Islamic State on August 8, 2012; Islamic State – Sinai Province on April 7, 2015; Al-Qaida in the Indian Subcontinent on December 28, 2016; Islamic State – Khorasan Province on May 23, 2018 and; Al-Qaida in the Islamic Maghreb, November 21, 2018.

In line with the evolving face of modern terrorism, in 2014 the 1267 Committee’s focus shifted from principally Al-Qaida and the Taliban to broader issues of global terrorism and foreign terrorist fighters. In August 2014, UNSCR 2017 explicitly named ISIL (Da’esh) and other groups as sources of instability, terrorist acts, and the destruction of property and cultural and religious sites. In September 2014, UNSCR 2178 expanded the scope of activities of the Committee to reflect this change. UNSCR 2199 further imposed a ban on the sale of Iraqi and Syrian cultural property and proscribed general trade with ISIL, ANF (Al-Nusra Front) and other Al-Qaida-related individuals and entities.

On June 1, 2020, amendments were introduced into the United Nations Al-Qaida and Taliban Regulations to expand their scope to ISIL (Da’esh) and its affiliates, and the name of the regulations was updated to the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Regulations on the Taliban, ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida. These regulations, as amended, implement in Canadian domestic law the binding elements of United Nations Security Council Resolution 1267 (1999) and its successor resolutions.

On June 19, 2023, the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Taliban, ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida were amended to allow the provision, processing or payment of funds, other financial assets or economic resources or the provision of goods and services that are necessary to ensure the timely delivery of urgently needed humanitarian assistance or to support other activities related to basic human needs, if provided by specified groups. These changes are the result of two United Nations Security Council Resolutions (UNSCRs): 2615 (2021) and 2664(2022).

UNSCR 2615 (2021) acknowledges the humanitarian crisis in Afghanistan and decides that provision of humanitarian assistance and other activities that support basic human needs in Afghanistan do not constitute a violation of paragraph 1 (a) of resolution 2255 (2015), and permits the processing of payments of funds, other financial assets, economic resources, and provision of goods and services needed to support humanitarian aid delivery.

UNSCR 2664 (2022) created a carve-out for the delivery of humanitarian assistance and for other activities that support basic human needs in all current UN sanctions regimes that impose asset freezes. While this carve-out is indefinite for the majority of UN sanctions, the resolution explicitly indicates that the carve-out is only applicable for a two-year period for UN sanctions regime against ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida, with a possibility of extension.

Suppression of Terrorism Regulations

The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Suppression of Terrorism (SOR/2001-360), as amended (the Suppression of Terrorism Regulations) were made in 2001 under the United Nations Act. The Suppression of Terrorism Regulations create a Canadian list of terrorist individuals and entities with a broader scope than the Regulations Implementing the United Regulations on the Taliban, ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaida, which are limited by geography and affiliation. The assets of those covered by the Suppression of Terrorism Regulations are frozen, and it is illegal to raise funds on the behalf of a listed entity.

The Suppression of Terrorism Regulations, as amended, implement in Canadian domestic law the binding elements of United Nations Security Council Resolution 1373 (2001).

Special Economic Measures Regulations (SEMA)

SEMA allows Canada to impose sanctions in circumstances where a grave breach of international peace and security has occurred, or gross and systematic human rights violations have been committed in relation to a foreign state.

Special Economic Measures (Hamas Terrorist Attacks) Regulations

On October 7, 2023, the Hamas terrorist organization launched a brutal attack from Gaza on several Israeli communities. The Government of Canada has put in place measures in response to the attacks and the ensuing conflict. The sanctions list individuals for their participation in activities that have facilitated, supported, provided funding for or contributed to the terrorist attacks by Hamas and its affiliates against Israel beginning on October 7, 2023. There is strong international consensus amongst Canada’s allies and partners on the importance of further reinforcing measures to isolate, delegitimize, and counter Hamas’ ability to operate, raise funds and carry out terrorist acts.

Criminal Code

The Criminal Code also provides a process to list and apply appropriate criminal measures to listed entities. For more information on the Criminal Code listing process and currently listed entities, please consult the Public Safety Canada website.

Selected documents

Regulations

United Nations Al-Qaida and Taliban Regulations:

Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Suppression of Terrorism:

Special Economic Measures (Hamas Terrorist Attacks) Regulations:

Legal advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Les sanctions canadiennes liées aux entités terroristes, dont le Taliban, l’EIIL (Daech) et Al-Qaïda

Types de sanctions

Embargo sur les armes

Gel des avoirs

Interdictions financières

Avez-vous besoin d'un permis ou d'un certificate?

Interdictions

Le Canada a adopté de mesures visant à endiguer le terrorisme international dans le cadre de trois mécanismes d’inscription : le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Taliban, EIIL (Daech) et Al-Qaïda, le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la lutte contre le terrorisme, et le Code criminel. Ensemble, ces trois mécanismes incluent notamment :

  • l'interdiction d’exporter des armes et du matériel connexe ou des explosifs à toute personne désignée;
  • l'interdiction de fournir à toute personne désignée une aide technique liée à la fourniture, la fabrication, l'entretien ou l'utilisation d’armes et de matériel connexe ou d’explosifs;
  • l’interdiction de fournir ou de collecter des fonds avec l’intention qu’ils soient utilisés par une personne désignée ou dont il sait qu’ils seront utilisés par une personne désignée;
  • l'imposition d'un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner, de faciliter ou de favoriser la perpétration d’actes interdits.

Permis et certificats

Un certificat d’exemption peut être délivré dans certains cas précis. Les conditions applicables pour la délivraison des certificats sont énoncées dans le règlement respectif.

Renseignements contextuels

Pour endiguer le terrorisme international, il est essentiel d’empêcher que des terroristes utilisent le système financier international pour financer leurs activités. Face à cette problématique, un élément clé de la réponse de la communauté internationale a été l'imposition de mesures visant à prévenir la dissimulation et le transfert de fonds ou d’avoirs servant à financer le terrorisme, et tout en procédant à la désignation des personnes et entités visées par ces mesures.

Conformément à ses obligations internationales, le Canada a mis en place un mécanisme pour l’inscription sur des listes des entités terroristes, pour que celles-ci puissent faire l’objet de mesures précises, telles que le gel des avoirs. Ces efforts se sont traduits par la mise en œuvre de trois mécanismes d’inscription distincts, mais complémentaires: le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Taliban, EIIL (Daech) et Al-Qaïda; le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la lutte contre le terrorisme; le Code criminel. Ensemble, ces trois mécanismes permettent de promouvoir les intérêts de sécurité canadiens à l’échelle nationale. Ils garantissent également le respect, par le Canada, d’une série d’obligations internationales, y compris celles prévues en vertu des résolutions applicables du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies et de la Convention internationale pour la répression du financement du terrorisme.

Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Taliban, EIIL (Daech) et Al-Qaïda

Le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Taliban, EIIL (Daech) et Al-Qaïda (D.O.R.S./99-444) a été adopté en 1999 en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies et portait initialement le nom de Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur Al Qaïda et le Taliban. Au moment de son adoption, le Règlement prévoyait le gel des avoirs des Talibans, d’Oussama ben Laden et de ses associés, ainsi que des membres du réseau Al-Qaïda, et interdisait de leur fournir, de leur vendre ou de transférer à leur intention des armes et de l’assistance technique. L’adoption des résolutions 1988 (2011) et 1989 (2011) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a eu pour effet de séparer la Liste consolidée du Conseil de sécurité afin de créer deux listes distinctes, soit la Liste des sanctions contre Al-Qaïda (également appelée Liste 1267/1989) et la Liste des sanctions contre le Taliban (également appelée Liste 1988). En vertu de la résolution 1267 (1999) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le Comité du Conseil de sécurité (maintenant le Comité des sanctions contre l’EIIL [Daech] et Al Qaïda) a établi et tient à jour une liste de personnes et d’entités liées à l’EIIL (Daech) et à Al Qaïda. En vertu de la résolution 1988 (2011) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le Comité du Conseil de Sécurité (le Comité 1988) a également établi et tient à jour une liste de personnes et d’entités liées au Taliban. Ces listes ont été incorporées, par voie de référence, au Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur Al Qaïda et le Taliban.

Le 9 mai 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a désigné le Taliban comme une entité terroriste au titre du Code criminel, lequel comporte des interdictions sur diverses activités et opérations entreprises par les entités désignées. Afin de régler le chevauchement, le Règlement a été modifié le 26 septembre 2014. Les personnes et les entités liées au Taliban figureront toujours au Règlement, reflétant ainsi la Liste des sanctions contre le Taliban dressée dans le cadre de la résolution 1988 (2011). L’EIIL (Daech), Al-Qaïda et leurs groupes affiliés régionaux figurent également dans la liste d’entités terroristes dressée au titre du Code criminel du Canada (Al Qaïda depuis le 23 juillet 2002; l’État islamique depuis le 8 août 2012; l’État islamique – Province du Sinaï depuis le 7 avril 2015; Al-Qaïda dans le sous-continent indien depuis le 28 décembre 2016, l’État islamique – Province du Khorassan depuis le 23 mai 2018; et Al-Qaïda au Maghreb islamique depuis le 21 novembre 2018).

Pour tenir compte de l’évolution du terrorisme moderne, en 2014, le Comité 1267 a décidé de mettre l’accent sur les questions plus générales du terrorisme mondial et des combattants terroristes étrangers au lieu de porter son attention principalement sur Al-Qaïda et le Taliban. En août 2014, la résolution 2017 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a désigné explicitement l’EIIL (Daech) et d’autres groupes comme étant à l’origine d’instabilité, d’actes terroristes et de la destruction de biens ainsi que de sites culturels et religieux. En septembre 2014, la résolution 2178 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a permis d’élargir la portée des activités du Comité pour tenir compte de ce changement. La résolution 2199 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a permis de renforcer l’interdiction du commerce des biens culturels iraquiens et syriens et d’interdire les échanges commerciaux divers avec l’EIIL, le Front Al-Nusra et d’autres personnes et entités liées à Al-Qaïda.

Le 1er juin 2020, des modifications ont été apportées au Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur Al Qaïda et le Taliban pour élargir sa portée afin d’y inclure l’EIIL (Daech) et ses groupes affiliés. Le nom du règlement a alors été modifié pour Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Taliban, EIIL (Daech) et Al-Qaïda. Ce Règlement, tel que modifié, met en œuvre en droit canadien les aspects contraignants de la résolution 1267 (1999) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies et des résolutions qui lui ont succédé.

Règlement contre le terrorisme

Le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la lutte contre le terrorisme (D.O.R.S./2001-360), tel que modifié (Règlement contre le terrorisme), a été adopté en 2001 en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies. Le Règlement contre le terrorisme établit une liste canadienne de personnes et d’entités soupçonnées de se livrer à des activités terroristes. La portée de cette liste est plus large que celle du Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Taliban, EIIL (Daech) et Al-Qaïda, puisqu’elle ne se limite pas à une zone géographique ni à une affiliation précise. Le Règlement contre le terrorisme prévoit le gel des avoirs des personnes visées par le Règlement et il érige en infraction le fait de collecter des fonds pour le compte d’une entité figurant dans la liste.

Code criminel

Le Code criminel prévoit, lui aussi, un mécanisme d’inscription des personnes et entités visées, y compris l’application des mesures pénales qui s’imposent à l’encontre de celles-ci. Pour obtenir plus d’information sur le mécanisme d’inscription prévu par le Code criminel, y compris pour connaître les personnes et entités visées, prière de consulter le site Web de Sécurité publique Canada.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlements

Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur Al-Qaïda et le Taliban :

Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la lutte contre le terrorisme :

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.

Date de modification: