Canadian Sanctions Related to Belarus

Types of sanctions

Asset freeze

Export and import restrictions

Financial Prohibitions

Technical assistance prohibition

Recent developments

  • 2021-12-02 - Regulations were amended
  • 2021-08-06 - Regulations were amended
  • 2021-06-17 - Regulations were amended
Do you need a permit or certificate?

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Belarus have been enacted under the Special Economic Measures Act in response to the gross and systematic human rights violations that have been committed in Belarus.

The Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Regulations impose a dealings prohibition, an effective asset freeze, on designated persons listed in Schedule 1. The Regulations prohibit any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada from:

  • dealing in property, wherever situated, that is owned, held or controlled by listed persons or a person acting on behalf of a listed person in Schedule 1;
  • entering into or facilitating any transaction related to a dealing prohibited by these Regulations;
  • providing any financial or related services in respect of a dealing prohibited by these Regulations;
  • making available any goods, wherever situated, to a listed person or a person acting on behalf of a listed person in Schedule 1; and
  • providing any financial or other related services to or for the benefit of a listed person in Schedule 1.

The individuals listed in Schedule 1 to the Regulations are also inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The Regulations also impose restrictions on certain activities relating to transferrable securities and money market instruments, debt financing, insurance and reinsurance, petroleum products, and potassium chloride products. With some exceptions, the Regulations prohibit persons in Canada or Canadians outside Canada from:

  • dealing in transferable securities and money market instruments, including treasury bills, certificates of deposit and commercial papers but not including instruments of payment, issued by specific entities or individuals identified in the Regulations;
  • transacting in, provide financing for or otherwise dealing in debt of longer than 90 days’ maturity, including bonds, loans, debentures, extensions of credit, loan guarantees, letters of credit, bank drafts, bankers’ acceptances, discount notes, treasury bills, commercial paper and other similar instruments in relation to specific entities or individuals identified in the Regulations;
  • providing insurance or reinsurance to specific entities or individuals identified in the Regulations;
  • importing, purchasing, acquiring, shipping or otherwise dealing in any petroleum goods referred to in Part 1 of Schedule 2 of the Regulations, wherever situated, that is exported from Belarus, as well as providing any financial, technical or other services such as insurance or reinsurance related to goods subject to this prohibition; and
  • importing, purchasing, acquiring, shipping or otherwise dealing in any potassium chloride goods referred to in Part 2 of Schedule 2 of the Regulations, wherever situated, that is exported from Belarus.

Causing, facilitating or assisting in prohibited activities is likewise prohibited.

Exceptions

The above-noted prohibitions do not apply to the following activities or transactions:

  • payments made by or on behalf of a listed person pursuant to contracts entered into prior to the coming into force of the Regulations, provided that the payments are not made to a listed person or to a person acting on behalf of a listed person;
  • transactions necessary for a Canadian to transfer to a non-listed person any accounts, funds or investments of a Canadian held by a listed person on the day on which that person became listed;
  • dealings with a listed person required with respect to loan repayments made to any person in Canada, or any Canadian outside Canada, for loans entered into with any person other than a listed person, and for enforcement and realization of security in respect of those loans, or repayments by guarantors guaranteeing those loans;
  • dealings with a listed person required with respect to loan repayments made to any person in Canada, or any Canadian outside Canada, for loans entered into with a listed person before that person became a listed person, and for enforcement and realization of security in respect of those loans, or repayments by guarantors guaranteeing those loans;
  • pension payments to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada;
  • financial services required in order for a listed person to obtain legal services in Canada with respect to the application of any of the prohibitions set out in these Regulations;
  • transactions in respect of accounts at financial institutions held by diplomatic missions, provided that the transaction is required in order for the mission to fulfill its diplomatic functions under the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations, or transactions required in order to maintain the mission premises if the diplomatic mission has been temporarily or permanently recalled;
  • transactions with any international organization with diplomatic status, agencies of the United Nations, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, or with any entity that has entered into a grant or contribution agreement with Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada; and
  • transactions by the Government of Canada that are provided for in any agreement or arrangement between Canada and Belarus.

The above-noted prohibitions on transferrable securities and money market instruments, debt financing, and insurance and reinsurance also do not apply in respect of activities that were undertaken before August 6, 2021.

The above-noted prohibitions on petroleum and potassium chloride products also do not apply to goods or services if a contract for the import, purchase, acquisition or shipment of the goods or other dealing with them or for the provision of the services is entered into before August 6, 2021.

Permits and Certificates

A separate Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Permit Authorization Order made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is otherwise restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

Background

On August 9, 2020, the Republic of Belarus held presidential elections marred by widespread irregularities. Under the direction of President Alexander Lukashenko, the Government of Belarus led a systematic campaign of repression during the lead up to the vote and through the conduct of the election itself. Following the vote, state-sponsored violence was used against the people of Belarus in an effort to suppress anti-government protests. Numerous observers reported a range of human rights violations, including violations of the Belarusian people’s right to free and fair elections, liberty and security of the person, freedom of expression and peaceful assembly and due process. These actions were strongly condemned by Canada and other members of the international community, including the European Union, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The Government of Belarus has not been held accountable for its human rights violations. These include prolonged arbitrary detentions, brutality, intimidation, and the excessive use of force against peaceful protestors, including through the use of water cannons, flash grenades, rubber-coated bullets, tear gas, and the use of live ammunition. There have also been credible allegations of the use of torture and sexual violence against those unjustly detained. Arbitrary arrests and detentions continue. In addition, there are undue restrictions on the rights to freedom of expression, peaceful assembly, and freedom of association.

On May 23, the Government of Belarus orchestrated an event that was a significant and dangerous escalation in its attacks on opposition voices. Ryanair flight 4978, flying between Athens Greece and Vilnius Lithuania, was diverted to Minsk National Airport at the behest of the Belarusian aviation authorities. The diversion was requested on the premise of a possible bomb threat on board, which turned out to be unsubstantiated. Upon landing in Minsk, two passengers, Belarus journalist and activist Roman Protasevich and his Russian companion Sofia Sapega, were removed from the flight and placed in detention, then later placed under house arrest.

In the summer of 2021, raids were conducted on the homes and offices of a number of Belarus human rights organizations and their staff. Later that month, the government moved to disband a number of civil society groups working on human rights issues.   

Canada has been strongly engaged in the situation in Belarus, directly with the Government of Belarus and with international partners, as well as in multilateral forums such as at the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, Media Freedom Coalition and Freedom Online Coalition. There is no indication that the Government of Belarus is genuinely committed to finding a negotiated solution with opposition groups, nor in ensuring accountability for those responsible for gross and systematic human rights violations. Appropriate steps to restore democratic rights or to address ongoing human rights violations have also not been taken.

On September 29, 2020, Canada, in coordination with the United Kingdom, announced sanctions against 11 Belarusian officials via the Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Regulations (the Regulations).

On October 15, 2020, Canada announced further sanctions against an additional 31 Belarusian officials by amending the Regulations. These actions were taken in coordination with the European Union.

On November 6, 2020, Canada announced further sanctions against an additional 13 Belarusian officials by amending the Regulations. These actions were taken in coordination with the European Union.

On June 21, 2021, Canada announced further sanctions against an additional 17 Belarusian individuals and 5 entities by amending the Regulations. These actions were taken in coordination with the European Union, United Kingdom and United States.

On August 9, 2021, Canada announced further sanctions imposing restrictions on certain activities relating to transferrable securities and money market instruments, debt financing, insurance and reinsurance, petroleum products, and potassium chloride products.

On December 2, 2021, Canada announced further sanctions against an additional 24 Belarusian individuals and 7 entities by amending the Regulations. These actions were taken in coordination with the European Union, United Kingdom and United States.

Selected documents

Regulations

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Related links

Legal advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Date Modified:

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Bélarus

Types de sanctions

Gel des avoirs

Restrictions à l'exportation ou à l'importation

Interdictions financières

Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Développements récents

  • 2021-08-06 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2021-06-17 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2020-11-05 - Règlements ont été modifiés
Avez-vous besoin d'un permis ou d'un certificate?

Interdictions

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Bélarus ont été adoptées en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales en réponse aux violations graves et systématiques des droits de la personne qui ont été commises au Bélarus.

Le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Belarus impose des restrictions quant aux opérations, effectivement un gel des avoirs, impliquant toute personne désignée inscrite à l’annexe 1. Le Règlement interdit à toute personne au Canada et à tout Canadien à l’étranger :

  • d’effectuer une opération portant sur un bien où qu’il soit, appartenant à une personne désignée à l’annexe 1 ou détenu ou contrôlé par elle ou pour son compte;
  • de conclure une transaction liée à une opération interdite décrite ci-dessus ou d’en faciliter la conclusion;
  • de fournir des services financiers ou connexes à l’égard de toutes opérations décrite ci-dessus;
  • de mettre toutes marchandises où qu’elles soient, à la disposition d’une personne désignée à l’annexe 1 ou une personne agissant pour son compte;
  • de fournir des services financiers ou connexes à une personne désignée à l’annexe 1 ou à son bénéfice.

Les individus désignés à l’annexe 1 du Règlement sont aussi interdits de territoire au Canada en vertu de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Le Règlement impose également des restrictions sur certaines activités liées aux valeurs mobilières et aux instruments du marché monétaire, au financement par emprunt, à l’assurance et à la réassurance, aux produits pétroliers, et aux produits à base de chlorure de potassium. À quelques exceptions près, le Règlement interdit à toute personne se trouvant au Canada et à tout Canadien se trouvant à l’étranger:

  • d’effectuer une transaction ou autre opération portant sur des valeurs mobilières ou des instruments du marché monétaire émis par des entités ou des individus identifiés dans le Règlement, notamment sur les bons du Trésor, les certificats de dépôt et les effets de commerce, à l’exclusion des instruments de paiement ;
  • d’effectuer une transaction ou autre opération portant sur un emprunt dont la durée dépasse quatre-vingt-dix jours, y compris une obligation, un prêt, une débenture, un octroi de crédit, une garantie d’emprunt, une lettre de crédit, une traite ou une acceptation bancaire, un billet à escompte, un bon du Trésor, un effet de commerce ou un autre instrument semblable, ou de fournir le financement pour un tel emprunt si la transaction, l’opération ou le financement a trait à des entités ou des individus identifiés dans le Règlement ;
  • de fournir des produits ou des services d’assurance ou de réassurance à des entités ou des individus identifiés dans le Règlement ;
  • d’importer, d’acheter, d’acquérir ou d’expédier les marchandises pétroliers visées à la partie 1 de l’annexe 2 du Règlement, où qu’elles se trouvent, qui sont exportées du Bélarus, ainsi que de fournir tous services financiers, techniques ou autres tels que l'assurance ou la réassurance à l’égard des marchandises visées à cette interdiction ; et
  • d’importer, d’acheter, d’acquérir ou d’expédier les marchandises à base de chlorure de potassium visées à la partie 2 de l’annexe 2 du Règlement, où qu’elles se trouvent, qui sont exportées du Bélarus.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner ou de faciliter la perpétration d’actes interdits décrits ci-dessus

Exceptions

Les interdictions décrits ci-dessus ne s’appliquent pas aux cas suivants :

  • les paiements effectués par une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste ou en leur nom en vertu d’un contrat ayant été signé avant l’application du Règlement, à condition que les paiements ne s’adressent pas à une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste ou à une personne agissant pour le compte de la personne dont le nom figure sur la liste;
  • toute transaction nécessaire pour qu’un Canadien transfère à une personne dont le nom n’est pas inscrit sur la liste les comptes, fonds ou investissements de Canadiens qui sont détenus par une personne à la date où son nom a été ajouté à la liste;
  • toute opération nécessaire effectuée auprès d’une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste à l’égard des remboursements à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger d’emprunts contractés auprès d’une personne dont le nom ne figure pas sur la liste, et pour faire valoir ou réaliser des sûretés relatives à de tels emprunts ou les paiements effectués par leurs garants;
  • toute opération nécessaire effectuée auprès d’une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste à l’égard des remboursements à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger d’emprunts contractés auprès d’une personne avant que son nom figure sur la liste, et pour faire valoir ou réaliser des sûretés relatives à de tels emprunts ou les paiements effectués par leurs garants;
  • les versements de pensions à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger;
  • les services financiers requis pour qu’une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste obtienne des services juridiques au Canada relativement à l’application de toute interdiction prévue par le présent Règlement;
  • toute transaction relative à tout compte d’une mission diplomatique détenu dans une institution financière, à la condition que la transaction soit requise pour permettre à la mission de remplir ses fonctions diplomatiques conformément à la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques ou, si elle a été rappelée définitivement ou temporairement, pour lui permettre d’assurer l’entretien des locaux de la mission;
  • toute transaction à laquelle sont parties des organisations internationales ayant un statut diplomatique, des organismes des Nations Unies, le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge ou toute entité qui a conclu un accord de subvention ou de contribution avec le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement;
  • les transactions par le gouvernement du Canada qui sont prévues dans toute entente ou tout accord entre le Canada et le Bélarus.

Les interdictions décrits ci-dessus concernant les valeurs mobilières et les instruments du marché monétaire, le financement par emprunt, l'assurance et la réassurance ne s'appliquent pas en outre aux activités entreprises avant le 6 août 2021.

Les interdictions décrits ci-dessus concernant les produits pétroliers et les produits à base de chlorure de potassium ne s'appliquent pas en outre aux services fournis ni aux marchandises importées, achetées, acquises, expédiées ou faisant autrement l’objet de commerce aux termes d’un contrat conclu avant le 6 août 2021.

Permis et certificats

Un décret distinct, le Décret concernant l’autorisation, par permis à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales – Bélarus) conformément au paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d’autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien à l’étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d’opérations qui fait l’objet d’une interdiction ou d’une restriction au titre du Règlement.

Contexte

Le 9 août 2020, la République du Bélarus a tenu des élections présidentielles entachées de nombreuses irrégularités. Sous la direction du président Alexander Lukashenko, le gouvernement du Bélarus a mené une campagne de répression systématique pendant la période précédant le vote et pendant le déroulement de l’élection elle-même. À la suite du vote, de la violence a été utilisée par l’État contre le peuple bélarussien afin de réprimer les manifestations antigouvernementales. De nombreux observateurs ont signalé un éventail de violations des droits de la personne, notamment des violations du droit du peuple bélarussien à des élections libres et justes, à la liberté et à la sécurité de la personne, à la liberté d’expression et de réunion pacifique, ainsi qu’à l’application régulière de la loi. Ces actions ont été fortement condamnées par le Canada et d’autres membres de la communauté internationale, y compris l’Union européenne, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis.

Le gouvernement du Bélarus n’a toujours pas été tenu responsable de ses violations des droits de la personne. Celles-ci comprennent des détentions arbitraires prolongées, la brutalité, l’intimidation et l’usage excessif de la force contre des manifestants pacifiques, notamment par l’utilisation de canons à eau, de grenades aveuglantes, de balles recouvertes de caoutchouc, de gaz lacrymogènes et de munitions réelles. Il y a également eu des allégations crédibles de recours à la torture et à la violence sexuelle contre les personnes injustement détenues. Les arrestations et les détentions arbitraires se poursuivent. De plus, les droits à la liberté d’expression, de réunion pacifique et d’association sont toujours soumis à des restrictions excessives.

Le 23 mai, le gouvernement du Bélarus a orchestré un événement qui a constitué une escalade importante et dangereuse de ses attaques contre les voix de l'opposition. Le vol Ryanair 4978, entre Athènes Grèce et Vilnius Lituanie, a été dérouté vers l'aéroport national de Minsk à la demande des autorités aéronautiques bélarussiennes. Le détournement a été demandé sur la base d'une alerte à la bombe potentielle à bord, qui s'est avérée non fondée. À l'atterrissage à Minsk, deux passagers, le journaliste et militant bélarussien Roman Protasevich et sa compagne russe Sofia Sapega, ont été retirés du vol et placés en détention, puis assignés à résidence.

Au cours de l’été 2021, des perquisitions ont été menées dans les domiciles et les bureaux de plusieurs d'organisations bélarussiennes de défense des droits de la personne et de leur personnel. Plus tard, au cours de ce  mois, le gouvernement a décidé de dissoudre plusieurs groupes de la société civile travaillant sur les questions concernant les droits de la personne.

Le Canada est engagé fortement dans la situation au Bélarus, tant directement avec le gouvernement du Bélarus et des partenaires internationaux qu’au sein de forums multilatéraux tels que l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe, la Media Freedom Coalition et la Freedom Online Coalition. Rien n’indique que le gouvernement du Bélarus soit véritablement déterminé à trouver une solution négociée avec les groupes d’opposition, ni de faire en sorte que les responsables de violations flagrantes et systématiques des droits de la personne aient à répondre pours leurs actes. Aucune mesure appropriée n’a été prise pour rétablir les droits démocratiques ou pour remédier aux violations des droits de la personne qui se poursuivent.

Le 29 septembre 2020, le Canada, en coordination avec le Royaume-Uni, a annoncé des sanctions contre 11 fonctionnaires du gouvernement du Bélarus en vertu du Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Belarus (le Règlement).

Le 15 octobre 2020, le Canada a annoncé de nouvelles sanctions contre 31 autres représentants du gouvernement du Bélarus en modifiant le Règlement. Ces actions ont été prises en coordination avec l’Union européenne.

Le 6 novembre 2020, le Canada a annoncé de nouvelles sanctions contre 13 autres représentants du gouvernement du Bélarus en modifiant le Règlement. Ces actions ont été prises en coordination avec l’Union européenne.

Le 21 juin 2021, le Canada a annoncé de nouvelles sanctions contre 17 individus et 5 entités bélarussiens supplémentaires en modifiant le Règlement. Ces actions ont été prises en coordination avec l’Union européenne, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis.

Le 9 août 2021, le Canada a annoncé de nouvelles sanctions imposant des restrictions sur certaines activités liées aux valeurs mobilières et aux instruments du marché monétaire, au financement par emprunt, à l’assurance et à la réassurance, aux produits pétroliers, et aux produits à base de chlorure de potassium.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlements

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.

Date de modification: