Language selection

Search

Canadian Sanctions Related to Ukraine

Types of sanctions

Asset freeze

Export and import restrictions

Financial Prohibitions

Technical assistance prohibition

Recent developments

  • 2021-06-27 - Regulations were amended
  • 2022-04-26 - Regulations were amended
  • 2022-02-24 - Regulations were amended
Do you need a permit or certificate?

Canada and Ukraine have enjoyed close bilateral relations since Canada became the first Western nation to recognize Ukraine’s independence on December 2, 1991. On August 1, 2017, the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA) entered into force, which enhances trade between the two countries. The Trade Commissioner Service provides support and advice to Canadian companies seeking to do business in Ukraine.

Canada has placed sanctions on the Russian-occupied Crimea region of Ukraine and on Ukrainian individuals and entities related to Russia’s illegal occupation and attempted annexation of Crimea and the ongoing Russian occupation in parts of eastern Ukraine. While Canada does not have blanket sanctions in place relating to Ukraine, Canadian companies should be mindful of specific and targeted sanctions in line with the above. More information on these targeted measures is included below.

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Ukraine were enacted under the Special Economic Measures Act, in order to respond to violations of Ukraine’s constitution, sovereignty and territorial integrity. On March 17, 2014, the Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations (“the Regulations”) came into force.

Amendments to the Ukraine Regulations were made on March 19, April 12, May 12, June 21, July 11, July 24, August 6, and December 19, 2014; February 17, and June 29, 2015; March 18, and November 28, 2016; March 4, March 15, and June 25, 2019; January 29, 2020; March 29 2021; February 24, 2022; April 26, 2022; as well as June 27, 2022.

The Regulations impose an asset freeze and dealings prohibition on designated persons, which include both individuals and entities involved in Russia’s illegal occupation and attempted annexation of Crimea and the ongoing Russian occupation in parts of eastern Ukraine. They prohibit persons in Canada and Canadians abroad from:

  • dealing in any property, wherever situated, held by or on behalf of a designated person
  • entering into or facilitating, directly or indirectly, any transaction related to such a dealing
  • providing any financial or related service in respect of such a dealing
  • making goods, wherever situated, available to a designated person
  • providing any financial or related service to or for the benefit of a designated person

The Regulations include the following definitions:

“Crimea region of Ukraine”: the Crimea Region of Ukraine means the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol, and includes their land areas and territorial sea.

“DNR region of Ukraine”: the so-called Donetsk People’s Republic and the territory it controls in the Donetsk oblast of eastern Ukraine.

“LNR region of Ukraine”: the so-called Luhansk People’s Republic and the territory it controls in the Luhansk oblast of eastern Ukraine.

It is also prohibited for any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada to:

  • make an investment that involves a dealing in any property located in these regions that is owned, held or controlled by these regions or a person in these regions, or a person acting on behalf of or at the direction of these regions or a person in these regions;
  • provide or acquire financial or other related services with respect to an investment referred to in paragraph (a);
  • import, purchase or acquire goods, wherever situated, from these regions or any person in these regions;
  • export goods destined for these regions or sell, supply or transfer goods, wherever situated, to any person in these regions;
  • provide technical assistance to these regions or any person in these regions;
  • provide financial or other services related to tourism to, or acquire such services from, these regions or any person in these regions; or
  • dock a cruise ship in the Crimea region of Ukraine that is registered or licensed, or for which an identification number has been issued, under any Act of Parliament.

Causing, assisting or promoting prohibited activities is likewise prohibited.

The Regulations provide a review mechanism to remove names from the schedule upon receipt of an application from a designated person.

Exceptions

Exceptions to the above-noted asset freeze and dealings prohibition are available for the following:

  • Payments made by or on behalf of designated persons pursuant to contracts entered into prior to the coming into force of the Regulations, provided that the payments are not made to or for the benefit of a designated person
  • Pension payments to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada
  • Transactions in respect of accounts at financial institutions held by diplomatic missions, provided that the transaction is required in order for the mission to fulfill its diplomatic functions under the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations, or, transactions required in order to maintain the mission premises if the diplomatic mission has been temporarily or permanently recalled
  • Transactions by international organizations with diplomatic status, agencies of the United Nations, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, or Canadian non-governmental organizations that have entered into a grant or contribution agreement with the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
  • Transactions necessary for a Canadian to transfer to a non-designated person any accounts funds or investments of a Canadian held by a designated person on the day on which that person became designated
  • Financial services required in order for a designated person to obtain legal services in Canada with respect to the application of any of the prohibitions in the Regulations
  • Loan repayments made to any person in Canada or any Canadian abroad in respect of loans entered into before the coming into force of the Regulations, enforcement of security in respect of those loans, or payments by guarantors guaranteeing those loans

Permits and Certificates

The Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Permit Authorization Order, made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act, authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations. Further information is available on the “Permits and Certificates” page.

FACFOA Prohibitions

The Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Ukraine) Regulations (the "FACFOA Regulations") create a freeze on the assets of the politically exposed foreign person listed in the Regulations by prohibiting the following activities by anyone in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada:

  • dealing, directly or indirectly, in any property, wherever situated, of a listed politically exposed foreign person
  • entering into or facilitating, directly or indirectly, any financial transaction related to a dealing referred to in point (1)
  • providing financial services or other related services in respect of any property of a listed politically exposed foreign person

The official list of persons whose assets are subject to freezing under the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act Regulations is found in the link to the regulations below.

Background

In November 2013, the refusal of then-Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych to sign a landmark association agreement with the European Union set off major protests in Kyiv, leading to the fall of the Yanukovych government.

In March 2014, Russian forces occupied the Crimean peninsula of Ukraine. Following the unconstitutional “referendum” on March 16, 2014, President Putin signed a treaty purporting to incorporate Crimea into the Russian Federation on March 18, 2014. Canada, along with the international community, continues to condemn Russia’s illegal occupation and attempted annexation of Crimea.

In the wake of the illegal occupation and attempted annexation of Crimea, Russian-backed militants quickly gained control of significant portions of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions of eastern Ukraine, declaring the creation of the ‘Donetsk People’s Republic’ and the ‘Luhansk People’s Republic’. Fraudulent so-called “independence referendums”, initiated by pro-Russian separatists, were held on May 11, 2014, but gained no international recognition. In the months following, violence increased as Russian-backed insurgents clashed with Ukrainian government forces.

Peace agreements were reached in talks held in Minsk, Belarus, in September 2014 and in February 2015. The February ‘Package of Measures’ contains 13 commitments, including: an immediate and complete ceasefire in the Donetsk and Luhansk regions; the full withdrawal of heavy weaponry by both sides; full exchange of prisoners; a dialogue on the modalities for conducting local elections in Donetsk and Luhansk regions, under Ukrainian legislation; amnesty for the separatists; constitutional reform, including decentralization and special status of ‘certain areas’ of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions; and the regaining by Ukraine of control of its border with Russia, amongst other measures.

Despite ongoing diplomatic efforts to seek a resolution to the conflict, the situation in eastern Ukraine remains tense, with continuous ceasefire violations, and frequent shelling along the line of contact. Canada has been a consistent supporter of the Minsk peace process and believes that it represents the only feasible path to a durable and peaceful solution to the conflict in Ukraine. Canada continues to call on both parties, in particular Russia, to fully implement their commitments and obligations under the Minsk agreements.

Russia’s direct military involvement in Ukraine and clear violation of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity continue to be a grave concern of the international community.

Recent developments

Russia has continued to play a destabilizing role in Ukraine, while denying that it is even a party to the conflict in the east, thus leading to a deadlock in the peace negotiations. Since fall 2021, a significant build-up of troops (est. 150,000-190,000), military equipment, and military capabilities in and around Ukraine has been accompanied by other Russian escalatory behaviour, including hybrid campaign techniques targeting Ukraine. This is in addition to approximately 50,000 Belarusian troops that have been mobilized in recent weeks. This aggression directly threatens and imposes significant further costs on Ukraine, and is also a blatant violation of the Minsk Agreements for a peaceful resolution to the conflict in eastern Ukraine.

Diplomatic engagement had been very active in early 2022, including negotiations along several tracks, including via: (1) U.S.-Russia bilateral talks (e.g., the U.S.-Russia Strategic Stability Dialogue); (2) NATO; (3) the OSCE; and, (4) the Normandy Four format (Ukraine, Russia, Germany, France) for the implementation of the Minsk Agreements.

On February 21, 2022, Russia signed a decree recognizing the “independence” and “sovereignty” of the so-called Luhansk People’s Republic (LNR) and Donetsk People’s Republic (DNR) regions. Immediately following the recognition of the so-called LNR and DNR, President Putin ordered Russian forces to perform peacekeeping functions in the regions. On February 22, Russia’s Duma gave President Putin permission to use military force outside the country. Uniformed Russian troops and armoured vehicles have begun moving into the territories for the first time, where only covert forces had earlier been. On February 18, Russia-backed so-called authorities ordered the evacuation of women and children from the region, as well as the conscription of men aged 18 to 55.

These actions are a continuation and acceleration of the violent steps taken by Russia since early 2014 to undermine Ukrainian security and sovereignty, and have rendered the Minsk Agreements moot.

G7 Foreign Ministers released a statement on February 21, 2022, condemning Russian recognition of the so-called LNR and DNR regions and stated that they were preparing to step-up restrictive measures responding to Russia’s actions, while reaffirming their unwavering commitment to Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity. G7 Foreign Ministers also reconfirmed their support for the full implementation of the Minsk Agreements, to end the conflict in eastern Ukraine. This follows a similar statement made in December 2021, and one by NATO Foreign Ministers in January 2022. In those two meetings, the G7 and NATO Foreign Ministers had also reaffirmed their readiness to take actions that would have massive consequences and severe cost to Russia in the Event of any further military aggression against Ukraine.

In light of these events, on February 24, 2022, Canada further amended the Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations to amend text under Section 4.1. Canada is also adding four (4) individuals to Schedule 1 of the Regulations.

On April 26, 2022, Canada further amended the Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations to expand the scope of people who can be listed to include current or former members of the Government of the so-called DNR and LNR. As part of this same amendment, Canada also listed 203 individuals who are current senior officials of the so-called DNR and LNR and current or former members of the People’s Councils of the so-called DNR and LNR.

On June 27, Canada further amended the Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations to include an additional 15 former senior officials and their family members, as well as so-called leaders in areas of Ukraine illegally occupied by Russian forces or controlled by Russian-backed proxies.

Selected documents

Regulations

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Regulations made under the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act:

Announcements

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Related links

Legal advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à l'Ukraine

Types de sanctions

Gel des avoirs

Restrictions à l'exportation ou à l'importation

Interdictions financières

Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Développements récents

  • 2021-06-27 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2020-04-26 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2022-02-24 - Règlements ont été modifiés
Avez-vous besoin d'un permis ou d'un certificate?

Depuis que le Canada est devenu le premier État occidental à reconnaître l’indépendance de l’Ukraine, le 2 décembre 1991, les deux pays entretiennent des relations bilatérales étroites. L’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Ukraine (ALECU), qui facilite les échanges commerciaux entre les deux pays, est entré en vigueur le 1er août 2017. Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada offre un soutien et des conseils aux entreprises canadiennes désireuses de faire affaire en Ukraine.

Le Canada a imposé des sanctions dans la région de la Crimée en Ukraine sous occupation russe ainsi qu’envers des personnes et des entités ukrainiennes impliquées dans l’occupation et la tentative d’annexion illégales par la Russie de la Crimée et l’occupation russe en cours dans l’est de l’Ukraine. Bien que le Canada n’a pas mis en place des sanctions générales visant l’Ukraine, les entreprises canadiennes doivent toutefois prendre en compte les sanctions particulières et ciblées en lien avec l’information fournie ci-dessus. De plus amples renseignements au sujet de ces mesures ciblées sont incluent ci-dessous.

Interdictions

Des sanctions liées à l’Ukraine ont été prises en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales afin de répondre à la violation de la constitution, de la souveraineté et de l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine. Le 17 mars 2014, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Ukraine (le « Règlement ») est entré en vigueur.

Des modifications y ont été apportées le 19 mars, le 12 avril, le 12 mai, le 21 juin, les 11 et 24 juillet, le 6 août et le 19 décembre 2014 ; le 17 février et le 29 juin 2015 ; le 18 mars et le 28 novembre 2016 ; le 4 mars, le 15 mars et le 25 juin 2019 ; le 29 janvier 2020 ; le 29 mars 2021; le 24 février et 26 avril 2022; ainsi que le 27 juin 2022.

Le Règlement impose un gel des avoirs et une interdiction des transactions à l’encontre des personnes désignées, qui comprennent des individus et des entités impliqués dans l’occupation et la tentative d’annexion illégales de la Crimée par la Russie et l'occupation russe en cours dans certaines parties de l'est de l'Ukraine. Ils interdisent à toutes personnes au Canada et à tout Canadien à l’étranger :

  • d’effectuer une opération portant sur un bien, quelle que soit la situation de celui-ci, détenu par une personne désignée ou en son nom
  • de conclure, directement ou indirectement, une transaction relativement à une telle opération ou d’en faciliter, directement ou indirectement, la conclusion
  • de fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes à l’égard d’une telle opération
  • de mettre des marchandises, indépendamment de leur situation, à la disposition d’une personne désignée
  • de fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes à toute personne désignée ou pour son bénéfice

Le Règlement comprend les définition suivantes :

« région de la Crimée en Ukraine » : La région de la Crimée en Ukraine représente la République autonome de Crimée et la ville de Sébastopol, y compris la mer territoriale et leurs terres.

« région de Donetsk de l’Ukraine Région » : La région constituée de la dite République populaire de Donetsk et du territoire qu’elle contrôle dans la région de Donetsk dans l’est de l’Ukraine.

« région de Louhansk de l’Ukraine Région » : La région constituée de la dite République populaire de Louhansk et du territoire qu’elle contrôle dans la région de Louhansk dans l’est de l’Ukraine.

En outre, le Règlement interdit aux personnes au Canada et aux Canadiens à l’étranger :

  • d’effectuer un investissement qui comporte une opération relative à un bien se trouvant dans ces régions et qui appartient à celle-ci ou à une personne qui s’y trouve ou, qui est détenu ou contrôlé par l’une d’elle ou pour leur compte ou suivant leurs instructions;
  • de fournir ou d’acquérir des services financiers ou connexes à l’égard d’un investissement visé à l’alinéa a);
  • d’importer, d’acheter ou d’acquérir des marchandises, où qu’elles soient, de ces régions ou d’une personne qui s’y trouve;
  • d’exporter des marchandises destinées à ces régions ou de vendre, de fournir ou de transférer de telles marchandises, où qu’elles soient, à ces régions ou à une personne qui s’y trouve;
  • de fournir à ces régions ou à une personne qui s’y trouve toute aide technique;
  • de fournir à ces régions ou à une personne qui s’y trouve des services financiers ou connexes liés au tourisme ou encore, d’acquérir de tels services à l’égard d’activités touristiques dans ces régions;
  • d’amarrer, dans la région de la Crimée en Ukraine, un navire de croisière qui est immatriculé ou auquel un permis ou un numéro d’enregistrement a été accordé sous le régime d’une loi fédérale.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner, de faciliter ou de favoriser la perpétration d’actes interdits.

Le Règlement prévoit un mécanisme d’examen pour retirer des noms inscrits sur la liste établie à l’annexe à la réception d’une demande de la part d’une personne désignée.

Exceptions

Des exceptions au gel des avoirs et à l’interdiction des transactions précédentes peuvent s’appliquer dans les cas suivants :

  • les paiements effectués par une personne désignée ou en son nom en vertu d’un contrat ayant été signé avant l’application du Règlement, à condition que les paiements ne s’adressent pas à l’une des personnes désignées
  • les paiements de pension destinés à une personne au Canada ou à un Canadien à l’étranger
  • les transactions se rapportant à des comptes dans des établissements financiers détenus par des missions diplomatiques, pourvu que la transaction soit requise pour que la mission puisse remplir ses fonctions diplomatiques en vertu de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques ou, si la mission diplomatique a été rappelée de manière temporaire ou permanente
  • les transactions par des organisations internationales ayant un statut diplomatique, des organismes des Nations Unies, le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge ou des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes qui ont conclu un accord de subvention ou de contribution avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
  • toute transaction nécessaire pour qu’un Canadien transfère à une personne non désignée les comptes, fonds ou investissements de Canadiens qui sont détenus par une personne désignée à la date où cette personne est devenue une personne désignée
  • des services financiers requis pour qu’une personne désignée puisse obtenir des services juridiques au Canada relativement à l’application des interdictions prévues dans le Règlement
  • le remboursement à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger d’emprunts contractés avant l’entrée en vigueur du Règlement, la réalisation des sûretés relatives à de tels emprunts ou les paiements effectués par leurs garants

Permis et certificats

En outre, le Décret concernant l’autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales – Ukraine), en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d’autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien se trouvant à l’étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d’opérations qui fait l’objet d’une interdiction ou d’une restriction au titre du règlement connexe. On trouvera d’autres renseignements sur la page intitulée « Permis et certificats ».

Interdictions en vertu de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus

Le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Ukraine) gèle les avoirs des étrangers politiquement vulnérables figurant sur la liste du Règlement en interdisant aux personnes au Canada et aux Canadiens à l’étranger les activités suivantes :

  • toute opération effectuée, directement ou indirectement, portant sur un bien de l’étranger désigné comme politiquement vulnérable, indépendamment de la situation du bien
  • de conclure, directement ou indirectement, une opération financière relativement à une opération visée au point précédent ou d’en faciliter, directement ou indirectement, la conclusion
  • de fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes relativement aux biens de tout étranger politiquement vulnérable

On peut consulter la liste officielle des personnes dont les avoirs sont gelés en vertu du Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Ukraine) en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessous qui mène au Règlement.

Contexte

En novembre 2013, le président ukrainien Viktor Ianoukovytch a refusé de signer un accord d’association historique entre l’Ukraine et l’Union européenne. Ce refus a entraîné d’énormes manifestations à Kyiv qui ont provoqué la chute de son gouvernement.

En mars 2014, les forces russes ont occupé la péninsule de Crimée en Ukraine. Après le « référendum » inconstitutionnel du 16 mars 2014, le président Poutine a signé un traité visant à intégrer la Crimée à la Fédération de Russie le 18 mars 2014. Le Canada, de concert avec la communauté internationale, continue de condamner l’occupation et la tentative d’annexion illégales de la Crimée par la Russie.

Après l’occupation et la tentative d’annexion illégales de la Crimée, des militants soutenus par la Russie ont rapidement contrôlé de grandes parties des régions de Donetsk et de Louhansk dans l’Est de l’Ukraine, déclarant la création de la « République populaire de Donetsk » et de la « République populaire de Louhansk ». Des soi-disant « référendums d’indépendance » frauduleux, organisés par des séparatistes prorusses, ont eu lieu le 11 mai 2014, mais la communauté internationale ne les a pas reconnus. Dans les mois qui ont suivi, la violence a augmenté, les insurgés soutenus par la Russie affrontant les forces gouvernementales de l’Ukraine.

Des accords de paix ont été conclus lors de pourparlers tenus à Minsk, en Biélorussie, en septembre 2014 et en février 2015. L’ensemble de mesures adopté en février contient 13 engagements, parmi lesquels un cessez-le-feu immédiat et total dans les régions de Donetsk et de Louhansk, le retrait complet des armes lourdes des deux côtés, l’échange de tous les prisonniers, un dialogue sur les modalités de la tenue d’élections locales dans les régions de Donetsk et de Louhansk en vertu de la loi ukrainienne, l’amnistie des séparatistes, une réforme constitutionnelle, concernant notamment la décentralisation et un statut spécial pour « certaines zones » dans les régions de Donetsk et de Louhansk, et le rétablissement du contrôle par l’Ukraine de ses frontières avec la Russie.

Malgré les efforts diplomatiques en cours afin de trouver une solution au conflit, la situation dans l’Est de l’Ukraine demeure tendue; il y constamment des violations du cessez-le-feu et des bombardements fréquents le long de la ligne de contact. Le Canada n’a jamais cessé de défendre le processus de paix de Minsk et il est convaincu que c’est le seul moyen de parvenir à une solution durable et pacifique au conflit en Ukraine. Le Canada continue d’exhorter les deux parties, en particulier la Russie, à honorer entièrement leurs engagements et obligations en vertu de l’accord de Minsk.

La participation militaire directe de la Russie en Ukraine et la violation claire de la souveraineté et de l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine sont toujours une source de graves préoccupations pour la communauté internationale.

Actions récentes

La Russie continue de jouer un rôle déstabilisateur en Ukraine, tout en niant qu'elle soit même partie au conflit dans l'est, conduisant ainsi à une impasse dans les négociations de paix. Depuis l'automne 2021, une augmentation significative des troupes (est. 150 000-190 000), de l'équipement militaire et des capacités militaires en Ukraine et autour de l'Ukraine a été accompagnée par d'autres comportements d'escalade russes, y compris des techniques de campagne hybride visant l'Ukraine. Ces troupes s'ajoutent aux quelque 50 000 soldats biélorusses qui ont été mobilisés au début de 2022. Cette agression menace directement l'Ukraine et lui impose des coûts supplémentaires importants, et constitue également une violation flagrante des accords de Minsk pour une résolution pacifique du conflit dans l'est de l'Ukraine.

Des négociations diplomatiques avait été très actif au début de 2022, incluant sur plusieurs fronts, dont (1) les discussions bilatérales en la Russie et les États-Unis (ex. É-U-Russie Dialogue Stratégique de la Stabilisation), (2) OTAN, (3) l’OSCE, et (4) le Format Normandie (Ukraine, Russie, Allemagne, France) afin de mettre de l’avant les Accords de Minsk.

Le 21 février 2022, la Russie a signé un décret reconnaissant l'"indépendance" et la "souveraineté" des régions dites République populaire de Louhansk (LNR) et République populaire de Donetsk (DNR). Immédiatement après la reconnaissance des soi-disant LNR et DNR, le président Poutine a ordonné aux forces russes de remplir des fonctions de maintien de la paix dans les régions. Le 22 février, la Douma russe a autorisé le président Poutine à utiliser la force militaire à l'extérieur du pays. Des troupes russes en uniforme et des véhicules blindés ont commencé à se déplacer dans les territoires pour la première fois, là où seules des forces secrètes s'étaient rendues. Le 18 février, les soi-disant autorités soutenues par la Russie ont ordonné l'évacuation des femmes et des enfants de la région, ainsi que la conscription des hommes âgés de 18 à 55 ans.

Ces actions sont une continuation et une accélération des mesures violentes prises par la Russie depuis le début de 2014 pour porter atteinte à la sécurité et à la souveraineté de l'Ukraine, et ont rendu les accords de Minsk sans objet.Le 21 février 2022, les ministres des Affaires étrangères du G7 ont publié une déclaration condamnant la reconnaissance rues des soi-disant régions du LNR et DNR, et mentionnant que le G7 s’apprêtait à renforcer ses mesures restrictives en réponse aux actions russe. De plus, les membres ont réaffirmé leur engagement inébranlable envers la souveraineté et l'intégrité territoriale de l'Ukraine. Les ministres des affaires étrangères du G7 ont également reconfirmé leur soutien à la mise en œuvre intégrale des accords de Minsk, pour mettre fin au conflit dans l'est de l'Ukraine. Cette déclaration fait suite à une déclaration similaire faite en décembre 2021 et à celle des ministres des Affaires étrangères de l'OTAN en janvier 2022. Lors de ces deux rencontres, les ministres des affaires étrangères du G7 et de l’OTAN ont également reconfirmé qu’ils étaient prêts à prendre des mesures qui auraient des conséquences significatives et un coût sévère pour la Russie dans le cas d’une nouvelle agression militaire contre l’Ukraine.

Compte tenu de ces événements, le 24 février 2022, le Canada a de nouveau modifié le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Ukraine pour amender le texte sous l’annexe 4.1. Canada désigne aussi quatre (4) individus sous l’annexe 1 du Règlement.

Le 26 avril 2022, le Canada a de nouveau modifié le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Ukraine afin d’élargir l'éventail des individus pouvant être désignés pour inclure les membres actuels et anciens du gouvernement des régions dites DNR et LNR. Dans le cadre de cette même modification, le Canada a également désigné 203 hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement des régions dites DNR et LNR ainsi que des individus qui sont des membres actuels ou anciens des conseils populaires des régions dites DNR et LNR.

Le 27 juin 2022, le Canada a de nouveau modifié le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Ukraine pour inclure 15 individus qui sont des anciens hauts fonctionnaires et membres de leur famille, ainsi que des « dirigeants » dans des régions de l’Ukraine illégalement occupées par les forces russes ou contrôlées par des mandataires soutenus par la Russie.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlements

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus :

Déclarations

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: