Permits and Certificates

Canadian sanctions regulations generally include mechanisms for the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue permits or certificates to authorize specified activities or transactions that are otherwise prohibited. This authority is found in the related Permit Authorization Order or in the relevant Act or regulation.

There is no guarantee that an application for a permit or certificate will be approved. Do not undertake any activities prohibited by sanctions until you have received a signed permit or certificate.

Permits: Permits may be granted on an exceptional basis in respect of activities that are prohibited under the Special Economic Measures Act and the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act. Permits can only be issued to persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada.

Certificates: Certificates may be granted in exceptional circumstances when certain activities are prohibited under the United Nations Act. The types of certificates that may be applied for are set out in the relevant regulations.

Wondering whether you need a permit or certificate? Consulting a lawyer or other expert before you apply will help you decide.

If you are unsure whether or not your proposed activity or transaction is prohibited, we suggest that you consult the relevant regulations for each country and, if necessary, seek the advice of private legal counsel before applying for a permit or certificate.

Global Affairs Canada does not provide legal advice to the public and cannot confirm whether or not your particular situation requires a permit or certificate prior to receipt of a formal application.

How to Apply

In advance of undertaking activities in a sanctioned jurisdiction, consult the relevant regulations to determine if your potential activity is prohibited by Canada’s sanctions. The Consolidated Canadian Autonomous Sanctions List and the Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List can also help you determine if any listed persons (individuals or entities) are involved.

Once you have confirmed that you need a permit or certificate, you will need to provide Global Affairs Canada with: a detailed description of your proposed activity or transaction; an explanation as to how the activity or transaction would violate the relevant regulation, or how your request otherwise meets the criteria for application; and, where possible, which section of the regulation and/or which permit authorization order is being relied on to support your application.

Your application should also include the following information:

Please note that any information you provide in your application, including personal information, may be communicated to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and other agencies or departments of the Government of Canada if it is necessary to do so in order to establish if a permit or certificate can be issued.

Processing Times

Global Affairs Canada generally cannot estimate how long a permit will take to process. The granting of a permit under the Special Economic Measures Act and the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act is an exceptional act at the discretion of the Minister of Foreign Affairs. As such, applicants should not rely on the granting of a permit and should not undertake any activities prohibited by sanctions until a signed permit has been transmitted. For certificate applications submitted pursuant to regulations made under the United Nations Act, timelines for the processing of a certificate may apply, depending on the type of certificate.

Contact Information

To apply for a permit or certificate under the regulations, the information described above, as well as other supporting documentation, can be sent to the Sanctions Policy and Operations Coordination Division at the following address:

Global Affairs Canada
Sanctions Policy and Operations Coordination Division (PER)
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-995-9085
E-mail: sanctions@international.gc.ca

Note on Export and Import Permits

The application process for sanctions permits and certificates is separate from the permit process under the Export and Import Permits Act, which is related to the Export Control List, the Import Control List, and the Area Control List. For further information related to export and import permits, please see Export and Import Controls.

Date Modified:

Permis et certificats

Les règlements régissant les sanctions canadiennes comprennent généralement des mécanismes qui permettent au ministre des Affaires étrangères de délivrer des permis ou des certificats autorisant des activités ou des opérations précises qui seraient normalement interdites. Ce pouvoir est conféré par le Décret concernant l’autorisation par permis ou par la loi ou le règlement pertinent.

Il n’y a aucune garantie quant à l’approbation d’une demande de permis ou de certificat. N’entreprenez aucune activité interdite sous peine de sanctions avant d’avoir reçu un permis ou un certificat signé.

Permis : Les permis peuvent être accordés à titre exceptionnel à l’égard des activités interdites aux termes de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales ou de la Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus. Les permis peuvent être délivrés seulement aux personnes qui se trouvent au Canada ou aux Canadiens à l’extérieur du pays.

Certificats : Un certificat peut être accordé en cas de circonstances exceptionnelles pour des activités interdites aux termes de la Loi sur les Nations Unies. Les types de certificats qui peuvent être demandés sont définis dans les règlements pertinents.

Vous interrogez-vous sur la nécessité d’un permis ou un certificat? La consultation d'un avocat avant de soumettre votre demande vous aidera.

Si vous n’êtes pas certain que l’activité ou la transaction que vous proposez est interdite, nous vous suggérons de consulter les règles pertinentes pour chaque pays et, au besoin, de demander conseil à un avocat privé avant de soumettre une demande de permis ou de certificat.

Affaires mondiales Canada ne fournit pas de conseils ou d'opinions juridiques au public et ne peut confirmer si votre situation nécessite un permis ou un certificat avant d’avoir reçu une demande officielle.

Comment présenter une demande

Avant d’entreprendre une activité dans un pays visé par des sanctions, consultez les règles et règlements applicables pour déterminer si cette activité est interdite aux termes des sanctions imposées par le Canada. La liste consolidée des sanctions autonomes canadiennes et La liste récapitulative des sanctions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies peuvent également vous aider à déterminer si des personnes inscrites (particuliers ou entités) sont concernées.

Lorsque vous avez vérifié que vous avez besoin d’un permis ou d’un certificat, il vous faudra fournir les éléments suivants à Affaires mondiales Canada : une description détaillée de votre activité proposée; une explication de comment l’activité violerait le règlement pertinent ou comment votre demande répond aux autres critères d’une demande; et, dans la mesure du possible, l’identification de l’article du règlement ou le décret concernant l'autorisation qui reconnaît votre demande.

Votre demande doit également contenir les renseignements suivants :

Veuillez noter que toutes les informations que vous fournissez dans votre demande, y compris des renseignements personnels, peuvent être divulguées à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et des autres organismes et ministères du gouvernement du Canada s'ils sont nécessaires à l'octroi d'un permis ou d’un certificat.

Les délais de traitement

Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut généralement prévoir combien de temps il faudra pour traiter un permis ou un certificat. L’octroi d’un permis en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et de la Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus est un acte exceptionnel à la discrétion du ministre des Affaires étrangères. Par conséquent, les demandeurs ne devraient pas se fier à l'octroi d'un permis ou d’un certificat et devraient s’abstenir d’entreprendre des activités interdites par les sanctions avant de recevoir un permis signé. Pour les demandes de certificats soumises aux termes de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, le délai de traitement variera selon le type de certificat demandé.

Coordonnées

Pour présenter une demande de permis ou de certificat en application des règlements applicables, les renseignements décrits ci-dessus, ainsi que tout autre document à l’appui, peuvent être envoyés à la Direction de la coordination des politiques et des opérations des sanctions aux coordonnées suivantes.

Affaires mondiales Canada
Direction de la coordination des politiques et des opérations des sanctions (PER)
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-995-9085
Courriel : sanctions@international.gc.ca

Permits liés à la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus

Pour appliquer pour un permit ou un certificat lié à la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, envoyez une requête ainsi que la documentation à l’appui à la Direction de droit criminel, de la sécurité et de la diplomatie à l’adresse suivante:

Affaires Mondiales Canada
Direction de droit criminel, de la sécurité et de la diplomatie (JLA)
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A 0G2
Courriel: freeze-gel@international.gc.ca

Remarque sur les permis d’importation et d’exportation

Le traitement de demandes de permis et de certificats dans le cadre des sanctions diffère du traitement de permis dans le cadre de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, qui se relie à la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée, à la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée, et à la Liste des pays visés. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les permis d’importation et d’exportation, consultez la page Contrôles à l'exportation et l'importation.

Date de modification: