Canadian Sanctions Related to Myanmar

Types of sanctions

Arms embargo

Asset freeze

Technical assistance prohibition

Recent developments

  • 2019-03-04 - Regulations were amended
  • 2018-06-25 - Regulations were amended
  • 2012-04-24 - Regulations were amended
Do you need a permit or certificate?

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Myanmar were enacted under the Special Economic Measures Act to respond to the human rights and humanitarian situation in Myanmar. On December 13, 2007, the Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations came into force.

The measures implemented by the Regulations, as amended, include:

  • a freeze on assets in Canada of any designated Myanmar nationals connected with the Myanmar State, as well as prohibitions on several categories of transactions, services and dealings involving property of designated persons, wherever situated; and
  • an arms embargo, including prohibitions on exporting and importing arms and related material to and from Myanmar, on communicating technical data related to military activities or arms and related material, and on financial services related to military activities or arms and related material.

Exceptions

The Regulations provide for certain exclusions to the above measures, including:

  • some payments required under contracts entered into before a party was designated under the Regulations;
  • dealings related to humanitarian or development assistance;
  • dealings required to move financial assets away from designated persons; and
  • certain protective or non-lethal military clothing and equipment when intended for use by media, humanitarian, human rights or other listed personnel.

Permits and Certificates

A separate Special Economic Measures (Burma) Permit Authorization Order (SOR/2007-286), made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act, authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

Background

On December 13, 2007, the Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations came into force in order to respond to the gravity of the human rights and humanitarian situation in Myanmar, which threatened peace and security in the entire region.

Following seemingly positive developments in Myanmar in 2010, including progress towards democracy and improvements to the human rights situation, Canada eased its economic sanctions against Myanmar on April 24, 2012. Most prohibitions under the Special Economic Measures Act were suspended, including most of those pertaining to exports, imports, financial services and investment.

However, Canada maintained sanctions against certain listed individuals and entities, which are still in place today. A trade embargo on arms and related material, as well as on related technical and financial assistance, also remains in place.

Stemming from a spike in violence, including significant and widespread security and “clearing operations” by Myanmar’s armed forces, over 740,000 Rohingya refugees have fled from Myanmar to Bangladesh since August 2017.This conflict has resulted in widespread and significant needs in both Myanmar and Bangladesh.

As a result of the crisis, in October 2017, Prime Minister Trudeau appointed the Honourable Bob Rae as Special Envoy to Myanmar. In April 2018, Mr. Rae submitted his final report outlining 17 recommendations for Canadian action. In May 2018, the Government of Canada released Canada’s Strategy to respond to the Rohingya Crisis, informed by Mr. Rae’s report. Both Mr. Rae’s final report and Canada’s Strategy recognized the need for Canada to enhance the effectiveness of targeted sanctions against those who have committed gross human rights violations in the course of the current crisis. The Strategy noted that Canada will continue to work to identify senior military officials in Myanmar with the aim of imposing sanctions for their role in the security operations against the Rohingya.

On June 25, 2018, the Regulations were amended to add seven (7) additional individuals to the Schedule in the Regulations. These individuals are all senior officials in Myanmar’s military who occupied positions of authority during the military operations against the Rohingya in Rakhine State, which led to the current humanitarian and security crisis in Myanmar and Bangladesh. Canada continues to review the need for further sanctions as appropriate.

Selected documents

Regulations

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Announcements

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Related links

Legal advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Date Modified:

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Myanmar

Types de sanctions

Embargo sur les armes

Gel des avoirs

Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Développements récents

  • 2019-03-04 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2018-06-25 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2012-04-24 - Règlements ont été modifiés
Avez-vous besoin d'un permis ou d'un certificate?

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées au Myanmar étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales afin de répondre à la situation humanitaire et des droits de la personne au Myanmar. Le 13 décembre 2007, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Birmanie est entré en vigueur.

Les mesures prévues par le Règlement comprennent :

  • le gel, au Canada, des avoirs de ressortissants myanmarais désignés, qui entretiennent des liens avec l'État du Myanmar, ainsi qu’une interdiction d’effectuer plusieurs catégories d’opérations, de transactions et de services impliquant des biens de personnes désignées, indépendamment de leur situation;
  • un embargo sur les armes, comprenant des interdictions portant sur l’exportation et l’importation d’armes et de matériel connexe entre le Canada et le Myanmar, sur la communication de données techniques liées aux activités militaires ou aux armes ou au matériel connexe et sur les services financiers liés aux activités militaires ou aux armes ou au matériel connexe.

Exceptions

Le Règlement prévoit certaines exceptions aux mesures mentionnées ci-haut, dont :

  • certains paiements exigibles en vertu de contrats conclus avant qu’une partie ne soit désignée en vertu du Règlement;
  • les opérations liées à l’aide humanitaire ou à l’aide au développement;
  • les opérations nécessaires pour retirer de ses actifs financiers du contrôle d’une personne désignée;
  • certains vêtements et équipements militaires de protection ou non meurtrier destiné l’usage de personnel médiatique, humanitaire ou d’observation des droits humains, et certaines autre catégories de personnel.

Permis et certificats

Le Décret concernant l’autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales - Birmanie), adopté en vertu du paragraphe 4 (4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, autorise le ministre des Affaires étrangères à délivrer à toute personne au Canada et à tout Canadien à l'extérieur du Canada un permis pour effectuer une opération, ou toute catégorie d’opérations, qui fait l’objet d’une interdiction ou d’une restriction au titre de ce Règlement.

Contexte

Le 13 décembre 2007, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Birmanie est entré en vigueur afin de répondre à la gravité de la situation humanitaire et des droits de la personne au Myanmar, qui menaçait la paix et la sécurité dans toute la région.

À la suite de l’évolution apparemment positive de la situation au Myanmar en 2010, y compris les progrès vers la démocratie et l’amélioration de la situation des droits de la personne, le Canada a assoupli ses sanctions économiques contre le Myanmar le 24 avril 2012. La plupart des interdictions contenues dans la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales ont été suspendues, y compris la majorité de celles concernant les exportations, les importations, les services financiers et l’investissement.

Toutefois, le Canada a maintenu les sanctions contre certaines personnes et entités qui sont toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui. De plus, un embargo commercial est toujours en vigueur sur les armes et le matériel connexe, ainsi que sur la fourniture d’aide technique ou de services financiers s’y rattachant.

À la suite d’une flambée de violence, et d’importantes opérations de sécurité et de « nettoyage » généralisées menées par les forces armées du Myanmar, plus de 740 000 réfugiés rohingyas ont fui le Myanmar pour se rendre au Bangladesh depuis août 2017. Ce conflit a entraîné des besoins humanitaires importants et généralisés au Myanmar et au Bangladesh.

En raison de la crise, le premier ministre Trudeau a désigné l’honorable Bob Rae comme envoyé spécial au Myanmar en octobre 2017. En avril 2018, M. Rae a présenté son rapport final dans lequel il formulait 17 recommandations sur les mesures que devrait prendre le Canada. À la lumière du rapport de M. Rae, le gouvernement du Canada a publié en mai 2018 la Stratégie du Canada pour répondre à la crise des Rohingyas. Le rapport final de M. Rae ainsi que la Stratégie du Canada reconnaissent la nécessité pour le Canada d’améliorer l’efficacité des sanctions ciblées contre ceux qui ont commis des violations flagrantes des droits de la personne dans le cadre de la crise actuelle. Cette stratégie précise que le Canada continuera de chercher à identifier d’autres hauts responsables militaires du Myanmar dans le but de leur imposer des sanctions en raison du rôle qu’ils ont joué dans les opérations de sécurité menées contre les Rohingyas.

Le 25 juin 2018, le Règlement a été modifié afin d’ajouter sept autres personnes à l’annexe du Règlement. Ces personnes sont toutes de hauts responsables de l’armée du Myanmar qui ont occupé des postes d’autorité pendant les opérations militaires menées contre les Rohingyas dans l’État de Rakhine, lesquelles opérations ont conduit à la crise humanitaire et sécuritaire actuelle au Myanmar et au Bangladesh. Le Canada continue d’examiner la nécessité d’imposer d’autres sanctions, au besoin.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlements

Les règlements et décrets en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Déclarations

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.

Date de modification: