Language selection

Search

Canada-Myanmar relations

Canada’s areas of action

Bilateral relationship

Canada-Myanmar relations date back to the early 20th century. Formal diplomatic relations were established following Myanmar’s accession to independence in 1948. However, relations became strained after the 1962 military coup and the decades of military rule that followed. Nevertheless, Canada remained involved throughout this period, in particular by offering humanitarian aid, most notably in the aftermath of Cyclone Nargis in 2008.

In 2012, Canada eased its economic sanctions against Myanmar. Most prohibitions under the 2007 Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations were suspended, including most of those pertaining to exports, imports, financial services and investment.

However, Canada maintained sanctions against certain listed individuals and entities, which are still in place today. A trade embargo on arms and related material, as well as on related technical and financial assistance, also remains in place. For more information, refer to Canadian sanctions related to Myanmar.

In March 2013, Canada appointed its first-ever resident ambassador to Myanmar. By August 2014, the Embassy of Canada to Myanmar in Yangon officially opened. In August 2015, a visa application centre was opened in Yangon, making it possible for Myanmar citizens to apply for Canadian visas locally.

On November 8, 2015, the National League for Democracy, the party of Nobel laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, won a decisive victory in Myanmar’s first largely free and fair general election in more than five decades. While the constitution, drafted under the former military regime, bars Ms. Suu Kyi from becoming president, she is the country’s de facto head of government. In addition to her nomination as state counsellor (a position akin to that of prime minister), she serves as minister of foreign affairs and minister of the President’s Office.

The peace process between the Government of Myanmar and the ethnic armed organizations (EAOs) is a key component of domestic politics in Myanmar. The objective of the peace process is to resolve the conflict between ethnic insurgency operations and the Government of Myanmar, including the military, through effective political dialogue and efforts to gradually integrate EAOs into the fold of federalism in Myanmar. Political dialogue between the government and EAOs began in 2011 as part of broader government reform efforts toward a transition to democracy.

The human rights situation in Myanmar remains of serious concern across the country, in particular the treatment of ethnic and religious minority groups. Most recently, a large proportion of the Rohingya population, an ethnic minority that has faced systematic persecution, has been forced to flee Myanmar because of a brutal security operation led by Myanmar’s security forces.

Rohingya crisis

Stemming from a spike in violence, including a significant security operation and “clearing exercise” by Myanmar’s armed forces, over 740,000 Rohingya refugees have fled from Myanmar to Bangladesh since August 2017. It is estimated that 600 000 Rohingya remain in Rakhine State.

This crisis has resulted in widespread and significant humanitarian needs in both Myanmar and Bangladesh. The Rohingya refugee population in Cox’s Bazar, Bangladesh, now the largest refugee camp in the world, is highly vulnerable, having fled conflict and experienced severe trauma. Refugees are living in extremely difficult, congested conditions. The humanitarian situation in Rakhine state, and other conflict-affected regions of Myanmar, is also alarming.

In October 2017, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau appointed the Honourable Bob Rae as Special Envoy to Myanmar. In April 2018, Mr. Rae submitted his final report outlining 17 recommendations for Canadian action. In May 2018, Prime Minister Trudeau released Canada’s Strategy to respond to the Rohingya Crisis, informed by Mr. Rae’s report, and focused on:

  • alleviating the humanitarian crisis;
  • encouraging positive political developments in Myanmar;
  • ensuring accountability for the crimes committed; and,
  • enhancing international cooperation.

Canada’s strategy includes a commitment of $300 million of international assistance funding over three years to address humanitarian, development and peace and stabilization needs in Myanmar and Bangladesh.

In June 2018, Canada sanctioned seven individuals involved in the military operations launched in Rakhine state in August 2017. Canada has in place comprehensive sanctions related to Myanmar under the Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations, including an arms embargo and an asset freeze and dealings prohibition targeting both entities and individuals. Canada also sanctioned a high-ranking military official in February 2018 under the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act as a result of the significant role played by this military official in human rights violations against the Rohingya.

Canada continues to exercise its leadership in promoting international cooperation in response to the crisis in order to better coordinate assistance and align advocacy efforts. Canada will also support efforts at the UN and in other multilateral institutions to build political will and coordinate international efforts. Accountability has been a priority for Canada since the crisis began in August 2017, and Canada continues to play a leadership role in international efforts to end impunity in Myanmar. Canada has been a strong and vocal advocate in the UN to establish the Independent Investigative Mechanism (IIM) for Myanmar.

For more information please visit our page on Canada’s response to the Rohingya crisis in Myanmar and Bangladesh.

Development relationship

Canada’s bilateral development assistance program was launched in 2013. In 2017, the governments of Canada and Myanmar signed a memorandum of understanding to strengthen effective development assistance.

Aligned with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, Canada’s assistance in Myanmar puts women and girls at the centre of the efforts to help improve the human dignity, well-being, and rights for vulnerable and marginalized people. Overall, it aims to contribute to a future where diversity, inclusion, human rights and peace and security are respected.

Building on the recommendations of the final report of the Advisory Commission on Rakhine State, established by the Government of Myanmar in August 2016, and the recommendations from Canada’s Special Envoy to Myanmar, Canada has developed a coordinated strategy to respond to the Rohingya crisis that includes humanitarian and development assistance and peace and security initiatives, and diplomatic engagement.

Canada’s bilateral development assistance projects across Myanmar’s states and regions aim to:

  • advance sexual and reproductive health and rights and counter sexual and gender-based violence
  • promote women’s economic rights and leadership
  • understand federalism and promote inclusive governance and the protection of human rights
  • increase women’s and girls’ and civil society organizations’ participation in public decision-making and democratic processes
  • support the inclusion of women and marginalized groups in the peace process
  • prepare for climate change impacts
  • build capacity and information for evidence-based policy-making

Search the Project Browser to see what Canada is doing to support the human dignity, well-being and rights for vulnerable and marginalized people in Myanmar.

Federalism and the peace process

Canada strongly supports the national peace process in Myanmar and the negotiations between the Government of Myanmar and non-state ethnic armed groups to secure an inclusive and lasting peace following more than 70 years of civil war. Recognizing that establishing a federal system is a key element of the political dialogue in the peace process, Canada has taken a leading role in training on federalism.

Humanitarian assistance

Canada’s humanitarian assistance to Myanmar is provided on the basis of need and in line with humanitarian principles.

Canada’s gender-sensitive, life-saving humanitarian assistance to Rohingya refugees supports programming to improve the living conditions for refugees in camps and settlements, support host communities in Bangladesh to help mitigate the impact of the crisis and address the needs of displaced and other vulnerable populations in Myanmar. Since the beginning of 2017, Canada has provided more than $66.1 million to help address the needs of crises-affected people in Myanmar and Bangladesh.

Canada’s programming takes the impact of the crisis on the needs and rights of women and girls into consideration and supports programming that integrates those needs into multi-sectoral humanitarian programming. Examples of how Canada’s programming helps meet the needs of women and girls include:

  • psychosocial counselling services for survivors of sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV) and other forms of trauma
  • prevention and medical treatment for survivors of SGBV
  • provision of sexual and reproductive health services, including support for family planning services, clean delivery kits and emergency obstetrics care
  • management of women and child-friendly spaces
  • promotion of international humanitarian law, including protection of civilians, in particular women and girls

This approach is closely aligned with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy as well as the Whistler Declaration of Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women and Girls in Humanitarian Action.

Human rights and active citizenship

Protecting human rights and promoting good governance underpin all aspects of Canada’s engagement in Myanmar, and Canada has worked closely with local civil society champions to help bring about positive change. Canada has, for example, provided legal expertise to support national efforts to strengthen legislative protection for freedom of speech and public access to information. Canada has promoted high-profile human rights at documentary film festivals and has funded paralegal training for national LGBTQI organizations to help protect vulnerable community members. Canada has also trained grassroots leaders on the roles and responsibilities of local government so that they can advocate more effectively on behalf of their communities.

Trade relationship

Canada reinstated general preferential tariff and least-developed country tariff status for Myanmar in March 2015. Canadians and Canadian companies planning to conduct activities in Myanmar are encouraged to familiarize themselves with Canada’s remaining sanctions and restrictions. Following some positive developments in Myanmar in 2010, Canada eased its economic sanctions against Myanmar in 2012. Most prohibitions under the Special Economic Measures Act were suspended, including most of those pertaining to exports, imports, financial services and investment. However, Canada maintains sanctions against certain listed individuals and entities, which are still in place today. A trade embargo on arms and related material, as well as on related technical and financial assistance, also remains in place. In June 2018, the Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations were amended to add seven additional individuals. More information is also available at Canada’s economic sanctions against Myanmar.

Canada’s bilateral trade volume with Myanmar has grown in recent years but remains modest. In 2018, bilateral merchandise trade amounted to $165.9 million. Canadian merchandise imports from Myanmar reached $131.2 million, with exports valued at $34.7 million. Canada’s imports from Myanmar consisted largely of woven and knitted apparel, footwear, plastics, and textiles; while Canada's primary exports to Myanmar were paper products, cereals, plastics, and motor vehicles. The Myanmar economy is still largely agricultural, though the state-owned energy sector remains the largest source of export revenue. In recent years, there has been a noticeable increase in interest in certain emerging sectors in Myanmar, particularly in the information and communications technology, extractives, infrastructure, aerospace, and education sectors.

Operations

Capacity building

Canada engages with Myanmar on efforts to increase regional peace and security, including counterterrorism efforts and transnational organized crime. Canada funds partners, such as the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime and UN Women, to strengthen the capacity of law enforcement officials in Myanmar and in the region to respond to migrant smuggling and transnational organized crime, with particular attention to gender equality and human rights. Myanmar is currently Canada’s Country Coordinator for Dialogue Relations with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and helps facilitate Canada-ASEAN dialogue on key priorities for Canada and the region. Through Canada’s regional programming with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, Myanmar also receives counterterrorism capacity-building support. Finally, Myanmar is eligible for the Canadian-ASEAN Scholarships and Educational Exchanges for Development (SEED) program, which provides short-term profession development to mid-career professionals from ASEAN countries.

Partners and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Myanmar work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

 

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Myanmar

Domaines d’intervention du Canada

Relations bilatérales

Les relations entre le Canada et le Myanmar remontent au début du XXe siècle. Des relations diplomatiques officielles ont été établies à la suite de l’indépendance du Myanmar en 1948. Cependant, celles-ci sont devenues plus tendues après le coup d’État militaire de 1962 et les décennies de régime militaire qui ont suivi. Le Canada a tout de même maintenu la relation au cours de cette période, notamment en offrant de l’aide humanitaire, surtout à la suite du passage du cyclone Nargis, en 2008.

En 2012, le Canada a assoupli ses sanctions économiques contre le Myanmar. La majorité des interdictions contenues dans le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Birmanie de 2007 ont été suspendues, dont la plupart de celles portant sur les exportations, les importations, les services financiers et l’investissement.

Toutefois, le Canada a maintenu les sanctions contre certaines personnes et entités, et elles sont toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui. De plus, un embargo commercial est toujours en vigueur sur les armes et le matériel connexe, ainsi que sur la fourniture d’aide technique ou de services financiers connexes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez les sanctions canadiennes liées au Myanmar.

En mars 2013, le Canada a nommé pour la première fois un ambassadeur résident au Myanmar. En août 2014, l’ambassade du Canada au Myanmar à Yangon a officiellement ouvert ses portes. En août 2015, un centre de réception des demandes de visa a ouvert à Yangon, ce qui permet aux citoyens du pays de présenter localement des demandes de visa canadien.

Le 8 novembre 2015, la Ligue nationale pour la démocratie, le parti de la lauréate du prix Nobel de la paix, Aung San Suu Kyi, a remporté une victoire décisive aux premières élections générales globalement libres et régulières tenues au Myanmar en plus de cinquante ans. Même si la Constitution, rédigée sous l’ancien régime militaire, interdit à Mme Suu Kyi de devenir présidente, elle est de fait chef du gouvernement du pays. En plus de sa nomination à titre de conseillère d’État (un poste semblable à celui de premier ministre), elle cumule les fonctions de ministre des Affaires étrangères et de ministre du Bureau du président.

Le processus de paix entre le gouvernement du Myanmar et les organisations ethniques armées constitue un important volet de la politique intérieure du Myanmar. Ce processus de paix vise à résoudre le conflit entre les groupes d’insurgés ethniques et le gouvernement du Myanmar, y compris l’armée, par un dialogue politique efficace et des efforts visant à faire graduellement adhérer les organisations ethniques armées à la mise en place d’un État fédéral. Le dialogue politique entre le gouvernement et ces organisations a débuté en 2011 dans le cadre d’un programme de réforme du gouvernement plus vaste devant mener à la transition démocratique au pays.

La situation des droits de la personne au Myanmar demeure très préoccupante, en particulier le traitement réservé aux groupes ethniques et religieux minoritaires. Plus récemment, la population rohingya, une minorité ethnique qui a fait l’objet d’une discrimination généralisée, a été contrainte de fuir le Myanmar en raison d’une opération de sécurité brutale menée par les forces de sécurité.

La crise des Rohingyas

À la suite d’une flambée de violence, accompagnée d’une vaste opération de sécurité et « de nettoyage » menée par les forces armées du Myanmar, plus de 730 000 réfugiés rohingyas ont fui le pays pour se réfugier au Bangladesh depuis août 2017. On estime que 600 000 Rohingyas se trouvent toujours dans l'État de Rakhine.

Cette crise a créé des besoins humanitaires importants et généralisés dans les deux pays. Les réfugiés rohingyas, qui ont fui le conflit et subi de graves traumatismes, sont très vulnérables. Ils vivent entassés dans ce qui est aujourd’hui le plus grand camp de réfugiés du monde, à Cox’s Bazar, dans des conditions extrêmement difficiles. Les fortes pluies de la mousson et les inondations survenues de juillet à septembre 2018 ont aggravé la situation dans les camps et les installations. La situation humanitaire dans l’État du Rakhine, et dans d’autres régions du Myanmar touchées par des conflits, est également alarmante.

En octobre 2017, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a désigné l’honorable Bob Rae comme envoyé spécial auprès du Myanmar. En avril 2018, M. Rae a présenté son rapport final dans lequel il formulait 17 recommandations sur les mesures que devrait prendre le Canada. À la lumière du rapport de M. Rae, le premier ministre Trudeau a fait publier en mai 2018 la Stratégie du Canada pour répondre à la crise des Rohingyas, dont les principaux objectifs sont les suivants :

  • alléger la crise humanitaire,
  • encourager des développements politiques positifs au Myanmar,
  • veiller à ce que les auteurs des crimes commis soient traduits en justice, et
  • améliorer la coopération international.

La stratégie du Canada prévoit un versement de 300 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour l’aide internationale afin de répondre aux besoins d’aide humanitaire, de développement, de paix et de stabilisation au Myanmar et au Bangladesh.

En juin 2018, le Canada et l’Union européenne ont sanctionné sept personnes impliquées dans les opérations militaires lancées dans l’État du Rakhine, en août 2017. Le Canada a mis en vigueur des sanctions globales visant le Myanmar en vertu du Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Birmanie, qui inclut un embargo sur les armes, ainsi qu’une interdiction des transactions visant autant des entités que des individus en particulier, en plus du gel de leurs avoirs. Le Canada a également sanctionné un haut responsable militaire en février 2018 en vertu de la Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, en raison du rôle important qu’il a joué dans les violations des droits de la personne commises contre les Rohingyas.

Le Canada continue d’exercer son leadership afin d’encourager la coopération internationale face à la crise, de façon à mieux coordonner l’aide et les efforts de défense des droits. Le Canada appuiera également les efforts déployés à l’ONU et dans d’autres institutions multilatérales pour renforcer la volonté politique et coordonner les efforts internationaux. La responsabilisation est une priorité pour le Canada depuis le début de la crise en août 2017. D’ailleurs, le Canada continue de jouer un rôle de premier plan dans les efforts internationaux visant à mettre fin à l'impunité au Myanmar. Le Canada a demandé haut et fort aux Nations Unies la création d'un mécanisme d'enquête indépendant pour le Myanmar.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez notre page sur la réponse du Canada à la crise des Rohingyas au Myanmar et au Bangladesh.

Relations en matière de développement

Le programme d’aide bilatérale au développement du Canada a été lancé en 2013. En 2017, les gouvernements du Canada et du Myanmar ont conclu un protocole d’entente visant à renforcer l’efficacité de l’aide au développement.

Conformément à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, l’aide canadienne au Myanmar place les femmes et les filles au centre des efforts visant à accroître la dignité humaine, le bien-être et le respect des droits de toutes les personnes vulnérables et marginalisées. Dans l’ensemble, ces efforts visent à favoriser un avenir caractérisé par le respect de la diversité, de l’inclusion, des droits de la personne, et de la paix et de la sécurité.

Dans foulée des recommandations du rapport final de la Commission consultative sur l’État de Rakhine, formulées par le gouvernement du Myanmar en août 2016, et de celles de l’envoyé spécial du Canada au Myanmar, le Canada a élaboré une stratégie coordonnée pour répondre à la crise des Rohingyas. Celle-ci comprend une aide humanitaire, une aide au développement, des initiatives de paix et sécurité et un engagement diplomatique.

Les projets bilatéraux d’aide au développement du Canada dans les États et les régions du Myanmar visent à :

  • faire progresser la santé sexuelle et génésique et les droits connexes, et à lutter contre la violence sexuelle et sexiste,
  • promouvoir les droits économiques des femmes et leur leadership,
  • faire comprendre le fédéralisme et promouvoir une gouvernance inclusive et la protection des droits de la personne,
  • accroître la participation des femmes, des filles et des organisations de la société civile à la prise de décisions publiques et aux processus démocratiques,
  • soutenir l’inclusion des femmes et des groupes marginalisés dans le processus de paix,
  • assurer la préparation aux effets des changements climatiques, et
  • renforcer les capacités et l’information en vue de l’élaboration de politiques fondées sur des données probantes.

Consultez la Banque de projets pour voir ce que le Canada fait pour soutenir la dignité humaine, le bien-être et les droits des personnes vulnérables et marginalisées au Myanmar.

Fédéralisme et processus de paix

Le Canada appuie fermement le processus de paix national au Myanmar et les négociations entre le gouvernement du Myanmar et les groupes ethniques armés non étatiques dans le but d’en arriver à une paix inclusive et durable après plus de 70 ans de guerre civile. Le Canada reconnaît que l'établissement d'un système fédéral est un élément clé du dialogue politique dans le processus de paix, et c’est la raison pour laquelle il a joué un rôle prépondérant dans la formation sur le fédéralisme.

Aide humanitaire

Le Canada offre une aide humanitaire au Myanmar en fonction de ses besoins, dans le respect des principes humanitaires.

Le Canada offre une aide humanitaire vitale aux réfugiés rohingyas, en tenant compte de la spécificité des sexes et en appuyant des programmes conçus pour améliorer les conditions de vie des réfugiés dans les camps et les installations, aider les collectivités d’accueil du Bangladesh à atténuer les répercussions de la crise, et répondre aux besoins des populations déplacées et des autres populations vulnérables du Myanmar. Depuis le début de 2017, le Canada a versé plus de 66,1 millions de dollars pour répondre aux besoins des personnes touchées par les crises au Myanmar et au Bangladesh.

Les programmes du Canada tiennent compte de l’incidence de la crise sur les besoins et les droits des femmes et des filles, tout en appuyant des programmes qui intègrent ces besoins aux programmes humanitaires multisectoriels. Voici quelques exemples de la façon dont les programmes du Canada aident à répondre aux besoins des femmes et des filles :

  • des services de counseling psychosocial pour les victimes de violence sexuelle et fondée sur le sexe, et d’autres formes de traumatismes,
  • la prévention de la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le sexe, et le traitement médical pour les survivantes,
  • la prestation de services liés à la santé sexuelle et génésique, dont l’appui aux services de planification familiale, des trousses d’accouchement propres et la prestation de soins obstétricaux d’urgence,
  • la gestion d’espaces sûrs et accueillants pour les femmes et les enfants, et
  • la promotion du droit international humanitaire, notamment la protection des civils, en particulier les femmes et les filles.

Cette démarche cadre bien avec la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, ainsi qu’avec la Déclaration de Whistler sur l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles dans l’action humanitaire.

Droits de la personne et citoyenneté active

La protection des droits de la personne et la promotion de la bonne gouvernance sous-tendent tous les aspects de l’engagement du Canada au Myanmar, et le Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec des champions de la société civile locale pour favoriser des changements positifs. À titre d’exemple, le Canada a fourni des services juridiques experts pour soutenir les efforts nationaux visant à renforcer la protection juridique de la liberté d’expression et l’accès du public à l’information. Le Canada a fait la promotion de festivals de films documentaires prestigieux sur les droits de la personne et a financé des programmes de formation parajuridique destinés aux organismes LGBTI nationaux pour aider à protéger les membres vulnérables de la communauté. Le Canada a également formé des leaders communautaires sur les rôles et les responsabilités des gouvernements locaux afin qu’ils puissent défendre plus efficacement les intérêts de leurs collectivités.

Relations commerciales

En mars 2015, le Canada a rétabli le statut tarifaire préférentiel général et le statut tarifaire du pays le moins avancé pour le Myanmar. Les Canadiens et les entreprises canadiennes qui prévoient mener des activités au Myanmar sont encouragés à se familiariser avec les sanctions et les restrictions imposées par le Canada. Après quelques développements positifs au Myanmar en 2010, le Canada a assoupli ses sanctions économiques en 2012. La plupart des interdictions aux termes de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales ont été suspendues, y compris la plupart de celles qui touchent les exportations, les importations, les services financiers et les investissements. Toutefois, le Canada maintient des sanctions contre certaines personnes et entités inscrites sur la Liste, qui sont toujours en vigueur aujourd'hui. Un embargo commercial sur les armes et le matériel connexe, ainsi que sur l’aide technique et financière connexe, reste aussi en vigueur. En juin 2018, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales (Birmanie) a été modifié à la suite de l’ajout des noms de sept personnes supplémentaires. On peut en apprendre davantage sur les sanctions canadiennes liées au Myanmar.

Le volume du commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et le Myanmar a augmenté ces dernières années, mais il demeure modeste. En 2018, le commerce de marchandises s'élevait à 165,9 millions de dollars. Les importations de marchandises du Myanmar ont atteint 131,2 millions de dollars, tandis que les exportations canadiennes ont atteint 34,7 millions de dollars. Les importations en provenance du Myanmar étaient principalement de vêtements tissés et tricotés, de chaussures, de plastiques et de textiles, tandis que les principales exportations du Canada étaient les produits du papier, les céréales, les plastiques et les véhicules automobiles. L'économie du Myanmar est encore fortement axée sur l’agriculture, bien que le secteur énergétique public reste la principale source de revenus d'exportation. Au cours des dernières années, l'intérêt de clients canadiens pour certains secteurs émergents au Myanmar s'est sensiblement accru, en particulier dans les secteurs des technologies de l'information et des communications, des industries extractives, des infrastructures, de l'aérospatiale, des assurances et de l'éducation.

Opérations

Renforcement des capacités

Le Canada participe avec le Myanmar aux efforts visant à accroître la paix et la sécurité régionales, ainsi qu’à l’intensification de la lutte contre le terrorisme et la criminalité transnationale organisée. Le Canada finance ses partenaires comme l'Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime et ONU Femmes pour renforcer la capacité des responsables de l'application de la loi au Myanmar et dans la région à lutter contre le trafic de migrants et la criminalité transnationale organisée, en portant une attention toute particulière à l'égalité des genres et aux droits humains. Le Myanmar est actuellement le pays coordonnateur national du Canada en ce qui concerne les relations de dialogue avec l'Association des nations de l'Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE). Il contribue aussi à faciliter le dialogue entre le Canada et l'ANASE sur les grandes priorités du Canada et de la région. Dans le cadre des programmes régionaux du Canada avec l'ANASE, le Myanmar bénéficie également d'un appui au renforcement de ses capacités antiterroristes. Enfin, le Myanmar est admissible au programme Bourses et programmes d’échanges éducationnels pour le développement Canada-ANASE, qui offre un perfectionnement professionnel à court terme aux professionnels à mi- carrière des pays de l'ANASE.

Partenariats multilatéraux

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Myanmar collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

 

Date de modification: