Canadian Sanctions Related to Sudan

Types of sanctions

Arms embargo

Asset freeze

Financial Prohibitions

Technical assistance prohibition

Recent developments

  • 2020-06-01 - Regulations were amended
  • 2019-03-04 - Regulations were amended
  • 2005-05-02 - Regulations were amended
Do you need a permit or certificate?

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Sudan were imposed under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council resolutions. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Sudan include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material to Sudan or to any person in Sudan;
  • a prohibition on the provision, to Sudan or to any person in Sudan, of technical assistance or financial assistance related to arms and related material;
  • an assets freeze against those persons designated by the UN Committee established by Resolution 1591 (2005) to oversee the sanctions against Sudan (the 1591 Committee); and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 1591 Committee.

Causing, facilitating and assisting prohibited activities is prohibited.

Canada also has certain policy measures in place with regard to Sudan, outside the context of United Nations Security Council decisions. More information on these measures can be found on the Embassy of Canada to Sudan website.

Exceptions

There are some exceptions, including for the following:

  • non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use;
  • arms and related material and related technical assistance for certain monitoring, verification or peace support operations;
  • protective clothing temporarily exported to Sudan by United Nations personnel, representatives of the media and humanitarian and development workers and associated personnel, solely for their personal use; and
  • arms and related material or technical assistance brought into the Darfur territory of Sudan with advance approval of the Committee of the Security Council.

Permits and Certificates

Persons affected by the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Sudan can apply for a certificate per sections 11 to 14 of the same regulations. The certificate request may require notification to and/or a decision from the United Nations Security Council or the Committee.

Background

On July 30, 2004, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1556 imposing sanctions against Sudan in response to the humanitarian crisis and widespread human rights violations resulting from the conflict in Darfur region. Since 2004, the sanctions regime against Sudan has been subsequently modified and strengthened with the adoption of a number of successor resolutions. On September 23, 2004, the United Nations Sudan Regulations came into force, implementing decisions of the United Nations Security Council into Canadian domestic law.

The United Nations Sudan Regulations have been subsequently updated to reflect decisions of the United Nations Security Council, most recently on June 1, 2020 to implement Resolution 2035 (2012) and to clarify the prohibitions and exemptions called for in previously implemented resolutions.

Selected documents

Regulations

Regulations and orders made under the United Nations Act:

Related links

Legal advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Date Modified:

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Soudan

Types de sanctions

Embargo sur les armes

Gel des avoirs

Interdictions financières

Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Développements récents

  • 2020-06-01 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2019-03-04 - Règlements ont été modifiés
  • 2005-05-02 - Règlements ont été modifiés
Avez-vous besoin d'un permis ou d'un certificate?

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées au Soudan ont été adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de donner effet aux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures imposées à l’encontre du Soudan comprennent les suivantes :

  • l'interdiction d’exporter des armes et du matériel connexe au Soudan ou à une personne qui s’y trouve;
  • l’interdiction de fournir, au Soudan ou à une personne qui s’y trouve, de l’aide technique ou financière liée aux armes et matériel connexe;
  • l'imposition d'un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées par le Comité des Nations Unies mis sur aux termes de la Résolution 1591 (2005) pour surveiller les sanctions imposées contre le Soudan (le Comité 1591); et
  • l'interdiction de voyager visant les personnes désignées par le Comité 1591.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner, de faciliter ou de contribuer à la perpétration d’actes interdits.

Le Canada a également en place des mesures politiques à l'égard du Soudan, à l'extérieur du contexte des décisions du Conseil de Sécurité des Nations Unies. Ces mesures sont décrites sur le site de l'Ambassade du Canada au Soudan.

Exceptions

Certaines exceptions sont prévues, dont les suivantes :

  • le matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à des fins humanitaires ou de protection;
  • les armes, le matériel connexe et l’aide technique connexe pour certaines opérations de surveillance, de vérification ou du soutien de la paix;
  • les vêtements de protection exportés provisoirement au Soudan par le personnel des Nations Unies,les représentants des médias, le personnel de l’aide humanitaires ou d’aide au développement et le personnel connexe, uniquement pour leur usage personnel;
  • les armes, le matériel connexe ou l’aide technique fournie dans le territoire du Darfour avec l’approbation préalable du Comité du Conseil de sécurité.

Permis et certificats

Les personnes touchées par le Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Soudan peuvent également faire une demande pour un certificat conformément aux articles 11 à 14 du même règlement, bien que ceux-ci peuvent exiger une notification au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies ou à son Comité, ou une décision provenant de l’une ou l’autre de ces organisations.

Contexte

Le 30 juillet 2004, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1556 (2004), en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, imposant des sanctions au Soudan en réponse à la crise humanitaire et aux innombrables violations des droits humains occasionné par le conflit dans la région du Darfour. Depuis 2004, le régime de sanctions contre le Soudan a été modifié et renforcé avec l'adoption de plusieurs résolutions successives. Le 23 septembre 2004, le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Soudan est entré en vigueur, mettant en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies dans le droit interne du Canada.

Le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Soudan a été ultérieurement mis à jour pour refléter les décisions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, plus récemment le 1er juin 2020, pour mettre en œuvre la résolution 2035 (2012) et pour clarifier les interdictions et exemptions demandées dans les résolutions déjà mises en œuvre.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlements

Les règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.

Date de modification: