Canadian Sanctions Related to Mali

Types of sanctions

Asset freeze

Recent developments

  • 2018-10-10 - Regulations entered into force
Do you need a permit or certificate?

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Mali were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council resolutions. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Mali include:

  • an assets freeze against persons designated by the UN committee established by Resolution 2374 (2017) to oversee the sanctions against Mali (the 2374 Committee); and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 2374 Committee.

Background

On September 5, 2017, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 2374 (2017), imposing a travel ban and asset freeze on individuals or entities designated by the 2374 Committee.

To date, no individuals or entities have been designated by the 2374 Committee.

Selected documents

Regulations

Regulations and Orders made under the United Nations Act:

Related links

Legal advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Date Modified:

Sanctions canadiennes liées au Mali

Types de sanctions

Embargo sur les armes

Développements récents

  • 2018-10-10 - Règlements ont entré en vigueur
Avez-vous besoin d'un permis ou d'un certificate?

Interdictions

Des sanctions liées au Mali ont été imposées en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies pour donner effet aux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures imposées à l’encontre du Mali comprennent :

  • un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées par le Comité des Nations Unies institué par la résolution 2374 (2017) pour surveiller les sanctions imposées au Mali (Comité 2374);
  • une interdiction de voyager visant les personnes désignées par le Comité 2374.

Contexte

Le 5 septembre 2017, agissant en vertu du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 2374 (2017), imposant une interdiction de voyager et un gel des avoirs aux personnes ou entités désignées par le Comité 2374.

À ce jour, aucune personne ou entité n’a été désignée par le Comité 2374.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlements

Les règlements et décrets en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.

Date de modification: