Elimination of violence against women and girls

1 in 3 women experience physical or sexual violence in their lifetime, mostly by an intimate partner.200 million girls and women have been subjected to female genital mutilation/cutting.

Violence against women and girls takes many forms and affects every society. Violence against women and girls is a form of gender-based violence.

Canada condemns all forms of violence against women and girls. At the UN (Commission on the Status of Women, General Assembly and the Human Rights Council) and in other forums, Canada supports resolutions to eliminate violence against women and girls.

Canada’s work at the UN has contributed to developing a strong Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women. It has established and renewed the mandate for a UN Special Rapporteur on violence against women, its causes and consequences.

Canada was also instrumental in including sexual and gender-based crimes in the draft Statute for the International Criminal Court and for raising issues of sexual and gender-based violence in digital contexts in multilateral forums.

Canada supports the efforts of women’s rights organizations and women human rights defenders. We will use our international assistance to help prevent sexual and gender-based violence, including harmful practices such as:

  • child, early and forced marriage
  • female genital cutting

Canada is also committed to helping countries implement the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women.

Violence against women and girls violates their human rights— in every context:

  • rape—used as a tool of war
  • trafficking in persons
  • slavery
  • domestic abuse
  • female genital cutting

It is an obstacle to gender equality, development, prosperity, peace and security.

Canada’s international humanitarian assistance supports the prevention of and response to sexual and gender-based violence. Canada is the current lead of the Call to Action on Protection from Gender-Based Violence in Emergencies.

For more information

Date Modified:

Éliminer la violence envers les femmes et les filles

La violence envers les femmes et les filles prend plusieurs formes et touche toutes les sociétés. Une femme sur trois a été victime de violence physique ou sexuelle au cours de sa vie. Cette violence est souvent commise par un partenaire intime. Il s’agit d’un type de violence fondée sur le genre.

Le Canada condamne toutes les formes de violence envers les femmes et les filles. Aux Nations Unies (Commission de la condition de la femme, Assemblée générale et Conseil des droits de l’homme) et dans d’autres forums, le Canada appuie les résolutions visant l’élimination de la violence envers les femmes et les filles.

Les efforts du Canada aux Nations Unies ont contribué à l’élaboration d’une solide Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes. Le Canada a établi et renouvelé le mandat du Rapporteur spécial de l’ONU sur la violence contre les femmes, ses causes et ses conséquences.

Le Canada a joué un rôle déterminant quant à l’inclusion des crimes sexuels et sexistes dans l’ébauche du Statut de la Cour pénale internationale. Il en est de même en ce qui concerne les questions de violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre dans le contexte numérique et les tribunes multilatérales. De plus, le Canada joue un rôle de chef de file dans les efforts mondiaux déployés pour mettre fin aux mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés à l’Assemblée générale et au Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies.

Le Canada appuie les efforts des organismes et des personnes qui défendent les droits des femmes. Prévenir et intervenir en matière de violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre, y compris les pratiques néfastes, est une priorité de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada.

Le Canada s’est engagé à aider les pays mettant en œuvre la Convention de l’ONU sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes.

La violence envers les femmes et les filles est un viol de leurs droits, peu importe la façon dont elle se manifeste :

La violence fait obstacle à l’égalité des genres, au développement, à la prospérité et à la paix et sécurité.

L'aide humanitaire internationale du Canada aide à prévenir la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre et l'intervention dans ce domaine. Le Canada est actuellement le chef de file de l'appel à l'action pour la protection contre la violence sexiste en situation d'urgence.

Pour en savoir plus

Date de modification: