Advancing gender equality and empowering women and girls

Our commitments to advancing gender equality, the empowerment of women and girls, and the promotion and protection of their human rights.

Gender equality contributes to:

  • long-term sustainable economic growth
  • social progress
  • sustainable development
  • national, political, social, cultural and economic development

We are committed to promoting these key Canadian values through:

  • international development assistance
  • diplomatic advocacy
  • trade policy and services

Advancing gender equality is at the heart of our international assistance. All of our development policies and programs aim to empower women and we implement specific projects to achieve these goals.

Protecting and advancing women’s and girls’ human rights remains a foreign policy priority. These discussions take place with other countries and in multilateral forums.

The Government of Canada empowers women to be equal decision-makers and agents of change in economic, social and political processes. The focus is on:

  • achieving equitable and sustainable progress
  • improving women's status
  • respecting women’s rights and contributions

Progress toward gender equality and empowerment of women and girls in the development agenda requires:

  • a human rights-based approach
  • the engagement of men and boys
  • the support to women’s organizations

Supporting the rights of women and girls

Through our international development and peace and security initiatives, we support international efforts to enhance the role of women and girls.

We played an important role in advocating for gender equality and empowering women and girls in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. We work with like-minded partners to implement gender equality within all programs.

Canada was one of the first countries to sign and ratify the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW). The convention set international standards for eliminating gender discrimination.

We participated in the groundbreaking development of the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action in 1993. This declaration stated that “women’s rights are human rights”.

It also called for action to integrate the equal status and human rights of women and girls in the mainstream of UN system-wide activities.

The Government of Canada supports resolutions to eliminate violence against women and girls—this includes so-called ‘honour’ crimes, female genital mutilation and other traditional or customary practices that affect the health of women and girls. We were also instrumental in ensuring sexual and gender-based crimes were included in the draft Statute for the International Criminal Court.

Our work at the UN has contributed to the development of the Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women and the establishment and renewal of the mandate for a UN Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women, its Causes and Consequences. The Special Rapporteur’s role is to gather information on violations and make recommendations to eliminate violence against women and to help cope with its consequences.

The Government of Canada also launched an Action Plan for the implementation of UN Security Council Resolutions on Women, Peace and Security, in October 2010.

World conferences on women

The UN World Conferences on Women have been important catalysts to move the agenda forward on gender equality, the empowerment of women and girls and their human rights.

We played a key role at the 1995 Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing, which resulted in the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action. The declaration identified 12 critical areas of concern and set out a course of action to ensure the protection and advancement of women’s rights around the world.

The United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) meets every year to evaluate progress and identify challenges related to gender equality.

Following the adoption of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, the CSW annual meeting has reviewed the Beijing declaration every five years. It reaffirms the international community’s commitment to its full and accelerated implementation. Canada will become a member of this Commission for the 2017–2020 term.

We promote similar efforts in other international platforms such as the:

  • Commonwealth
  • Francophonie
  • Organization of American States
  • Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
  • Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development 
  • Group of Seven (G7)

Canada and Women Deliver

Women Deliver is a leading global advocate and convener for advancing gender equality, including the sexual and reproductive health and rights of girls and women. The organization is an important partner for Canada, and its unique mandate and approach aligns with Canada’s priorities.

Women Deliver promotes action by bringing together diverse voices and interests to drive progress for gender equality. Women Deliver places a particular focus on sexual and reproductive health and rights. The organization uses different platforms—such as conferences, initiatives and communication tools—to bring the best ideas forward, highlight what works and issue calls for action.

Women Deliver 2019 Conference

Women Deliver holds a global conference every three years. The Women Deliver 2019 Conference—held in Vancouver in early June—was not just a conference but a movement to promote gender equality worldwide and bring about transformational change. Canada is proud to be a part of this movement.

The theme of the 2019 conference was power: the power of individuals, of political, economic and social structures, of movements and collective action, and how it can drive—or hinder—progress and change.

The conference brought together more than 8,000 people from more than 165 countries and had more than 100,000 virtual participants, including:

  • world leaders
  • influencers
  • advocates
  • academics
  • activists
  • journalists
  • youth

Canada’s role and participation

Advancing gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls is a top priority for Canada. We believe gender equality must play a key role in creating lasting solutions to global challenges.

In June 2017, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced that Canada would host the Women Deliver Conference in Vancouver, June 3 to 6, 2019. Canada also announced a $20‑million commitment to Women Deliver over three years from 2017 to 2020. Our commitment supports the conference and global advocacy work, including the Deliver for Good campaign and the Young Leaders Program.

During Canada’s 2018 G7 presidency, we made history by integrating gender equality and women’s empowerment into all G7 themes, commitments and initiatives. As hosts of Women Deliver 2019, we were able to promote this approach, both in Canada and internationally.

During the conference, we made innovative investments to advance gender equality, both in Canada and internationally. This helps solidify Canada as a leader on women’s rights and gender equality.

Canada’s national committee

On March 4, 2019, the Minister of International Development and Minister for Women and Gender Equality, the Honourable Maryam Monsef, launched a national committee of 16 Canadian influencers committed to gender equality. Their role was to mobilize Canadians on gender equality, diversity and inclusion in the lead-up to the Women Deliver 2019 Conference.

The members represented diverse voices and perspectives on gender equality from across Canada. They participated in their personal capacity.

Members raised awareness about the significance of gender equality through their networks and communities. The members engaged Canadians through their participation in more than 20 activities and events to push for a more equal, more inclusive society. Their efforts were amplified through a range of partnerships, including with Women Deliver 2019 Mobilization Canada, a network of organizations working across the country to advocate for gender equality.

In their final meeting at the 2019 conference, committee members, Women Deliver 2019 Mobilization Canada representatives, and the president and CEO of Women Deliver, Katja Iversen, discussed ways to sustain the momentum toward achieving gender equality in all sectors of society beyond the conference.

Ministerial forum

Minister Monsef hosted a ministerial forum as part of the Women Deliver 2019 Conference. Over three sessions, the forum brought together:

  • 25 ministers
  • 8 Indigenous leaders from Canada
  • 25 youth leaders
  • subject matter experts and advocates

The participants had an open and honest dialogue on the barriers to gender equality as well as on the key issues affecting the health, rights and well-being of adolescent girls. Ministers made concrete commitments to create a legacy of action to advance the rights of girls, adolescent girls and women around the world.

Related links

Women Foreign Ministers’ Meeting

In September 2018, Canada and the European Union co-hosted the Women Foreign Ministers’ Meeting (WFMM) in Montréal. Together with the European Union, we believe that women’s economic and political empowerment is critical to building a safer, more prosperous, inclusive world.

The meeting was a historic opportunity to advance global peace, security and prosperity by bringing together the world’s women foreign ministers. While in Montréal, they discussed a range of issues, including:

  • international security
  • feminist foreign policy and aid
  • reinforcing democracy
  • diversity and inclusion
  • combatting sexual and gender-based violence
  • defending women’s rights defenders

Civil society representatives, who have played a crucial role in shaping this meeting, participated in the ministerial meeting in various capacities.

This initiative built on previous engagements made by the Government of Canada to integrate a gender perspective in foreign and security policy, such as:

  • the launch of the second National Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security and the Elsie Initiative to increase the participation of women in peace operations
  • prioritizing gender equality and women’s empowerment during Canada’s G7 Presidency
  • including Trade and Gender chapters and provisions into free trade agreements
  • implementing Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy

We hope that the WFMM will make an important contribution to the global dialogue on the role of women in international affairs.

Participating countries

Women Foreign Ministers from the following countries participated at the meeting:

  • Andorra
  • Bulgaria
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Ghana
  • Guatemala
  • Indonesia
  • Kenya
  • Namibia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Saint Lucia
  • South Africa
  • Sweden

Gender-based analysis

Conducting gender-based analysis will provide key insights to achieve sustainable development results for gender equality.

The Government of Canada adopted the Federal Plan for Gender Equality in 1995 as a response to the Beijing Platform for Action created at the Fourth World Conference on Women (1995). The key commitment of the Federal Plan was to “implement gender-based analysis throughout federal departments and agencies”.

Related links

Date Modified:

Promotion de l’égalité entre les genres et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles

Notre engagement à faire progresser l’égalité entre les genres, le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes et des filles, ainsi qu’à assurer la protection de leurs droits fondamentaux.

La promotion de l’égalité entre les genres contribue :

Nous nous engageons à promouvoir ces valeurs canadiennes clés par :

Faire progresser l’égalité entre les genres s’inscrit au cœur de nos efforts d’aide internationale. Tous nos programmes et politiques de développement visent à renforcer le pouvoir économique des femmes, et nous mettons en œuvre des projets précis qui contribuent à l’atteinte de cet objectif.

La protection et la promotion des droits des femmes et des filles demeurent une priorité majeure de la politique étrangère. Des discussions à ce sujet ont lieu avec d’autres pays et dans les forums multilatéraux.

Le gouvernement du Canada renforce le pouvoir des femmes pour qu’elles participent de façon égale à la prise de décisions et deviennent des agentes de changement dans les sphères économique, sociale et politique. L’accent est mis sur :

En matière de développement, les progrès vers l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles exigent :

Conférences mondiales sur les femmes

Les conférences mondiales de l’ONU sur les femmes ont joué un rôle de catalyseur important dans l’avancement du programme d’égalité entre les genres, le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes et des filles et la protection de leurs droits humains.

Nous avons joué un rôle crucial lors de la Quatrième conférence mondiale sur les femmes de Beijing, en 1995, qui a mené à l’adoption de la Déclaration et du Programme d’action de Beijing. La déclaration a permis d’établir une liste de 12 préoccupations principales et de définir un plan d’action pour la protection et l’avancement des droits fondamentaux des femmes dans le monde.

La Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies se réunit tous les ans pour évaluer les progrès accomplis en matière d’égalité entre les genres et pour cerner les défis à relever dans le domaine.

À la suite de l’adoption de la déclaration et du programme d’action de Beijing, la réunion annuelle de la Commission réexamine la déclaration de Beijing tous les cinq ans. Elle réaffirme l’engagement de la communauté internationale pour sa mise en œuvre intégrale accélérée. Le Canada sera membre de cette commission pour la période 2017–2020.

Nous assurons la promotion d’efforts similaires dans d’autres instances internationales telles que :

Appui aux droits des femmes et des filles

Grâce à nos initiatives de sécurité, de paix et de développement international, nous appuyons les efforts internationaux visant à améliorer le rôle des femmes et des filles.

Nous avons joué un rôle majeur dans la promotion de l’égalité entre les genres et des femmes et du renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles inscrite au Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030. Nous travaillons avec des partenaires aux vues similaires afin de mettre en œuvre l’égalité entre les genres dans tous les programmes.

Le Canada a été un des premiers pays à signer puis à ratifier la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes, laquelle établit les normes internationales visant à éliminer la discrimination fondée sur le genre.

Nous avons participé à la mise au point novatrice de la Déclaration et du Programme d’action de Vienne en 1993. Cette déclaration affirme que « les droits des femmes sont des droits de la personne ».

Celle-ci appelle également à agir pour intégrer le statut égal, et les droits de la personne pour les femmes et les filles, à la mission centrale de l’ensemble des activités des Nations Unies.

Le Canada appuie les résolutions appelant à l’élimination de la violence envers les femmes et les filles (ce qui inclut les soi-disant « crimes d’honneur », les pratiques traditionnelles ou coutumières préjudiciables à la santé des femmes et des filles, et les mutilations génitales féminines). Il a aussi joué un rôle clé pour veiller à ce que les crimes de violences sexuelles ou sexistes soient intégrés au projet de statut de la Cour pénale internationale.

Notre travail à l’ONU a contribué à l’élaboration de la Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes ainsi qu’à l’instauration et au renouvellement du mandat du Rapporteur spécial chargé de la question de la violence contre les femmes, ses causes et conséquences. Le rôle du Rapporteur spécial consiste à recueillir des informations sur les violations et à formuler des recommandations pour éliminer la violence envers les femmes et pour aider à composer avec leurs conséquences.

Le gouvernement du Canada a aussi lancé, en octobre 2010, un plan d’action en vue de la mise en œuvre des résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité.

Le Canada et Women Deliver

Women Deliver est un chef de file mondial de la défense et de la promotion de l’égalité des genres, notamment en ce qui concerne la santé sexuelle et reproductive des femmes et des filles, et les droits connexes. L’organisme est un partenaire important du Canada et son mandat et son approche uniques s’harmonisent avec les priorités du Canada.

Women Deliver favorise la prise de mesures en rassemblant des voix et des intérêts divers afin de faire progresser l’égalité des genres. Women Deliver met particulièrement l’accent sur la santé sexuelle et reproductive et les droits connexes. L’organisme utilise diverses plateformes, tels que les conférences, les initiatives et les outils de communication pour faire connaître les meilleures idées, promouvoir les pratiques exemplaires et appeler à l’action.

Conférence Women Deliver 2019

Women Deliver tient une conférence mondiale tous les trois ans. La conférence Women Deliver  2019 n’était pas qu’une simple conférence, mais également un mouvement visant à promouvoir l’égalité des genres dans le monde entier et à susciter des changements transformationnels. Le Canada est fier de s’associer à ce mouvement.

Le thème de la conférence de 2019 était le pouvoir : le pouvoir des individus, des structures politiques, économiques et sociales, des mouvements et de l’action collective, ainsi que de la manière dont il peut favoriser ou nuire au progrès et au changement.

La conférence a rassemblé plus de 8 000 personnes provenant de 165 pays et plus de 100 000 participants virtuels, soit :

Rôle et participation du Canada

Faire progresser l’égalité entre les genres et le renforcer le pouvoir des femmes et des filles est une priorité absolue du Canada. Nous croyons que l’égalité des genres doit jouer un rôle clé dans la création de solutions durables aux défis mondiaux.

En juin 2017, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a annoncé que le Canada organiserait la conférence Women Deliver à Vancouver, du 3 au 6 juin 2019. Le Canada a aussi annoncé qu’il s’engageait à verser de 20 millions de dollars sur trois ans, de 2017 à 2020, à Women Deliver. Cet engagement soutient la conférence et le travail de promotion mondial, entre autres la campagne Offrir pour de bon (Deliver for Good) et le programme Jeunes leaders.

Au cours de sa présidence du G7 en 2018, le Canada a marqué l’histoire en intégrant l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes dans tous les thèmes, engagements et initiatives du G7. En tant qu’hôte de Women Deliver 2019, il a été en mesure de promouvoir cette approche, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger.

Pendant la conférence, le Canada a fait des investissements historiques pour promouvoir l’égalité des genres, tant au pays qu’à l’échelle internationale. Cette mesure aide à consolider la position du Canada comme chef de file en matière de droits des femmes et d’égalité des genres.

Comité national du Canada

Le 4 mars 2019, la ministre du Développement international et ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres, l’honorable Maryam Monsef, a mis sur pied un comité national composé de 16 personnalités canadiennes influentes, engagées pour l’égalité des genres. Leur rôle était de mobiliser les Canadiens sur l’égalité des genres, la diversité et l’inclusion dans le cadre des préparatifs menant à la tenue de la conférence Women Deliver 2019.

Les membres du comité, recrutés aux quatre coins du Canada et participant à titre personnel, représentaient diverses voix et perspectives sur l’égalité des genres.

À l’aide de leurs réseaux et de leurs communautés, les membres ont sensibilisé la population à l’importance de l’égalité des genres. Ils ont encouragé les Canadiens à participer à plus de 20 activités et événements visant à promouvoir une société plus égalitaire et plus inclusive. Leurs efforts se sont accrus grâce à un éventail de partenariats, notamment avec le mouvement Mobilisation canadienne – Women Deliver 2019, un réseau d’organismes travaillant à promouvoir l’égalité des genres à l’échelle du pays.

Lors de leur dernière réunion de la conférence de 2019, les membres du comité, les représentants de Mobilisation canadienne - Women Deliver 2019 et la présidente-directrice générale de Women Deliver, Katja Iversen, ont discuté des façons de maintenir l’élan vers l’atteinte de l’égalité des genres dans tous les secteurs de la société suite à la conférence.

Forum ministériel

La ministre Monsef a tenu un forum ministériel qui s’est tenu dans le cadre de la conférence Women Deliver 2019. Au cours de trois séances, le forum a rassemblé :

Les participants ont eu un dialogue ouvert et honnête sur les obstacles nuisant à l’égalité des genres ainsi que sur les enjeux clés qui ont une incidence sur la santé, les droits et le bien-être des adolescentes. Les ministres ont pris des engagements concrets en vue de créer un ensemble de mesures visant à promouvoir les droits des filles, des adolescentes et des femmes partout dans le monde.

Liens connexes

La réunion des femmes ministres des Affaires étrangères

En septembre 2018, le Canada et l’Union européenne ont organisé conjointement la réunion des femmes ministres des Affaires étrangères à Montréal. À l’instar de l’Union européenne, nous pensons que le renforcement du pouvoir économique et politique des femmes est essentiel pour favoriser un monde plus sûr, plus prospère et plus inclusif.

Cette réunion représentait une occasion historique de faire progresser la paix, la sécurité et la prospérité mondiale en réunissant des femmes ministres des Affaires étrangères du monde entier. Pendant leur séjour à Montréal, elles ont discuté d’un éventail de questions, entre autres :

Les représentants de la société civile, qui ont joué un rôle indispensable dans l’organisation de cette réunion, ont participé également à la réunion ministérielle à divers titres.

Cette initiative s’appuie sur les engagements antérieurs pris par le gouvernement du Canada en vue d’intégrer une perspective fondée sur le genre dans la politique étrangère et de sécurité, notamment :

Nous espérons que la réunion des femmes ministres des Affaires étrangères apportera une contribution importante au dialogue mondial sur le rôle des femmes dans les affaires internationales.

Pays participants

Des femmes ministres des Affaires étrangères des pays suivants ont été présentes :

Analyse comparative entre les sexes

Grâce à l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, nous obtiendrons de précieuses informations qui nous permettront d’atteindre les objectifs de développement durable en matière d’égalité entre les genres.

Le Gouvernement du Canada a adopté en 1995 le Plan fédéral pour l’égalité des sexes en réponse au Programme d’action de Beijing créé lors de la Quatrième conférence mondiale sur les femmes (1995). L’engagement majeur du Plan fédéral était de « mettre en œuvre une analyse comparative entre les sexes dans l’ensemble des ministères et organismes fédéraux. »

Liens connexes

Date de modification: