Arbitrary detention in state-to-state relations

Around the world, foreign nationals are being detained arbitrarily and used as bargaining chips in international relations. Such tactics expose citizens of all countries who travel, work and live abroad to greater risk. Not only is this practice contrary to international law, but it also undermines friendly relations between states, global cooperation, travel and trade.

Arbitrary detention violates established principles of human rights, the rule of law and the independence of the judiciary.

Follow:

Declaration Against Arbitrary Detention in State-to-State Relations

Canada launched the Declaration Against Arbitrary Detention in State-to-State Relations on February 15, 2021, in Ottawa.

The declaration aims to protect citizens of all countries who live, work and travel abroad through a concerted commitment to core principles of human rights, consular relations, the rule of law and the independence of the judiciary. These are universal values, firmly grounded in international law.

The declaration aims to raise awareness and stop the practice of arbitrary detention.

The declaration calls upon all states to take concrete steps to prevent and put an end to:

  • harsh conditions in detention
  • denial of access to legal counsel
  • torture
  • other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment

Canada’s leadership in the fight against this practice is a natural extension of its steadfast commitment to upholding universal human rights and the rules-based international order.

Canada encourages all like-minded states to endorse the Declaration Against Arbitrary Detention in State-to-State Relations to reaffirm grave concern about the use of arbitrary arrest or detention by States to exercise leverage over foreign governments, contrary to international law. This applies equally to individuals with dual citizenship.

“All cases of arbitrary detention, whether they target Canadian nationals, dual nationals, nationals of partners and other states, are unacceptable. We will continue the fight against arbitrary detention in state-to-state relations, now and for the future.”

- Marc Garneau, Minister of Foreign Affairs

“The United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights made clear over 72 years ago that arbitrary detention in all its forms is to be abolished. Canada’s initiative against arbitrary detention in state-to-state relations, with support from every region of the world, is a welcome reaffirmation of these human rights principles. All states should abide by their obligations to end and deter arbitrary detention for diplomatic leverage, and all foreign nationals arbitrarily detained should be immediately released.”

- Ban Ki-moon - Eighth secretary-general of the United Nations

Guiding principles

The declaration reaffirms established principles of human rights, the independence of the judiciary and the rule of law, as outlined in the following international instruments:

  • Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Article 9: “No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest, detention or exile.”
  • International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, Article 9, Section 1: “No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest or detention. No one shall be deprived of his liberty except on such grounds and in accordance with such procedure as are established by law.”
  • The Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, Article 36, Section 1(c): “Consular officers shall have the right to visit a national of the sending State who is in prison, custody or detention, to converse and correspond with him and to arrange for his legal representation. They shall also have the right to visit any national of the sending State who is in prison, custody or detention in their district in pursuance of a judgement.”

International response

By endorsing the declaration, states agree to stand in solidarity against arbitrary arrest, detention or sentencing by other states seeking to exercise leverage over them. Many countries have endorsed and promoted this declaration reaffirming their commitment to its guiding principles and recognizing that their nationals could be vulnerable to this type of treatment.

Partnership Action Plan

The Declaration Against Arbitrary Detention in State-to-State relations now has over 60 endorsements and counting, from States in all corners of the world. Canada is committed to translating international solidarity opposing this practice into concrete action by leading the creation of the Partnership Action Plan to advance the Declaration.

All countries that are committed to human rights, judicial independence, the rule of law and the rules-based international order are welcome to join this common front and take action against arbitrary arrest, detention or sentencing for diplomatic leverage.

The Partnership Action Plan was announced on May 5, 2021, at the G7 Foreign and Development Ministers’ Meeting in London, United Kingdom. It will serve as a road map for consistent and principled cooperation on this issue, now and in the future.

The Plan outlines 6 areas of cooperation and engagement that states can support to deter arbitrary arrest, detention or sentencing in state-to-state relations and sustain momentum against those practices.

States endorsing the Declaration Against Arbitrary Detention in State-to-State Relations

Status of endorsements [67]

Founding endorsers (as of February 15, 2021)

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Antigua & Barbuda
  4. Australia
  5. Austria
  6. Belgium
  7. Belize
  8. Benin
  9. Bulgaria
  10. Canada
  11. Costa Rica
  12. Croatia
  13. Cyprus
  14. the Czech Republic
  15. Denmark
  16. Estonia
  17. Finland
  18. France
  19. Georgia
  20. Germany
  21. Greece
  22. Guyana
  23. Haiti
  24. Iceland
  25. Ireland
  26. Israel
  27. Italy
  28. Japan
  29. Latvia
  30. Lebanon
  31. Lithuania
  32. Liechtenstein
  33. Luxembourg
  34. Malawi
  35. Malta
  36. the Netherlands
  37. New Zealand
  38. Norway
  39. Panama
  40. Poland
  41. Portugal
  42. Romania
  43. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  44. Saint Lucia
  45. Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
  46. San Marino
  47. Slovakia
  48. Slovenia
  49. Spain
  50. Suriname
  51. Sweden
  52. Switzerland
  53. Tonga
  54. Tuvalu
  55. the United Kingdom
  56. Ukraine
  57. the United States

The European Union has also endorsed the declaration.

Additional endorsers (as of September 22, 2021)

  1. Philippines
  2. the Bahamas
  3. North Macedonia
  4. Nauru
  5. El Salvador
  6. Palau
  7. Marshall Islands
  8. Cook Islands
  9. Honduras

(Declaration remains open to endorsement)

Declaration also available in: عربي, По-русски, 中文, Español, Français

Existing international frameworks

Related links

News

Date Modified:

La détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État

Partout dans le monde, des ressortissants étrangers sont détenus arbitrairement et utilisés comme monnaie d’échange dans les relations internationales. Ces tactiques exposent à des risques accrus les citoyens de tous les pays qui voyagent, travaillent et vivent à l’étranger. Non seulement cette pratique est contraire au droit international, mais elle porte également atteinte aux relations amicales entre les États, à la coopération mondiale, aux voyages et au commerce.

La détention arbitraire viole les principes établis des droits de la personne, de l’état de droit et de l’indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire.

Suivez :

Déclaration contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État

Le Canada a présenté la Déclaration contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État le 15 février 2021, à Ottawa.

La Déclaration contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État vise à protéger les citoyens de tous les pays qui vivent, travaillent et voyagent à l’étranger grâce à un engagement concerté en faveur des principes fondamentaux des droits de la personne, des relations consulaires, de l’état de droit et de l’indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire. Il s’agit de valeurs universelles, fermement ancrées dans le droit international.

La déclaration vise à sensibiliser le public et à mettre fin à la pratique de la détention arbitraire.

La déclaration appelle tous les États à prendre des mesures concrètes pour prévenir et éliminer :

  • les conditions de détention difficiles
  • le refus d’accès à un avocat
  • la torture
  • les autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants

Le leadership dont fait preuve le Canada dans la lutte contre cette pratique est un prolongement naturel de son engagement inébranlable à faire respecter les droits de la personne universels et l’ordre international fondé sur des règles.

Le Canada encourage tous les États partageant des valeurs similaires à souscrire à la Déclaration contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État, de manière à réaffirmer la grave préoccupation que suscite le recours à l’arrestation ou à la détention arbitraire par des États dans le but d’exercer une influence sur des gouvernements étrangers, en violation du droit international. Cela s’applique également aux personnes ayant une double nationalité.

« Tous les cas de détention arbitraire, qu’ils visent des ressortissants canadiens, des personnes ayant une double nationalité, ou des ressortissants de pays partenaires et d’autres États, sont inacceptables. Nous poursuivrons la lutte contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État, maintenant et à l’avenir. »

- Marc Garneau, ministre des Affaires étrangères

« Il y a plus de 72 ans, la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies établissait clairement que la détention arbitraire sous toutes ses formes devait être abolie. L’initiative canadienne contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État, qui bénéficie de l’appui de toutes les régions du monde, est une réitération bienvenue de ces principes des droits de la personne. Tous les États devraient respecter leurs obligations à mettre fin à la détention arbitraire pour des fins diplomatiques et de décourager de telles pratiques. En outre, tous les ressortissants étrangers détenus arbitrairement devraient être libérés immédiatement. »

- Ban Ki‑moon, huitième secrétaire général des Nations Unies

Principes directeurs

La déclaration réaffirme les principes établis des droits de la personne, de l’indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire et de l’état de droit, tels qu’ils sont énoncés dans les instruments internationaux suivants :

  • Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme, article 9 : « Nul ne peut être arbitrairement arrêté, détenu, ni exilé. »
  • Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, article 9, paragraphe, Section 1 : « Tout individu a droit à la liberté et à la sécurité de sa personne. Nul ne peut faire l’objet d’une arrestation ou d’une détention arbitraire. Nul ne peut être privé de sa liberté, si ce n’est pour des motifs et conformément à la procédure prévus par la loi. »
  • La Convention de Vienne sur les relations consulaires, article 36, paragraphe 1(c) : « Les fonctionnaires consulaires ont le droit de se rendre auprès d’un ressortissant de l’État d’envoi qui est incarcéré, en état de détention préventive ou toute autre forme de détention, de s’entretenir et de correspondre avec lui et de pourvoir à sa représentation en justice. Ils ont également le droit de se rendre auprès d’un ressortissant de l’État d’envoi qui, dans leur circonscription, est incarcéré ou détenu en exécution d’un jugement. »

Réponse internationale

En souscrivant à la déclaration, les États acceptent d’être solidaires contre les arrestations, les détentions ou les condamnations arbitraires d’autres États qui cherchent à exercer une influence sur eux. De nombreux pays ont approuvé cette déclaration et en ont fait la promotion en réaffirmant leur engagement envers ses principes directeurs et en reconnaissant que leurs ressortissants pourraient être vulnérables à ce type de traitement.

Plan d’action pour le partenariat

La Déclaration contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d'État à État compte maintenant plus de 60 endossements, provenant d'états des quatre coins du monde. Le Canada s’est engagé à traduire en mesures concrètes cette solidarité internationale contre cette pratique en dirigeant la création du Plan d’action pour le partenariat pour faire avancer la Déclaration.

Tous les pays qui s’engagent en faveur des droits de la personne, de l’indépendance judiciaire, de l’état de droit et de l’ordre international fondé sur des règles sont invités à se joindre à ce front commun et à prendre des mesures contre les arrestations, les détentions ou les condamnations arbitraires à des fins diplomatiques.

Le Plan d’action pour le partenariat a été annoncé le 5 mai 2021 lors de la réunion des ministres des Affaires étrangères et du Développement du G7 à Londres, au Royaume-Uni. Il servira de feuille de route à une coopération uniforme et fondée sur des principes dans ce domaine, maintenant et à l’avenir.

Le Plan définit 6 domaines de coopération et de mobilisation que les États peuvent soutenir afin de prévenir les arrestations, les détentions ou les condamnations arbitraires dans les relations d’État à État et de poursuivre la lutte contre ces pratiques.

Les États qui ont appuyé la Déclaration contre la détention arbitraire dans les relations d’État à État

Statut des approbations [67]

Endosseurs fondateurs (dès le 15 février 2021)

  1. Albanie
  2. Allemagne
  3. Andorre
  4. Antigua-et-Barbuda
  5. Australie
  6. Autriche
  7. Belgique
  8. Belize
  9. Bénin
  10. Bulgarie
  11. Canada
  12. Chypre
  13. Costa Rica
  14. Croatie
  15. Danemark
  16. Espagne
  17. Estonie
  18. États-Unis
  19. Finlande
  20. France
  21. Géorgie
  22. Grèce
  23. Guyana
  24. Haïti
  25. Irlande
  26. Islande
  27. Israël
  28. Italie
  29. Japon
  30. Lettonie
  31. Liban
  32. Lituanie
  33. Liechtenstein
  34. Luxembourg
  35. Malawi
  36. Malte
  37. Nouvelle-Zélande
  38. Norvège
  39. Panama
  40. Pays-Bas
  41. Pologne
  42. Portugal
  43. République tchèque
  44. Roumanie
  45. Royaume-Uni
  46. Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis
  47. Sainte-Lucie
  48. Saint-Vincent-et-Grenadines
  49. San Marino
  50. Slovaquie
  51. Slovénie
  52. Suède
  53. Suisse
  54. Suriname
  55. Tonga
  56. Tuvalu
  57. Ukraine

L’Union européenne a également approuvé la déclaration.

Endosseurs additionnels (dès le 22 septembre 2021)

  1. Philippines
  2. Bahamas
  3. Macédoine du Nord
  4. Nauru
  5. Salvador
  6. Palaos
  7. Îles Marshall
  8. Îles Cook
  9. Honduras

(La déclaration reste ouverte à l’approbation)

Déclaration également disponible en : عربي, По-русски, 中文, Español, English

Cadres internationaux existants

Liens connexes

Nouvelles

Date de modification: