Language selection

Search

Canada’s response to the crisis in Israel, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip

On October 7, 2023, Hamas conducted a terrorist attack on Israel. This attack and the ensuing conflict between Israel and Hamas has resulted in thousands of casualties.

The Government of Canada has since put in place measures to help Canadians get to safety, including assisted departures.

Special measures for people living in Gaza

Special measures are in place for people who:

Learn more about the special measures

For enquiries, contact Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC):

On this page

Travel advice and advisories

Consult the latest travel advice and advisories to stay updated and informed on security conditions and country-wide and regional risk levels:

Information for Canadians in Israel, the West Bank or the Gaza Strip

Canadians who want to leave Gaza

We have been helping Canadian citizens, permanent residents and their eligible family members to leave the Gaza Strip. Our team of officials is meeting Canadian travellers on the Egyptian side of the Rafah border and providing them with support and care.

The situation at the Rafah border crossing remains fluid and unpredictable. Significant delays and unexpected closures can be expected at the Rafah border.

Global Affairs Canada will continue to contact Canadians, permanent residents and their eligible family members to inform them about when they can leave the Gaza Strip via the Rafah border crossing.

We are working closely with authorities on all sides to make sure that Canadians who want to leave Gaza can exit safely and as soon as possible.

We are communicating directly with those who have requested assistance to share the latest information with them, including departure information.

The Government of Egypt will allow those who cross into Egypt from Gaza to stay in the country for a maximum of 72 hours (3 days). Canadian officials are on the Egyptian side of the border to facilitate transportation to Cairo by bus and help with travel onward to Canada. While in Cairo, Canada is providing accommodation, food and basic necessities to those who cross from Gaza into Egypt.

Global Affairs Canada is also helping to facilitate travel onward at the traveller’s own expense. Financial assistance in the form of private funds transfers and emergency loans are available to those in need.

Register with us

We urge all Canadians in Israel, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip to sign up for the Government of Canada’s Registration of Canadians Abroad service, so that we can provide them with direct, important updates as the situation evolves and for further information on assisted departures.

If you're a family member of a Canadian citizen or of a permanent resident who is currently in Gaza and unable to register with us, please contact Global Affairs Canada’s 24/7 Emergency Watch and Response Centre.

Land borders

Due to the security situation, operations at all land borders may be affected by limited authorized daily crossings, reduced hours or closure on short notice.

Every country or territory decides who can enter or exit through its borders. The Government of Canada cannot intervene on behalf of travellers who do not meet the destination’s entry or exit requirements.

Airports

Ben Gurion International Airport in Tel Aviv remains open and some commercial airlines are still operating and offering assistance in departing Israel for a nearby destination and for onward travel. Flights are available, although may be limited and/or cancelled at the last minute. Travellers should contact airlines or travel agents if they are scheduled to travel to or from Tel Aviv.

Dual citizens

Travellers with dual citizenships departing Israel or travelling to and from the West Bank or Gaza Strip may be subject to certain additional exit requirements. For further information, see the section on Entry and exit requirements in our Travel advice and advisories for Israel, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip as well as for the destination country.

Emergency contact information for Canadians

Canadians and their families who are in Israel, the West Bank or the Gaza Strip and need emergency consular assistance, should contact the Embassy of Canada to Israel in Tel Aviv at 972 (3) 636-3300, the Representative Office of Canada in Ramallah at 972 (2) 297-8430 or Global Affairs Canada’s 24/7 Emergency Watch and Response Centre:

When contacting us

When contacting the Emergency Watch and Response Centre, clients should have the necessary information on-hand for themselves and all individuals with them. This includes but is not limited to:

This will help ensure we can manage cases appropriately and that the services needed are provided as promptly as possible.

How Canada is helping

Canada announced that it is providing $140 million in international assistance funding to address urgent needs stemming from the crisis in the Gaza Strip, the West Bank, Israel and neighbouring areas.

Canada’s humanitarian assistance funding will help provide food, water, emergency medical assistance, protection services and other life-saving assistance. The funds are being allocated as follows:

An additional $10 million will be allocated toward experienced Canadian non-governmental organization partners.

Canada is providing $5 million in development assistance funding to the United Nations Office for Project Support to implement UN Security Council Resolution 2720, the coordination mechanism for Gaza. Of this amount, $1 million will go to supporting the operation of the maritime corridor between Cyprus and Gaza.

Canada will ensure that no money goes into the hands of Hamas.

News

All news

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Réponse du Canada à la crise en Israël, en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza

Le 7 octobre 2023, le Hamas a perpétré une attaque terroriste contre Israël. Cette attaque et le conflit qui s’en est suivi entre Israël et le Hamas ont fait des milliers de victimes.

Le gouvernement du Canada a depuis mis en place des mesures pour aider les Canadiens et Canadiennes à demeurer en sécurité, notamment en offrant des départs assistés.

Mesures spéciales pour les personnes vivant à Gaza

Des mesures spéciales sont en place pour les personnes qui :

En savoir plus sur les mesures spéciales

Pour toute demande de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) :

Sur cette page

Conseils aux voyageurs et avertissements

Consultez les derniers conseils aux voyageurs et avertissements pour rester informé des conditions de sécurité et des niveaux de risque dans le pays et dans les régions :

Renseignements pour les Canadiens en Israël, en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza

Les Canadiens qui veulent quitter Gaza

Nous aidons les citoyens canadiens, les résidents permanents et les membres de leur famille admissibles à quitter la bande de Gaza. Notre équipe de fonctionnaires les voyageurs canadiens du côté égyptien de la frontière de Rafah et leur apporte du soutien et de l’aide.

La situation au poste frontalier de Rafah reste volatile et imprévisible. Il faut s’attendre à des retards importants et à des fermetures inattendues à la frontière de Rafah.

Affaires mondiales Canada continuera de communiquer avec les Canadiens, les résidents permanents et les membres de leur famille admissibles pour les informer de la date à laquelle ils pourront quitter la bande de Gaza par le poste frontalier de Rafah.

Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec les autorités de toutes les parties pour veiller à ce que les Canadiens qui souhaitent quitter la bande de Gaza puissent le faire en toute sécurité et le plus rapidement possible.

Nous communiquons directement avec ceux et celles qui ont demandé de l’aide et leur transmettons les informations les plus récentes, notamment sur les départs assistés.

Nous communiquons directement avec les personnes qui ont demandé de l’aide afin de leur transmettre les informations les plus récentes, notamment sur les départs.

Le gouvernement égyptien autorisera les personnes qui entrent en Égypte depuis Gaza à rester dans le pays pendant un maximum de 72 heures (3 jours). Des fonctionnaires canadiens se trouvent du côté égyptien de la frontière pour faciliter le transport en autobus jusqu’au Caire, et les aider à poursuivre leur itinéraire jusqu’au Canada. Pendant leur séjour au Caire, le Canada fournit un hébergement, de la nourriture et des produits de première nécessité aux personnes qui passeront de Gaza à l’Égypte.

Affaires mondiales Canada facilite également le voyage vers l’étranger, aux frais du voyageur. Une aide financière sous forme de transferts de fonds privés et de prêts d’urgence est disponible pour les personnes qui en ont besoin.

Inscrivez-vous auprès de nous

Nous conseillons vivement à tous les Canadiens qui se trouvent en Israël, en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza de s’inscrire au service d’Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger du gouvernement du Canada afin que nous puissions leur fournir directement des mises à jour directes et importantes à mesure que la situation évolue, et pour plus de renseignements sur les départs assistés.

Si vous êtes un membre de la famille d’un citoyen canadien ou d’un résident permanent qui se trouve actuellement à Gaza et n’est pas en mesure de s’inscrire auprès de nous, veuillez contacter le Centre de surveillance et d’intervention d’urgence d’Affaires mondiales Canada, qui est ouvert 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7.

Frontières terrestres

En raison de la situation sécuritaire, les opérations à toutes les frontières terrestres peuvent être perturbées par un nombre limité de passages quotidiens autorisé, des horaires réduits ou des fermetures à court préavis.

Ce sont les autorités d’un pays ou d’un territoire qui décident qui peut en franchir les frontières. Le gouvernement du Canada ne peut pas intervenir au nom des voyageurs qui ne répondent pas aux exigences d’entrée et de sortie du pays ou territoire où on se rende.

Aéroports

L’aéroport international Ben Gurion de Tel-Aviv reste ouvert et certaines compagnies aériennes commerciales continuent d’opérer et d’offrir une assistance au départ d’Israël pour une destination proche et pour la suite du voyage. Des vols sont disponibles, mais ils peuvent être limités ou annulés à la dernière minute. Les voyageurs doivent contacter les compagnies aériennes ou les agences de voyage s’ils doivent se rendre à Tel-Aviv ou en partir.

Double nationalité

Les voyageurs ayant la double nationalité qui quittent Israël ou qui se rendent en Cisjordanie ou dans la bande de Gaza ou en reviennent peuvent être soumis à certaines exigences supplémentaires en matière de sortie. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la section « Exigences d’entrée et de sortie » de nos Conseils aux voyageurs pour Israël, la Cisjordanie et la bande de Gaza, ainsi que ceux du pays de destination.

Coordonnées d’urgence pour les Canadiens

Les Canadiens et leurs familles en Israël, en Cisjordanie ou dans la bande de Gaza et qui ont besoin de l’assistance consulaire d’urgence doivent contacter l’ambassade du Canada en Israël à Tel Aviv au 972 (3) 636 3300, le bureau de représentation du Canada à Ramallah au 972 (2) 297 8430 ou le Centre de surveillance et d’intervention d’urgence d’Affaires mondiales Canada, qui est ouvert 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7 :

Lorsque vous nous contactez

Les clients qui contactent le Centre de surveillance et d’intervention d’urgence doivent avoir en main les renseignements nécessaires pour eux-mêmes et toutes les personnes qui les accompagnent. Il s’agit notamment des éléments suivants:

Cela nous permettra de gérer les cas de manière appropriée et que les services nécessaires sont fournis aussi rapidement que possible.

L’aide du Canada

Le Canada a annoncé qu’il fournira 140 millions de dollars en aide internationale pour répondre aux besoins urgents découlant de la crise dans la bande de Gaza, en Cisjordanie, en Israël et dans les régions avoisinantes.

L’aide humanitaire du Canada permettra de fournir de la nourriture, de l’eau, une aide médicale d’urgence, des services de protection et d’autres formes d’aide vitale. Les fonds seront attribués comme suit :

Un montant supplémentaire de 10 millions de dollars sera accordé à des organisations partenaires non gouvernementales canadiennes qui ont de l’expérience.

Le Canada fournira 5 millions de dollars en aide au développement au Bureau des Nations Unies pour les services d’appui aux projets afin de mettre en œuvre la résolution 2720 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le mécanisme de coordination pour Gaza. De ce montant, 1 million de dollars serviront à soutenir le fonctionnement du corridor maritime entre Chypre et Gaza.

Le Canada veillera à ce qu’aucun argent ne tombe entre les mains du Hamas.

Nouvelles

Toutes les nouvelles

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: