Canadians in Beirut

If you are currently in Beirut, follow our safety and security advice and register with us to get important updates on the situation. If you need consular help, contact the Embassy of Canada in Beirut at 961 4 726 700 or berut-cs@international.gc.ca, or contact Global Affairs Canada’s Emergency Watch and Response Centre in Ottawa at +1 613 996 8885 or sos@international.gc.ca.

If you plan on returning to Canada, consult Coronavirus disease (COVID-19): Travel restrictions, exemptions and advice.

On August 4, 2020, two strong explosions originating from the Port of Beirut devastated many parts of the city. The blast resulted in more than 200 fatalities and 6000 injuries. Sadly, two Canadian citizens were among those who lost their lives in this tragedy. Extensive infrastructural damage has left more than 300,000 people homeless and many health facilities, including hospitals, inoperable. Search and rescue efforts continue to look for people still reported as missing. Several humanitarian organizations have mobilized quickly to respond to the needs of those most affected.

This catastrophe comes on the heels of several multi-faceted crises facing the country, including the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, which had already put Lebanon’s health system, social services, and economy under severe strain. Today, more than 50% of the population is unemployed, a third of businesses have shuttered and many people are food insecure. At the time of the outbreak, the country was managing civil unrest, major economic and financial crises, and hosting over a million refugees displaced by conflicts in the region. All of these crises have had a detrimental effect on Lebanon and have made access to food, education, health care, jobs and housing almost impossible.

On August 27, 2020, the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs, met with Lebanese, Canadian and international humanitarian partners in Beirut to discuss Canada's response to the crisis in Lebanon. He also spoke with family members of the two Canadians killed in the explosion.

How Canada is assisting Lebanon

In the immediate aftermath of the explosion, Canada provided up to $5 million in humanitarian assistance. Canada later announced an additional $25 million, for a total of $30 million. This funding will help trusted partners address immediate humanitarian needs and support efforts for early recovery. Continued provision of humanitarian assistance, including food, water and sanitation, shelter, and medical assistance, is essential to address the immediate needs of the affected people.

This includes $12 million going to trusted humanitarian partners on the ground, including UN humanitarian agencies and the Lebanese Red Cross via the Canadian Red Cross Society, to help meet the needs of people affected by this crisis. Canada’s contribution will help support emergency medical services and provide shelter, food and other essential items.

Additionally, Canada’s programming and engagement in Lebanon are key components of our whole-of-government Middle East strategy. This strategy invests up to $3.5 billion over five years (2016-2021) to respond to the ongoing crises in Iraq and Syria, and their impact in the region, in particular on Jordan and Lebanon. Specifically, Canada's humanitarian assistance helps supply basic needs and services, such as health care and access to education, water, food and shelter for vulnerable and at-risk populations.

Task force on Lebanon

To ensure that affected Canadians and their families have the consular assistance and other support they need to navigate this difficult time, the Government of Canada set up a task force on August 13, 2020.

The task force will support the delivery of consular services, and ensure that questions related to immigration can be quickly addressed. Lebanese citizens in Canada on a temporary basis are also able to extend their stay in Canada if they are unable to return home because of the explosion. Canada will waive the cost of documents related to renewing their status for them as well as for Canadians and permanent residents in Lebanon who need to come home.

Lebanon Matching Fund

Recognizing the generosity of Canadians and their desire to assist those affected by the explosion, the Government of Canada launched the Lebanon Matching Fund on August 8, 2020.

How the Matching Fund works

For every eligible dollar donated by individuals to the Humanitarian Coalition and its members to respond to the Beirut explosion between August 4 and 24, 2020, the Government of Canada committed to providing the equivalent to the Humanitarian Coalition, up to a maximum total amount of $8 million. On August 27, 2020, Canada announced it will match the full $8 million in donations made through the Lebanon Matching Fund as a result of the generosity of Canadians.

This funding is part of the $30 million in support that Canada is providing through key humanitarian partners.

Make a donation to the Matching Fund

The best way for Canadians to help people affected by the humanitarian disaster in Beirut is to donate money. For your contribution to be matched by the Government of Canada, donations must be made to the Humanitarian Coalition or one of its members.

How to make a donation to the Matching Fund

  1. Visit the Lebanon Crisis page of the Humanitarian Coalition’s Appeal.
  2. Make your donation between August 4 and 24, 2020. If you are donating by cheque, make your cheque payable to the registered charity. Do not make your donation payable to an individual or the Government of Canada. If you are donating online, make sure that your online payment is secure.

The Humanitarian Coalition

The Humanitarian Coalition and its members will be responsible for the programming they implement in the affected region with the use of Canadian donations. More information about the organizations’ specific planned activities can be obtained from the Humanitarian Coalition or its members.

Global Affairs Canada will transfer the funds equivalent to those raised through the Matching Fund (up to a total of $2 million) to the Humanitarian Coalition. The Humanitarian Coalition will in turn allocate these funds among its members based on such criteria as their capacity and presence in the affected region. Humanitarian Coalition members will respond to humanitarian needs through emergency relief activities, by providing food, water and sanitation programs, livelihood support, nutrition, emergency shelter and other essential services.

Related Links

Latest news

Filter options

Filter options

Use filters to below options to change the focus of your results in following data table.

DateNews typeInstitutionStatements
2020-09-28StatementsGlobal Affairs Canada

Canada deeply disappointed following resignation of Lebanese prime minister-designate

Date: 2020-09-28

News type: Statements

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-09-01StatementsGlobal Affairs Canada

Canada commemorates Lebanon’s centennial

Date: 2020-09-01

News type: Statements

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-27News releasesGlobal Affairs Canada

Government of Canada matches $8 million in donations made by Canadians to respond to Beirut explosion

Date: 2020-08-27

News type: News releases

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-22News releasesGlobal Affairs Canada

Minister Champagne travels to Lebanon and Europe

Date: 2020-08-22

News type: News releases

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-19News releasesGlobal Affairs Canada

Canada’s humanitarian response in Beirut

Date: 2020-08-19

News type: News releases

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-17News releasesGlobal Affairs Canada

Canada announces new ambassador to Lebanon

Date: 2020-08-17

News type: News releases

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-14StatementsPrime Minister of Canada

Statement by the Prime Minister on the loss of Canadian citizens in the explosion in Lebanon

Date: 2020-08-14

News type: Statements

Institution: Prime Minister of Canada

2020-08-13StatementsImmigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada

Canada sets up task force to support survivors and others affected by the tragedy in Beirut

Date: 2020-08-13

News type: Statements

Institution: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada

2020-08-10News releasesPrime Minister of Canada

Prime Minister announces more assistance for Lebanon

Date: 2020-08-10

News type: News releases

Institution: Prime Minister of Canada

2020-08-08News releasesGlobal Affairs Canada

Canada launches matching fund to respond to Beirut explosion

Date: 2020-08-08

News type: News releases

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-08BackgroundersGlobal Affairs Canada

Backgrounder - Lebanon Matching Fund

Date: 2020-08-08

News type: Backgrounders

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-05News releasesGlobal Affairs Canada

Canada providing humanitarian assistance in response to Beirut explosion

Date: 2020-08-05

News type: News releases

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

2020-08-05Media advisoriesGlobal Affairs Canada

Minister of International Development to hold press conference regarding Canada’s assistance to Lebanon

Date: 2020-08-05

News type: Media advisories

Institution: Global Affairs Canada

Date Modified:

Canadiens à Beyrouth

Si vous êtes présentement à Beyrouth, suivez nos conseils de sécurité et inscrivez-vous auprès de nous pour recevoir d'importantes mises à jour sur la situation. Si vous avez besoin d'une aide consulaire, communiquez avec l'ambassade du Canada à Beyrouth au 961 (4) 726-700 ou berut-cs@international.gc.ca, ou avec le Centre de surveillance et d'intervention d'urgence d'Affaires mondiales Canada à Ottawa, au +1 613-996-8885 ou à l'adresse sos@international.gc.ca.

Si vous avez l'intention de retourner au Canada, consultez Maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19) : Restrictions, exemptions et conseils en matière de voyages.

Le 4 août 2020, deux fortes explosions dans le port de Beyrouth ont dévasté plusieurs secteurs de la ville. L'explosion a fait plus de 200 morts et 6000 blessés. Malheureusement, deux citoyens canadiens figurent parmi ceux qui ont perdu la vie dans cette tragédie. Des dommages structurels importants ont laissé environ 300 000 personnes sans domicile et de nombreux établissements de santé, y compris des hôpitaux, inopérants. Les efforts de recherche et de sauvetage se poursuivent pour retrouver les personnes toujours portées disparues. Plusieurs organisations humanitaires se sont rapidement mobilisées pour répondre aux besoins des personnes les plus touchées.

Cette catastrophe survient après plusieurs crises à multiples facettes auxquelles le pays est confronté, notamment la pandémie de COVID-19 en cours, qui avait déjà mis à rude épreuve le système de santé, les services sociaux et l'économie au Liban. Aujourd'hui, plus de 50 % de la population est au chômage, un tiers des entreprises ont fermé et de nombreuses personnes sont en situation d'insécurité alimentaire. Au moment de l'éclosion, le pays était aux prises avec des troubles civils, des crises économiques et financières majeures, et accueillait plus d'un million de réfugiés, déplacés par les conflits dans la région. Toutes ces crises ont eu un effet néfaste sur le Liban et ont rendu presque impossible l'accès à la nourriture, à l'éducation, aux soins de santé, à l'emploi et au logement.

Le 27 août 2020, l’honorable François-Philippe Champagne, ministre des Affaires étrangères, a rencontré des partenaires d’aide humanitaire libanais, canadiens et internationaux à Beyrouth afin de discuter de la réponse du Canada à la crise au Liban. Il s’est aussi entretenu avec des proches des deux Canadiens qui ont péri dans l’explosion.

Comment le Canada aide le Liban

Au lendemain de l'explosion, le Canada a fourni jusqu'à 5 millions de dollars d'aide humanitaire. Le Canada a ensuite annoncé l'octroi d'une somme supplémentaire de 25 millions de dollars, pour un total de 30 millions de dollars. Ces fonds aideront des partenaires de confiance à répondre aux besoins humanitaires immédiats de la population et à contribuer au redressement rapide de la situation.. Il est essentiel de continuer à fournir une aide humanitaire, notamment de la nourriture, de l'eau et des installations sanitaires, des abris et une assistance médicale, pour répondre aux besoins immédiats des personnes touchées.

Cette somme comprend un montant de 12 million de dollars qui est versé à des partenaires humanitaires de confiance sur le terrain, notamment des agences humanitaires de l'ONU ainsi que la Croix-Rouge libanaise par l'intermédiaire de la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge, afin de répondre aux besoins des personnes touchées par cette crise. La contribution du Canada permettra de soutenir les services médicaux d'urgence et de fournir des abris, de la nourriture et d'autres articles essentiels.

En outre, les programmes et les efforts du Canada au Liban sont des éléments clés de notre stratégie pangouvernementale au Moyen-Orient. Nous investissons jusqu'à 3,5 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans (2016-2021) pour répondre aux crises en cours en Irak et en Syrie, et leurs répercussions sur l'ensemble de la région, en particulier sur la Jordanie et le Liban. Plus précisément, l'aide humanitaire du Canada contribue à répondre aux besoins et aux services de base, tels que les soins de santé et l'accès à l'éducation, à l'eau, à la nourriture et aux abris pour les populations vulnérables et à risque.

Groupe de travail sur le Liban

Afin de faire en sorte que les Canadiens touchés ainsi que leurs familles bénéficient de l’assistance consulaire et de tout autre soutien dont ils ont besoin pour traverser cette période difficile, le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place un groupe de travail le 13 août 2020.

Le groupe de travail soutiendra la prestation des services consulaires et pour veiller à ce que les questions et préoccupations liées à l’immigration soient traitées rapidement. Les citoyens libanais qui se trouvent temporairement au Canada ont également la possibilité de prolonger leur séjour s’ils ne peuvent pas rentrer chez eux en raison de l’explosion. Le Canada renoncera au coût des documents liés au renouvellement de leur statut pour eux, ainsi que pour les Canadiens et les résidents permanents se trouvant au Liban qui doivent rentrer chez eux.

Fonds de secours pour le Liban

Reconnaissant la générosité des Canadiens et leur désir d'aider les personnes touchées par l'explosion, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé le Fonds de secours pour le Liban, le 8 août 2020.

Comment fonctionne le Fonds de secours

Pour chaque dollar admissible donné par des particuliers à la Coalition humanitaire et à ses membres pour répondre à l'explosion de Beyrouth, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à fournir l'équivalent à la Coalition humanitaire, jusqu'à un montant maximum de 8 millions de dollars, pour la période entre le 4 et le 24 août 2020. Le 27 août 2020, le Canada a annoncé qu'il versera la totalité des 8 millions de dollars en dons au Fonds de contrepartie pour le Liban grâce à la générosité des Canadiens.

Ce financement fait partie du soutien de 30 millions de dollars que le Canada fournit par l'intermédiaire de ses principaux partenaires humanitaires.

Faire un don au Fonds de secours

La meilleure façon pour les Canadiens d'aider les personnes touchées par la catastrophe humanitaire à Beyrouth est de faire un don en argent. Pour que le gouvernement du Canada verse une contribution équivalente à la vôtre, les dons doivent être faits à la Coalition humanitaire ou à l'un de ses membres.

Comment faire un don au Fonds de secours

  1. Rendez vous sur la page Urgence Liban, de la Coalition humanitaire.
  2. Faites votre don entre le 4 et le 24 août 2020. Si vous faites un don par chèque, libellez votre chèque à l'ordre de l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré. Ne faites pas votre don à l'ordre d'un particulier ou du gouvernement du Canada. Si vous faites un don en ligne, assurez-vous que votre paiement en ligne est sécurisé.

La Coalition humanitaire

La Coalition humanitaire et ses membres seront responsables de la mise en œuvre de la programmation dans la région touchée en utilisant les dons canadiens. De plus amples informations sur les activités spécifiques prévues par les organisations peuvent être obtenues auprès de la Coalition humanitaire ou de ses membres.

Affaires mondiales Canada transférera à la Coalition humanitaire des fonds équivalents à ceux recueillis par le biais du Fonds de secours (jusqu'à un montant maximum de 2 millions de dollars). La Coalition humanitaire répartira à son tour ces fonds entre ses membres en fonction de critères tels que leur expertise et leur présence dans la région touchée. Les membres de la Coalition humanitaire répondront aux besoins humanitaires par des activités de secours d'urgence telles que l’approvisionnement en nourriture, des programmes d'eau et d'assainissement, le soutien aux moyens de subsistance, la nutrition, les abris d'urgence et d'autres services essentiels.

Liens connexes

Dernières nouvelles

Options de filtre

Options de filtre

Utilisez les options ci-dessous pour modifier vos résultats dans le tableau suivant.

DateType de nouvelleInstitutionDéclarations
2020-09-28DéclarationsAffaires mondiales Canada

Le Canada est profondément déçu de la démission du premier ministre désigné du Liban

Date : 2020-09-28

Type de nouvelle : Déclarations

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-09-01DéclarationsAffaires mondiales Canada

Le Canada souligne le centenaire du Liban

Date : 2020-09-01

Type de nouvelle : Déclarations

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-27Communiqué de presseAffaires mondiales Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada verse 8 millions de dollars pour égaler les dons des Canadiens en réponse à l’explosion de Beyrouth

Date : 2020-08-27

Type de nouvelle : Communiqué de presse

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-22Communiqué de presseAffaires mondiales Canada

Le ministre Champagne se rend au Liban et en Europe

Date : 2020-08-22

Type de nouvelle : Communiqué de presse

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-19Communiqué de presseAffaires mondiales Canada

La réponse humanitaire du Canada à Beyrouth

Date : 2020-08-19

Type de nouvelle : Communiqué de presse

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-17Communiqué de presseAffaires mondiales Canada

Le Canada annonce la nomination d’une nouvelle ambassadrice au Liban

Date : 2020-08-17

Type de nouvelle : Communiqué de presse

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-14DéclarationsPremier ministre du Canada

Déclaration du premier ministre concernant le décès de citoyens canadiens dans l’explosion au Liban

Date : 2020-08-14

Type de nouvelle : Déclarations

Institution : Premier ministre du Canada

2020-08-13DéclarationsImmigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada

Le Canada met sur pied un groupe de travail pour soutenir les survivants et les autres personnes touchées par la tragédie de Beyrouth

Date : 2020-08-13

Type de nouvelle : Déclarations

Institution : Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada

2020-08-10Communiqué de pressePremier ministre du Canada

Le premier ministre annonce davantage d’aide pour le Liban

Date : 2020-08-10

Type de nouvelle : Communiqué de presse

Institution : Premier ministre du Canada

2020-08-08Communiqués de presseAffaires mondiales Canada

Le Canada lance un fonds de secours en réponse à l’explosion de Beyrouth

Date : 2020-08-08

Type de nouvelle : Communiqués de presse

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-08Document d’informationAffaires mondiales Canada

Document d’information – Fonds de secours pour le Liban

Date : 2020-08-08

Type de nouvelle : Document d’information

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-05Communiqués de presseAffaires mondiales Canada

Le Canada fournit une aide humanitaire en réponse à l’explosion survenue à Beyrouth

Date : 2020-08-05

Type de nouvelle : Avis aux médias

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

2020-08-05Media advisoriesAffaires mondiales Canada

La ministre du Développement international tiendra une conférence de presse au sujet de l’aide au Liban

Date : 2020-08-05

Type de nouvelle : Avis aux médias

Institution : Affaires mondiales Canada

Date de modification: