International Humanitarian Assistance – Funding Application Guidelines for Non-Governmental Organizations

12 October 2018

Please note that the full Funding Application Guidelines for Non-Governmental Organizations are not currently available online and can be accessed by request. To make a request or should you have any questions, please contact the International Humanitarian Assistance Directorate at ahi-iha@international.gc.ca.

Purpose of NGO Funding Application Guidelines

Global Affairs Canada’s full “International Humanitarian Assistance Funding Application Guidelines for Non-Governmental Organizations” is available upon request (ahi-iha@international.gc.ca ).

The purpose of these Guidelines is to provide Canadian and international non-governmental organizations (NGOs) with an overview of the Global Affairs Canada (GAC) processes and requirements to be considered for international humanitarian assistance funding.

The full guidelines document provides NGOs with:

Context on funding through Global Affairs Canada’s International Humanitarian Assistance Bureau

The Department’s International Humanitarian Assistance Bureau (MHD) is the Government of Canada's operational lead for providing international humanitarian assistance in developing countries.

MHD funds organizations possessing the demonstrated knowledge, experience and capacity to meet the needs of vulnerable and marginalised populations, including the specific needs and priorities of women and girls.

MHD is a responsive program that provides assistance to both Complex Humanitarian Situations through an annual funding process and Sudden Onset Emergencies as situations immerge, typically following the flash and emergency appeals.

Process Overview

To be considered eligible for funding, organizations must first have a valid MHD Institutional Profile. The instructions on how to complete an Institutional Profile as well as our 10 requirements for eligibility are available in the complete Guidelines.

Please note, Institutional Profiles may be submitted at any time. However, any Institutional Profile Applications submitted during the annual process to respond to complex crises will be reviewed after this process has been completed.

Only NGOs with valid profiles can apply for programming.

In the case of complex humanitarian situations, MHD follows a two-step process whereby NGO first submit concept notes that are reviewed by MHD. These concept notes may then be identified for further development into full proposals by NGOs, which might be considered for potential funding after a thorough review.

In the case of sudden onset emergencies NGOs can submit abridged proposals that are considered for potential funding by MHD.

Please note that MHD will communicate with eligible NGOs throughout the entire funding process.

Should you have any questions do not hesitate to contact MHD at ahi-iha@international.gc.ca.

Please note that MHD does not fund the following NGO activities:

Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) activities Footnote 3

Date Modified:

Aide humanitaire internationale – Lignes directrices pour les demandes de financement à l'intention des organisations non gouvernementales

12 octobre 2018

Veuillez noter que les lignes directrices complètes pour les demandes de financement pour les organisations non gouvernementales ne sont pas présentement disponibles en ligne et peuvent être accédées sur demande. Pour faire une demande ou si vous avez des questions, merci de contacter la Direction de l'assistance humanitaire internationale à l'adresse suivante : ahi-iha@international.gc.ca.

L’objectif des lignes directrices relatives aux demandes de financement à l’intention des ONG

Les lignes directrices d’Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) relatives aux demandes de financement pour l’aide humanitaire internationale pour les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG)  sont disponibles sur demande (ahi-iha@international.gc.ca).

Les lignes directrices visent à donner aux ONG canadiennes et internationales un aperçu du processus et des exigences d’AMC à prendre en considération pour les demandes de financement pour des projets d’aide humanitaire internationale.   

Le document complet des directives fournit aux ONG :

Contexte entourant le financement par le Bureau d’assistance humanitaire internationale d’Affaires mondiales Canada

La Direction générale de l’assistance humanitaire internationale (MHD) du Ministère est l’organisme du gouvernement du Canada qui est chargé de fournir l’assistance humanitaire internationale dans les pays en développement.

MHD finance des organisations qui ont démontré qu’elles possèdent les connaissances, l’expérience et la capacité requises pour répondre aux besoins des populations vulnérables et marginalisées, y compris aux besoins et aux priorités propres aux femmes et aux filles. MHD est un programme flexible qui fournit de l’aide et dans les situations humanitaires complexes via un processus de financement annuel et dans les crises soudaines à mesure que les situations émergent, généralement après les appels éclair et d'urgence.

Aperçu du processus

Pour être considérées comme éligibles à du financement, les ONG doivent d'abord avoir un profil institutionnel valide auprès de MHD. Les instructions pour compléter une demande de profil institutionnel ainsi que nos 10 critères d’admissibilité sont disponibles dans les directives complètes.

Merci de noter que les demandes de profils institutionnels peuvent être soumises en tout temps. Toutefois, les demandes déposées durant la durée du processus de financement annuel pour répondre aux situations humanitaires complexes seront traitées qu’une fois le processus complété.

Seul les ONG avec un profil institutionnel valide peuvent appliquer pour du financement de programmes.

Dans les cas de situations humanitaires complexes, le processus de financement consiste en deux étapes. Tout d’abord les ONG présentent des notes conceptuelles qui sont ensuite révisées par MHD. Si la note conceptuelle d’une ONG est sélectionnée, cette dernière sera invitée à développer et étoffer son concept dans une demande complète pour un financement potentiel. 

En cas d'urgences soudaines, les ONG peuvent soumettre des propositions abrégées à MHD pour un financement potentiel.

Veuillez noter que MHD communiquera avec les ONG admissibles tout au long du processus de financement.

Si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec MHD à ahi-iha@international.gc.ca .

Veuillez noter que la MHD ne finance pas d’ONG pour les activités suivantes:

Date de modification: