Language selection

Search

Canada-Algeria relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Algeria enjoy excellent diplomatic relations, which go back to the initial years after Algeria’s independence. Algeria is an influential actor in North Africa and an important partner for Canada in the global fight against terrorism and bilateral trade.

Canada recognized Algeria upon independence in 1962, and diplomatic relations were established in 1964. Bilateral relations are greatly strengthened by people-to-people ties. According to the 2016 census, the Algerian diaspora to Canada was comprised of approximately 67,000 people, residing primarily in the Montreal area. Algeria is also the fourth-largest source of immigrants to Quebec, after France, Haiti, and Morocco. According to Citizenship and Immigration Canada, there were a total of 4,245 Algerian students studying in Canada in 2020.

Canada is represented in Algeria by the Embassy of Canada in Algiers. Algeria is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa and a Consulate General in Montreal.

Trade relations

Canada and Algeria have a dynamic commercial relationship, with bilateral merchandise trade totalling $658.2 million in 2020. Algeria represents the second largest market on the continent for Canadian exports, after Egypt. According to the Trade Commissioner Service, more than 100 Canadian companies are doing business in Algeria, and their varied activities range from basic foodstuffs to training services and aeronautics. Canadian companies benefit from their ability to do business in French, their willingness to share knowledge and technology, and their North American expertise. In the last 5 years, the assets of Canadian multinationals in Algeria have reached a peak of $2.6 billion.

Algeria presents significant business opportunities for Canada in the areas of infrastructure and consulting engineering services, education, information and communications technology, life sciences, energy and mining. Canada and Algeria also have strong cultural and academic ties including several inter-university research and teaching agreements. On July 1, 2017, Air Canada launched a direct flight between Montreal and Alger during the summer months, a service that previously was only offered by Air Algeria.

Development

Through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, Canada supports projects and organizations that promote democracy, respect for human rights and inclusive and accountable governance in Algeria.

Algeria has supported various international initiatives spearheaded by Canada. Algeria signed and ratified the Ottawa Convention on Anti-Personnel Mines, and has completed all steps called for under the convention. Algeria was also active in promoting the New Economic Partnership for African Development (NEPAD), particularly within the African Peer Review Mechanism. Although not a member of La Francophonie, Algeria is the second-largest French-speaking country in the world in terms of the number of speakers.

Related links

Operations

Algeria is a major regional player in the fight against terrorism. Recognizing Algeria’s unique role, Canada is committed to strengthening bilateral cooperation with Algeria to work towards the consolidation of peace and security in the region. Algeria and Canada participated in the launch of the Global Counterterrorism Forum (GCTF) in 2011, and until 2019, the two were co-chairs for the capacity-building working group for the Sahel, and subsequent West Africa region. Canada now co-chairs the GCTF as a whole, while Algeria continues to co-chair the West Africa working group. Canada provides funding for initiatives related to counter-terrorism capacity building in which Algeria participates.

Since 2017, Canada has contributed $2.1 million (including $400,000 in 2021) to the UN Refugee Agency to support those living in Sahrawi camps located in southwestern Algeria.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Algeria work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Algérie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et l’Algérie entretiennent d’excellentes relations diplomatiques depuis les premières années de l’indépendance algérienne. L’Algérie est un acteur influent en Afrique du Nord et un partenaire important pour le Canada dans la lutte mondiale contre le terrorisme et le commerce bilatéral.

Le Canada a reconnu l’Algérie dès son indépendance en 1962 et les relations diplomatiques entre les deux pays ont été établies en 1964. Les relations bilatérales sont grandement renforcées par les liens entre les peuples. Selon le recensement de 2016, la diaspora algérienne au Canada était composée d’environ 67 000 personnes, résidant principalement dans la région de Montréal. L’Algérie est également la quatrième source d’immigrants au Québec, après la France, Haïti et le Maroc. Selon Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, il y avait un total de 4,245 étudiants algériens au Canada en 2020.

Le Canada est représenté en Algérie par l’Ambassade du Canada à Alger. L’Algérie est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa et un consulat général à Montréal.

Relations commerciales

Le Canada et l’Algérie entretiennent des relations commerciales dynamiques marquées par des échanges bilatéraux de marchandises évalués à 658,2 millions de dollars en 2020. L’Algérie représente le deuxième marché du continent pour les exportations canadiennes, après l’Égypte. Selon le Service des délégués commerciaux, plus d’une centaine d’entreprises canadiennes font des affaires en Algérie, et leurs activités variées vont des produits alimentaires de base aux services de formation et à l’aéronautique. Les entreprises canadiennes tirent avantage de leur capacité à pouvoir faire des affaires en français, de leur volonté à partager leurs connaissances et leurs technologies, et de leur savoir-faire nord-américain. Au cours des 5 dernières années, l’actif des multinationales canadiennes en Algérie a atteint un sommet de 2,6 milliards de dollars.

L’Algérie présente d’importantes possibilités d’affaires pour le Canada dans les secteurs de l’infrastructure et des services de génie-conseil, de l’éducation, des technologies de l’information et des communications, des sciences de la vie, de l’énergie et les mines. Le Canada et l’Algérie sont également unis par des liens culturels et universitaires. Il existe notamment plusieurs accords interuniversitaires au niveau de la recherche et de l’enseignement. Le 1er juillet 2017, Air Canada a lancé un vol direct entre Montréal et Alger en période estivale, un service auparavant offert par Air Algérie seulement.

Développement

Par le biais du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, le Canada soutient des projets et des organisations qui font la promotion de la démocratie, du respect des droits de la personne et d’une gouvernance inclusive et responsable en Algérie.

L’Algérie a appuyé diverses initiatives internationales dirigées par le Canada : elle a notamment signé et ratifié la Convention d’Ottawa sur l’interdiction des mines antipersonnel et a complété toutes les étapes prévues par la convention. L’Algérie a aussi été active au sein de la promotion du Nouveau partenariat pour le développement de l’Afrique (NEPAD), tout particulièrement dans le cadre du Mécanisme africain d’évaluation par les pairs. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas membre de la Francophonie, l’Algérie se classe au deuxième rang des pays francophones en terme de locuteurs.

Liens connexes

Opérations

L’Algérie est un acteur régional de premier plan dans la lutte contre le terrorisme. Conscient du rôle unique de l’Algérie, le Canada s’est engagé à renforcer sa coopération bilatérale avec ce pays en vue de la consolidation de la paix et de la sécurité dans la région. L’Algérie et le Canada ont participé au lancement du Forum mondial contre le terrorisme (FMLT) en 2011, et jusqu’en 2019, les deux pays ont été coprésidents du groupe de travail sur le renforcement des capacités pour la région du Sahel, puis du groupe de travail de l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Le Canada copréside maintenant l’ensemble du FMLT, alors que l’Algérie continue de coprésider le groupe de travail de l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Le Canada finance des initiatives liées au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre le terrorisme auxquelles participent l’Algérie.

Depuis 2017, le Canada a contribué à hauteur de 2,1 millions de dollars (dont 400 000 dollars en 2021) à l’Agence des Nations unies pour les réfugiés afin de soutenir les personnes vivant dans les camps sahraouis situés dans le sud-ouest de l’Algérie.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et l'Algérie collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: