Language selection

Search

Canada-Kuwait relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Kuwait have enjoyed strong bilateral ties since diplomatic relations were established in 1965. Kuwait is represented by an embassy in Ottawa and Canada is represented by its embassy in Kuwait City. The strong foundation of the Canada-Kuwait relationship can be easily understood in the two countries’ common views and interests in several areas, including peace and security, humanitarian affairs, trade and investment, and people-to-people ties.

The friendship between Canada and Kuwait was never better demonstrated than in 1991, when Canadian Armed Forces personnel served with those of the Armed Forces of Kuwait and coalition allies in the Gulf War and its aftermath. Canadian firefighters and well control specialists played a major role and worked tirelessly with Kuwaitis in extinguishing massive oil well fires and blowouts.

In 2006, Kuwait awarded a Liberation of Kuwait Medal to Canadian soldiers who served in the first Gulf War. In February 2020, the Embassy of Kuwait in Canada honoured 30 Canadian veterans who took part in the first Gulf war.

An estimated 7,000 Canadians have been living in Kuwait and are employed in key areas such as the oil industry, academic institutions, government, health, financial services and engineering.

In 2019, there were approximately 450 Kuwaiti students pursuing their studies in Canada, mostly in medicine. In 2015, Algonquin College became the first Canadian college in Kuwait.

Trade relations

In 2020, Canadian merchandise exports to Kuwait reached a value of $96.4 million, while imports from Kuwait stood at just over $277,000. Canada’s top merchandise exports to Kuwait comprised consumer goods, agri-food products, machinery, and motor vehicles and parts.

In 2020, Kuwaiti Foreign Direct Investment Stock (FDI) in Canada was valued at almost $2.3 billion and Canadian Direct Investment in Kuwait was $118 million. In 2020, Kuwaiti FDI in Canada ranked as 6th in the Asia/Oceania region, and 2nd globally.

As part of its development plan Vision 2035, Kuwait is rolling out investment partnerships and strategic investment opportunities valued at more than $100 billion in key economic and social sectors for investors. Kuwait’s plans present opportunities for Canadian companies in several sectors, including information and communications technology, oil and gas, renewable energy, electricity and water, urban development and housing, health care, education, transport, tourism and the North Zone development.

Related links

Operations

Since 2011, Kuwait has hosted Canada’s Operational Support Detachment to support Canadian Armed Forces operations. The detachment transitioned to a general-purpose Operational Support Hub in May 2014 with the signing of a revised memorandum of understanding. In October 2014, Kuwait informed Canada that it would welcome Canada’s use of facilities as a base for Canadian Armed Forces assets involved in the Global Coalition Against Daesh.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Kuwait work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Koweït

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et le Koweït entretiennent des liens bilatéraux étroits depuis l’établissement de relations diplomatiques en 1965. Le Koweït est représenté par une ambassade à Ottawa et le Canada est représenté par son ambassade à Koweït. Les points de vue et les intérêts communs des deux pays dans plusieurs domaines, notamment ceux de la paix et de la sécurité, des affaires humanitaires, du commerce et de l’investissement, ainsi que les liens interpersonnels, permettent de comprendre facilement les liens solides qui les unissent.

L’amitié entre le Canada et le Koweït n’a jamais été aussi bien illustrée qu’en 1991, lorsque des membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont servi aux côtés de celles du Koweït et des alliés de la coalition lors de la guerre du Golfe et pendant l’après-conflit. Des pompiers canadiens et des spécialistes du contrôle des puits ont aussi joué un rôle de premier plan et travaillé sans relâche avec les Koweïtiens à contrôler les explosions et les immenses incendies de puits de pétrole.

En 2006, le Koweït a décerné une médaille de la libération du Koweït aux soldats canadiens qui ont servi pendant la première guerre du Golfe. En février 2020, l’ambassade du Koweït au Canada a rendu hommage à 30 anciens combattants canadiens qui ont pris part à la première guerre du Golfe.

Environ 7 000 Canadiens vivent au Koweït et travaillent dans des domaines clés comme l’industrie pétrolière, les établissements d’enseignement, le gouvernement, les services de santé, les services financiers et l’ingénierie.

En 2019, environ 450 étudiants koweïtiens poursuivaient leurs études au Canada, principalement en médecine, et en 2015, le collège Algonquin est devenu le premier collège canadien au Koweït.

Relations commerciales

En 2020, les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers le Koweït s’élevaient à 96,4 millions $, tandis que les importations en provenance du Koweït s’élevaient à 277,000 $. Les principales exportations du Canada vers le Koweït étaient les produits de consommation, les machines, les produits agro-alimentaires, et les véhicules automobiles et leurs pièces.

En 2020, le stock d’investissements directs étrangers (IDE) koweïtiens au Canada était évalué à près de 2,3 milliards de dollars et les investissements directs canadiens au Koweït à 118 millions de dollars. En 2020, les IDE koweïtiens au Canada se classent au 6e rang dans la région Asie/Océanie et au 2e rang mondial.

Dans le cadre de son plan de développement de Vision 2035, le Koweït a adopté, à l’intention des investisseurs, une stratégie de partenariats et d’investissements stratégiques évalués à plus de 100 milliards $ dans des secteurs économiques et sociaux clés. Ce plan présente des possibilités pour les entreprises canadiennes dans plusieurs secteurs, en outre ceux des technologies de l’information et des communications, du pétrole et du gaz, des énergies renouvelables, de l’électricité et de l’eau, du développement urbain et du logement, des soins de santé, de l’éducation, des transports, du tourisme et du développement de la zone nord.

Liens connexes

Opérations

Depuis 2011, le Détachement de soutien opérationnel du Canada appuie les opérations des Forces armées canadiennes en sol koweïtien. Les opérations du Détachement sont passées à celles d’un Centre de soutien opérationnel à vocation générale en mai 2014, après la signature d’un protocole d’entente révisé. En octobre 2014, le Koweït a accepté que le Canada utilise ses installations comme base pour les ressources des Forces armées canadiennes participant à la Coalition mondiale contre Daech.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Koweït collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment : 

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: