Language selection

Search

Canada-Palau relations

On this page

Bilateral relations 

Diplomatic relations were established on August 25, 1997. Canada enjoys a strong and warm relationship with Palau. Bilateral relations are cordial and enhanced by a shared membership in several international organisations such as the United Nations, the International Monetary Fund and the World Health Organisation. Canada and Palau are both party to a number of agreements such as the, the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and the United Nations Fish Stocks Agreement. Canada is also a Dialogue Partner of the Pacific Islands Forum to which Palau belongs.

In Palau, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada to Australia, in Canberra. Palau is represented in Canada by an embassy in Washington, D.C., U.S.A.

Trade relations

Canada's trade relations with Palau are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service at the High Commission of Canada to Australia, in Canberra. Palau’s main industry is tourism. The country consists of 8 main islands and more than 300 smaller islands and atolls. Two thirds of the population live in the state of Koror.

Related links

Development

Canada supports community-based projects in Palau through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives administered by the High Commission of Canada in Australia. Canada also provides long-term institutional support to multilateral and global organizations that are present in the Pacific.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Palau work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Palaos

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Des relations diplomatiques ont été établies le 25 août 1997. Le Canada entretient des relations étroites et chaleureuses avec les Palaos. Les relations bilatérales entre les deux pays sont cordiales et profitent de leur appartenance à des organisations internationales telles que les Nations Unies, le Fonds monétaire international et l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. Le Canada et les Palaos font partie d’un certain nombre d’accords, comme la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer et l’Accord des Nations Unies sur les stocks de poissons. Le Canada est également un partenaire du dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique, auquel les Palaos appartiennent.

Aux Palaos, le Canada est représenté par le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie à Canberra. Les Palaos sont représentés au Canada via son ambassade située à Washington aux États-Unis.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec les Palaos sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux du Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie à Canberra. Le tourisme est la principale industrie des Palaos Le pays se compose de huit îles principales et de plus de 300 petites îles et atolls. Les deux tiers de la population vivent dans l’État de Koror.

Liens connexes

Développement

Le Canada appuie des projets communautaires aux Palaos par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales administré par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie. Le Canada fournit également un support à long-terme aux organismes multilatérales et internationales présentent dans le Pacifique.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et les Palaos collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: