Brokering Controls

The Government of Canada is a State Party to the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT or the Treaty) as of September 17, 2019. The ATT establishes standards for international trade in a broad range of conventional arms with the goal of ensuring that states have effective national systems to review and control arms trading. While Canada met most ATT requirements before acceding the ATT, it did not have in place brokering controls, which are required by Article 10 of the Treaty. Canada has now implemented brokering controls to fill this gap.

Through An Act to amend the Export and Import Permits Act and the Criminal Code (amendments permitting the accession to the Arms Trade Treaty and other amendments) (Bill C-47), the Government of Canada made legislative changes to the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) to create a framework for brokering controls, as well as other changes to increase the rigour of Canada’s export controls regime. This new legislation received Royal Assent on December 13, 2018.

Public consultations held from December 2018 to January 2019 solicited the views of Canadians on how to implement the new legislation, including the brokering controls, in a way that increases the rigour of Canada’s system, while minimizing undue burdens on Canadian industry.

Legislation: Bill C-47

Bill C-47 amended the EIPA to establish controls over brokering by:

Definition of “broker”

The amended EIPA defines “brokering” as “arranging or negotiating a transaction that relates to the movement of goods or technology included in a Brokering Control List from a foreign country to another foreign country.” Here are a few interpretive notes on that definition:

A broker as defined in the EIPA is not the same as a “broker” under any other legislation or context. The new brokering controls have no impact on customs brokers, or any other type of “broker”, just because of their professional title. For a person or a company to be impacted by the new brokering controls, they would have to conduct “brokering” activities as defined above.

Legal prohibition

The amended legislation will prohibit unauthorized brokering by any legal or natural person or organization in Canada. Canada’s brokering controls will also apply abroad for:

This means that Canada is making unauthorized brokering a criminal offence and that brokering obligations apply extraterritorially as well as domestically.

Brokering regulations

Bill C-47 authorizes the Government of Canada to make regulations to control brokering. Four regulations will create the framework for controlling brokering.

  1. Brokering Control List (BCL):This regulation lists all items for which a brokering permit is required. It will include all items listed in Group 2 (Munitions List) and Group 9 (ATT items) of the Export Control List (ECL), as well as any other ECL item—including dual-use items—that is likely to be used to produce or develop a weapon of mass destruction. The scope of the proposed BCL is comparable to and informed by the existing brokering controls of Canada’s allies.
  2. Brokering Permit Regulations (BPR): This regulation sets out the information that an applicant (meaning a person or organization) must submit in their application for an individual brokering permit. This includes the applicant’s name and contact details; information about the seller, buyer and any other agents or brokers involved; and information on the goods to be brokered, including on their proposed end use. Applicants for brokering permits will be able to use Export Controls On-Line (EXCOL), the same dedicated website used for export permits.
  3. Regulations Specifying Activities that Do Not Constitute Brokering (“Exclusions”): This regulation specifies activities that, while technically falling under the EIPA’s definition of “brokering,” will be excluded from the new controls. Two exclusions are proposed:
  4. General Brokering Permit (“GBP”) No. 1: This regulation creates a General Permit that can be used to broker in pre-defined, lower-risk circumstances. This GBP authorizes brokering to certain low-risk destinations, provided that the end use is in that destination and that the broker follows the requirements set out in the GBP. In response to feedback received during pre-publication of this regulation in Canada Gazette, Part I, it was amended to also allow for brokering when the item is destined for end-use by the Government of Canada. Brokers making use of this General Permit must:

More information on the legislative and regulatory changes related to the ATT, including brokering controls, can be found at the following links:

Resources for brokers and Trade Compliance Specialists

Other relevant regulations

Brokering permit applications

You are encouraged to submit your application electronically through EXCOL. As an alternative, you may also submit a paper application.

General information

Contact us

For any question related to Canada’s brokering controls, you can reach the Export Controls Policy Division:

Date Modified:

Contrôles du courtage

Le gouvernement du Canada est un État partie au Traité sur le commerce des armes (TCA ou Traité) à compter du 17 septembre 2019. Le TCA établit les normes du commerce international pour une vaste gamme d’armes classiques en vue de s’assurer que les États aient des mécanismes nationaux efficaces d’examen et de contrôle du commerce des armes. Le Canada respectait déjà la majorité des exigences du TCA avant son adhésion à ce traité, mais il ne disposait pas des contrôles en matière de courtage exigés à l’article 10 du Traité. Le Canada a maintenant mis en œuvre des mécanismes de contrôle du courtage pour combler cet écart.

À l’aide de la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation et le Code criminel (modifications permettant l’adhésion au Traité sur le commerce des armes et autres modifications) (projet de loi C-47), le gouvernement du Canada a apporté des modifications législatives à la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) afin de créer un cadre pour le contrôle du courtage et afin d’apporter d’autres modifications pour accroître la rigueur du régime des contrôles à l’exportation. Ces changements législatifs ont reçu la sanction royale le 13 décembre 2018.

Des consultations publiques ont eu lieu de décembre 2018 à janvier 2019 pour obtenir le point de vue des Canadiens sur la manière de mettre en œuvre les changements législatifs, y compris les contrôles en matière de courtage, de manière à augmenter la rigueur du système canadien tout en minimisant les fardeaux inutiles imposés à l’industrie canadienne.

Dispositions législatives : projet de loi C-47

Le projet de loi C-47 a modifié la LLEI pour établir des contrôles sur le courtage,

Définition de « courtage »

La LLEI modifiée définit le « courtage » comme « le fait de prendre des dispositions menant à une transaction relative au mouvement de marchandises ou de technologies figurant sur la Liste des marchandises de courtage contrôlé, d’un pays étranger vers un autre pays étranger. » Voici quelques notes d’interprétation relatives à cette définition :

Un courtier, tel que défini dans la LLEI, n’est pas l’équivalent d’un « courtier » sous d’autres régimes législatifs ou dans d’autres contextes. Les nouveaux contrôles du courtage n’ont aucune conséquence sur les courtiers en douane ou sur tout autre « courtier » simplement à cause de leur titre professionnel. Pour qu’une personne ou une entreprise soit touchée par les nouveaux contrôles du courtage, elle devrait exercer des activités de courtage telles que définies ci-dessus.

Interdiction prévue par la loi

La législation modifiée interdira le courtage non autorisé par toute personne physique ou morale, ou organisation au Canada. Les contrôles de courtage du Canada s’appliqueront également à l’étranger aux :

Cela signifie que le Canada fait du courtage non autorisé une infraction criminelle et que les obligations relatives au courtage s’appliquent à l’étranger comme à l’intérieur des frontières.

Règlements sur le courtage

Le projet de loi C-47 autorise le gouvernement du Canada à faire des règlements pour contrôler le courtage. Quatre règlements constitueront le cadre de contrôle du courtage.

  1. Liste des marchandises de courtage contrôlé (LMCC) : Ce règlement énumère tous les articles pour lesquels une licence de courtage est requise. Il comprendra tous les articles énumérés dans le groupe 2 (Liste des munitions) et le Groupe 9 (articles du TCA) de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (LMTEC), ainsi que tout autre article de la LMTEC – y compris les articles à double usage – qui pourraient être utilisés pour produire ou concevoir une arme de destruction massive. La portée de la LMCC proposée est comparable aux contrôles sur le courtage des alliés du Canada et elle est fondée sur ceux-ci.
  2. Règlement sur les licences de courtage (RLC) : Ce règlement détaille les renseignements qu’un demandeur (une personne ou une organisation) doit fournir dans sa demande de licence de courtage individuelle, y compris le nom du demandeur et ses coordonnées ; des renseignements sur le vendeur, l’acheteur et tout autre agent ou courtier concerné ; et des renseignements sur les marchandises négociées, notamment sur leur usage final proposé. Les demandeurs de licence de courtage peuvent utiliser le Système des contrôles des exportations en direct (CEED), le même site Web spécialisé que celui utilisé pour les licences d’exportation.
  3. Règlement précisant les activités ne constituant pas du courtage (« exclusions ») : Ce règlement spécifie les activités qui, bien qu’elles correspondent techniquement à la définition de « courtage » énoncée dans la LLEI, sont exclues des nouveaux contrôles. Deux exclusions sont proposées :
  4. Licence générale de courtage (« LGC ») no 1 : Ce règlement crée une licence générale qui peut être utilisée pour effectuer du courtage dans des circonstances prédéfinies qui présentent moins de risques. Cette LGC autorise le courtage vers certains endroits qui présentent peu de risques, à condition que l’usage final soit prévu à cet endroit et que le courtier respecte les exigences stipulées dans la LGC. En réponse aux commentaires reçus lors de la publication préalable de ce règlement dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, celui-ci a été modifié pour permettre également le courtage lorsque l'article est destiné à une utilisation finale par le gouvernement du Canada. Les courtiers utilisant cette licence générale doivent :

Pour de plus amples informations sur les changements législatifs et réglementaires liés au TCA, incluant les contrôles du courtage, veuillez consulter les liens suivants :

Ressources pour les courtiers et pour les spécialistes de la conformité commerciale

Autres règlements pertinents

Demandes pour les permis de courtage

On vous encourage à soumettre toute demande de permis par voie électronique, au moyen du CEED. Dans l’alternative, vous pouvez aussi soumettre une demande papier.

Information générale

Contactez-nous

Pour toute question liée aux contrôles sur le courtage du Canada, vous pouvez contacter la Direction de la politique en matière des contrôles à l'exportation:

Date de modification: