Language selection

Search

Notice to Importers – Steel Goods (Item 82 on the Import Control List)

Serial No. 983
Date: December 31, 2019

1.0 Purpose, Coverage and Duration

1.1 The purpose of this Notice is to inform importers of the procedures governing the administration of safeguards, in the form of tariff rate quotas (TRQ), for certain steel goods that are listed in item 82 on the Import Control List (ICL) for the period beginning on February 1, 2020 and ending after October 24, 2021.

1.2 These goods are included on the ICL to implement the Order Amending the Order Imposing a Surtax on the Importation of Certain Steel Goods (Surtax Order). The Surtax Order establishes safeguards in the form of TRQs for steel goods matching the product descriptions specified in column 2 of the Schedule to the Surtax Order, above which a surtax will apply. The TRQs and surtax rates vary annually. Details regarding the TRQs and surtax rates applicable in each given period can be found in Customs Notice 19-08 – Final Safeguard Measures Imposed on the Importation of Certain Steel Goods from the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA).

1.3 This Notice applies to steel goods other than those originating in:

1.4 This Notice does not apply to imports of steel products that do not meet the product descriptions specified in column 2 of the Schedule to the Surtax Order.

1.5 Goods that are not subject to the Surtax Order may continue to be imported under General Import Permit No. 80 or General Import Permit No. 81, as the case may be.

1.6 The TRQs will be administered by way of shipment-specific import permits. The TRQs will be administered until the Surtax Order is amended or repealed by the Governor in Council, or ceases to have effect pursuant to section 56 of the Customs Tariff

1.7 This Notice will remain in effect until October 24, 2021, unless superseded by a further Notice or otherwise repealed.

2.0 Authority

2.1 Steel goods subject to the Surtax Order were placed on the ICL on October 25, 2018 under the authority of subsection 5(6) and section 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA).

3.0 Method of Administration

3.1 There are two TRQs: one for stainless steel wire, and one for heavy plate. The commodity goods covered by each TRQ are set out in the Commodity Codes Handbook.

3.2 In order to facilitate the proper administration of the TRQs, the issuance of shipment-specific import permits will be administered on an allocated basis, based on the methodology set out in this Notice.

3.3 Pursuant to the Surtax Order, Global Affairs Canada has established quantities of subject goods that may be imported into Canada under item 82 on the ICL in each quota period:

Quota PeriodDatesTRQ Quantities
1 Unutilized quantities of quota from June 3, 2019 to January 31, 2020 will also be available for the residual pool (per paragraph 3.5.1).
1February 1, 2020 to May 12, 20201

Heavy plate: 27,595,333 kg

Stainless steel wire: 772,333 kg

2May 13, 2020 to May 12, 2021

Heavy plate: 110,000,000 kg

Stainless steel wire: 3,080,000 kg

3May 13, 2021 to October 24, 2021

Heavy plate: 54,699,000 kg

Stainless steel wire: 1,532,000 kg

3.4 The TRQ quantities noted in the quota periods will be divided into two pools: i) an allocation pool, available for eligible applicants based on their import history during the reference period; and ii) a residual pool, available on a first-come, first-served basis to those who do not hold allocations.

3.4.1 Applications from all importers will be accepted. However, an allocation will only be issued to importers that accounted for at least 0.5% of import share during the 12-month reference period from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.

3.4.2 Eligible allocation applicants may be allocated, from the allocation pool, the lesser of: 1) the maximum possible allocation, as determined by their historical imports; or 2) the requested amount in their application.

3.4.3 Any remaining unallocated portions will then form the residual pool. Permits for the residual pool will be issued on a first-come, first-served basis to applicants that did not receive an allocation.

3.4.4 Unutilized TRQ quantities from one quota period will not be transferable to the subsequent quota period. 

3.5.5 A list of heavy plate and stainless steel wire allocation holders will be published on Global Affairs Canada’s website. The list will provide the names of the allocation holders without disclosing individual quota quantities or utilization.

Quota Period 1

3.5 Applications for a quota allocation, to be utilized between February 1 and May 12, 2020, will be accepted by Global Affairs Canada between January 1 and January 22, 2020. Applications must be submitted no later than January 22, 2020. Application Form 3145 must be submitted by e-mail to steel-acier@international.gc.ca.

3.5.1 Any quota that went unutilized during the period between June 3, 2019 and January 31, 2020 will be transferred into the residual pool for access on a first-come, first-served basis.

3.5.2 Quota allocations will be issued to eligible importers by January 29, 2020. The application period for shipment-specific import permits in the Export and Import Control System will open at 4:00 a.m. EST on February 1, 2020.

3.5.3 Allocation holders will be able to access the residual pool as soon as they have utilized the entirety of their allocation.

3.5.4 In order to maximize TRQ utilization, allocation holders that do not intend to utilize the entirety of their allocation by May 12, 2020 are requested to return any quantities that they do not intend to utilize as early as possible before May 12, 2020.

Quota Period 2

3.6 Applications for a quota allocation, to be utilized between May 13, 2020 and May 12, 2021, will be accepted by Global Affairs Canada between April 8 and April 29, 2020. Applications must be submitted no later than April 29, 2020. Application Form 3145 must be submitted by e-mail to steel-acier@international.gc.ca.

3.6.1 Quota allocations will be issued to eligible importers by May 6, 2020. The application period for shipment-specific import permits in the Export and Import Control System will open at 4:00 a.m. EST on May 13, 2020.

3.6.2 Allocation holders that have utilized the entirety of their allocation will be able to access the residual pool, starting February 1, 2021.

3.6.3 In order to maximize TRQ utilization, allocation holders that do not intend to utilize the entirety of their allocation by May 12, 2021 are requested to return any quantities that they do not intend to utilize before February 1, 2021. Returned quantities will be added to the residual pool. Any portion of an allocation that is returned by that date will be considered as having been used for purposes of administering the under-utilization policy identified in paragraph 3.6.4.

3.6.4 Allocation holders that do not utilize the entirety of their allocation before May 12, 2021 will have their allocation in quota period 3 adjusted downward by subtracting the amount of quota left unutilized in this quota period.

Quota Period 3

3.7 Applications for a quota allocation, to be utilized between May 13 and October 24, 2021, will be accepted by Global Affairs Canada between April 8 and April 29, 2021. Applications must be submitted no later than April 29, 2021. Application Form 3145 must be submitted by e-mail to steel-acier@international.gc.ca.

3.7.1 Quota allocations will be issued to eligible importers by May 6, 2021. The application period for shipment-specific import permits in the Export and Import Control System will open at 4:00 a.m. EST on May 13, 2021.

3.7.2 Allocation holders that have utilized the entirety of their allocation will be able to access the residual pool, starting August 25, 2021.

3.7.3 In order to maximize TRQ utilization, allocation holders that do not intend to utilize the entirety of their allocation by October 24, 2021 are requested to return any quantities that they do not intend to utilize before August 25, 2021. Returned quantities will be added to the residual pool.

4.0 Import Permits

4.1 Types of Permits

4.1.1 An import permit issued by Global Affairs Canada is required for shipments of steel goods covered by this Notice.

4.1.2 Importers may either present a shipment-specific permit or invoke the appropriate General Import Permit (GIP).

4.2 Shipment-Specific Permits

4.2.1 Shipment-specific permits are issued on demand for shipments of steel goods under the TRQs covered by this Notice. Importers may apply for an import permit up to five days in advance of, and no later than, the shipment’s arrival.

4.2.2 For shipment-specific permit applications, all quantities must be requested in kilograms. All permit applications submitted in metric tonnes will be rejected.

4.2.3 Shipment-specific import permits are valid for thirty calendar days.

4.2.4 For a shipment to be free of the surtax, the importer must present a valid shipment-specific import permit to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) at the time of final accounting.

4.2.5 Unutilized expired permits may be automatically cancelled by Global Affairs Canada.

4.2.6 For a shipment-specific import permit to be considered valid, the name on the permit must match the name of the importer on the B3-3 Canada Customs Coding Form and related documents at time of final accounting. It is incumbent on the party granted the permit to ensure that a permit application is made in the name of the importer of record and includes the correct quantity. Quantities of a shipment that exceed the amount on the permit will be subject to the surtax. For information on how customs entry documents should be completed, refer to CBSA Customs Notice 19-08.

4.3 General Import Permits

4.3.1 Goods imported without a valid shipment-specific permit must be imported under the authority of General Import Permit No. 80 or General Import Permit No. 81, as the case may be. There is no limit to the quantities of steel that may enter Canada under the General Import Permits, but such imports will be subject to the surtax.

4.4 How to Apply for a Permit

4.4.1 Information about the permit application process, the monthly billing system, information required from applicants, and the permit application form, is available on the Global Affairs Canada website: Applying for an Import Permit.

4.4.2 Applications submitted without a broker must be sent to Global Affairs Canada at the Export Import Controls System Help Desk.

4.4.3 Detailed information on permit fees can be found on the Global Affairs Canada website: Import and Export Permits and Certificate Fees.

4.5 Permit Amendments and Cancellations

4.5.1 Importers who have been issued a shipment-specific permit should immediately inform Global Affairs Canada in writing if the permit will not be utilized.

4.5.2 To amend a permit, an importer must submit a Cancellation Form: Application for Cancellation of Permit.

4.5.3 Cancellation forms must be accompanied with the following supporting documentation:

5.0 Contact Us

5.1 Contact details for the Steel Controls Unit and the Help Desk are available on the Global Affairs website: Contact Us.

Date Modified:

Avis aux importateurs – Produits en acier (article 82 de la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée)

No 983
Date: 31 décembre 2019

1.0 Objet, champ d’application et durée

1.1 Le présent avis a pour objet d’informer les importateurs des procédures régissant l’administration de mesures de sauvegarde prenant la forme de contingents tarifaires (CT) qui visent certains produits en acier énumérés à l’article 82 de la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC) pour la période commençant le 1er février 2020 et se terminant le 24 octobre 2021.

1.2 Ces produits sont inscrits sur la LMIC en application du Décret modifiant le Décret imposant une surtaxe sur l’importation de certains produits de l’acier (Décret relatif à la surtaxe). Le Décret relatif à la surtaxe établit des mesures de sauvegarde sous la forme de CT pour les produits en acier correspondant aux descriptions indiquées dans la colonne 2 de l’annexe du Décret relatif à la surtaxe, auxquels une surtaxe s’appliquera en cas de dépassement des quantités prévues. Le volume des CT et le taux de la surtaxe seront révisés sur une base annuelle. Plus de précisions sur les CT et les taux de surtaxe qui s’appliquent en fonction de la période concernée peuvent être trouvées dans l’Avis des douanes 19-08 – Mesures de sauvegarde définitives imposées sur les importations de certains produits de l’acier de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).

1.3 Le présent avis s’applique aux produits en acier qui ne sont pas originaires :

1.4 Le présent avis ne s’applique pas aux importations de produits d’acier qui ne correspondent pas aux descriptions de produits indiquées dans la colonne 2 de l’annexe du Décret relatif à la surtaxe.

1.5 Les produits qui ne sont pas assujettis au Décret relatif à la surtaxe peuvent continuer d’être importés en vertu de la Licence générale d’importation no 80 ou de la Licence générale d’importation no 81, selon le cas. 

1.6 Les CT seront administrés au moyen de licences d’importation individuelles. Les CT seront administrés jusqu’à ce que le Décret relatif à la surtaxe soit modifié ou abrogé par le gouverneur en conseil, ou cesse d’avoir effet en vertu de l’article 56 du Tarif des douanes.

1.7 Le présent avis demeure en vigueur jusqu’au 24 octobre 2021, à moins qu’il ne soit remplacé par un autre avis ou autrement abrogé.

2.0 Autorisation

2.1 Les produits en acier assujettis au Décret relatif à la surtaxe ont été inscrits sur la LMIC le 25 octobre 2018 en application du paragraphe 5(6) et de l’article 6 de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI).

3.0 Méthode d’administration

3.1 Deux CT sont en vigueur : un pour le fil en acier inoxydable, et un pour les tôles lourdes. Les articles visés par chaque CT sont énumérés dans le Manuel des codes des marchandises.

3.2 Pour faciliter la bonne administration des CT, la délivrance des licences d’importation individuelles sera administrée sur une base d’attribution de parts de contingent, conformément à la méthode énoncée dans le présent avis.

3.3 En vertu du Décret relatif à la surtaxe, Affaires Mondiales Canada a établi les quantités de marchandises en cause qui peuvent être importées au Canada en vertu de l’article 82 de la LMIC pour chaque période de quota.

Période de quotaDatesQuantités des CT
1 Tout quota non utilisé lors la période entre le 3 juin 2019 et le 31 janvier 2020 sera transféré dans la réserve résiduelle (tel qu’énoncé au paragraphe 3.5.1).
11er février 2020 au 12 mai 20201

Tôles lourdes : 27,595,333 kg

Fil en acier inoxydable :  772,333 kg

213 mai 2020 au 12 mai 2021

Tôles lourdes :  110,000,000 kg

Fil en acier inoxydable :  3,080,000 kg

313 mai 2021 au 24 octobre 2021

Tôles lourdes : 54,699,000 kg

Fil en acier inoxydable : 1,532,000 kg

3.4 Le volume des CT pour chaque période de quota sera divisé en deux réserves : une réserve aux fins de la répartition du contingent entre les demandeurs admissibles sur la base de leurs importations antérieures durant la période de référence, et une réserve résiduelle qui sera attribuée selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi aux demandeurs qui ne détiennent pas de part de contingent.

3.4.1 Tous les importateurs peuvent soumettre une demande. Toutefois, une part de contingent ne sera accordée qu’aux importateurs qui représentent au moins 0,5 % des importations effectuées au cours de la période de référence de 12 mois allant du 1er juillet 2017 au 30 juin 2018.

3.4.2 Les demandeurs de part admissibles peuvent se voir accorder, au titre de la réserve établie aux fins de la répartition du contingent, la quantité maximale possible en fonction de leurs exportations antérieures, ou, s’il est moindre, le volume qu’ils ont demandé.

3.4.3 La réserve résiduelle sera ensuite établie sur la base de toute portion subsistante des CT qui n’aura pas été allouée.

3.4.4 Les quantités non utilisés des CT d’une période de quota ne seront pas transférables à la période de quota suivante.

3.4.5 Une liste des détenteurs de parts de contingent de tôles lourdes et de fils en acier inoxydable sera publiée sur le site web d’Affaires mondiales Canada. La liste inclura les noms des détenteurs de parts de contingent sans dévoiler les quantités ou l’utilisation individuelle des quotas.

Période de quota 1

3.5 Les demandes de parts de contingent, qui devront être utilisées entre le 1er février et le 12 mai 2020, seront acceptées par Affaires mondiales Canada du 1 au 22 janvier 2020. Les demandes doivent être transmises au plus tard, le 22 janvier 2020. Le Formulaire 3145 doit être envoyé à l’adresse steel-acier@international.gc.ca.

3.5.1 Tout quota non utilisé lors la période entre le 3 juin 2019 et le 31 janvier 2020 sera transféré dans la réserve résiduelle pour un accès selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

3.5.2 Les parts de contingent seront allouées aux importateurs éligibles avant le 29 janvier 2020. Les demandes de licences d’importation individuelles pourront être effectuées dans le Système des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation à partir de 4 h, heure normale de l’Est, le 1er février 2020. 

3.5.3 Les détenteurs de parts de contingent pourront accéder à la réserve résiduelle dès qu’ils auront utilisé la totalité de leur part de contingent.

3.5.4 Pour assurer que les CT sont pleinement utilisés, les détenteurs de parts de contingent qui ne prévoient pas utiliser en entier le volume qui leur a été alloué avant le 12 mai 2020 sont demandés de retourner toute portion qu’ils ne prévoient pas utiliser le plus tôt possible avant le 12 mai 2020.

Période de quota 2

3.6 Les demandes de parts de contingent, qui devront être utilisées entre le 13 mai 2020 et le 12 mai 2021, seront acceptées par Affaires mondiales Canada du 8 au 29 avril 2020. Les demandes doivent être transmises au plus tard, le 29 avril 2020. Le Formulaire 3145 doit être envoyé à l’adresse steel-acier@international.gc.ca.

3.6.1 Les parts de contingent seront allouées aux importateurs éligibles avant le 6 mai 2020. Les demandes de licences d’importation individuelles pourront être effectuées dans le Système des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation à partir de 4 h, heure normale de l’Est, le 13 mai 2020. 

3.6.2 Les détenteurs de parts de contingent qui auront utilisé la totalité de leur part de contingent pourront accéder à la réserve résiduelle dès le 1er février 2021.

3.6.3 Pour assurer que les CT sont pleinement utilisés, les détenteurs de parts de contingent qui ne prévoient pas utiliser en entier le volume qui leur a été alloué avant le 12 mai 2021 sont demandés de retourner toute portion qu’ils ne prévoient pas utiliser avant le 1er février 2021. Les quantités retournées seront ajoutées à la réserve résiduelle. Toute portion d’une allocation qui est retourner par cette date sera considérée comme ayant été utilisé aux fins d’administration de la politique de sous-utilisation identifiée au paragraphe 3.6.4.  

3.6.4 Les détenteurs de parts de contingent qui n’utilisent pas en entier le volume qui leur a été alloué avant le 12 mai 2021 verront leur part de contingent réduit lors de la période de quota 3 en soustrayant la quantité de quota non utilisée.

Période de quota 3

3.7 Les demandes de parts de contingent, qui devront être utilisées entre le 13 mai et le 24 octobre 2021, seront acceptées par Affaires mondiales Canada du 8 au 29 avril 2021. Les demandes doivent être transmises au plus tard, le 29 avril 2021. Le Formulaire 3145 doit être envoyé à l’adresse steel-acier@international.gc.ca.

3.7.1 Les parts de contingent seront allouées aux importateurs éligibles avant le 6 mai 2021. Les demandes de licences d’importation individuelles pourront être effectuées dans le Système des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation à partir de 4 h, heure normale de l’Est, le 13 mai 2021. 

3.7.2 Les détenteurs de parts de contingent qui auront utilisé la totalité de leur part de contingent pourront accéder à la réserve résiduelle dès le 25 août 2021.

3.7.3 Pour assurer que les CT sont pleinement utilisés, les détenteurs de parts de contingent qui ne prévoient pas utiliser en entier le volume qui leur a été alloué avant le 24 octobre 2021 sont demandés de retourner toute portion qu’ils ne prévoient pas utiliser avant le 25 août 2021. Les quantités retournées seront ajoutées à la réserve résiduelle. 

4.0 Licences d’importation

4.1 Types de licences

4.1.1 Une licence d’importation délivrée par Affaires mondiales Canada est requise pour les envois de produits en acier visés par le présent avis.

4.1.2 L’importateur peut soit présenter une licence individuelle (propre à chaque envoi), soit se prévaloir de la licence générale d’importation (LGI) appropriée.

4.2 Licences individuelles (propres à chaque envoi)

4.2.1 Les licences individuelles sont délivrées sur demande pour les produits en acier importés au titre des CT visés par le présent avis. Les importateurs peuvent faire une demande de licence jusqu’à cinq jours avant l’arrivée d’un envoi, au plus tard.

4.2.2 Dans les demandes de licences individuelles, les quantités demandées doivent être exprimées en kilogrammes. Toute demande de licence soumise en tonnes sera rejetée.

4.2.3 Les licences d’importation individuelles sont valides 30 jours civils.

4.2.4 Pour que l’envoi soit exempté de la surtaxe, l’importateur doit présenter une licence d’importation individuelle valide à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) au moment de la déclaration en détail définitive.

4.2.5 Affaires mondiales Canada pourrait automatiquement annuler les licences inutilisées arrivées à échéance.

4.2.6 Pour qu’une licence d’importation individuelle soit considérée comme valide, le nom inscrit sur celle-ci doit être identique au nom de l’importateur inscrit sur la Formule de codage de Douanes Canada B3-3 et sur les documents connexes au moment de la déclaration en détail définitive. Il incombe au titulaire de la licence de s’assurer que la demande de licence est faite au nom de l’importateur inscrit au dossier et que les quantités indiquées sont exactes. Les quantités d’un envoi qui sont supérieures au volume indiqué sur la licence seront assujetties à la surtaxe. Plus d’information sur la façon de remplir les documents de douane peut être trouvée dans l’Avis des douanes 19-08 de l’ASFC.

4.3 Licences générales d’importation

4.3.1 Les marchandises importées sans une licence individuelle valide doivent être importées en vertu de la Licence générale d’importation no 80 ou de la Licence générale d’importation no 81, selon le cas. Il n’y a pas de limite aux quantités d’acier pouvant entrer au Canada en vertu de la Licence générale d’importation, mais ces importations seront assujetties à la surtaxe.

4.4 Comment faire une demande de licence

4.4.1 L’information sur le processus de demande de licence, le système de facturation mensuelle, les renseignements que doivent fournir les demandeurs et le formulaire de demande de licence est accessible sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada : Demande de licence d’importation.

4.4.2 Les demandes soumises sans l’aide d’un courtier doivent parvenir à Affaires mondiales Canada par le biais du Support technique du Système des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation.

4.4.3 Le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada contient des renseignements détaillés sur les droits exigés pour la délivrance des licences, voir : Les droits pour les licences d’exportation et d’importation et certificats.

4.5 Modifications et annulations de licence

4.5.1 Les importateurs qui se sont vu délivrer une licence individuelle doivent immédiatement informer Affaires mondiales Canada par écrit si la licence ne sera pas utilisée.

4.5.2 Afin de modifier une licence, l’importateur doit soumettre un formulaire d’annulation : Demande d’annulation d’une licence d’importation.

4.5.3 Les formulaires d’annulation doivent être accompagnés des pièces justificatives suivantes :

5.0 Pour nous joindre

5.1 Les coordonnées de l’Unité des contrôles de l’acier et du service d’assistance sont accessibles sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales : Contactez-nous.

Date de modification: