Exploratory discussions for a possible Canada-ASEAN free trade agreement

The conclusion of exploratory discussions for a possible Canada-ASEAN free trade agreement (FTA) was announced on September 10, 2019, at the ASEAN Economic Ministers (AEM) -Canada Consultations in Bangkok, Thailand.

Canada and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) member states launched exploratory discussions for a possible Canada-ASEAN FTA on September 8th, 2017. The first set of face-to-face exploratory discussions took place July 11-12, 2018, in Singapore. A second set of exploratory discussions was held on April 7-8, 2019, in Laos. The discussions served as an opportunity for Canada and ASEAN to exchange information about each other’s typical approach to FTA negotiations and respective domestic regulatory regimes, and to explore the elements of a possible Canada-ASEAN FTA.

From September 1 to October 16, 2018, the Government also conducted public consultations to seek the views of Canadians on a possible FTA with ASEAN. A summary of these consultations was published in February 2019. The Government is committed to continuing to engage Canadians on a possible FTA with ASEAN.

The Government of Canada aims to expand trade and investment with large, fast-growing markets, including ASEAN. Together, ASEAN member states represent the fifth largest economy in the world, and Canada’s sixth largest trading partner.

Contact us

We continue to welcome your views and invite you to send your comments regarding a possible Canada-ASEAN FTA at any time:

Trade Policy and Negotiations - Asia (TCA)
Global Affairs Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-5119
CanadaASEAN-ANASE.Consultations@international.gc.ca

Additional links

Date Modified:

Discussions exploratoires en vue d’un éventuel accord de libre-échange Canada‑ANASE

La conclusion des discussions exploratoires en vue d’un éventuel accord de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et l’ANASE a été annoncée le 10 septembre 2019 lors des consultations entre les ministres de l’économie de l’ANASE et le Canada à Bangkok, en Thaïlande.

Le Canada et les États membres de l’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) ont entamé des discussions exploratoires en vue d’un éventuel ALE Canada-ANASE le 8 septembre 2017. La première série de discussions exploratoires en personne a eu lieu les 11 et 12 juillet 2018 à Singapour. Une deuxième série de discussions exploratoires a eu lieu les 7 et 8 avril 2019 au Laos. Les discussions ont permis au Canada et à l’ANASE d’échanger de l’information sur l’approche typique de chacun dans les négociations d’ALE et les régimes de réglementation nationaux respectifs, et d’explorer les éléments d’un éventuel ALE Canada‑ANASE.

Du 1er septembre au 16 octobre 2018, le gouvernement a également mené des consultations publiques pour connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur un éventuel accord de libre-échange avec l’ANASE. Un résumé de ces consultations a été publié en février 2019. Le gouvernement s’est engagé à continuer de nouer le dialogue avec les Canadiens au sujet d’un éventuel accord de libre-échange avec l’ANASE.

Le gouvernement du Canada vise à accroître le commerce et l’investissement dans les grands marchés à croissance rapide, y compris l’ANASE. Ensemble, les États membres de l’ANASE représentent la cinquième économie en importance dans le monde et le sixième partenaire commercial du Canada.

Contact

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos points de vue et de vos commentaires au sujet d’un éventuel ALE Canada-ANASE en tout temps :

Politiques et négociations commerciales - Asie (TCA)
Affaires mondiales Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-5119
CanadaASEAN-ANASE.Consultations@international.gc.ca

Liens supplémentaires

Date de modification: