Language selection

Search

Chapter 25: Trade and Indigenous Peoples – Text of the 2023 Canada - Ukraine Free Trade Agreement

The 2017 CUFTA will remain in force until entry into force of the 2023 modernized agreement. Until such time, please refer to the 2017 CUFTA text for information on the existing trade agreement between Canada and Ukraine.

 Article 25.1: General Provisions

1. For the purposes of this Chapter, Indigenous Peoples means:

2. The Parties recognize that the history of Indigenous Peoples in Canada and the history of Indigenous Peoples in Ukraine, including those found on the Crimean Peninsula, set the unique context for the domestic policies of each Party.

3. The Parties further recognize that since Indigenous Peoples have been engaged in trade since time immemorial, trade is fundamental to Indigenous histories, identities, cultural heritage, and economic prosperity.

4. The Parties acknowledge that international trade and investment contribute to sustainable development, innovation and prosperity, and that improving Indigenous Peoples' access to international trade and investment opportunities will enhance their ability to participate in and benefit from economic activity, including trade and investment.

5. The Parties commit to implementing constructive, innovative, and inclusive practices to ensure that Indigenous Peoples have access to the benefits of this Agreement.

6. The Parties affirm that effective coordination and implementation of policies, programs, and projects, including the identification and removal of barriers to trade and increasing international trade and investment opportunities for, by, and between Indigenous Peoples, can further contribute to sustainable economic development and the ability of Indigenous Peoples to participate in and benefit from economic activity.

7. The Parties acknowledge that Indigenous Peoples have the right to maintain and develop their economic systems and institutions, and to engage freely in all their traditional and other economic activities in a manner consistent with the law of each Party.

8. The Parties affirm that Indigenous Peoples have the right to all human rights and fundamental freedoms, including those recognized under the Charter of the United Nations, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and in the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

9. The Parties affirm that Indigenous Peoples have the right to be free from discrimination and the right to enjoy fully all rights recognized under applicable international or domestic law, including with respect to their participation in international trade.

10. Each Party recalls its commitment to implement the multilateral environmental agreements to which it is a Party.

11. The Parties acknowledge the importance of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the importance of achieving the Sustainable Development Goals given their relevance to Indigenous Peoples, including how they relate to the protection of lands, waters, and natural resources, and how they support the conditions for sustainable and inclusive economic development.

Article 25.2: Non-Derogation

A Party shall not weaken or reduce protections for Indigenous Peoples in its laws and regulations, so as to encourage international trade and investment between the Parties, or between the Parties and any other economy.

Article 25.3: Responsible Business Conduct

1. Each Party shall encourage businesses operating within its territory or subject to its jurisdiction to incorporate into their internal policies and practices the internationally recognized standards, guidelines, and principles of responsible business conduct that have been endorsed, supported, or are observed by the Party.

2. The Parties recognize that it is imperative that businesses operating within their territory or subject to their jurisdiction respect the rights of Indigenous Peoples that are recognized and affirmed within this Agreement and under international or domestic law.

Article 25.4: Cooperation Activities to Facilitate Indigenous Peoples' Participation in International Trade and Investment

1. The Parties acknowledge the importance of implementing measures to foster and enhance the participation of Indigenous Peoples in domestic and international economic activity.

2. The Parties shall facilitate the exchange of experiences and shall implement cooperation activities to promote and enhance Indigenous Peoples' participation in international trade and investment, including government procurement opportunities.

3. The Parties shall endeavor to engage in ongoing bilateral discussions to undertake cooperation activities guided by the following principles:

4. The Parties recognize the importance of undertaking cooperation activities that are designed to facilitate dialogue, and to enhance the ability of Indigenous-owned businesses to fully access and benefit from the opportunities created by this Agreement.

5. The Parties shall jointly facilitate cooperation activities while engaging with Indigenous Peoples, as appropriate, so that the opportunities created by this Agreement may more effectively support the objectives, priorities, and interests of Indigenous Peoples. These cooperation activities may include:

6. The Parties may invite international institutions, businesses, non-governmental organizations, or other relevant institutions, as appropriate, to assist with the development and implementation of cooperation activities under this Article.

7. Within one year of the date of entry into force of this Agreement, each Party shall endeavor to establish a webpage with information to promote awareness of the opportunities created by this Agreement for Indigenous Peoples, including a list of activities planned or undertaken under this Article, and will regularly update and maintain the webpage, as appropriate.

8. The Parties may cooperate, as appropriate, in international and multilateral forums to advance the participation of Indigenous Peoples in international trade, including at the WTO.

Article 25.5: Committee on Trade and Indigenous Peoples

1. The Parties hereby establish a Committee on Trade and Indigenous Peoples (the "Trade and Indigenous Peoples Committee") composed of representatives from each Party, responsible for matters covered by this Chapter. As appropriate, each Party may wish to invite representatives of Indigenous institutions, including Indigenous rights holders and partners.

2. The purpose of the Trade and Indigenous Peoples Committee is to oversee the implementation of this Chapter, and its functions may include:

3. The Trade and Indigenous Peoples Committee shall meet in person or by any other technological means available within one year of the date of entry into force of this Agreement, and thereafter as decided by the Parties to consider any matters arising under this Chapter.

Article 25.6: Provisions in the Agreement that Benefit Indigenous Peoples

The Parties recognize that there are provisions in other Chapters of this Agreement that seek to enhance cooperation between the Parties on Indigenous economic issues or that otherwise may contribute to further enhance the participation of Indigenous Peoples in international trade and investment opportunities derived from this Agreement. These include: Chapter 10 (Designated Monopolies and State-Owned Enterprises); Chapter 11 (Government Procurement); Chapter 13 (Environment); Chapter 17 (Investment); and Chapter 29 (Exceptions).

Article 25.7: Dispute Settlement

A Party shall not have recourse to dispute settlement under Chapter 28 (Dispute Settlement) for any matter arising under this Chapter.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Chapitre 25 : Commerce et peuples autochtones – Texte de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada - Ukraine de 2023

L’ALECU de 2017 restera en vigueur jusqu’à l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord modernisé de 2023. D’ici là, veuillez s’il vous plaît vous référer au texte de l’ALECU de 2017 pour toute information sur l’accord de libre-échange existant entre le Canada et l’Ukraine.

Article 25.1 : Dispositions générales

1. Pour l’application du présent chapitre, l’expression « peuples autochtones » désigne :

2. Les Parties reconnaissent que l’histoire des peuples autochtones au Canada et l’histoire des peuples autochtones en Ukraine, y compris ceux de la péninsule de Crimée, détermine le contexte unique dans lequel s’inscrivent les politiques nationales de chaque Partie.

3. Les Parties reconnaissent en outre que puisque les peuples autochtones pratiquent des échanges commerciaux depuis des temps immémoriaux, le commerce constitue un élément fondamental de leur histoire, de leur identité, de leur patrimoine culturel et de leur prospérité économique.

4. Les Parties reconnaissent que le commerce et l’investissement internationaux contribuent au développement durable, à l’innovation et à la prospérité, et que le fait d’améliorer l’accès des peuples autochtones aux possibilités en matière de commerce et d’investissement internationaux renforcera leur capacité à participer à l’activité économique, y compris au commerce et à l’investissement, et à en tirer profit.

5. Les Parties s’engagent à mettre en œuvre des pratiques constructives, innovantes et inclusives afin de garantir l’accès des peuples autochtones aux avantages du présent accord.

6. Les Parties affirment qu’une coordination et une mise en œuvre efficaces des politiques, des programmes et des projets, y compris l’identification et l’élimination des obstacles au commerce, ainsi que le fait d’accroître les possibilités de commerce et d’investissement internationaux pour, par et entre les peuples autochtones, peuvent contribuer plus encore au développement économique durable et à la capacité des peuples autochtones de participer à l’activité économique et d’en tirer profit.

7. Les Parties reconnaissent que les peuples autochtones ont le droit de conserver et de développer leurs systèmes et institutions économiques, et de se livrer librement à toutes leurs activités économiques, traditionnelles et autres, d’une manière conforme au droit de chaque Partie.

8. Les Parties affirment que les peuples autochtones jouissent de l’ensemble des droits de la personne et des libertés fondamentales, y compris ceux reconnus par la Charte des Nations Unies, la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme et la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

9. Les Parties affirment que les peuples autochtones ont le droit de ne faire l’objet d’aucune discrimination et le droit de jouir pleinement de tous les droits reconnus par le droit international ou national applicable, y compris en ce qui concerne leur participation au commerce international.

10. Chacune des Parties rappelle son engagement à mettre en œuvre les accords multilatéraux sur l’environnement auxquels elle est partie.

11. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 des Nations Unies et l’importance d’atteindre les objectifs de développement durable compte tenu de leur pertinence pour les peuples autochtones, y compris en ce qui concerne leur rapport avec la protection des terres, des eaux et des ressources naturelles, et la manière dont ils contribuent à la création des conditions favorables à un développement économique durable et inclusif.

Article 25.2 : Non-dérogation

Une Partie s’abstient d’affaiblir ou de réduire les protections accordées aux peuples autochtones par ses lois et règlements dans le but de stimuler le commerce et l’investissement internationaux entre les Parties, ou entre les Parties et toute autre économie.

Article 25.3 : Conduite responsable des entreprises

1. Chacune des Parties encourage les entreprises exerçant des activités sur son territoire ou relevant de sa juridiction à intégrer dans leurs politiques et pratiques internes, les normes, lignes directrices et principes internationalement reconnus en matière de conduite responsable des entreprises qui ont reçu l’aval ou le soutien de la Partie, ou qui sont observés par celle-ci.

2. Les Parties reconnaissent que les entreprises exerçant des activités sur leur territoire ou relevant de leur juridiction doivent impérativement respecter les droits des peuples autochtones qui sont reconnus et affirmés par le présent accord ainsi que par le droit international et le droit interne.

Article 25.4 : Activités de coopération visant à faciliter la participation des peuples autochtones au commerce et à l’investissement internationaux

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance de mettre en œuvre des mesures visant à encourager et à renforcer la participation des peuples autochtones aux activités économiques à l’échelle nationale et internationale.

2. Les Parties facilitent l’échange d’expériences et mettent en œuvre des activités de coopération visant à promouvoir et à renforcer la participation des peuples autochtones au commerce et à l’investissement internationaux, y compris aux possibilités de marchés publics.

3. Les Parties s’efforcent de mener de façon continue des discussions bilatérales afin de réaliser des activités de coopération guidées par les principes suivants :

4. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance de réaliser des activités de coopération conçues pour faciliter le dialogue, et de renforcer la capacité des entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones d’accéder pleinement aux possibilités créées par le présent accord et à en tirer profit.

5. Les Parties facilitent conjointement les activités de coopération tout en y associant les peuples autochtones, s’il y a lieu, afin que les possibilités créées par le présent accord puissent soutenir plus efficacement les objectifs, les priorités et les intérêts des peuples autochtones. Ces activités de coopération peuvent comprendre ce qui suit :

6. Les Parties peuvent solliciter l’assistance d’institutions internationales, d’entreprises, d’organisations non gouvernementales, ou de toute autre institution appropriée, s’il y a lieu, dans l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des activités de coopération visées par le présent article.

7. Au cours de l’année qui suit la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, chacune des Parties s’efforce de créer une page Web contenant des informations destinées à faire connaître les possibilités créées par le présent accord pour les peuples autochtones, y compris une liste des activités prévues ou entreprises en vertu du présent article. La Partie maintiendra et actualisera régulièrement la page en question, s’il y a lieu.

8. Les Parties peuvent coopérer, s’il y a lieu, dans le cadre d’instances internationales et multilatérales afin de promouvoir la participation des peuples autochtones au commerce international, y compris au sein de l’OMC.

Article 25.5 : Comité sur le commerce et les peuples autochtones

1. Les Parties instituent par les présentes un Comité sur le commerce et les peuples autochtones (le « Comité sur le commerce et les peuples autochtones ») composé de représentants de chaque Partie et chargé des questions visées au présent chapitre. S’il y a lieu, chacune des Parties peut inviter des représentants d’institutions autochtones, y compris des titulaires de droits autochtones et des partenaires.

2. Le Comité sur le commerce et les peuples autochtones assure la supervision de la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre, et ses fonctions peuvent comprendre ce qui suit :

3. Le Comité sur le commerce et les peuples autochtones se réunit, en personne ou par tout autre moyen technologique disponible, dans l’année qui suit la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, et, par la suite, selon la fréquence déterminée par les Parties, pour étudier toute question relevant du présent chapitre.

Article 25.6 : Dispositions de l’Accord qui bénéficient aux peuples autochtones

Les Parties reconnaissent que d’autres chapitres du présent accord contiennent des dispositions qui visent à renforcer la coopération entre les Parties sur les questions économiques concernant les Autochtones, ou qui sont susceptibles d’autrement contribuer à accroître la participation des peuples autochtones aux possibilités de commerce et d’investissement internationaux découlant du présent accord. Les chapitres en question comprennent : le chapitre 10 (Monopoles désignés et entreprises appartenant à l’État); le chapitre 11 (Marchés publics); le chapitre 13 (Environnement); le chapitre 17 (Investissement); et le chapitre 29 (Exceptions).

Article 25.7 : Règlement des différends

Une Partie ne peut recourir aux dispositions sur le règlement des différends du chapitre 28 (Règlement des différends) en ce qui concerne une question relevant du présent chapitre.

Date de modification: